ELECTION/RESTRICTION
Claims 1-20 have been cancelled by the applicant pursuant to an election/restriction filed on 06/12/2026 by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 24-27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 12302163 B2, hereinafter Lee) in view of Ryu et al. (US 12389296 B2, hereinafter Ryu) and YANG (CN113596965A, hereinafter Yang) Regarding Claim 21, Lee teaches a method performed by a policy control function (PCF) entity in a mobile communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a session management function (SMF) entity, a request message requesting a policy for a protocol data unit (PDU) session;
(Lee [Col. 17, line 22-32] In operation 320, SMF1 200 may establish SM policy association for the second PDU session with the PCF 103. The PCF 103 establishing the SM policy association with SMF1 200 may be the same as or different from the PCF 103 with which SMF1 200 has established the policy association in the first PDU session establishment procedure. A policy association request message which SMF1 200 transmits to the PCF 103 may include at least one of S-NSSAI, a subscribed slice-
AMBR, a serving network slice-AMBR, a subscribed session-AMBR, a
SUPI, and an HPLMN ID for second PDU session establishment.)
transmitting, to the SMF entity, a response message including the policy information for the PDU session.
(Lee [Col. 17, 59-60] The PCF 103 may transmit a policy association response message to SMF1 200 and establish policy association.
[Col. 18, line 5-6] SMF1 200 may determine slice-AMBRs to be used for the first PDU session and the second PDU session.)
But Lee does not teach obtaining energy consumption information for a user equipment (UE); identifying policy information based on the energy consumption information for the UE;
However, in a similar endeavor, Ryu teaches obtaining energy consumption information for a user equipment (UE);
(Ryu [Col. 46, line 51-54] In an example, the session control message for the PDU session may further comprise at least one of computing power of the wireless device, energy consumption information, and/or the like.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Lee and by incorporating Ryu for a PCF to receive a PDU session request from a SMF entity.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the network learn an energy-related policy for a UE so that it can enforce that policy during the session set up and use.
Lee in view of Ryu fails to teach identifying policy information based on the energy consumption information for the UE.
However, Yang teaches identifying policy information based on the energy consumption information for the UE;
(Yang [n0005, line 1-2] a policy control function (PCF) network element determining an energy-saving strategy, wherein the energy-saving strategy includes at least an energy-saving strategy for access network equipment.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Lee and Ryu and by incorporating Yang for a PCF to receive a PDU session request from a SMF entity.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the network to identify energy-related policy information for the UE so that it can enforce that policy during the session set up and use.
Regarding Claim 22 and as applied to Claim 21, Lee further teaches wherein the energy consumption information is per one of a slice level, a session level, or a flow level.
(Lee [Col. 37, line 25-27] the PCF 103 may determine the authorized-slice-AMBR in consideration of GBR QoS flows included in all PDU sessions.)
Regarding Claim 24 and as applied to Claim 21, Lee further teaches wherein the request message includes an identifier (ID) of the UE, an ID of the PDU session, a data domain name (DNN), and a single-network slick selection assistance (S-NSSAI). (Lee [Col. 10, line 32-36] The registration request message may include a requested NSSAI which the UE desires to use such as a UE ID, for example, a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), a 5G globally unique temporary identifier (5G-GUTI), or the like.
[Col. 13, line 1-2] The PDU session create request message may include at least one of a PDU session ID, S-NSSAI, and a DNN.)
Regarding Claim 25, Lee, Ryu and Yang disclose the method of Claim 21
In a similar endeavor Yang, furthermore, teaches
receiving, from an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, an indication for the UE associated with an energy operation.
(Yang [n0005] the PCF can configure energy-saving strategies for access network equipment through the AMF, thereby achieving energy saving for terminal equipment.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Lee and Ryu by incorporating Yang for a PCF to receive energy operation indication from a network AMF.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the network learn an energy-related policy for a UE so that UE access, mobility, and security signaling can be efficiently managed.
Regarding Claim 26 Lee teaches the PCF entity comprising: at least one processor;
(Lee [Col. 47, line 42-43] A controller 811 may be implemented as at least one processor.)
at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor,
(Lee [Col. 47, line 52-53] A memory 812 may store programs required for the controller 811 and various pieces of control information.)
storing instructions executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the PCF entity to:
(Lee [Col. 47, 53-54] and also store information described in the disclosure.)
receive, from a session management function (SMF) entity, a request message requesting a policy for a protocol data unit (PDU) session, (Lee [Col. 17, line 22-
32] In operation 320, SMF1 200 may establish SM policy association for the second PDU session with the PCF 103. The PCF 103 establishing the SM policy association with SMF1 200 may be the same as or different from the PCF 103 with which SMF1 200 has established the policy association in the first PDU session establishment procedure. A policy association request message which SMF1 200 transmits to the PCF 103 may include at least one of S-NSSAI, a subscribed slice-AMBR, a serving network sliceAMBR, a subscribed session-AMBR, a SUPI, and an HPLMN ID for second PDU session establishment.)
transmit, to the SMF entity, a response message including the policy information for the
PDU session.
(Lee [Col. 17, 59-60] The PCF 103 may transmit a policy association response message to SMF1 200 and establish policy association.
[Col. 18, line 5-6] SMF1 200 may determine slice-AMBRs to be used for the first PDU session and the second PDU session.)
But Lee does not teach obtain energy consumption information for a user equipment (UE); identify policy information based on the energy consumption information for the UE;
However, in a similar endeavor, Ryu teaches obtain energy consumption information for a user equipment (UE);
(Ryu [Col. 46, line 51-54] In an example, the session control message for the PDU session may further comprise at least one of computing power of the wireless device, energy consumption information, and/or the like.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Lee and by incorporating Ryu for a PCF to receive a PDU session request from a SMF entity.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the network learn an energy-related policy for a UE so that it can enforce that policy during the session set up and use.
Lee in view of Ryu fails to teach identify policy information based on the energy consumption information for the UE .
However, Yang teaches identify policy information based on the energy consumption information for the UE;
(Yang [n0005, line 1-2] a policy control function (PCF) network element determining an energy-saving strategy, wherein the energy-saving strategy includes at least an energy-saving strategy for access network equipment.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Lee and Ryu and by incorporating Yang for a PCF to receive a PDU session request from a SMF entity.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the network to identify energy-related policy information for the UE so that it can enforce that policy during the session set up and use.
Regarding Claim 27 and as applied to Claim 26, Lee further teaches wherein the energy consumption information is per one of a slice level, a session level, or a flow level.
(Lee [Col. 37, line 25-27] the PCF 103 may determine the authorized-slice-AMBR in consideration of GBR QoS flows included in all PDU sessions.)
Regarding Claim 29 and as applied to Claim 26, Lee further teaches wherein the request message includes an identifier (ID) of the UE, an ID of the PDU session, a data domain name (DNN), and a single-network slick selection assistance (S-NSSAI).
(Lee [Col. 10, line 32-36] The registration request message may include a requested NSSAI which the UE desires to use such as a UE ID, for example, a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), a 5G globally unique temporary identifier (5G-GUTI), or the like.
[Col. 13, line 1-2] The PDU session create request message may include at least one of a PDU session ID, S-NSSAI, and a DNN.)
Regarding Claim 30, Lee Ryu and Yang disclose the method of Claim 26
In a similar endeavor Yang, furthermore, teaches receiving, from an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, an indication for the UE associated with an energy operation.
(Yang [n0005] the PCF can configure energy-saving strategies for access network equipment through the AMF, thereby achieving energy saving for terminal equipment.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Lee and Ryu by incorporating Yang for a PCF to receive energy operation indication from a network AMF.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the network learn an energy-related policy for a UE so that UE access, mobility, and security signaling can be efficiently managed.
Claims 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 12302163 B2, hereinafter Lee) in view of Ryu et al. (US 12389296 B2, hereinafter Ryu) and YANG (CN113596965A, hereinafter Yang) and in further view of Nurminen et al. (US
20110072378 A1, hereinafter Nurminen)
Regarding Claim 23 Lee, Ryu and Yang disclose the method of Claim 21 but fail to specifically teach wherein the energy consumption information includes information on a rate of energy consumed for the UE.
However, in a similar endeavor, Nurminen specifically teaches wherein the energy consumption information includes information on a rate of energy consumed for the UE.
(Nurminen [0024, page 2, line 3-9] In one embodiment, user equipment (UE) 101, such as mobile devices, may be used to collect energy consumption information of the applications and/or actions. In certain embodiments, "energy consumption information" includes measurements of the action or application 107, determinations of energy consumption (e.g., a determined energy consumption rating, an energy consumption rate, energy consumption timing information, etc.) and/or other like energy use related information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Lee, Ryu and Yang and by further incorporating Nurminen for the network to determine the energy consumption information that includes rate of energy consumed by the UE.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the network learn an energy-related policy for a UE so that UE access, mobility, security signaling, data sessions, QoS, and data forwarding can be efficiently managed.
Regarding Claim 28 Lee, Ryu and Yang disclose the method of Claim 26 but fail to specifically teach wherein the energy consumption information includes information on a rate of energy consumed for the UE.
However, in a similar endeavor, Nurminen specifically teaches wherein the energy consumption information includes information on a rate of energy consumed for the UE.
(Nurminen [page 2, line 3-9] In one embodiment, user equipment (UE) 101, such as mobile devices, may be used to collect energy consumption information of the applications and/or actions. In certain embodiments, "energy consumption information" includes measurements of the action or application 107, determinations of energy consumption (e.g., a determined energy consumption rating, an energy consumption rate, energy consumption timing information, etc.) and/or other like energy use related information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Lee, Ryu and Yang and by further incorporating Nurminen for the network to determine the energy consumption information that includes rate of energy consumed by the UE.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the network learn an energy-related policy for a UE so that UE access, mobility, security signaling, data sessions, QoS, and data forwarding can be efficiently managed.
Conclusion
/RANA H MAHMUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644