CTNF 18/665,803 CTNF 101749 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because of the following: reference characters "24" (paragraphs 0027, 0037, and 0038) and "26" (paragraphs 0028 and 0035) have both been used to designate "steering actuator"; reference character “26” has been used to designate both "output angle sensor" (paragraphs 0027, 0028, and 0038 ) and "steering actuator" (paragraphs 0028 and 0035 ) ; “the vehicle axle 38” in paragraph 0034 should be changed to “the front vehicle axle 38”; reference character “40” has been used to designate “hydraulic steering control unit” (paragraph 0029), “steering control unit” (paragraph 0035), and “steering orbitrol” (paragraph 0035); “the steering cylinder 42” in paragraph 0031 should be changed to “the hydraulic steering cylinder 42”; and 06-22-03 “the storage unit 60” in paragraph 0032 should be changed to “the electrical storage unit 60”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4, 7, 10, 11, 12, 14, 17, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 1 and 11 (lines 7 – 8), claim 4 (lines 1 – 2), and claim 14 (line 2) recite the limitation “a rotational movement of the steering wheel”, which should be changed to “ the rotational movement of the steering wheel”; claim 2 (lines 2 – 3) and claim 12 (line 3) recite the limitation “output angle sensor”, which should be changed to “ the output angle sensor”; claims 7 and 17 (line 2) recite the limitation “hydraulic pressure”, which should be changed to “ the hydraulic pressure”; and claims 7 and 17 (line 2) further recite, and claims 10 and 20 (line 3) recite the limitation “the steering cylinder”, which should be changed to “the hydraulic steering cylinder” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention. 07-34-05 Claims 1 and 11 recite the limitation "the wheels" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Claims 5 and 15 recite the limitation “the torque sensor” in line 4 and further recite the limitation “the input actuator” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. Claim 6 (lines 2 – 3) and claim 16 (line 3) recite the limitation “the input actuator”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Claim 9 (lines 1 – 2) and claim 19 (line 2) recite the limitation “the region”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Any claim not specifically addressed under 112(b) is rejected as being dependent on a claim rejected under 112(b). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 – 5, 7, 9, 11 – 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Zhou et al (CN 109291991 A), hereinafter Zhou, where paragraph numbers below correspond to the English translation appended to attached document labeled, “Zhou_et_al_2019_CN_109291991_A” . Regarding claim 1 , Zhou discloses [a utility vehicle with hydrostatic steering] (Fig. 1; paragraph 0003), comprising: [a steering wheel (1) which is mechanically separate from the wheels (21) of a vehicle axle (17, 20, 21)] (Fig. 1); [a hydraulic steering control unit (e.g., the hydraulic steering control unit comprising element 8) via which a hydraulic pressure can be conducted into a hydraulic steering cylinder (14, 15, 16) of a steering device (14, 15, 16, 17, 20) for the wheels according to a rotational movement of the steering wheel] (Fig. 1; paragraphs 0064, 0066, 0075); [an input angle sensor (2) configured to detect a rotational movement of the steering wheel] (Fig. 1; paragraphs 0053, 0054, 0058, and 0065 disclose steering angle signal (W) is produced by the input angle sensor upon the rotational movement of the steering wheel); [an output steering column (OSC), which is mechanically separate from the steering wheel, can be rotated via a steering actuator (11) and acts on the hydraulic steering control unit] (Annotated Fig. 1, below; paragraph 0064); and [a control unit (7) connected to the input angle sensor and to the steering actuator to activate the steering actuator according to sensor signals of the input angle sensor] (Ann. Fig. 1; paragraphs 0065, 0067). PNG media_image1.png 898 983 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2 , Zhou further discloses [an output angle sensor (10) configured to detect a rotational movement of the output steering column, the control unit connected to output angle sensor] (Ann. Fig. 1 and paragraphs 0064 and 0073 disclose that the output angle sensor is configured to send “signal V” to the control unit). Regarding claim 3 , Zhou further discloses [an input actuator (26) configured to rotate the steering wheel, the control unit connected to the input actuator] (Ann. Fig. 1; paragraphs 0059, 0067). Regarding claim 4 , Zhou further discloses [a torque sensor (4) configured to detect a rotational movement of the steering wheel, the control unit connected to the torque sensor] (Ann. Fig. 1; paragraphs 0058, 0065). Regarding claim 5 , Zhou further discloses [an input steering column (3) connected to the steering wheel in a rotationally fixed manner, the input steering column being mechanically separate from the output steering column, one or more of the input angle sensor and the torque sensor configured to detect the rotational movement of the steering wheel, and the input actuator configured to rotate the steering wheel] (Ann. Fig. 1; paragraphs 0058, 0059, 0065). Regarding claim 7 , Zhou further discloses that [the steering actuator acts on a hydraulic pump (9) of the hydraulic steering control unit (e.g., the hydraulic steering control unit further comprising the hydraulic pump) to generate hydraulic pressure for the steering cylinder] (Ann. Fig. 1; paragraph 0064). Regarding claim 9 , Zhou further discloses [a steering angle sensor (13) arranged in the region of the vehicle axle, the control unit connected to the steering angle sensor] (Ann. Fig.1; paragraphs 0064, 0065). Regarding claim 11 , claim 11 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 1, see above. Regarding claim 12 , depending on claim 11, claim 12 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 2. See rejection of claim 2, above. Regarding claim 13 , depending on claim 11, claim 13 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 3. See rejection of claim 3, above. Regarding claim 14 , depending on claim 11, claim 14 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 4. See rejection of claim 4, above. Regarding claim 15 , depending on claim 11, claim 15 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 5. See rejection of claim 5, above. Regarding claim 17 , depending on claim 11, claim 17 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 7. See rejection of claim 7, above. Regarding claim 19 , depending on claim 11, claim 19 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 9. See rejection of claim 9, above . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Schick et al (US 2008/0091319 A1), hereinafter Schick . Regarding claim 6 , Zhou does not appear to explicitly disclose a generator or an electrical storage unit. Schick discloses a “steer-by-wire steering system” comprising [a generator (121) connected to an electrical storage unit (119)] (Fig. 2; paragraphs 0014, 0024). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of electrical systems for steer-by-wire steering systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate both the generator and the electrical storage unit of Schick with the device of Zhou such that Zhou’s steering system is connected to the generator, which is also connected to a storage unit input of the electrical storage unit for the purpose of maintaining electrical charge to power the steering system of Zhou, including the steering actuator and the input actuator. An ordinary artisan could do so with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation because generators and electrical storage units are old and well known in the art of vehicle electrical systems. Regarding claim 16 , depending on claim 11, claim 16 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 6. See rejection of claim 6, above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Morselli et al (US 2018/0050724 A1), hereinafter Morselli . Regarding claim 8 , Zhou does not appear to explicitly disclose an automatic unit connected to auxiliary devices. Morselli discloses [a utility vehicle with hydrostatic steering] (paragraphs 0002 – 0005) comprising [an automatic unit (118) connected to one or more of a user interface (43), a position detection system (126), and a vehicle-related control device (120) of the utility vehicle] (Fig. 9; paragraphs 0149, 0152, 0159, 0160). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of steering systems of utility vehicles comprising automatic units, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Morselli with Zhou’s steering system such that Zhou’s control unit (7) is connected to the automatic unit (118) of Morselli, wherein the automatic unit (118) is connected to one or more of Morselli’s user interface (43), position detection system (126), and the vehicle-related control device (120). An ordinary artisan would be motivated to combine the teachings of Morselli with the steering system of Zhou to create an automated steering system in order to eliminate tedious driving tasks and could do so with a reasonable expectation of success. Furthermore, an ordinary artisan would appreciate at least the user interface of the Zhou/Morselli automated steering system, which Morselli describes in paragraphs 0028 – 0029 as being designed to provide for ease and speed of use. Regarding claim 18 , depending on claim 11, claim 18 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 8. See rejection of claim 8, above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Rotole et al (US 2021/0129903 A1), hereinafter Rotole . Regarding claim 10 , Zhou further discloses that [the hydraulic steering control unit is hydraulically interconnected between a hydraulic pump (9) and the steering cylinder] (Ann. Fig. 1; paragraph 0064), however Zhou does not appear to explicitly disclose a drive motor. Rotole discloses [a utility vehicle (20) comprising a hydraulic steering control unit (74) that is hydraulically interconnected between a hydraulic pump (60), which is driven by a drive motor (62) of the utility vehicle, and a steering cylinder (76b)] (Fig. 2; paragraphs 0031, 0039). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of hydraulic steering systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the drive motor of Rotole with Zhou’s steering system in order to drive the hydraulic pump of Zhou’s steering system because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, an ordinary artisan would have recognized that it is old and well known that drive motors of utility vehicles are commonly used to drive hydraulic pumps. Regarding claim 20 , depending on claim 11, claim 20 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 10. See rejection of claim 10, above. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Tyler Ferguson whose telephone number is (571)272-7374. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00am - 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Valentin Neacsu can be reached at 571-272-6265. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Tyler Ferguson/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611 Application/Control Number: 18/665,803 Page 2 Art Unit: 3611 Application/Control Number: 18/665,803 Page 3 Art Unit: 3611 Application/Control Number: 18/665,803 Page 4 Art Unit: 3611 Application/Control Number: 18/665,803 Page 5 Art Unit: 3611 Application/Control Number: 18/665,803 Page 6 Art Unit: 3611 Application/Control Number: 18/665,803 Page 7 Art Unit: 3611 Application/Control Number: 18/665,803 Page 8 Art Unit: 3611 Application/Control Number: 18/665,803 Page 9 Art Unit: 3611 Application/Control Number: 18/665,803 Page 10 Art Unit: 3611 Application/Control Number: 18/665,803 Page 11 Art Unit: 3611