DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Chou discloses that the holes 351a in the seat 30 may be intended for mounting the first shaft 25 but Chou does not disclose that the avoiding hole can accommodate the at least portion of the base plate, nor does it disclose that the base plate is provided with an avoiding hole, and at least a part of the second base plate is located in the avoiding hole. The examiner cannot agree.
As explained in the previous office action, the space between the guide elements 70 where the movable plate 40 sits, is interpreted as the “avoiding hole”.
[AltContent: ]
As shown in the drawing above, the shape of the seat 30 (outlined in bold) defines a hole where the movable plate 40 sits. This reads on “the first base plate is provided with a first avoiding hole, and at least a part of the second base plate is located in the first avoiding hole” as broadly claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 11-16,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chou et al. (US 2007/0189743 A1) hereinafter referenced as Chou.
Regarding claim 1, it recites similar limitations to claim 11 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated below (see claim 11).
Regarding claim 2, it recites similar limitations to claim 12 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated below (see claim 12).
Regarding claim 3, it recites similar limitations to claim 13 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated below (see claim 13).
Regarding claim 4, it recites similar limitations to claim 14 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated below (see claim 14).
Regarding claim 5, it recites similar limitations to claim 15 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated below (see claim 15).
Regarding claim 6, it recites similar limitations to claim 16 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated below (see claim 16).
Regarding claim 8, it recites similar limitations to claim 18 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated below (see claim 18).
Regarding claim 11, Chou discloses
An electronic device (fig. 3), comprising a camera module (fig. 3), wherein the camera module comprises a base frame (20; fig. 3), a photosensitive chip (50; fig. 3), a first base plate (30; fig. 3), a second base plate (40; fig. 3), a first guide post (25-26; fig. 3), a second guide post (47-48; fig. 5), a first driving mechanism (32a, 32b; fig. 6), and a second driving mechanism (42a, 42b; fig. 6), wherein
the first guide post is disposed on the base frame ([0029]), the first base plate is movably connected to the first guide post ([0033]), and the first base plate moves in an extension direction of the first guide post (Y direction; fig. 3; [0033]);
the second guide post is disposed on the first base plate ([0034]; The shafts extend through holding portions of the seat 30.), the second base plate is movably connected to the second guide post ([0040]), the second base plate moves in an extension direction of the second guide post, and the photosensitive chip is disposed on the second base plate ([0034]; The movable plate 40 has a circuit board 45 to which the image detection unit 50 is disposed.);
the first driving mechanism (32a, 32b; fig. 6) is connected to the first base plate ([0030]), and the first driving mechanism drives, through the first base plate and the second base plate, the photosensitive chip to move ([0035]); and
the second driving mechanism (42a, 42b; fig. 6) is connected to the second base plate ([0041]), and the second driving mechanism drives, through the second base plate, the photosensitive chip to move ([0035]); wherein
the first base plate (30; fig. 3) is provided with a first avoiding hole (Space between the second guide elements 70; figs. 3, 5), and at least a part of the second base plate (40; figs. 3, 5) is located in the first avoiding hole.
Regarding claim 12, Chou discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), in addition, Chou discloses, wherein the extension direction of the first guide post (26; figs. 3, 5) intersects with the extension direction of the second guide post (47; figs. 3, 5), and a plane in which the first guide post and the second guide post are located is parallel to a plane in which the photosensitive chip is located (figs. 3, 5).
Regarding claim 13, Chou discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), in addition, Chou discloses, wherein there are at least two first guide posts (25, 26; figs. 3, 5), the at least two first guide posts are respectively located on two opposite sides of the first base plate (30; figs. 3, 5), and extension directions of the at least two first guide posts are parallel (figs. 3, 5).
Regarding claim 14, Chou discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), in addition, Chou discloses, wherein the first base plate (30; figs. 3, 5) has a first side (Bottom side; figs. 3, 5) and a second side (Top side; figs. 3, 5) opposite to each other, the first side is provided with a first clamping portion (35a, 35b; fig. 5), the second side is provided with a first guide hole (351c, 351d; fig. 3) that is through in the extension direction of the first guide post, one first guide post (25) is clamped and connected to the first clamping portion (fig. 3), and another first guide post (26) is sleeved in the first guide hole (fig. 3).
Regarding 15, Chou discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), in addition, Chou discloses, wherein there are at least two second guide posts (46-47; fig. 5), the at least two second guide posts are respectively located on two opposite sides of the second base plate, and extension directions of the at least two second guide posts are parallel (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 16, Chou discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), in addition, Chou discloses, wherein the second base plate (40; fig. 5) has a third side (Left side; fig. 5) and a fourth side (right side; fig. 5) opposite to each other, the third side is provided with a second clamping portion (463a, 463b; fig. 5), the fourth side is provided with a second guide hole (4631c, 4631d; fig. 5) that is through in the extension direction of the second guide post, one second guide post (47) is clamped and connected to the second clamping portion (fig. 5), and another second guide post (48) is sleeved in the second guide hole (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 18, Chou discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), in addition, Chou discloses, wherein the first driving mechanism comprises a first magnet (21, 22; fig. 4) and a first coil (32a, 32b; fig. 6), the first coil is disposed opposite to the first magnet ([0030]), one of the first magnet and the first coil is disposed on the base frame (fig. 4; Magnet is on the base 20), and the other of the first magnet and the first coil is disposed on the first base plate (fig. 6; Coil is on the seat 30; [0030]); and
the first coil and the first magnet drive the first base plate to move ([0035]); and/or
the second driving mechanism comprises a second magnet (23, 24; fig. 4) and a second coil (42a, 42b; fig. 6), the second coil is disposed opposite to the second magnet ([0031]), one of the second magnet and the second coil is disposed on the base frame (fig. 4; Magnet is on the base 20), and the other of the second magnet and the second coil is disposed on the second base plate (Coil is on the movable plate 40; [0031]); and
the second coil and the second magnet drive the second base plate to move ([0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 9, it recites similar limitations to claim 19 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated below (see claim 19).
Regarding claim 10, it recites similar limitations to claim 20 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated below (see claim 20).
Regarding claim 19, Chou discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 18), however, Chou fails to explicitly disclose the first base plate has a first mounting hole and the first magnet or the first coil is located in the first mounting hole and the second base plate is provided with a second mounting hole and the second magnet or second coil is located in the second mounting hole. However, the examiner takes official notice of the fact that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this.
Chou teaches a first coil provided on the first base plate and a second coil is provided on the second base plate. Providing recessed areas for coils and/or magnets where they are mounted is well-known. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to improve Chou by applying the technique of embedding the coils in the respective areas in which they are exposed to achieve the predictable result of reducing the size of the device.
Regarding claim 20, Chou discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 18), in addition, Chou discloses, wherein the camera module further comprises a circuit board, (This is inherent as this is the only way that current can be supplied to the first and second coil.), the first [coil] (32a, 32b) is disposed on the first base plate, and the second [coil] (42a, 42b) is disposed on the second base plate.
However, Chou fails to explicitly disclose the circuit board is on the base frame with the first and second coil and the first and second magnets are on the first base plate and second base plate respectively. However, the examiner takes official notice of the fact that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this.
Chou teaches a VCM where the first and second coils are located on the first and second base plates respectively and the magnets are located on the base. Interchangeability of where the coil and corresponding magnets are located between a movable part and a base is well-known in the art. As the coils require a circuit board to operate, wherever they are located, the circuit board must be located as well at least in the form a wire. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to substitute the location of the magnets with the location of the coils to achieve the predictable result of a VCM which is capable of moving an image sensor for image stabilization.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAUL M. BERARDESCA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/PAUL M BERARDESCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 4/18/2026