DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed May 16, 2024 and April 15, 2025 have been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Applicants must continue to submit prior art references throughout the patent application process. A supplemental IDS must be submitted if prior art is discovered through a foreign patent application or an International Patent Search, or a related application before a prosecution closes.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group I and Species 2 encomssing claims 1-12 with traverse of in the reply filed on February 09, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search required for examination of all claims would not be unduly burdensome on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because
First, the question as to whether or not inventions overlap in scope is not whether the groups share some limitations. In fact, if such were the case, no restriction between groups with a linking or generic claim would ever be proper. Clearly, such an interpretation would not be consistent with restriction practice or double patenting practice as a whole. Rather, related inventions in the same statutory class are considered mutually exclusive, or not overlapping in scope, if a first invention would not infringe a second invention, and the second invention would not infringe the first invention.
And second, the classification of a particular invention in a class and subclass is not to be construed as a complete field of search. Where it is necessary to search for one of the inventions or species in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other invention(s) (e.g., searching different classes /subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries), a different field of search is shown, even though the two are classified together. For example, Arrangement or
structure in each species as disclosed above different form other species as
shown description of specie 2, for example, in figures 2a-2b the collapsible harness substrate is substantially flat and has a cruciform plan-view profile when in the expanded state, and is polyhedral with a box shape when in the packed state requires different search queries and prior art than figure 3A-3B (species 3) having the collapsible harness substrate is substantially flat and has a polygonal plan-view profile when in the expanded state, and is layered with a polygonal plan-view profile when in the packed state. It requires employing different search queries as well as it is also possible to one or more prior arts applicable to one species is not applicable to other species.
And Third, as restriction requirement mentions that the process of the Invention I, II, and II as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product than other inventions, see explanation in the restriction requirement.
Therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn as mention in the response. Furthermore, Claims 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter or species (see paragraph 0030 wherein “the substrate 312, when folded, may be substantially flat with a rectangular plan-view profile; when unfolded, the substrate 312 may be layered with a square plan-view profile. The collapsible harness substrate assembly 410 of FIGS. 4A and 4B, in contrast, includes multiple substrate panels 412A-412D that are constructed into “nested” boxes (FIG. 4A)” which points out to different species)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) (whichever apply) as being anticipated by Simmons et al. (US20030194187, herein referred to as Simmons).
Rejection of claim 1, Simmons (see figures 1-5) discloses a wiring harness substrate system, comprising:
a wiring harness including multiple electrical connectors and multiple electrical cable segments electrically interconnected with the electrical connectors (see wire segments of wires electrically connected to connector ends of wires in figures 2 and 5); and a collapsible harness substrate (Sheet 1 in figure 1) supporting thereon the wiring harness,
the harness substrate including multiple holding features (16a or 16b) and multiple cable channels (see channels under 16a and 16b ), the holding features securing the electrical connectors to the harness substrate (see the figures and specification), the cable channels receiving therein and routing the electrical cable segments across the harness substrate (see the figures and specification), and, wherein the harness substrate is configured to be selectively transitioned between an expanded state and a packed state (Sheet 1 is able to fold there having capacity or intended to transition between an expanded state and a packed state).
Rejection of claim 2, Simmons (see figures 1-5) discloses the wiring harness substrate system of claim 1, wherein the collapsible harness substrate includes an insulated and bendable substrate panel that, when in the expanded state, is substantially flat and elongated (see figure 1of Simmons).
Rejection of claim 6, Simmons (see figures 1-5) discloses the wiring harness substrate system of claim 1, wherein each of the holding features includes a retention tab integrally formed with the collapsible harness substrate and wrapped around a respective section of one of the electrical cable segments proximate one of the electrical connectors (tabs 16a or 16b in Simmons).
Rejection of claim 8, Simmons (see figures 1-5) discloses the wiring harness substrate system of claim 1, wherein the cable channels are integrally formed with and recessed into the collapsible harness substrate (see the channels as mentioned in rejection of claim 1).
Rejection of claim 9, Simmons (see figures 1-5) discloses The wiring harness substrate system of claim 1, wherein the wiring harness is a vehicle wiring harness for a motor vehicle with a vehicle body/chassis, and wherein the cable channels are arranged in a predefined routing pattern coinciding with a vehicle-specific routing pattern in which the vehicle wiring harness is mounted to the vehicle body/chassis (by having the wiring harness substrate system as claimed in claim 1, it can able be used for vehicle with a vehicle body/chassis and may able to coinciding with a vehicle-specific routing pattern in which the vehicle wiring harness is mounted to the vehicle body/chassis. Note that structure or product is what it is, not what it does or used for, See MPEP.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simmons.
Rejection of claim 3, Simmons discloses the wiring harness substrate system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the collapsible harness substrate includes an insulated and bendable substrate panel that, when in the expanded state, is substantially flat and elongated
Examiner makes official notice that substrate with attachments of wiring is well known and old in textile or clothing wearable products for heating, lighting, electrical or signal communications.
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the wiring harness substrate system of Simmons to have substrate made of fabric material so that it can be used for the reason mentioned above int examiner notice above.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simmons and Serdynyski et al. (US20170098489, herein referred to as Serdynyski).
Rejection of claims 4 and 5, Simmons (see figures 1-5) discloses the wiring harness substrate system of claim 2, but fails to disclose wherein the substrate panel includes multiple fold lines collectively arranged in a predefined pattern to enable the collapsible harness substrate to be selectively bent into the packed state (claim 4); wherein each of the fold lines includes a rectilinear scored section, a rectilinear slotted section, or a rectilinear reduced-thickness section of the substrate panel.
Serdynyski discloses wherein the substrate panel includes multiple fold lines collectively arranged in a predefined pattern to enable the collapsible harness substrate to be selectively bent into the packed state (see figures 12-13C as well as figures 10A-10B, Serdynyski mentions that the electrically insulating sheets may also include apertures or holes for receiving clips (such as canoe clips), plastic rivets, screws or other fasteners for mounting in the electrical system).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the wiring harness substrate system of Simmons to have multiple fold lines collectively arranged in a predefined pattern as taught by Serdynyski so that the fold lines essentially allow the electrically insulating sheet to fold in multiple directions, thereby forming fold areas in multiple planes. It would have been obvious design choice as well as old and well known that to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have fold lines includes a rectilinear scored section, a rectilinear slotted section, or a rectilinear reduced-thickness section so that easily bend or fold that multiple sections of the wiring harness as well as easily identify the foldable or bendable sections.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simmons and Raider et al. (US20240120716, herein referred to as Raider).
Rejection of claim 7, Simmons discloses the wiring harness substrate system of claim 1, but fails to disclose the wiring harness substrate system of claim 1, further comprising multiple cable stiffeners attached to the collapsible harness substrate, each of the cable stiffeners receiving therethrough and structurally reinforcing a respective section of one of the electrical cable segments.
Raider discloses multiple cable stiffeners attached to the collapsible harness substrate, each of the cable stiffeners receiving therethrough and structurally reinforcing a respective section of one of the electrical cable segments (see 120,122, 130, and 140 in figure 1 of Raiders).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the wiring harness substrate system of Simmons to have multiple stiffeners as taught by Raider because stiffener provided support to the wires or cables, use for securing wires or cables to the vehicle, and to increase a rigidity of the respective cables such that the respective segments are sufficiently folded.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simmons, Serdynyski et al. (US20170098489, herein referred to as Serdynyski) and further view of Terakawa et al. (US20220320846, herein referred to as Terakawa) and/or Tong et al. (CN213921874, herein referred to as Tong).
Rejection of claim 10, Simmons (see figures 1-5) discloses the wiring harness substrate system of claim 2, but fails to disclose the wiring harness substrate system of claim 1, wherein the collapsible harness substrate is substantially flat and has a Cruciform plan-view profile when in the expanded state, and is polyhedral with a box shape when in the packed state.
Serdynyski discloses wherein the collapsible harness substrate is substantially flat and has a plan-view profile when in the expanded state, and is polyhedral with a box shape when in the packed state (see figures 12-13C as well as figures 10A-10B, Serdynyski mentions that the electrically insulating sheets may also include apertures or holes for receiving clips (such as canoe clips), plastic rivets, screws or other fasteners for mounting in the electrical system).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the wiring harness substrate system of Simmons to have multiple fold lines collectively arranged in a predefined pattern as taught by Serdynyski so that the fold lines essentially allow the electrically insulating sheet to fold in multiple directions, thereby forming fold areas in multiple planes as well as user can use the substrate panel multiple ways as needed.
Terakawa and Tong disclose wherein the substrate panel includes multiple fold lines collectively arranged in a predefined pattern to enable the collapsible harness substrate to be selectively bent into the packed state (figures 1-5 of Terakawa having cruciform shape which able fold in box shape; also see figure of Tong wherein having cruciform shape which able fold in box shape).
It would have been obvious design choice to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the wiring harness substrate system of Simmons and Serdynyski to have substrate panel shape as taught by Terakawa and/or Tong because it is one of the obvious design choice which is able to a fast and easy unfolding and folding of substrate plane so that as user can use the substrate panel multiple ways as needed. A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent arts in the present case, all of which disclose various wire harness assemblies.
Communication
/PARESH PAGHADAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847