DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Embodiment 1, corresponding to claims 1-6 and Figures 1 and 2, in the reply filed on 08/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe [US 11,087,938] in view of Ishihara et al. [Ishihara hereinafter, US 2022/0301792].
In regard to claim 1, Watanabe discloses [in Figs. 1-5] a power window switch apparatus, comprising: a switch housing [1]; a first knob [7] pivotally mounted on the switch housing [1] by a first pivot pin [67L]; and a second knob [annotated below] pivotally mounted on the switch housing [1] by a second pivot pin [67L]. Watanabe does not disclose that a top surface of the second knob is located higher than a top surface of the first knob. Ishihara teaches [in Figs. 1 and 7A] that a top surface of the second knob [pointed to at 31c] is located higher than a top surface of the first knob [pointed to at 31a]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a second knob with a top surface that is located higher than a top surface of the first knob to enable easy switch identification to a user.
In regard to claim 2, Watanabe discloses [in Figs. 1-5] some of the limitations of the power window switch apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a first front operating piece [5F] configured to extend vertically and disposed below a front portion of the first knob [7]; a first rear operating piece [5B] configured to extend vertically and disposed below a rear portion of the first knob [7]; a first front detector [3F] located below the first front operating piece [5F]; and a first rear detector [3B] located below the first rear operating piece [5B].
In regard to claim 3, Watanabe discloses [in Figs. 1-5] some of the limitations of the power window switch apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the first front operating piece [5F] is located in front of the first pivot pin [67L], and the first rear operating piece [5B] is located behind the first pivot pin [67L].
In regard to claim 4, Watanabe discloses [in Figs. 1-5] some of the limitations of the power window switch apparatus according to claim 2, further comprising: a second front operating piece [5F] configured to extend vertically and disposed below a front portion of the second knob [annotated above]; a second rear operating piece [5B] configured to extend vertically and disposed below a rear portion of the second knob; a second front detector [3F] located below the second front operating piece [5F]; and a second rear detector [3B] located below the second rear operating piece [5B].
In regard to claim 5, Watanabe discloses [in Figs. 1-5] some of the limitations of the power window switch apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the second front operating piece [5F] is located in front of the second pivot pin [67L], and the second rear operating piece [5B] is located behind the second pivot pin [67L].
In regard to claim 6, Watanabe discloses [in Figs. 1-5] some of the limitations of the power window switch apparatus according to claim 4, further comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) [2] extending horizontally in the switch housing [1], wherein the first front detector [3F], the first rear detector [3B], the second front detector [3F], and the second rear detector [3B] are mounted on the PCB [2].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsuchiya et al. [US 2026/0213093] discloses a switch apparatus.
/LHEIREN MAE A CAROC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831