Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 204 (Fig. 2). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 15, a comma should be added after the phrase “The system of claim 14” to correct grammar.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1-12 and 16-20, the limitation “fine powder” is indefinite because the term “fine” is a relative term not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination, the term “fine powder” will be considered to refer to any sized powder.
In claims 6, 13, and 15, the limitation “the interior of the hooded collector” lacks antecedent basis and thus is indefinite because there is no previous recitation of an “interior” and therefore it is unclear what is being referred to.
In claim 7, the limitation “an interior surface to which fine powder cannot easily adhere” is indefinite because it is unclear how difficult it must be for powder to adhere to meet the claim limitation.
In claim 8, the limitation “an interior surface” is indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation requires a different interior surface than recited in claim 7 or is intended to refer to the interior surface recited in claim 7.
In claim 9, the limitation “the amount of residual fine powder” lacks antecedent basis and thus is indefinite because there is no previous recitation of an “amount” of residual fine powder and therefore it is unclear what amount is being referred to.
In claim 9, the limitation “interior surfaces” is indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation is intended to refer to the interior surface previously recited in claim 7 and/or claim 8 or intended to refer to different interior surfaces.
In claims 13 and 15, the limitation “the temperature” lacks antecedent basis and thus is indefinite because there is no previous recitation of a temperature and therefore it is unclear what temperature is being referred to.
Claims 2-15 and 17-19 are indefinite by virtue of depending on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 11-12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kochhar (US 20210078013 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kochhar (US 20210078013 A1) teaches a system for conveying fine powders including a receiving unit for receiving reduced size battery materials transported by a conveyor 22 (conveyance unit) and located through a comminuting device 16, and a housing 2 (hooded collector) fully encompassing the conveyor 22 and including a pipe collection element 21 allowing for transferring of material to downstream apparatuses by pumping, suction, or a smooth surface for flowing of material (operating to reduce an amount of battery material lost during conveyance by the conveyance unit), wherein the battery material is supplied to the conveyor and receiving unit through a comminuting device 12 (battery breaker) that forms fine powder (para 0108, 0188, 0231-0232, 0311-0312).
Alternatively, Kochhar teaches a system for conveying fine powders including a receiving unit for receiving reduced size battery materials including fine powders transported by a conveyance unit including a conveyor 22 and pipe collection element 21, wherein the receiving unit includes downstream apparatuses, and a housing 2 (hooded collector) fully encompassing the conveyor 22 and pipe collection element 21 and configured to remove collected battery materials by vacuuming or applying pressure to the collection pipe element (operating to reduce an amount of battery material/fine powder lost during conveyance by the conveyance unit), wherein the battery material is supplied to the conveyor and receiving unit through a comminuting device 12 (battery breaker) that forms fine powder (para 0108, 0188, 0231-0232, 0311-0312).
Alternatively, or in addition, in the case that the receiving unit and conveying unit do not receive/convey fine powder, the limitation merely states the intended use of the apparatus. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II). Kochhar teaches all of the claimed structural limitations, which is necessarily capable of receiving and conveying a fine powder.
Regarding claim 5, Kochhar teaches a suction means such as vacuuming (negative air pressure system) for diverting the undersized materials/powders to downstream apparatuses (at least partially facilitating receipt of the fine powder by the receiving unit) (para 0188-0189).
Regarding claim 6, Kochhar teaches a suction means such as vacuuming (negative air pressure system) for diverting the undersized materials/powders to downstream apparatuses (at least partially preventing fine powder from escaping the interior of the hooded collector) (para 0188-0189).
Regarding claim 7, Kochhar teaches the hooded collector comprises a collection pipe with a smooth (interior) surface allowing the collected materials/powders to freely flow for facilitation of removal (surface to which fine powder cannot easily adhere) (para 0188).
Regarding claim 8, Kochhar teaches the collection pipe (interior surface) may have a slight incline (para 0188), which necessarily facilitates downward movement of fine powder that has become residual powder.
Regarding claim 11, Kochhar teaches residual fine powder in the collection pipe delivered to downstream collection tank (a supplemental receiver), where the fine powder may at least partially be reconveyed to the receiving unit connected to the comminuting device 16 via direct or indirect connections, which are part of the overall conveyance system, between the downstream collection tank and the second reduced size materials 18 exiting from the second comminuting device (para 0188-0189, 0311, 0319; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Kochhar teaches residual fine powder in the collection pipe delivered to downstream collection tank (a supplemental receiver), where the fine powder may at least partially be reconveyed to the receiving unit/downstream apparatuses connected to the comminuting device 16 via direct or indirect connections such as a bypass line (secondary conveyance system) between the downstream collection tank and the second reduced size materials 18 exiting from the second comminuting device (para 0188-0189, 0311, 0319; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Kochhar (US 20210078013 A1) teaches a system for conveying fine powders including a receiving unit for receiving reduced size battery materials transported by a conveyor 22 (conveyance unit) and located through a comminuting device 16, and a housing 2 (hooded collector) fully encompassing the conveyor 22 and including a pipe collection element 21 allowing for transferring of residual material/powder to downstream apparatuses (supplemental receiver) by pumping, suction, or a smooth surface for flowing of material, wherein the battery material is supplied to the conveyor and receiving unit through a comminuting device 12 that forms fine powder (para 0108, 0188, 0231-0232, 0311-0312). Kochhar also teaches that the hooded collector pipe collection element (lower interior surface) configured to receive residual fine powder may be slightly inclined and the particles/powders may freely flow (may settle and slide downward) for removal to downstream apparatuses (supplemental receiver) (para 0188), which necessarily allows residual fine powder to settle and slide downward into the supplemental receiver.
Alternatively, or in addition, in the case that the receiving unit and conveying unit do not receive/convey fine powder, the limitation merely states the intended use of the apparatus. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II). Kochhar teaches all of the claimed structural limitations, which is necessarily capable of receiving and conveying a fine powder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochhar (US 20210078013 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Yu (US 20230234074 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kochhar fails to explicitly teach a first brushing unit for removing fine powder adhering to the conveyance unit and directing said fine powder into the receiving unit. However, Yu (US 20230234074 A1), in the analogous art of conveying battery materials, teaches that a brush 600 (first brushing unit) may be used to scrape battery material powders into a hopper (receiving unit) (para 0050, 0056; Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conveyor of Kochhar to include a brush, as described by Yu, in order to improve the efficiency of transporting the battery materials to the receiving unit.
Regarding claim 17, Kochhar fails to explicitly teach the conveyance unit comprises at least one brushing unit for removing fine powder adhering to the conveyance unit and directing said fine powder into the receiving unit. However, Yu (US 20230234074 A1), in the analogous art of conveying battery materials, teaches that a brush 600 (at least one brushing unit) may be used to scrape battery material powders into a hopper (receiving unit) (para 0050, 0056; Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conveyor of Kochhar to include a brush, as described by Yu, in order to improve the efficiency of transporting the battery materials to the receiving unit.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Kochhar and Yu teaches the reduced battery materials 14, including fine powder, fall onto a surface of the conveyor 22 from the comminuting unit 12 by gravity feed (via gravity deposit) (Kochhar para 0183-0184, 0311-0312; Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochhar (US 20210078013 A1) in view of Yu (US 20230234074 A1), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Bowman (US 5746302 A).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kochhar and Yu fails to explicitly teach a second brushing unit for removing residual fine powder adhering to the conveyance unit that was not successfully removed by the first brushing unit. However, Bowman (US 5746302 A), in the analogous art of conveying material, teaches that a scraper and a plurality of brushes (second brushing unit) may be included to remove debris material that has not fallen freely from the conveyor belt to clean the conveyor (col 5 line 48-64). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include additional brushes/scrapers to clean any residual material (e.g., fine powders) from the conveyor that was not removed by the previous brushing unit in order to prevent contamination of the conveyor for future processing.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochhar (US 20210078013 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bi (CN 116251674 A).
Regarding claim 4, Kochhar teaches the powder/material 14 may be deposited onto a surface of the conveyor 22 for conveyance and is subsequently transferred to the receiving unit connected to the outlet of the second comminuting device 16 (para 0311). Kochhar fails to explicitly teach the powder is transferred from the conveyance unit to the receiving unit by inverting the surface of the conveyance unit. However, Bi (CN 116251674 A), in the analogous art of conveying battery powders, teaches a transmission belt 64 may be inverted to transfer battery fragments/powders on the belt to the discharge channels 65 (para n0035, n0038, n0041-n0042; Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the conveyor arrangement/positioning of Kochhar with the belt arrangement/positioning of Bi such that the materials are transferred at least partially by inverting the conveyor/belt because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results of transferring battery materials from a conveyor/belt. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochhar (US 20210078013 A1), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Jin (CN 208315672 U).
Regarding claim 9, Kochhar fails to explicitly teach at least one vibration inducing motor for inducing vibration into the hooded collector to decrease the amount of residual fine powder adhering to interior surfaces of the hooded collector. However, Jin (CN 208315672 U), in the analogous art of battery recycling, teaches a vibration motor 401 located on the outside of the housing and configured to rotate an inclined vibration plate 402 to facilitate automatic transportation of the material (para 0027, 0030, 0036). Kochhar teaches an inclined pipe collector as part of the hooded collector where the battery material may be transferred by flowing along a smooth surface (para 0188). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a vibration motor, as described by Jin, to vibrate the inclined pipe collector of Kochhar (inducing vibration into the hooded collector) to facilitate more efficient transportation of the battery material/residual fine powder to downstream apparatuses. Additionally, by vibrating the pipe collector to facilitate transport of the fine powder, the vibration would necessarily also decrease the amount of residual powder adhering to interior surface of the hooded collector.
Regarding claim 10, Kocchar fails to explicitly teach at least one vibration inducing motor for inducing vibration into the hooded collector to facilitate downward movement of the residual fine powder. However, Jin (CN 208315672 U), in the analogous art of battery recycling, teaches a vibration motor 401 located on the outside of the housing and configured to rotate an inclined vibration plate 402 to facilitate automatic transportation of the material (facilitate downward movement of the residual fine powder) (para 0027, 0030, 0036). Kochhar teaches an inclined pipe collector as part of the hooded collector where the battery material may be transferred by flowing along a smooth surface (para 0188). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a vibration motor, as described by Jin, to vibrate the inclined pipe collector of Kochhar (inducing vibration into the hooded collector) to facilitate more efficient transportation of the battery material/residual fine powder to downstream apparatuses.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochhar (US 20210078013 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pasha (US 20250304383 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Kochhar fails to explicitly teach a cooling system to reduce the temperature within the interior of the hooded collector. However, Pasha (US 20250304383 A1), in the analogous art of transferring powders/particles, teaches a storage unit 102 (collector) for transferring powders through an outlet 122, where the storage unit is cooled by a temperature control system (cooling system) to maintain the chamber at a reduced temperature to account for increases in temperature due to friction (para 0029-0030, 0041; Fig. 1). Kochhar teaches the immersion liquid within the housing (hooded collector) is at a predefined operating temperature (para 0311, claims 10-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a temperature control system, as described by Pasha, for cooling the hooded collector of Kochhar to control the temperature of the immersion fluid and account for any increase in temperature due to friction.
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochhar (US 20210078013 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pasha (US 20250304383 A1) and Tjellesen (US 20200324467 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Kochhar fails to explicitly teach a control system for monitoring at least one operating condition of the system and automatically changing at least one operating parameter of the system when a threshold for the at least one operating condition is exceeded. However, Pasha (US 20250304383 A1), in the analogous art of transferring powders/particles, teaches a storage unit 102 (collector) for transferring powders through an outlet 122, where the storage unit is cooled by a temperature control system (cooling system) to maintain the chamber at a reduced temperature to account for increases in temperature due to friction (para 0029-0030, 0041; Fig. 1). Kochhar teaches the immersion liquid within the housing (hooded collector) is at a predefined operating temperature (para 0311, claims 10-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a temperature control system, as described by Pasha, for cooling the hooded collector of Kochhar to control the temperature of the immersion fluid and account for any increase in temperature due to friction.
Furthermore, Tjellesen (US 20200324467 A1), in the analogous art of powder cooling, teaches a temperature of a powder may be maintained using a cooling jacket controlled by a controller (control system) the receives inputs from temperature sensors (monitoring at least one operating condition of the system) and activating the cooling means when the sensed temperature exceeds a predetermined temperature threshold (automatically changing at least one parameter of the system when a threshold of the at least one operating condition is exceeded) (para 0099). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a controller with temperature sensors, as described by Tjellesen in the system of Kochhar in view of Pasha in order to more efficiently control the temperature of the hooded collector and the powders therein to a desired value.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kochhar, Pasha, and Tjellesen teaches the operating condition is the temperature of the powder in the container (hooded collector) (Tjellesen para 0099).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochhar (US 20210078013 A1) in view of Yu (US 20230234074 A1), as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Bi (CN 116251674 A).
Regarding claim 19, the previous combination of Kochhar and Yu fails to explicitly teach the conveyance unit transfers the fine powder to the receiving unit by inverting the surface of said conveyance unit. However, Yu teaches the conveyance unit may transfer powder from the conveyance unit to the hopper/receiving unit by inverting the surface of conveyance unit along with the brushing (0050, 0056; Fig. 1). Additionally, Bi (CN 116251674 A), in the analogous art of conveying battery powders, teaches a transmission belt 64 may be inverted to transfer battery fragments/powders on the belt to the discharge channels 65 (para n0035, n0038, n0041-n0042; Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the conveyor arrangement/positioning of Kochhar with the belt arrangement/positioning of Bi such that the materials are transferred at least partially by inverting the conveyor/belt because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results of transferring battery materials from a conveyor/belt. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochhar (US 20210078013 A1) in view of Yu (US 20230234074 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Kochhar (US 20210078013 A1) teaches a system for conveying fine powders including a receiving unit for receiving reduced size battery materials transported by a conveyor 22 (conveyance unit) and located through a comminuting device 16, and a housing 2 (hooded collector) fully encompassing the conveyor 22 and including a pipe collection element 21 allowing for transferring of undersized material (fine powder that has become residual fine powder) to downstream apparatuses by pumping, suction, or a smooth surface for flowing of material (operating to reduce an amount of battery material lost during conveyance by the conveyance unit), wherein the battery material is supplied to the conveyor and receiving unit through a comminuting device 12 (battery breaker) that forms fine powder (para 0108, 0188, 0231-0232, 0311-0312).
Kochhar fails to explicitly teach a brushing unit to facilitate removal of the fine powder from the conveyance unit. However, Yu (US 20230234074 A1), in the analogous art of conveying battery materials, teaches that a brush 600 (first brushing unit) may be used to scrape battery material powders into a hopper (receiving unit) (para 0050, 0056; Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conveyor of Kochhar to include a brush, as described by Yu, in order to improve the efficiency of transporting the battery materials to the receiving unit.
Alternatively, or in addition, in the case that the receiving unit and conveying unit do not receive/convey fine powder, the limitation merely states the intended use of the apparatus. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II). Kochhar teaches all of the claimed structural limitations, which is necessarily capable of receiving and conveying a fine powder.
Conclusion
/PATRICK S OTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1794