DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 16, 2024 and January 10, 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9, 11-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukushima et al (U.S. Patent Number 4,787,721).
With regard to independent claim 1, Fukushima et al teaches an optical imaging system (column 1, lines 6-8 and Figure 1) comprising: a first lens (Figure 1, element L1) comprising a refractive power (column 6, lines 62-63); a second lens (Figure 1, element L2) comprising a refractive power (column 6, lines 63-64); a third lens (Figure 1, element L3) comprising a refractive power (column 6, line 65); a fourth lens (Figure 1, element L4) comprising a convex object-side surface (column 12, Table 1, radius of curvature data for r7); a fifth lens (Figure 1, element L5) comprising a refractive power (column 6, line 66); and a sixth lens (Figure 1, element L6) comprising a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, radius of curvature data for r11), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order form an object side of the optical imaging system toward an imaging plane of the optical imaging system (Figure 1), wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the third lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fourth lens (column 12, Table 1, radius of curvature data for r6 = 322.928; r7 = 80.815; wherein 322.928 > 80.815) and a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fifth lens (column 12, Table 1, radius of curvature data for r6 = 322.928; r9 = -25.829; wherein 322.928 > -25.829), wherein a thickness of the first lens is greater than a thickness of the fifth lens (column 12, Table 1, axial distance data for d1 = 11.44; d9 = 3.82; wherein 11.44 > 3.82), and wherein the second lens has a refractive index of 1.65 or higher (column 12, Table 1, refractive index data for N2 = 1.76182).
With regard to dependent claim 2, Fukushima et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, radius of curvature data for r1).
With regard to dependent claim 4, Fukushima et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the second lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, radius of curvature data for r4).
With regard to dependent claim 5, Fukushima et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, radius of curvature data for r5).
With regard to dependent claim 6, Fukushima et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, radius of curvature data for r6).
With regard to independent claim 8, Fukushima et al teaches an optical imaging system (column 1, lines 6-8 and Figure 1) comprising: a first lens (Figure 1, element L1) comprising a refractive power (column 6, lines 62-63); a second lens (Figure 1, element L2) comprising a refractive power (column 6, lines 63-64); a third lens (Figure 1, element L3) comprising a refractive power (column 6, line 65); a fourth lens (Figure 1, element L4) comprising a convex object-side surface (column 12, Table 1, radius of curvature data for r7); a fifth lens (Figure 1, element L5) comprising a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, radius of curvature data for r10); and a sixth lens (Figure 1, element L6) comprising a refractive power (column 12, Table 1, lens data wherein the refractive power of L6 = 252.77), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order form an object side of the optical imaging system toward an imaging plane of the optical imaging system (Figure 1), wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the second lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fourth lens (column 12, Table 1, radius of curvature data for r4 = 103.019; r8 = -91.730; wherein 103.019 > -91.730), wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the third lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fourth lens (column 12, Table 1, radius of curvature data for r6 = 322.928; r7 = 80.815; wherein 322.928 > 80.815), and wherein the second lens has a refractive index of 1.65 or higher (column 12, Table 1, refractive index data for N2 = 1.76182).
With regard to dependent claim 9, Fukushima et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, radius of curvature data for r1).
With regard to dependent claim 11, Fukushima et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the second lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, radius of curvature data for r4).
With regard to dependent claim 12, Fukushima et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, radius of curvature data for r5).
With regard to dependent claim 13, Fukushima et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, radius of curvature data for r6).
With regard to dependent claim 16, Fukushima et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the sixth lens has a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, radius of curvature data for r11).
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bone et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0039044).
With regard to independent claim 1, Bone et al teaches an optical imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 8) comprising: a first lens (Figure 8, element 10) comprising a refractive power (Figure 24, Focal Length data; wherein f1 = 4.500); a second lens (Figure 8, element 20) comprising a refractive power (Figure 24, Focal Length data; wherein f2 = -11.450); a third lens (Figure 8, element 30) comprising a refractive power (Figure 24, Focal Length data; wherein f3 = -28.271); a fourth lens (Figure 8, element 40) comprising a convex object-side surface (Figure 24, Curvature Radius data for surface No. 41); a fifth lens (Figure 8, element 50) comprising a refractive power (Figure 24, Focal Length data; wherein f5 = 2.425); and a sixth lens (Figure 8, element 60) comprising a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 24, Curvature Radius data for surface No. 61), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order form an object side of the optical imaging system toward an imaging plane of the optical imaging system (Figure 8), wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the third lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fourth lens (Figure 24, Curvature Radius data for surface No. 32 = 10.853; Radius data for surface No. 41 = 5.040; wherein 10.853 > 5.040) and a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fifth lens (Figure 24, Curvature Radius data for surface No. 32 = 10.853; Radius data for surface No. 51 = -12.921; wherein 10.853 > -12.921), wherein a thickness of the first lens is greater than a thickness of the fifth lens (Figure 24, wherein T1 = 0.918; T5 = 0.906; and 0.918 > 0.906), and wherein the second lens has a refractive index of 1.65 or higher (Figure 24, Refractive Index data wherein N2 = 1.661).
With regard to dependent claim 2, Bone et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 24, Curvature Radius data for surface No. 11).
With regard to dependent claim 3, Bone et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 24, Curvature Radius data for surface No. 21).
With regard to dependent claim 4, Bone et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the second lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 24, Curvature Radius data for surface No. 22).
With regard to dependent claim 5, Bone et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 24, Curvature Radius data for surface No. 31).
With regard to dependent claim 6, Bone et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 24, Curvature Radius data for surface No. 32).
With regard to dependent claim 7, Bone et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the fourth lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 24, Curvature Radius data for surface No. 42).
Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fukaya (U.S. Patent Number 11,789,234).
With regard to independent claim 8, Fukaya teaches an optical imaging system (column 1, lines 12-21 and Figure 1) comprising: a first lens (Figure 1, element L1) comprising a refractive power (column 8, line 28); a second lens (Figure 1, element L2) comprising a refractive power (column 8, lines 36); a third lens (Figure 1, element L3) comprising a refractive power (column 8, line 43); a fourth lens (Figure 1, element L4) comprising a convex object-side surface (column 8, lines 52-55); a fifth lens (Figure 1, element L5) comprising a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 8, lines 59-62); and a sixth lens (Figure 1, element L6) comprising a refractive power (column 8, line 64), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order form an object side of the optical imaging system toward an imaging plane of the optical imaging system (Figure 1), wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the second lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fourth lens (column 12, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface Number 4 = 11.9664; Curvature Radius data for Surface Number 9 = 2.0019; wherein 11.9664 > 2.0019), wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the third lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fourth lens (column 12, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface Number 7 = 5.6753; Curvature Radius data for Surface Number 8 = 4.3770; wherein 5.6753 > 4.3770), and wherein the second lens has a refractive index of 1.65 or higher (column 12, Table 1, refractive index Nd data for N2 = 1.661).
With regard to dependent claim 9, Fukaya teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface Number 2).
With regard to dependent claim 10, Fukaya teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface Number 4).
With regard to dependent claim 11, Fukaya teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the second lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface Number 5).
With regard to dependent claim 12, Fukaya teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface Number 6).
With regard to dependent claim 13, Fukaya teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface Number 7).
With regard to dependent claim 14, Fukaya teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the fourth lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface Number 9).
With regard to dependent claim 15, Fukaya teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the fifth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (column 12, Table 1, Curvature Radius data for Surface Number 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bone et al (U.S. Patent Number 12,025,773), Huang (U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0064595) and Hsieh et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0188483) al teach optical imaging systems comprising six lenses.
/DARRYL J COLLINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
04 March 2026