DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 2, 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huh et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0151944).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With regard to independent claim 1, Huh et al teaches an optical imaging system comprising (page 1, paragraph [0002]): a first lens (Figure 1, element 110) comprising a refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0073], line 1); a second lens (Figure 1, element 120) comprising a refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0073], lines 3-4); a third lens (Figure 1, element 130) comprising a refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0073], lines 5-6); a fourth lens (Figure 1, element 140) comprising a convex object-side surface (page 4, paragraph [0073], lines 8-10); a fifth lens (Figure 1, element 150) comprising a refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0073], lines 11-12); and a sixth lens (Figure 1, element 160) comprising a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 4, paragraph [0073], lines 13-17 and annotated Figure 1 below), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order form an object side of the optical imaging system toward an imaging plane of the optical imaging system (Figure 1), wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the third lens (page 5, Table 1, Radius of Curvature data for surface S6 = 3.7620) is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fourth lens (page 5, Table 1, Radius of Curvature data for surface S7 = 2.6622) and is less than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fifth lens (page 5, Table 1, Radius of Curvature data for surface S9 = 1000.0000), wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the sixth lens (page 5, Table 1, Radius of Curvature data for surface S12 = 1000.0000) is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (page 5, Table 1, Radius of Curvature data for surface S1 = 1.8301) wherein a thickness of the first lens (page 5, Table 1, Thickness/Distance data for surface S1 = 0.7720) is greater than a thickness of the fifth lens (page 5, Table 1, Thickness/Distance data for surface S9 = 0.3109), wherein a thickness of the third lens (page 5, Table 1, Thickness/Distance data for surface S5 = 0.3337) is greater than a thickness of the fourth lens (page 5, Table 1, Thickness/Distance data for surface S7 = 0.2300), and wherein the second lens has a refractive index of 1.65 or higher (page 5, Table 1, Refractive Index data for the Second Lens = 1.661).
With regard to dependent claim 2, Huh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 4, paragraph [0073], lines 1-2).
With regard to dependent claim 3, Huh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 4, paragraph [0073], lines 3-5).
With regard to dependent claim 4, Huh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the second lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 4, paragraph [0073], lines 3-5).
With regard to dependent claim 5, Huh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 4, paragraph [0073], lines 6-8).
With regard to dependent claim 6, Huh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the first lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 4, paragraph [0073], lines 6-8).
With regard to dependent claim 7, Huh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the fourth lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 4, paragraph [0073], lines 8-10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-16 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 or §103 would be proper.
With regard to independent claim 8, although the prior art teaches an optical imaging system comprising: a first lens comprising a refractive power; a second lens comprising a refractive power; a third lens comprising a refractive power; a fourth lens comprising a convex object-side surface; a fifth lens comprising a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof; and a sixth lens comprising a refractive power, wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order form an object side of the optical imaging system toward an imaging plane of the optical imaging system, the prior art fails to simultaneously teach such an optical imaging system wherein: an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fourth lens; wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the third lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fourth lens; wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the sixth lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens; wherein a thickness of the third lens is greater than a thickness of the fourth lens and wherein the second lens has a refractive index of 1.65 or higher.
With regard to dependent claims 9-16, claims 9-16 are allowable as they depend, directly or indirectly, from independent claim 8 and therefore inherit all of the limitations of the claim from which they depend.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARRYL J COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
23 June 2026