Response to Arguments
In pages 1-2 of the remarks, Applicant states that in the Application, “the circles in the Figures are hardware components, whereas in Faruque, the circles in the Figures are RTL code statements”, and that the preferred combination does not overcome the underlying issue that Faruque only teaches Soft IP malware detection and actually discourages Hard IP malware detection in Faruque's paragraph [0018], as the independent claims 1 and 14 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated over Faruque. The inventor describes the distinction between the present application and the prior art is that “a major gap in the microelectronics assurance industry is verification & validation of hard, 3rd party intellectual property (3PIP) [...] for hard 3PIP these representations aren't available, only the lowest level physical representation can be accessed [...] the invention described in our application was developed specifically to address the gap in physical verification of hard 3PIP. It utilizes a transistor- level netlist, which can always be recovered from a physical layout and captures physical device characteristics, enabling detection of the previously undetectable parametric hardware trojans”.
Examiner disagrees with the Applicant, as the limitations of now canceled claim 11 are amended and incorporated into independent claims 1 and 14, in particular the limitations of “wherein the primitives comprise circuit elements selected from the list consisting of: transistors, diodes, resistors, capacitors, and inductors”, which while Faruque does not expressly use disclose, the reference of Chamberlain teaches in section [Col. 5, lines 37-39] that building blocks of circuits can include various types of transistors, resistors, capacitors, diodes, and inductors, that can be placed onto IC layout packages. In page 3 of the remarks, Examiner states that the circuit in the Figures of the Applicant is shown in a graph that appears in the form of a circuit which includes primitive components such as resistors and transistors, but does not sufficiently convey how the hardware components are detected within the software. The broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) of the claim directs to verifying a computer file in the form of a graph to determine if the connections between different components in a circuit that the graph represents would raise security issues that are unable to be patched by software, hence the issue being to “determine whether a circuit is malicious”, as described in paragraphs [0021] of the Specification.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims did not further distinguish the Applicant’s invention from the prior art, in particular the differences between the hardware verification method of integrated circuits and 3PIP including the primitives comprise circuit elements selected from the list consisting of: transistors, diodes, resistors, capacitors, and inductors.
Examiner also disagrees with the Applicant with regards to the invention being in an allowable state over the prior art, as discussed in the interview dated May 8, 2026 in page 3 of the remarks, in particular the statement made by Inventor Gilles that the invention “utilizes a transistor-level netlist, which can always be recovered from a physical layout and captures physical device characteristics, enabling detection of the previously undetectable parametric hardware trojans”, but the amended claim limitations do not emphasize these aspects of the invention, and even if the independent claim did recite these aspects, the invention mainly uses a software file of the circuit to visualize hardware vulnerabilities in the circuit to verify these vulnerabilities. The prior art of Faruque, despite using ‘RTL code statements’, Faruque’s paragraph [0021] states that Hardware Trojans (HTs) are searched for using subgraph matching, which is equivalent to verifying a hardware circuit with vulnerabilities that cannot be patched by software updates as described in the invention of the Applicant. As a result of the amendments being insufficient to overcome the prior art previously used in the Non-Final Rejection dated February 12, 2026, claims 1-10, and 12-20 remain rejected, with claims 1, 9-10, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faruque in view of Chamberlain. Further claims that previously relied only on Faruque have been amended to be rejected by Faruque in view of Chamberlain.
In page 4 of the remarks, Applicant states that claims 1-20 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101. The Office Action states that the claims are directed to a mental process that can be performed in a human mind. During the May 8, 2026 interview, Inventor Gilles stated that the computer files which are read by the computer program being patented (i.e., during performance of the claimed method and the "instructions that are operative upon execution by the processor") include millions of the primitives and connections (see independent claims 1 and 14), and states that “some problems are simply far too large for a human to perform them as mental steps, whether within the human mind or with pencil and paper”, and Applicant requests withdrawal of the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections.
Examiner disagrees with the Applicant, as claims 1-9, and 14-20 contain limitations that were rejected under U.S.C. 101. Independent claims 1 and 14 contain limitations that, whether the Applicant requires any complexity that is performed in the human mind, the broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) of the claim is directed to generic file that is shown on a computer, and no particular value that would imposes such limits to not be considered mental steps, especially with the aid of a computer. As recited in MPEP 2106, the extent to “which the computer aids [must recite how a computer aids the method]… [m] adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient“, as shown with the graph in Fig. 2, which simply provides a visual for where the circuit components and the connections are relative to other primitive components, including resistors and transistors. In Summary, these steps are directed to the abstract idea of data collection, organization, and analysis, followed by reporting a conclusion. Although the claim is applied in the context of integrated circuits, the recited elements are high-level and functional, and the claim does not recite a specific technical improvement to circuit security verification or computer functionality. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the recited elements of independent claims 1, and 14 implement the abstract idea on a computer for IC design and verification, Alice, MPEP §2106.05(f), and the claims do not amount to an improvement to technology/computer functionality. The limitations of dependent claims 2-9, 12-13, and 15-20 do not further resolve the issues described in the rejections under U.S.C. 101 as they do not sufficiently clear up the judicial exception and integrate the exceptions into a practical application, and contain issues relating to “mental processes” and “insignificant extra-solution activity”. Applicant’s argument that the claims are not directed to a mental process because the implementation allegedly involves “millions of primitives and connections” is not persuasive on the present record. Eligibility is determined based on the claim as a whole, read in light of the specification, not on an alleged asserted implementation scale that is not recited as a claim limitation. See MPEP § 2106.05(a), which explains that merely limiting an abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate the exception into a practical application. Here, the claims still broadly recite receiving data, parsing data, generating a graph, identifying matching subgraphs (by comparison), and issuing an output (e.g. an alert)—steps that remain directed to information analysis and evaluation at a high level of generality.
Applicant’s reliance on Ex parte Kabra and Bhide is also unavailing because that case does not establish a per se rule that large-scale data processing is automatically beyond the scope of a mental process exception. Under MPEP § 2106.04(a) and MPEP § 2106.04(d), a mental process includes concepts that can be performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, and judgment, even if the claimed implementation is performed by a computer. The claims here recite functional results and generalized data-processing steps rather than a specific algorithmic improvement or technical mechanism that would prevent the abstract analysis from being performed at a conceptual level. The fact that a hypothetical Applicant’s embodiment may process “a large” number of primitives and connections does not, by itself, remove the claim from the abstract-idea category where the claim under BRI language does not require a particular nonconventional computational technique. See also MPEP § 2106.05(g), which explains that field-of-use limitations or reference to a technological environment do not by themselves confer eligibility.
Moreover, Applicant has not shown that the claims recite a specific improvement to computer functionality or another technology, as contemplated by MPEP § 2106.05(a) and MPEP § 2106.05(b). The claims do not disclose how the graph is generated in a nonconventional way, how the matching is performed in a specific technical manner, or how the insignificant extra solution activity of the claimed “alert” reflects a technological improvement in integrated-circuit security assurance. Instead, the claims recite the abstract result of analyzing circuit-related data and reporting whether known secure patterns are identified “present”. As a result, Examiner maintains the rejections.
In pages 4-5 of the remarks, Applicant states that claims 1-20 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Applicant states that in MPEP 2163, that a disclosure describes a claimed invention in a manner that permits one skilled in the art to reasonably conclude that the inventor possessed the claimed invention the written description requirement is satisfied, further stating that possession may be shown in any number of ways and an Applicant need not describe every claim feature exactly because there is no in haec verba requirement. Applicant states that consequently, the Office must provide a reasonable basis to reject a claim for failing to satisfy the written description requirement, and this requires "a full development" of the reasons showing that, by a preponderance of the evidence, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not recognize a description of the claimed invention in the disclosure.
Examiner disagrees with the Applicant, as the limitation of “receiving a data file identifying components and connections for a functional component of an integrated circuit”, “parsing the data file to identify primitives and connections of the primitives”, “identifying that each of the determined matching portions is secure”, “and based on at least identifying that each of the determined matching portions is secure, generating an alert that the data file is secure” each contain issues with the Specification repeating the limitations as recited, with paragraphs [0036]-[0040], and [0045]-[0046], as well as Fig. 3, which while it illustrates a “subgraph library 300” which “has a plurality of subgraphs 310 with a subgraph 301, a subgraph 302, and a subgraph 303”, the limitations of claims 1-10, and 12-13 merely repeat the claims as described in the Specification without providing further information as to how the invention performs the limitations in sufficient detail with regards to mapping and matching portions of the subgraphs of a circuit to each other, and combining the portions to one graph. Dependent claims 2-13 recite claims that depend on the independent claim 1, and as a result of claim 1 being rejected for lack of written description for certain limitations, claims 2-13 inherit the rejections of claim 1 above. Claim 14 is rejected for similar limitations present in claim 1 above, and claims 15-21 also inherits the rejections as described in claim 14 above. As a result, Examiner maintains the rejections held previously for claims 1-10, and 12-21, with claim 21 being newly added and depending on claim 7, which was previously rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The independent claims 1 and 14 recite “receiving a data file identifying components and connections for a functional component of an integrated circuit”, “parsing the data file to identify primitives and connections of the primitives”, “generating a first graph in which nodes of the first graph correspond to the primitives and edges of the first graph correspond to the connections of the primitives”, “determining matching portions of the first graph, wherein each matching portion of the determined matching portions matches any of a plurality of subgraphs of a subgraph library of known secure functionality”, “identifying that each of the determined matching portions is secure”, and “based on at least identifying that each of the determined matching portions is secure, generating an alert that the data file is secure”, in which the processes of “generating a first graph […]” and “determining matching portions of the first graph […]” are processes that generates a graph with nodes and edges based on components and connections, and the matching of portions of the graphs based on the connections of the components corresponds to “organizing information and manipulating information through mathematical correlations”, Digitech Image Techs., LLC v. Electronics for Imaging, Inc., 758 F.3d 1344, 1350, 111 USPQ2d 1717, 1721 (Fed. Cir. 2014), as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I, paragraph (A), “Mathematical Relationships”. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the recited elements of independent claims 1, and 14 implement the abstract idea on a computer for integrated circuit (“IC”) design and verification, and limiting an abstract idea to a particular technological environment, without more, does not integrate it into a practical application, as stated in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1983; MPEP §2106.05(f), “Mere Instructions To Apply An Exception”, the claims recite no particular machine with meaningful constraints. The claimed limitations do not recite a specific algorithmic improvement, and the invention is results-oriented without technical details on how to implement the invention.
In addition, the limitations of “parsing the data file […]”, “identifying that each of the determined matching portions is secure”, and “[…] generating an alert that the data file is secure” are processes that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, “Mental Processes”. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the recited elements of independent claims 1, and 14 implement the abstract idea on a computer for IC design and verification, Alice, MPEP §2106.05(f), and the claims do not amount to an improvement to technology/computer functionality, and the limitation of “generating an alert that the data file is secure” is a non-technical, post-solution activity rather than a practical application that improves the IC itself or improving tools for electronic designs. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the addition of “receiving a data file identifying components and connections for a functional component of an integrated circuit” of independent claims 1, and 14 merely amounts to data gathering, as stated in MPEP 2106.05(g), “Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity”. Finally, the recitation of “wherein the primitives comprise circuit elements selected from the list consisting of: transistors, diodes, resistors, capacitors, and inductors” is a mental process that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, "Mental Processes".
Dependent claims 2-13, and 15-20 that rely upon independent claims 1, and 14 are rejected for relying upon their respective independent claims. Dependent claims 2-13 depend on independent claim 1, and claims 15-20 depends on claim 14. As independent claims 1, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, the dependent claims listed are also rejected as well.
In claim 2, the recitation of “based on at least identifying that all portions of the first graph are secure, building the integrated circuit using the data file” is a mental process that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, "Mental Processes".
In claim 3, the recitation of “determining whether any portion of the first graph is unmatched, where an unmatched portion comprises a portion of the first graph that does not have a match to any subgraph of the subgraph library”, “and for each unmatched portion: performing a security assessment of the unmatched portion”, “and either: based on at least the security assessment determining that the unmatched portion is secure, identifying the unmatched portion as secure”, and “or based on at least the security assessment not determining that the unmatched portion is secure, generating an alert that the data file is not secure” are mental processes that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, "Mental Processes".
In claim 4, the recitation of “based on at least determining that the unmatched portion is secure, adding the unmatched portion to the subgraph library” is a mental process that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, "Mental Processes".
In claim 5, the recitation of “wherein performing the security assessment comprises: extracting a schematic of the unmatched portion” is a mental process that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, "Mental Processes".
In claim 6, the recitation of “wherein performing the security assessment comprises: performing a Boolean analysis of the unmatched portion” is a mental process that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, "Mental Processes".
In claim 7, the recitation of “wherein performing the security assessment comprises: extracting a schematic of the unmatched portion” is a mental process that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, "Mental Processes".
In claim 8, the recitation of “based on at least the security assessment not determining that the unmatched portion is secure, persisting an indication of the data file as not secure” is a mental process that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, "Mental Processes".
In claim 9, the recitation of “based on at least identifying that all portions of the first graph are secure, persisting an indication of the data file as secure” is a mental process that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, "Mental Processes".
Independent claim 14 recites similar limitations to claim 1 above, and as a result, is rejected for similar issues in claim 1 above.
Claim 15 recites similar limitations to claim 3 above, and as a result, is rejected for similar issues in claim 3 above.
Claim 16 recites similar limitations to claim 4 above, and as a result, is rejected for similar issues in claim 4 above.
Claim 17 recites similar limitations to claims 5 and 7 above, and as a result, is rejected for similar issues in claims 5 and 7 above.
Claim 18 recites similar limitations to claim 8 above, and as a result, is rejected for similar issues in claim 8 above.
Claim 19 recites similar limitations to claim 9 above, and as a result, is rejected for similar issues in claim 9 above.
Claim 20 recites similar limitations to claims 1 and 14 above, and as a result, is rejected for similar issues in claims 1 and 14 above.
Claim 21 inherits the rejections of claim 14, as well as claim 7 as recited above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 1 recites the limitation of “receiving a data file identifying components and connections for a functional component of an integrated circuit”. While the limitation is cited in paragraph [0036] of the Specification, with operation 502 in Fig. 5 reciting the step of performing “receive data file”, it merely repeats the claim language, without further clarifying how the data file 102 is received in the invention of the Applicant, and simply states that data file 102 comprises “hard [third party IP], a netlist, or an OASIS formatted file”. Paragraphs [0045] and [0046] also repeat the claimed limitation language present in the independent claims, and do not further clarify how receiving a data file is performed in the invention.
Furthermore, the limitation of “parsing the data file to identify primitives and connections of the primitives” contains similar issues, as paragraph [0037] of the Specification merely repeats the claim language without further clarification of how the data file parser 122 parses the data file 102, in particular identifying primitives (stated in paragraph [0012] as being transistors, diodes, resistors, or other electrical components) and connections to the primitives, as whether it converts the primitives based on symbols used to identify components, or what programs are utilized to read data files containing electrical components and connections, despite the step being presented in operation 504 of Fig. 5. Paragraphs [0045] and [0046] also repeat the claimed limitation language present in the independent claims, and do not further clarify how parsing a data file is performed in the invention.
Furthermore, the limitation of “identifying that each of the determined matching portions is secure” contains similar issues, as paragraph [0038] of the Specification merely repeats the claim language without further clarification of how each of the matching portions 201 and 202 (seen in Fig. 2) as secure, with paragraph [0027] stating that the matching portions being deemed as secure have been assessed during “some prior security assessment”, and while security assessment 400 is described in paragraph [0029] that can identify “previously-unmatched portion of graph 200” as secure, it is not clarified as to how unmatched portions not found in the subgraph library 300 are determined as secure, such as checking for malicious code or faulty hardware. Paragraphs [0045] and [0046] also repeat the claimed limitation language present in the independent claims, and do not further clarify how identifying matching portions as secure is performed in the invention.
Furthermore, the limitation of “and based on at least identifying that each of the determined matching portions is secure, generating an alert that the data file is secure” contains similar issues, as paragraph [0040] of the Specification merely repeats the claim language without further clarification of how a data file being alerted as secure is performed, as it merely states that if no unmatched portions are found in comparison to the subgraph library 300, the data file is then flagged as secure in operation 516, with issues for the claimed limitation being similar to “identifying that each of the determined matching portions is secure” above. Paragraphs [0045] and [0046] also repeat the claimed limitation language present in the independent claims, and do not further clarify how generating an alert based on each of the matching portions as secure is performed in the invention.
Dependent claims 2-13 recite claims that depend on the independent claim 1, and as a result of claim 1 being rejected for lack of written description for certain limitations, claims 2-13 inherit the rejections of claim 1 above.
Claim 3 recites “for each unmatched portion [of the graph], performing a security assessment of the unmatched portion” is described in paragraph [0029] that a security assessment 400 identify “previously-unmatched portion of graph 200” as secure, it is not clarified as to how unmatched portions not found in the subgraph library 300 are determined as secure, such as checking for malicious code or faulty hardware. Similar issues are also raised for “based on at least the security assessment determining that the unmatched portion is secure, identifying the unmatched portion as secure” and “or, based on at least the security assessment not determining that the unmatched portion is secure, generating an alert that the data file is not secure” of claim 3. Paragraph [0047] also repeats the claimed limitation language present in the claims, and do not further clarify how the claimed limitations are performed in the invention.
Claim 4 recites “based on at least determining that the unmatched portion is secure, adding the unmatched portion to the subgraph library” is described in paragraph [0029] that a security assessment 400 identify “previously-unmatched portion of graph 200” as secure, it is not clarified as to how unmatched portions not found in the subgraph library 300 are determined as secure, such as checking for malicious code or faulty hardware. Paragraph [0047] also repeats the claimed limitation language present in the claims, and do not further clarify how the claimed limitations are performed in the invention.
Claim 5 recites “extracting a schematic of the unmatched portion” is described in paragraph [0021], described as visualization, with an extracted schematic, may enable determination of security, and paragraph [0041] describes it in operation 522 of Fig. 5 as extracting a schematic 410 of unmatched portion 203, without further clarification of how the extraction is performed for the unmatched portions of the graph. Paragraph [0047] also repeats the claimed limitation language present in the claims, and do not further clarify how the claimed limitations are performed in the invention.
Claim 7 recites “performing a circuit simulation of the unmatched portion” is described in paragraphs [0035] and [0041] as a circuit simulation 414 of unmatched portion 203 in Fig. 4, which includes an analog circuit simulation, such as SPICE simulation. Paragraph [0023] describes analog functional analysis of circuits further, but simply states that an unmatched circuit “[is] benign by ensuring it has no unexpected behavior in the analog domain”, without further clarifying what unexpected behaviors are defined as in an analog domain, with no example provided in the Specification provided. Paragraph [0047] also repeats the claimed limitation language present in the claims, and do not further clarify how the claimed limitations are performed in the invention.
Claim 8 recites “based on at least the security assessment not determining that the unmatched portion is secure, persisting an indication of the data file as not secure” is described in paragraph [0043] that if operation 524 of Fig. 5 does not determine a current unmatched portion as secure, “operation 530 generates alert 134 that data file 102 is not secure” and “operation 534 persists data file 102 with an indication 149 of data file 102 as not secure”, it is not clarified as to how unmatched portions not found in the subgraph library 300 are determined as not secure, such as checking for malicious code or faulty hardware. Paragraph [0047] also repeats the claimed limitation language present in the claims, and do not further clarify how the claimed limitations are performed in the invention.
Claim 9 recites “based on at least identifying that all portions of the first graph are secure, persisting an indication of the data file as secure” is described in paragraph [0040] that if operation 514 of Fig. 5 determines all portion of graph 200 as secure, “operation 518 persists data file 102 with an indication 145 of data file 102 as secure” in paragraph [0040], it is not clarified as to how unmatched portions not found in the subgraph library 300 are determined as secure, such as checking for malicious code or faulty hardware. Paragraph [0047] also repeats the claimed limitation language present in the claims, and do not further clarify how the claimed limitations are performed in the invention.
Claim 10 recites “wherein the data file comprises hard third party intellectual property (3PIP)”, and is described in paragraph [0036] of the Specification, where a data file 102 comprises “hard 3PIP”, and the Applicant does not provide examples or clarify how the invention identifies hard 3PIP in a data file. Paragraph [0047] also repeats the claimed limitation language present in the claims, and do not further clarify how the claimed limitations are performed in the invention.
Independent claim 14 recites similar limitations to claim 1 above, and as a result, is rejected for similar issues in claim 1 above.
Dependent claims 15-20 recite claims that depend on the independent claim 14, and as a result of claim 14 being rejected for lack of written description for certain limitations, claims 15-20 inherit the rejections of claim 14 above.
Claim 15 recites similar limitations to claim 3 above, and as a result, is rejected for similar issues in claim 3 above.
Claim 16 recites similar limitations to claim 4 above, and as a result, is rejected for similar issues in claim 4 above.
Claim 17 recites similar limitations to claims 5 and 7 above, and as a result, is rejected for similar issues in claims 5 and 7 above.
Claim 18 recites similar limitations to claim 8 above, and as a result, is rejected for similar issues in claim 8 above.
Claim 19 recites similar limitations to claim 9 above, and as a result, is rejected for similar issues in claim 9 above.
Claim 20 recites similar limitations to claim 10 above, and as a result, is rejected for similar issues in claim 10 above.
Claim 21 inherits the rejections of claim 14, as well as claim 7 as recited above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-10, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al Faruque et al. (US 20240338491 A1), hereinafter Faruque, in view of Chamberlain et al. (US 6289116 B1), hereinafter Chamberlain.
Regarding claim 1, Faruque discloses ‘a method of establishing security assurance for an integrated circuit, the method comprising: receiving a data file identifying components and connections for a functional component of an integrated circuit’ ([0064] A system for detecting hardware Trojans is stated, and a circuit may comprise a plurality of input and output signals based on a base level file, which is based on a circuit, as stated in [0027] of Faruque. Input signal and output signals correspond to connections for functional components of the circuit of the Applicant.);
‘parsing the data file to identify primitives and connections of the primitives’ ([0064] Combined base-level file is parsed to a graph, which is first parsed as subgraphs that will combine into a larger graph. As stated in paragraph [0027], input and output signals correspond to connections to primitives, as signals must go through components in a circuit first.);
‘generating a first graph in which nodes of the first graph correspond to the primitives and edges of the first graph correspond to the connections of the primitives’ ([0015] Circuit is represented by data flow graph (DFG), which shows nodes and edges, shown in Fig. 6. [0064] Hardware-to-graph module 100 can combine subgraphs to a combined graph.);
‘determining matching portions of the first graph, wherein each matching portion of the determined matching portions matches any of a plurality of subgraphs of a subgraph library of known secure functionality’ ([0064] Combined graph can connect output signals with input signals via a root-to-leaf relationship and identify disconnected subgraphs and redundant nodes in combined graph, trimming disconnect subgraphs and redundant nodes in the combined graph, corresponding to determined matching portions and subgraphs in a subgraph library of the Applicant.);
‘identifying that each of the determined matching portion is secure’ ([0021] Hardware Trojans (HTs) are searched for using subgraph matching, and when no HTs are detected, the subgraph is considered a determined secure portion. [0075] Invention has a defense mechanism to generate a score to determine an HT detection in each of the nodes of the graph.);
‘and based on at least identifying that each of the determined matching portions is secure, generating an alert that the data file is secure’ ([0075] When all subgraphs are considered HT-free, the circuit can also be labeled Trojan-free, corresponding to generating an alert that the data file is secure of the Applicant, as the base-level file which contains the circuit configuration is also secure based on this evaluation.).
Faruque does not appear to disclose, but Chamberlain teaches ‘wherein the primitives comprise circuit elements selected from the list consisting of: transistors, diodes, resistors, capacitors, and inductors’ ([Col. 5, lines 37-39] Building blocks of circuits can include various types of transistors, resistors, capacitors, diodes, and inductors, that can be placed onto IC layout packages. The components listed above correspond to primitives in a circuit of the Applicant.);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Faruque and Chamberlain before them, to include Chamberlain’s ‘wherein the primitives comprise circuit elements selected from the list consisting of: transistors, diodes, resistors, capacitors, and inductors’ in Faruque’s method performing ‘establishing security assurance for an integrated circuit’. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to increase efficiency as the building blocks are recognized as primitive functions and are generated as specialized symbols that are also recognized by the netlist using a GDSII layout, as taught by Chamberlain [Col. 4, lines 43-48].
Regarding claim 9, Faruque in view of Chamberlain teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, and Faruque also discloses ‘further comprising: based on at least identifying that all portions of the first graph are secure, persisting an indication of the data file as secure’ ([0075] When all subgraphs are considered HT-free, the circuit can also be labeled Trojan-free, corresponding to identifying that all portions of the first graph are secure, persisting an indication of the data file as secure of the Applicant, as the base-level file which contains the circuit configuration is also secure based on this evaluation.);
Regarding claim 10, Faruque in view of Chamberlain teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above and Faruque also discloses ‘wherein the data file comprises hard third party intellectual property (3PIP)’ ([0092] Design of an IP in a netlist can contains a hard IP, and paragraph [0017] states that third-party EDA tools, IP cores, and outsourcing can occur, with a third-party IP core corresponding to a hard 3PIP of the Applicant.).
Regarding claim 14, Faruque in view of Chamberlain teaches all the limitations as described in independent claim 1, as the limitations are identical to claim 1 above. Faruque also teaches, as stated in claim 14, ‘a system for establishing integrity of digital content, the system comprising: a processor’ ([0064] Invention features a system for detecting hardware Trojans and IP piracy, and comprises a processor capable of executing computer-readable instructions.);
‘and a computer-readable medium storing instructions that are operative upon execution by the processor to’ ([0119] Physical storage media can store computer-readable instructions that are executable by a computer, including ROM, RAM, CD-ROM, DVD-ROM, and other forms of disk storage, and any other tangible mediums that can be processed by a computer.);
Regarding claim 19, Faruque in view of Chamberlain teaches all the limitations as described in independent claim 14, as well as the limitations that are identical to dependent claim 9 above.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faruque in view of Chamberlain, further in view of Chen (US 10922462 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Faruque in view of Chamberlain teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, and Faruque also discloses ‘further comprising: based on at least identifying that all portions of the first graph are secure […]’ ([0075] When all subgraphs are considered HT-free, the circuit can also be labeled Trojan-free, corresponding to generating an alert that the data file is secure of the Applicant.).
Faruque in view of Chamberlain does not appear to disclose, but Chen teaches ‘[…] building the integrated circuit using the data file’ ([Col. 25, lines 62-67] Fig. 9, in step 930, the process 900 is invoked to manufacture the integrated circuit.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Faruque in view of Chamberlain and Chen before them, to include Chen’s ‘[…] building the integrated circuit using the data file’ in Faruque’s method performing ‘establishing security assurance for an integrated circuit’. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to increase efficiency by tracking progress of the manufacturing of an integrated circuit, including fabrication, testing, shipping and installation of the manufactured chips, as taught by Chen [Col. 3, lines 39-45].
Regarding claim 12, Faruque in view of Chamberlain teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Faruque also discloses ‘wherein: the data file comprises a netlist’ ([0073] Base-level file can be a gate-level netlist file.);
‘the data file comprises a graphic data stream (GDS) formatted file’ ([0073] Physical layout file is also known as a GDSII file, which consists of a stream format for a graphics data system.);
Faruque in view of Chamberlain does not appear to disclose, but Chen teaches ‘or the data file comprises an open artwork system interchange standard (OASIS) formatted file’ ([Col. 20, lines 47-48] OASIS file consists of a physical design data structure of a circuit, corresponding to an open artwork system interchange standard formatted file of the Applicant.);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Faruque in view of Chamberlain and Chen before them, to include Chen’s ‘or the data file comprises an open artwork system interchange standard (OASIS) formatted file’ in Faruque’s method performing ‘establishing security assurance for an integrated circuit’. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to increase efficiency by having a process transmit a physical design specification, such as an OASIS file, to a server to invoke manufacturing easily, as taught by Chen [Col. 26, lines 28-30].
Claims 3-8, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faruque in view of Chamberlain, further in view of Zavadsky et al. (US 8701058 B2), hereinafter Zavadsky.
Regarding claim 3, Faruque in view of Chamberlain teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, and Faruque also discloses ‘further comprising: determining whether any portion of the first graph is unmatched, where an unmatched portion comprises a portion of the first graph that does not have a match to any subgraph of the subgraph library’ ([0064] Hardware-to-graph 100 can identify disconnected subgraphs and redundant nodes are identified, with disconnected subgraphs corresponding to unmatched portions that do not match any subgraphs in a subgraph library of the Applicant.).
Faruque in view of Chamberlain does not appear to disclose, but Zavadsky teaches ‘and for each unmatched portion: performing a security assessment of the unmatched portion’ ([Col. 13, lines 6-7] Fig. 12, process for determining is hash value for subgraph exists in a library of circuits analyzed, wherein the hash value is computed from a subgraph of a subgraph that is currently unmatched with the main circuit.);
‘and either: based on at least the security assessment determining that the unmatched portion is secure, identifying the unmatched portion as secure’ ([Col. 13, lines 7-9] If a hash value is found, then the subgraph is grown by the process, corresponding to a security assessment determining the unmatched portion as secure of the Applicant. Hash values are used to identify functional blocks in the netlist of the target IC, as stated in [Col. 13, lines 26-27].);
‘or based on at least the security assessment not determining that the unmatched portion is secure, generating an alert that the data file is not secure’ ([Col. 13, lines 9-12] If the hash value is not found, then the subgraph is discarded and is not matched with the rest of the circuit, corresponding to the security assessment determining the unmatched portion, and therefore, the data file, as insecure of the Applicant.);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Faruque in view of Chamberlain and Zavadsky before them, to include Zavadsky’s ‘and for each unmatched portion: performing a security assessment of the unmatched portion’, ‘and either: based on at least the security assessment determining that the unmatched portion is secure, identifying the unmatched portion as secure’, and ‘or based on at least the security assessment not determining that the unmatched portion is secure, generating an alert that the data file is not secure’ in Faruque’s method performing ‘establishing security assurance for an integrated circuit’. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to increase efficiency by computing hash values of the subgraphs and obtaining relevant information to identify functional blocks in a netlist of an integrated circuit, as taught by Zavadsky [Col. 13, lines 25-27].
Regarding claim 4, Faruque in view of Chamberlain and further in view of Zavadsky teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 3 as described above. Faruque in view of Chamberlain does not appear to disclose, but Zavadsky teaches ‘further comprising: based on at least determining that the unmatched portion is secure, adding the unmatched portion to the subgraph library’ ([Col. 13, lines 7-9] If a hash value is found, then the subgraph is grown by the process, corresponding to adding the unmatched portion to the subgraph library of the Applicant. Further described in [Col. 13, lines 17-22], when a subgraph is grown, it is added to another subgraph found in a module library 3402, shown in Fig. 13.);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Faruque and Zavadsky before them, to include Zavadsky’s ‘further comprising: based on at least determining that the unmatched portion is secure, adding the unmatched portion to the subgraph library’ in Faruque’s method performing ‘establishing security assurance for an integrated circuit’. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to increase efficiency by computing hash values of the subgraphs and obtaining relevant information to identify functional blocks in a netlist of an integrated circuit, as taught by Zavadsky [Col. 13, lines 25-27].
Regarding claim 5, Faruque in view of Chamberlain and further in view of Zavadsky teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 3 as described above. Faruque in view of Chamberlain does not appear to disclose, but Zavadsky teaches ‘wherein performing the security assessment comprises: extracting a schematic of the unmatched portion’ ([Col. 7, lines 43-46] Structural data mining is used for finding equivalent circuitry for automated schematics generation of library elements, including subgraphs described in [Col. 13, lines 7-22], which include the unmatched portions.);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Faruque in view of Chamberlain and Zavadsky before them, to include Zavadsky’s ‘wherein performing the security assessment comprises: extracting a schematic of the unmatched portion’ in Faruque’s method performing ‘establishing security assurance for an integrated circuit’. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to increase efficiency by utilizing data mining algorithms that can be used to handle large digital netlists, as taught by Zavadsky [Col. 8, lines 56-57].
Regarding claim 6, Faruque in view of Chamberlain and further in view of Zavadsky teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 3 as described above. Faruque in view of Chamberlain does not appear to disclose, but Zavadsky teaches ‘wherein performing the security assessment comprises: performing a Boolean analysis of the unmatched portion’ ([Col. 13, lines 6-7] Process of determining whether hash value exists in a library 3502 corresponds to the Boolean analysis of the Applicant for an unmatched portion.);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Faruque in view of Chamberlain and Zavadsky before them, to include Zavadsky’s ‘wherein performing the security assessment comprises: performing a Boolean analysis of the unmatched portion’ in Faruque’s method performing ‘establishing security assurance for an integrated circuit’. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to computing hash values of the subgraphs and obtaining relevant information to identify functional blocks in a netlist of an integrated circuit, as taught by Zavadsky [Col. 13, lines 25-27].
Regarding claim 7, Faruque in view of Chamberlain and further in view of Zavadsky teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 3 as described above. Faruque in view of Chamberlain does not appear to disclose, but Zavadsky teaches ‘wherein performing the security assessment comprises: performing a circuit simulation of the unmatched portion’ ([Col. 5, lines 46-50] Analyzing of an integrated circuit (IC) is done to extract from a low level netlist, which can include further analysis, along with [Col. 3, lines 12-14], wherein the analysis of a netlist can also involve a portion of at least one IC, which includes an unmatched portion.);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Faruque in view of Chamberlain and Zavadsky before them, to include Zavadsky’s ‘wherein performing the security assessment comprises: performing a circuit simulation of the unmatched portion’ in Faruque’s method performing ‘establishing security assurance for an integrated circuit’. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to computing hash values of the subgraphs and obtaining relevant information to identify functional blocks in a netlist of an integrated circuit, as taught by Zavadsky [Col. 13, lines 25-27].
Regarding claim 8, Faruque in view of Chamberlain and further in view of Zavadsky teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 3 as described above. Faruque in view of Chamberlain does not appear to disclose, but Zavadsky teaches ‘further comprising: based on at least the security assessment not determining that the unmatched portion is secure, persisting an indication of the data file as not secure’ ([Col. 13, lines 9-12] If the hash value is not found, then the subgraph is discarded and is not matched with the rest of the circuit, corresponding to the security assessment determining the unmatched portion, and therefore, the data file, as insecure of the Applicant.);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Faruque in view of Chamberlain and Zavadsky before them, to include Zavadsky’s ‘further comprising: based on at least the security assessment not determining that the unmatched portion is secure, persisting an indication of the data file as not secure’ in Faruque’s method performing ‘establishing security assurance for an integrated circuit’. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to increase efficiency by computing hash values of the subgraphs and obtaining relevant information to identify functional blocks in a netlist of an integrated circuit, as taught by Zavadsky [Col. 13, lines 25-27].
Regarding claim 15, Faruque in view of Chamberlain teaches all the limitations as described in independent claim 14, and Faruque in view of Chamberlain and further in view of Zavadsky teaches the limitations that are identical to dependent claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 16, Faruque in view of Chamberlain teaches all the limitations as described in independent claim 14, and Faruque in view of Chamberlain and further in view of Zavadsky teaches the limitations that are identical to dependent claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 17, Faruque in view of Chamberlain teaches all the limitations as described in independent claim 14, and Faruque in view of Chamberlain and further in view of Zavadsky teaches the limitations that are identical to dependent claims 5-7 above.
Regarding claim 18, Faruque in view of Chamberlain teaches all the limitations as described in independent claim 14, and Faruque in view of Chamberlain and further in view of Zavadsky teaches the limitations that are identical to dependent claim 8 above.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faruque in view of Chamberlain, further in view of Hu et al. (US 10719631 B2), hereinafter Hu.
Regarding claim 13, Faruque in view of Chamberlain teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Faruque in view of Chamberlain does not appear to disclose, but Hu teaches ‘wherein: the integrated circuit comprises a field programmable gate array (FPGA)’ ([Col. 19, lines 61-63] Apparatus can be implemented as an FPGA.);
‘or the integrated circuit comprises an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC)’ ([Col. 19, lines 61-63] Apparatus can be implemented as an ASIC.);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Faruque in view of Chamberlain and Hu before them, to include Hu‘s ‘wherein: the integrated circuit comprises a field programmable gate array (FPGA)’ and ‘or the integrated circuit comprises an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC)’ in Faruque’s method performing ‘establishing security assurance for an integrated circuit’. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to increase efficiency such as having circuit prototypes be built from hardware components such as ‘a number of FPGAs’, as taught by Hu [Col. 7, lines 31-33].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faruque in view of Chamberlain, and further in view of Chen and Hu.
Regarding claim 20, Faruque in view of Chamberlain teaches all the limitations as described in independent claim 14, with Faruque in view of Chamberlain teaches the limitations that are identical to claims 1, 10, and 14 above.
While the identical limitations of claim 12 present in claim 20 are not all taught by the combination of Faruque in view of Chamberlain, particularly the limitation of ‘or an open artwork system interchange standard (OASIS) formatted file’, the reference of Chen cures the deficiency for the limitations that are identical to claim 12 above, which the combination of Faruque in view of Chamberlain in further view of Chen teaches the limitation above for the same reasons as in claim 12.
Finally, while the combination of Faruque in view of Chamberlain in further view of Chen do not teach the identical limitations of claim 12 above, and present in claim 20, in particular ‘and the integrated circuit comprises a field programmable gate array (FPGA) or an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC)’, the reference of Hu teaches the limitation that is identical to claim 13 above, and present in claim 20 for the same reasons as in claim 13.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over unpatentable over Faruque in view of Chamberlain and Zavadsky as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Allamraju et al. (US 20170046470 A1), hereinafter Allamraju.
Regarding claim 21, Faruque in view of Chamberlain, and further in view of Zavadsky teaches the limitations of claim 7 as recited above. Faruque in view of Chamberlain, and further in view of Zavadsky does not appear to teach, but Allamraju teaches “wherein the circuit simulation comprises an analog circuit simulation” ([0046] Optimizing for a design level of a circuit includes changing a layout of an analog design of the circuit, which includes changing parameters, or changing specific analog designs used. PDK 320 ('process design kit' as shown in Fig. 2) may use any commercially available or proprietary software available to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to accomplish the simulation (e.g., HSPICE, SPECTRE, etc.). The PDK 320 may be configured to take input parameters (e.g., model parameters and hierarchical PCELL parameters via the linked symbol) at a schematic level, simulate a mismatch, local variations, and parasitic characteristics of an analog design circuit using the input parameters at the schematic level).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of "wherein the circuit simulation comprises an analog circuit simulation" in a method of establishing security assurance for an integrated circuit and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. The one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to detect a mismatch between components in a circuit, as well as variations between the analog designs to optimize the circuit (Allamraju [0034], Fig. 3).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2496
/JORGE L ORTIZ CRIADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2496