DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicants arguments dated 11 February 2026. Claims 1-11 are pending in the application. Claim 1 have been amended.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of Japan Application No. 2023-081314 was received on 10 June 2024 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 16 May 2024 are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokoo (US PGPub 2022/0032613 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Yokoo discloses a liquid ejection device (Fig. 8; liquid discharging apparatus 1) comprising:
a carriage (Fig. 8; carriage 71; ¶0081) whose internal space is partitioned into a first space and a second space by a partition plate (Figs. 9-11; first space within head unit 30; second space outside head unit 30 and within case 81; ¶0081-0085);
an ejection head that is provided in the first space and that ejects liquid (Fig. 9; discharge head 300; ¶0049); and
a control substrate that is provided in the second space and that controls drive of the ejection head (Figs. 9-11, relay circuit board 21; ¶0085-0086), wherein the control substrate (21) is connected to the ejection head (300) via a substrate-to-substrate connector (connectors 84 and 86; ¶0085-0086; Figs. 9-11) and the partition plate (see Fig. 12 below; Figs. 9-11; ¶0088+), as viewed from a direction in which the control substrate (21) is connected to the ejection head (left to right direction in Fig. 9 below), is shaped such that at least one region of the following regions is cut out:
1) a region where the control substrate is located (See Fig. 9 below, bottom of partition plate is cut out providing the region of the control substrate 21),
2) a region where the substrate-to-substrate connector is located (84, 85, 86 connectors pass through the partition plate at the cutout as shown), and
3) a region where the ejection head is located, is cut out (Fig. 9; cutout for the ejection head 300 with the partition plate between the control substrate and ejection head 300).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoo.
With regard to Claim 2, Yokoo does not explicitly disclose wherein the partition plate is non metallic. However, Yokoo discloses wherein the (printhead) case is injection-molded from a resin material, the case (340) being the case of the ejection head (¶0136). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the partition plate (cover of the carriage unit) to be formed of the same material as the head for aesthetics, design considerations and heat dissipation similarities.
With regard to Claim 3, Yokoo does not explicitly disclose wherein the partition is resinous, however as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and Yokoo discloses the ejection head case made of a resin material (¶0136).
Claims 4-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoo, in view of Hatta et al. (US PGPub 2022/0314628 A1), hereinafter Hatta.
With regard to Claim 4, Yokoo does not explicitly disclose wherein the carriage has a fan that generates airflow.
The secondary reference of Hatta discloses wherein the carriage has a fan that generates airflow (Fig. 5; fan 120 ¶0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the fan of Hatta, with the carriage of Yokoo, in order to cool the control substrate, as taught by Hatta (¶0004).
With regard to Claim 5, Yokoo does not explicitly disclose wherein the liquid ejection device has, as the fan, a first fan that draws air from a space outside the carriage into the internal space.
The secondary reference of Hatta discloses wherein the liquid ejection device has, as the fan, a first fan that draws air from a space outside the carriage into the internal space (¶0038; Fig. 5).
With regard to Claim 6, Yokoo does not explicitly disclose wherein the first fan is provided in the second space.
The secondary reference of Hatta discloses wherein the first fan is provided in the second space (space 100; Fig. 5).
With regard to Claim 10, Yokoo further discloses wherein the liquid ejection device has a plurality of the ejection heads (Figs. 10-11) and has a plurality of the control substrates corresponding to each of the ejection heads (Figs. 10-11).
Yokoo discloses where the plurality of ejection heads each has a connection to the relay substrate, but does not explicitly disclose a plurality of control substrates.
The secondary reference of Hatta discloses wherein the liquid ejection device has a plurality of the ejection heads (Fig. 16) and has a plurality of the control substrates (Fig. 16) corresponding to each of the ejection heads (Fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of control substrates of Hatta, with the device of Yokoo, in order to have modularity in design, as taught by Hatta (Fig. 16; ¶0046-0054).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoo, in view of Hatta, and further in view of Saito et al. (US PGPub 2020/0130388 A1), hereinafter Saito.
With regard to Claim 7, Yokoo-Hatta does not explicitly disclose wherein the liquid ejection device has, as the fan, a second fan that exhausts air from the internal space to a space outside the carriage.
The tertiary reference of Saito discloses wherein the liquid ejection device has, as the fan, a second fan that exhausts air from the internal space to a space outside the carriage (Fig. 4; fan 70; ¶0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the fan of Saito, with the combination of Yokoo-Hatta, in order to efficiently draw heat generated by the driving board to the outside, as taught by Saito (¶0065).
With regard to Claim 8, Yokoo does not explicitly disclose wherein the second fan is provided in the second space.
The secondary reference of Hatta discloses wherein the second fan is provided in the second space (space 100; Fig. 5).
The tertiary reference of Saito discloses wherein the second fan is provided in the second space (Figs. 3-5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for allowability of Claim 9 is that applicants claimed invention includes a liquid ejection device wherein the second fan is provided in the first space. It is this limitation, expressed in the claim combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for allowability of Claim 11 is that applicants claimed invention includes a liquid ejection device wherein the second space is partitioned into a third space and a fourth space, and in the third space, a first control substrate as the control substrate, which is connected to a first ejection head among the ejection heads, is provided, and in the fourth space, a second control substrate as the control substrate, which is connected to a second ejection head among the ejection heads, is provided. It is this limitation, expressed in the claim combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 4-9, filed 11 February 2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103, are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection applied to claim 1 in this office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT A RICHMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853