DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11-13, 16, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Weerdt [US 7,126,666] in view of Harbin [CN 110,939,683].
Claim 1, De Weert discloses a passive gravity compensator [col. 3 lines 40-64] for semiconductor equipment [1] that includes a stationary unit [2] and a movable unit [4] adapted to move relative the stationary unit in a Z-direction [figures 2a and 2b], the gravity compensator comprising: a first assembly including a magnet holder [body of 4, figure 9a] and a permanent magnet [4.13, 4.14] fixed to the magnet holder; a second assembly [body of 2, figure 9a] including a yoke [interior wall surfaces of 2; figure 9c] having first and second opposite parts, a first permanent magnet mounted [2.18] against the first opposite part of the yoke, and a second permanent magnet [2.19] mounted against the second opposite part of the yoke, the first and second permanent magnets facing each other [figure 9c], a gap being located between the first and second permanent magnets [figure 9c]; and a force adjustment device [4.18] adapted to be mounted on the stationary unit [2]; wherein a first one of the first and second assemblies is adapted to be mounted on the stationary unit and a second one of the first and second assemblies is adapted to be mounted on the movable unit such that the permanent magnet of the first assembly is movable inside the gap between the first and second permanent magnets of the second assembly [figure 9c]; and wherein the force adjustment device is adapted to adjust a relative position between the permanent magnet of the first assembly and the first and second permanent magnets of the second assembly along a direction orthogonal to the Z-direction to adjust a gravity compensation force [col. 4 lines 49-57 and col. 10 lines 8-58].
De Weerdt fails to teach that the yoke [2] is a magnetic yoke.
Harbin teaches a positioning device for moving a substrate [abs]i n vertical direction, comprising a magnetic yoke [113] with magnets mounted thereon [figure 6; paragraphs 0006-0014].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a magnetic yoke in the passive gravity compensator of De Weert as taught by Harbin in order to direct the magnetic flux of the permanent magnets, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 11, De Weerdt as modified discloses the passive gravity compensator according to claim 1, De Weerdt further discloses wherein the gravity compensation force is oriented in the Z-direction [4,17/4.18 can compensate in the Z direction; figure 9c].
Claim 12, De Weerdt as modified discloses the passive gravity compensator according to claim 1, with the exception of the gravity compensation force is adjustable in a range between 5 N and 35 N. It would have been an obvious matter of design to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the magnet strength in order to obtain a desired force such as a range between 5 N and 35 N, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 13, De Weerdt as modified discloses the passive gravity compensator according to claim 1, wherein Weerdt further discloses that the gravity compensation force is constant over a predetermined stroked length between the first assembly and the second assembly [obvious in the product structure of figure 9c].
Claim 16, De Weerdt as modified discloses a semiconductor equipment, comprising: a stationary unit [2]; a movable unit [4] adapted to move relative the stationary unit in a Z-direction; and a gravity compensator as recited in claim 1; wherein De Weerdt further discloses that the force adjustment device is arranged as part of the first assembly of the gravity compensator; and wherein the first assembly is mounted on the stationary unit and the second assembly is mounted on the movable unit such that the permanent magnet of the first assembly is movable inside the gap between the first and second permanent magnets of the second assembly [figure 9c; col. 4 lines 49-57 and col. 10 lines 8-58].
Claim 17, De Weerdt as modified discloses thesemiconductor equipment according to claim 16, wherein the semiconductor equipment is arranged as a wafer holder [5].
Claim 20, De Weerdt as modified discloses semiconductor equipment, comprising: a stationary unit [2]; a movable unit [4] adapted to move relative the stationary unit in a Z-direction; and a gravity compensator as recited in claim 1; wherein the force adjustment device [4.17] is arranged as part of the first assembly of the gravity compensator; and wherein the first assembly is mounted on a first one of the stationary unit [2; figure 9c] and the movable unit and the second assembly is mounted on a second one of the stationary unit and the movable unit [2] such that the permanent magnet of the first assembly is movable inside the gap between the first and second permanent magnets of the second assembly [figure 9c].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 14, 15, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BERNARD ROJAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837