DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10 and 20 arre withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Species B, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/16/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change the recitation of “the driving driver unit” to “the driving unit” to correct a minor antecedent basis issue. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (US 2015/0251415 A1) in view of Yamaguchi et al. (JP 200213979A).
Regarding claims 1 and 13:
Takagi discloses an inkjet printing system comprising:
an inkjet head unit (“printer head”: paragraph 84) including a nozzle (210) for ejecting ink (paragraph 62);
a driving unit (at least drive signal generation circuit 12) configured to generate and output a driving voltage (COM) for discharging the ink from the nozzle (paragraph 47); and
a self-sensing circuit (residual vibration detection unit 60) connected to an input terminal of the inkjet head unit (Figs. 6, 8) to receive a self-sensing voltage from the nozzle and determine whether the nozzle is normally operating (paragraph 105 & Fig. 8),
wherein a final self-sensing voltage is generated by the self-sensing circuit based on the self-sensing voltage and a reference voltage (Fig. 8),
wherein the reference voltage is input from the output terminal of the driving unit (via COM selector 61: Fig. 8).
Takagi does not expressly disclose a first impedance adjusting unit disposed between the input terminal of the inkjet head unit and an output terminal of the driving unit and including a pair of diodes.
However, Yamaguchi et al. disclose an ultrasonic sensor comprising a first impedance adjusting unit that is disposed between an input terminal of a driven unit (piezo transducer 2: Fig. 5) and an output terminal of a driving unit (Fig. 5) and including a pair of diodes (23: Fig. 5), wherein a forward direction of the forward diode is a direction from the output terminal of the driving unit to the input of the driven unit (Fig. 5). Yamaguchi et al. teaches that such a configuration minimizes the total impedance of the piezoelectric element to allow maximum current flow through the driving unit (paragraph 35).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takagi’s inkjet printing system to include a first impedance adjusting unit, such as taught by Yamaguchi et al.
Regarding claim 2:
Takagi’s modified system comprises all the limitations of claim 1, and Yamaguchi et al. also disclose that the pair of diodes of the impedance adjusting unit include a forward diode and a reverse diode (Fig. 5).
Regarding claims 3 and 14:
Takagi’s modified system comprises all the limitations of claims 2/13, and Yamaguchi et al. also disclose that each of the forward diode and the reverse diode is one of a PN junction diode, a Schottky diode, and a Zener diode (Fig. 5).
Regarding claims 4 and 15:
Takagi’s modified system comprises all the limitations of claims 2/13, and Takagi also discloses that the driving unit is provided in plurality (at least for the respective output drive signals COM#A, COM#B: Fig. 6), and the nozzle is provided in plurality (Fig. 6), the inkjet head unit is connected to one of the driving units and includes the plurality of nozzles (Figs. 6, 8), and the inkjet head unit further includes a plurality of switches (46a,b,c) connected to the plurality of nozzles, respectively (Fig. 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 and 11-12 appear to contain allowable subject matter because the prior art of record does not disclose or make obvious an inkjet printing system comprising a self-sensing circuit including “a differential amplifier for receiving the self-sensing voltage from the input terminal of the inkjet head unit, and the differential amplifier further receives the reference voltage and generates the final self-sensing voltage by subtracting the reference voltage from the self-sensing voltage.” It is this limitation, in combination with other features and limitations of claim 5, that indicates allowable subject matter over the prior art of record.
Similarly, claims 16 and 18-19 appear to contain allowable subject matter because the prior art of record does not disclose or make obvious an inkjet printing system comprising a self-sensing circuit including “a differential amplifier for receiving the self-sensing voltage from the input terminal of the inkjet head unit … wherein the differential amplifier further receives the reference voltage and generates the final self-sensing voltage by subtracting the reference voltage from the self-sensing voltage.” It is this limitation, in combination with other features and limitations of claim 16, that indicates allowable subject matter over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication with the USPTO
SHELBY L. FIDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853