DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II (claims 10-20) in the reply filed on 1/26/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority Note
Examiner notes that while the instant application comprises claims priority to several previous foreign and domestic applications, Claims 10-20 appear to only have support in the foreign application CN2023111645057 and therefore comprise an effectively filing date of 9/8/2023.
Claim Interpretation
The claims refer to “a first surface” and “a second surface”. As outlined in the 112 rejections below, these terms are not consistent with the ordinary meaning of the term “surface”. In light of the specification, for examination purposes, the first and second “surface” are being interpreted as a layer, web, sheet or film material.
Claim Objections
Claims 10, 11, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
-Claim 10, lines 4-5, “unreeling on the first surface” would be better recited as “unreeling of the first surface”.
-Claim 10, line 8, “unreeling on the second surface” would be better recited as “unreeling of the second surface”.
-Claim 11, line 4, “unreeling on a buffer layer” would be better recited as “unreeling of a buffer layer”.
-Claim 13, lines 4-5, “the third unreeling unit configured to perform unreeling on the third surface” but should instead be “the third unreeling unit configured to perform unreeling of the third surface”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “surface” (first, second and/or third) in claims 10-20 is used by the claim to appear to mean some form of layer, material, web, film or sheet while the accepted meaning of a “surface” is “the exterior or upper boundary of an object or body” (i.e. see https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/surface). The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Regarding Claim 10, lines 10-11 recite “a first horizontal glue applied at intervals along a direction perpendicular to the feeding direction”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear as to what further structure of the “production module” (line 1) this is intending to encompass and whether or not the glue itself is being claimed as part of the module.
Similarly regarding Claim 10, line 15 recites “a first longitudinal glue continuously applied along edges of both sides of a feeding direction”. Again it is unclear as to what further structure of the “production module” (line 1) this is intending to encompass and whether or not the glue itself is being claimed as part of the module.
Further regarding Claim 10, line 11 recites “the feeding direction”. However, this limitation renders the claim indefinite as it lacks antecedent basis within the claim. It is further unclear if this is referring to the same direction as the “length direction of the machine” previously defined. Similarly, line 16 recites “a feeding direction” and it is unclear if this is referring to any of the previously defined directions or defining a new direction.
Again, regarding Claim 10, lines 16-19 recite “a position of the first horizontal glue of the first surface opposite to a position of the first horizontal glue of the second surface during the feeding process, and a position of the first longitudinal glue of the first surface opposite to a position of the first longitudinal glue of the second surface during the feeding process”. These limitations render the claim indefinite as it is unclear as to how the horizontal glue and longitudinal glue are applied to both surfaces as lines 12-15 appear to only define the glue being applied to “on a surface of one of the first surface and/or the second surface facing the other of the first surface or the second surface” (lines 12-13).
Lastly regarding Claim 10, line 20 recites “the feeding process” which lacks antecedent basis within the claim and therefore it is unclear as to what the “feeding process” is intending to encompass.
Regarding Claim 11, line 4, “the third surface” lacks antecedent basis within the claim and therefore renders the claim indefinite.
Further regarding Claim 11, lines 6-13 appear to recite “the buffer layer” multiple times with respect to further processing thereof. However, Claim 11 previously presents an alternative of “a buffer layer or the third surface” and therefore it is unclear if the same processing of the “buffer layer” option would apply to the alternative of “the third surface”. Further, given the alternative of “the third surface” there would be no antecedent basis for the buffer layer in lines 6-13. Further it is unclear if the buffer layer and the third surface are referring to the same material.
Again regarding Claim 11, line 8 “the first horizontal glue applied at intervals on the buffer layer” renders the claim further indefinite as “the first horizontal glue” defined previously is with respect to the first and/or second surfaces not the buffer layer. Therefore, such a limitation is viewed as lacking antecedent basis.
Regarding Claim 12, the claim depends from Claim 11 and therefore is rendered indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasonings.
Regarding Claim 13, the claim recites “the third unreeling unit configured to perform unreeling on the third surface”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite as the end of Claim 11 and Claim 12 recite the “buffer layer” and therefore it is assumed that the alternative of the third unreeling unit configured to unreel the buffer layer from “third unreeling unit arranged on the machine and configured to perform unreeling on a buffer layer or the third surface” is selected. Therefore, it is unclear as to how the third unreeling unit can unreel both the buffer layer and the third surface unless they are intended to be the same material which would appear to be the case but this is unclear based on the manner in which the claim is drafted.
Regarding Claim 14, the claim is rendered indefinite for several reasons. The claim recites “a second horizontal glue perpendicular to the feeding direction is applied on a surface of the second surface or the first surface that is deviated from the other first surface or the second surface… a second longitudinal glue continuously applied on a surface of the second surface or the first surface that is deviated from the buffer layer along a side edge of the feeding direction; a position of the second horizontal glue corresponding to the position of the first horizontal glue, and a position of the second longitudinal glue corresponding to one of the positions of the first longitudinal glue”. First, it is unclear as to what is meant by “a side edge of the feeding direction”. Second, it is unclear as to what is meant by “a position of the second horizontal glue corresponding to the position of the first horizontal glue, and a position of the second longitudinal glue corresponding to one of the positions of the first longitudinal glue” and what the corresponding positions are referring to.
Regarding Claim 15, lines 2-4 recite “a first glue providing member, a second glue providing member and a third glue providing member with the same number of the third unreeling units”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear as to what such limitation is referring to. It is unclear if Applicant is attempting to claim a glue providing member corresponding to each unreeling unit or if the Applicant is attempting to recite that there are three “third unreeling units”.
Claims 16-18 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite as the claims depend from at least one the claims outlined above.
Claims 19-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite as the claims require the limitations of Claim 10 and therefore are indefinite for the same reasoning.
Further regarding Claim 19, lines 5-7 recite “the first cushion sheet arranged above the second cushion sheet and overlapped with the second cushion sheet, and both the first cushion sheet and the second cushion sheet continuously and synchronously fed”. These limitations render the claim indefinite as it is unclear as to what structure this limitation is intending to encompass as the limitations appear merely functional.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodrich (US PGPUB 2021/0252821), in view of Southwick (US Patent 2,395,077).
Regarding Claim 10, Goodrich discloses a cushion sheet production module that a cushion sheet (composite material 400; Figure 4 of padding material 100; Figure 2) comprises a first surface (embossed paper 101; Figure 2) and a second surface (embossed paper 104), the cushion sheet production module comprising:
a first unreeling unit (300, 309, 301; Figure 3) arranged on a machine (of system shown) and configured to perform unreeling of the first surface (101 of 300) and continuously feed the first surface (101) along a length direction of the machine (Para. 0297);
a second unreeling unit (303, 310, 304) arranged on the machine (of system shown) and configured to perform unreeling on the second surface (104 of 303) and continuously and synchronously feed the second surface (104) with the first surface (101) along the length direction of the machine (as shown into combining area 302), and the second surface (104) arranged below the first surface (101; as shown in Figures 2-3);
a first horizontal glue applied at intervals (at 403 via “glue device” such as 2000G in Figures 41-42) along a direction perpendicular to the feeding direction and applied on a surface of one of the first surface and/or the second surface (101 or 104) facing the other of the first surface or the second surface (101 or 104; see Para. 0372-0373; note Para. 0373 outlines “the gluer 2000G can be arranged beneath the expanded slit sheet paper 201B such as to dispense glue upon an upper surface of the bottom sheet 104B”; Note Para. 0363-0364 outlines that the feeding device of Figure 3 is used with the device of Figures 40-42);
on the surface of the first surface and/or the second surface (101 and/or 104) facing the other first surface or the other second surface (101 or 104), a first longitudinal glue continuously applied along edges of both sides of a feeding direction (“it should be appreciated that the glue device should also preferably apply glue at appropriate lateral side edges to enable formation of the edge regions 402 or the like”; Para. 0351; see also Para. 0369);
a paper pressing unit (100R, 200R, 100XB, 200XB; Figure 41) configured to roll and clamp the position of the first horizontal glue (at 202X, 203X corresponding to 403; Para. 0299 outlines crushing/gluing of 403) and the position of the first longitudinal glue (at 402/402B; Figure 40; Para. 0358, 0368) that are arranged on the first surface and/or the second surface, to press and fix the first and second surfaces at the positions of the first horizontal glue (402) and the positions of the first longitudinal glue (of 402, 402B), to form the cushion sheet (i.e. 400), wherein gas is sealed between the first surface (101) and the second surface (104) to provide a buffering effect for the cushion sheet (400; see Paras. 0356, 0372 which form horizontal seals and Paras. 0358, 0368 outlining longitudinal seals; further it is noted that the seals 402, 403 surround the perimeter (Figure 4) of the cushion sheet and would readily seal gas within the area 401).
However, although Goodrich discloses different adhesive/glue application positions (i.e. Paras. 0372,0373), Goodrich does not readily disclose the glue being applied to both surfaces such that a position of the first horizontal glue (i.e. at 403 of Figure 4) of the first surface (of 101) opposite to a position of the first horizontal glue of the second surface (of 104) during the feeding process, and a position of the first longitudinal glue (i.e. at 402) of the first surface (101) opposite to a position of the first longitudinal glue of the second surface (104) during the feeding process (note in order to form the composite material with glue seals at 402 and 403; the positions must be opposite).
Attention is brought to Southwick which teaches a first surface (11; Figure 1) and a second surface (13) wherein both surfaces are applied with a glue (Page 1, Col 2, lines 36-49) such that the glue (see 19; Figure 3) of each surface (11, 13) is positioned longitudinally and horizontally and opposite to one another (as shown; see Page 2, Col 1, lines 64-71).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the module of Goodrich such that both surfaces are applied with glue in opposition to one another as taught by Southwick. By applying glue to both surfaces, the seams formed can be ensured of having adequate surface anchorage with one another as taught by Southwick (Page 2, Col 2, lines 15-21).
Regarding Claim 11, Goodrich, as modified, discloses wherein the cushion sheet production module further comprises:
at least one third unreeling unit (305, 306, 319, 320) arranged on the machine (Figure 3) and configured to perform unreeling on a buffer layer (102, 103 or 201B of Figure 41) or the third surface (102/103 or 201B);
at least one pulling roller (307 acts as a pulling roller with braking devices 319, 320; Para. 0297) arranged on the machine and configured to continuously feed the buffer layer or the third surface (102/103 or 201B; Para. 0297), wherein the buffer layer is located below the first surface (101) and synchronously and continuously fed with the first surface (101; Figure 3; Para. 0297);
the first horizontal glue applied at intervals on the buffer layer (102/103 or 201B) along a direction perpendicular to the feeding direction (Para. 0372);
the position of the first horizontal glue on the first surface (101) opposite to the position of the first horizontal glue on the second surface (104) during the feeding process (as taught by Southwick-see above rejection of Claim 10); and
wherein all the first surface (101), the second surface (104) and the buffer layer (102/103 or 201B) are fixed and pressed against each other at the positions of the first horizontal glue (via 100XB; Paras. 0356, 0372).
Regarding Claim 16, Goodrich, as modified, discloses wherein the paper pressing unit (100R, 200R, 100XB, 200XB; Figure 41) comprises at least one group of paper pressing rollers (100R/200R and 100XB/200XB; Para. 0362), each of the at least one group of paper pressing rollers (100R/200R and 100XB/200XB) comprising a paper pressing bump (102X, 104X; Figure 20) arranged perpendicular to the feeding direction of the machine and extending from one end of the paper pressing roller to the other end of the of paper pressing roller (of 100R and 100XB; see Figure 22); when the at least one group of paper pressing rollers rotate (100R/200R and 100XB/200XB), the paper pressing bump is configured to press and fix the first surface (101, 101B), the buffer layer (102/103 or 201B) and the second surface (104, 104B) only at the positions of the first horizontal glue (at 202X, 203X; Para. 0343).
Claims 12-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodrich (US PGPUB 2021/0252821), in view of Southwick (US Patent 2,395,077), and in further view of Koch (US Patent 3,900,356)
Regarding Claim 12, Goodrich, as modified, discloses several features of the claimed invention but does not readily disclose the first longitudinal glue is applied on edges of both sides of the buffer layer towards the first surface or the second surface along the feeding direction, and the position of the first longitudinal glue on the first surface and/or the second surface is opposite to the position of the first longitudinal glue on the buffer layer.
Attention is brought to Koch which teaches another cushion sheet production module (Figure 1) wherein a longitudinal glue (19, 21, 23; Figure 2) is applied on edges of both sides of a buffer layer (15 via 25) towards the first surface or the second surface along the feeding direction (Col 4, lines 18-29) and the position of the first longitudinal glue on the first surface and/or the second surface is opposite to the position of the first longitudinal glue on the buffer layer (Col 4, lines 18-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have applied longitudinal glue to edges on both sides of the buffer layer of Goodrich as taught by Koch. By incorporating such glue onto the buffer layer as taught by Koch, connection to the first and second surfaces facing the buffer layer can be readily ensured.
Regarding Claim 13, Goodrich, as modified, discloses wherein the buffer layer (102/103 or 201B) is a paper three-dimensional grid structure in the form of die-cute paper (102/103 or 201B) wherein the third unreeling unit (305, 306, 319, 320) is configured to perform unreeling on the third surface (102/103 or 201B) and the die-cutting paper stretched to form the buffer layer (102/103 or 201B via pulling roller 307; i.e. Figure 3), but does not readily disclose the production module further comprises a cutting roller arranged between the third unreeling unit and the pulling roller, the cutting roller configured to cut the third surface into a die-cutting paper during the continuous feeding process, and the pulling roller configured to stretch the die-cutting paper that is cut from the third surface. Attention is brought to a different embodiment of Goodrich, specifically Figures 38-39 which outlines a cutting roller (DCR) arranged between the third unreeling unit (from FR) and the pulling roller (i.e. ER1/ER2), the cutting roller (DCR) configured to cut a third surface (PS) into a die-cutting paper (PS) during the continuous feeding process, and the pulling roller (ER1, ER2) configured to stretch the die-cutting paper (PS) that is cut from the third surface (PS; Para. 0501-0503).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have incorporated such a die-cutting roller as taught by the embodiment of Figures 38-39 of Goodrich as such incorporation readily allows for the buffer layer to be stored as unslit material and therefore easier to store and further no further module would be needed if the die-cutting roller is incorporated into the cushion sheet production module.
Regarding Claim 14, Goodrich, as modified, discloses wherein:
a second horizontal glue perpendicular to the feeding direction is applied on a surface of the second surface (at 403 on 104/104B) or the first surface (at 403 on 101/101B; see modification in view of Southwick of Claim 10) that is deviated from the other first surface or the second surface (101, 104), the second horizontal glue arranged perpendicular to the feeding direction at intervals (at 403; see Para. 0372-0373; note Para. 0373 outlines “the gluer 2000G can be arranged beneath the expanded slit sheet paper 201B such as to dispense glue upon an upper surface of the bottom sheet 104B”; see also modification of Claim 10 in view of Southwick above);
a second longitudinal glue continuously applied on a surface of the second surface (104) or the first surface (101 at 402) that is deviated from the buffer layer (102/103 or 201B) along a side edge of the feeding direction (along 402 of 101, 104; Paras. 0358, 0368 outlining longitudinal seals; see also modification of Claim 10 in view of Southwick above);
a position of the second horizontal glue (of 403 on 101; see modification in view of Southwick above) corresponding to the position of the first horizontal glue (of 403 on 104; see Paras. 0356, 0372 which form horizontal seals), and
a position of the second longitudinal glue (of 402 on 101; per modification in view of Southwick) corresponding to one of the positions of the first longitudinal glue (402 of 104; Paras. 0358, 0368 outlining longitudinal seals).
Regarding Claim 15, Goodrich, as modified, discloses wherein the production module further comprises:
a first glue providing member (of 11 of Southwick- see Figure 1 thereof),
a second glue providing member (of 13 of Southwick- see Figure 1 thereof), and
a third glue providing member (i.e. 2000G of Goodrich; Figure 41) with the same number of the third unreeling units (of 101B, 104B, 201B), respectively arranged on the machine,
the first glue providing member (of 11 of Southwick) configured to roll and clamp the first surface (101 of Goodrich), and apply the first horizontal glue on the first surface (101) at intervals along a direction perpendicular to the feeding direction during the continuous feeding process (see Page 2, Col 1, lines 64-71 of Southwick);
the second glue providing member (of 13 of Southwick) configured to roll and clamp the second surface (104 of Goodrich), and apply the first horizontal glue on the second surface (104) at intervals along a direction perpendicular to the feeding direction during the continuous feeding process (see Page 2, Col 1, lines 64-71 of Southwick);
the third glue providing member (2000G of Goodrich) apply the first horizontal glue on the buffer layer (201B) at intervals along a direction perpendicular to the feeding direction during the continuous feeding process (Para. 0367);
the production module further comprising a fourth glue providing member (of “the glue device”; Para. 0351 which outlines “the glue device should also preferably apply glue at appropriate lateral side edges to enable formation of the edge regions 402 or the like”) configured to continuously apply the longitudinal glue on the first surface and/or the second surface, or the buffer layer along edges of both sides of the feeding direction (Para. 0351).
However, Goodrich, as modified, does not readily disclose the third glue providing member is configured to feed the buffer layer. Koch discloses a glue providing member (71, 73; Figure 7) in the form of rolls for feeding and applying horizontal glue on a buffer layer (67) at intervals along a direction perpendicular to the feeding direction during a continuous feeding process (Col 5, lines 20-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the third glue providing member of Goodrich to comprise a roll glue providing member as taught by Koch as such glue roll applications allow for accurate glue positioning as well as timing of the glue application to be synchronized with the feeding mechanisms of the module.
Regarding Claim 18, Goodrich, as modified, discloses wherein each of the first glue providing member (of Southwick), the second glue providing member (of Southwick) and the third glue providing member (of Koch) comprises a gluing roller (as outlined above), at least one rolling glue position arranged on a peripheral surface of the gluing roller and perpendicular to the feeding direction of the machine and extending from one end of the gluing roller to the other end of the gluing roller (see Col 5, lines 20-24 of Koch and in order to apply the seam 19 of Southwick the glue rollers must extend peripherally as claimed), and wherein when the gluing roller rotates, glues is applied on the first surface (101 of Goodrich) and/or the second surface (104 of Goodrich), and the buffer layer (102/103 or 201B), respectively, only when the rolling glue position is in contact with the first surface (101), the second surface (104) or the buffer layer (102/103 or 201B to form 402, 403 of Figure 4).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodrich (US PGPUB 2021/0252821), in view of Southwick (US Patent 2,395,077), and in further view of Hoffman (US Patent 10,717,583).
Regarding Claim 17, Goodrich, as modified, discloses wherein the paper pressing unit (100R, 200R, 100XB, 200XB; Figure 41) further comprises at least one group of rotating units (100R/200R and 100XB/200XB; Para. 0362), each of the at least one group of rotating units comprising two rotating rollers (100R/200R and 100XB/200XB; Para. 0362) arranged parallel to each other (see Figure 41), one of the two rotating rollers (100R or 100XB) arranged above one edge of the first surface (101B) and/or the second surface (104B) along the feeding direction, and the other of the two rotating rollers (100R or 100XB) arranged above the other edge of the first surface (101B) and/or the second surface (104B) along the feeding direction; when feeding the first surface (101B), the second surface (104B) and the buffer layer (201B), the rotating roller (100R, 100XB) pressed on both sides of the first surface (101B) or the second surface (104B), and relative to the position of the first longitudinal glue (at 402), to fix the first surface (101B) and the second surface (104B) at the positions of the first longitudinal glue (at 402, 402B) during the feeding process (via 100PR See Para. 0358, 0351). However, Goodrich does not readily disclose the rollers fix the buffer layer with the first and second surfaces at the longitudinal glue locations.
Attention can be brought to the teachings of Hoffman which includes application of adhesive (20; Figure 1) both longitudinally and horizontally along the margins of a buffer layer (4) to fix with a first and second surface (6, 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to fix the buffer layer of Goodrich longitudinally with the first and second surfaces as taught by Hoffman. By modifying Goodrich in this manner, the buffer layer can be further fixed and secured in the expanded state to maintain consistent cushioning effect.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodrich (US PGPUB 2021/0252821), in view of Southwick (US Patent 2,395,077), and in further view of Wetsch (US PGPUB 2022/0002050).
Regarding Claim 19, Goodrich, as modified by Southwick, discloses a packaging bag production device comprising a cushion sheet production module as claimed in Claim 10 (see rejection above) but does not readily disclose the bag production device comprising two cushion sheet production modules, a fifth glue providing member, a bag glue providing member, at least one group of material pressing rollers and a roll-cutting module as claimed.
Attention can be brought to Wetsch which teaches a packaging bag production device (70; Figure 11A) comprising:
two cushion sheet production modules (see Para. 0100 outlines instead of a folding of a singular web, multiple webs 10 can manufactured and sealed together; see Figures 7-8), one of the two cushion sheet production modules configured to produce a first cushion sheet (10) and the other of the two cushion sheet production modules configured to produce a second cushion sheet (10), the first cushion sheet (10) arranged above the second cushion sheet (10) and overlapped with the second cushion sheet (10), and both the first cushion sheet (10) and the second cushion sheet (10) are continuously and synchronously fed (note it can be reasonably assumed or at least implied that the sheets of Figures 7-8 are fed and sealed in the same manner as in Figure 11A);
a fifth glue providing member (transverse seal applicator 80) configured to apply on a surface of the first or second cushion sheet (10) facing the other first or second cushion sheet (10) to apply the glue on the surface of the first/second cushion sheet (10) facing the first/second cushion sheet (10), so that a second horizontal glue (at 24, 32; Figure 7) perpendicular to the feeding direction is applied on the first/second surface of the first/second cushion sheet (10) at intervals (see Para. 0103);
a bag glue providing member (longitudinal seal applicator 78) configured to continuously apply a second longitudinal glue (22; Figure 7) to the surface of the first cushion sheet (10) facing the second cushion sheet (10), and/or the surface of the second cushion sheet (10) facing the first cushion sheet (10), a position that the bag glue providing member (78) applies the glue is arranged on a side edge (at 22) of the first cushion sheet (10) or the second cushion sheet (10) along a length direction thereof (see Figure 7; Para. 0103), and a position of the second longitudinal glue (22) that is continuously applied is continuous along the length direction thereof, the position of the second longitudinal glue (22) opposite to one of the positions of the first longitudinal glue (between plies 12,14; see Figure 8) on the first cushion sheet or the second cushion sheet (10; Para. 0103);
at least one group of material pressing devices (88; Figure 11A) arranged at a rear end of the bag glue providing member (78), the at least one group of material pressing devices (88) configured to clamp the first cushion sheet (10) and the second cushion sheet (10), and press the position of the second longitudinal glue (22) after gluing by the bag glue providing member (78; Para. 0105), as well as the position of the second horizontal glue (24, 32) of the first surface or the second surface opposite to each other that are on the first cushion sheet or the second cushion sheet (10) along a direction of perpendicular to the feeding direction, to fix the first cushion sheet (10) and the second cushion sheet (10; Para. 0105; note that given the configuration/position of 88, the transverse seals will also be pressed upon); and
a roll-cutting module (94, 92; Figure 11A) arranged at a rear end of the at least one group of material pressing rollers and configured to clamp the first cushion sheet (10) and the second cushion sheet (10) that are pressed and fixed, and cut at the positions of the second horizontal glue (at 24, 32) on the first cushion sheet and the second cushion sheet (10) to form a plurality of packaging bags (10; Para. 0106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have utilized a packaging bag production device which superimposes the cushion sheets as taught by Wetsch to form the bags of Goodrich as alternatively forming bags with two sheets is well known in the art as an alternative to folding one sheet. Such an arrangement allows for a module thereof to be simplified due to no need for a folding device and further such an arrangement allows the width of the module to be smaller to produce a same size package/bag. It is also noted that without folding no memory/unfolding of the bag would occur.
Further, although Wetsch fails to explicitly teach the fifth glue providing member (80) being configured to roll on the glue, the at least one group of material pressing devices being pressing rollers such that the sheets (10) are fixed with a rolling process to form a plurality of packaging bags during the continuous feeding process, these features are well known features in continuous bag manufacturing.
This is exemplified by Southwick which outlines a glue providing member (as shown and Page 1, Col 2, lines 32-50) for rolling glue on opposing sheets (11, 13) and further the sheets (of 11, 13) being fixed with material pressing rollers (Page 1, Col 2, line 53-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have utilized such glue rollers and pressing rollers as taught by Southwick in the bag production device of Wetsch as incorporated into Goodrich as such devices allow for continuous manufacturing of the bags in an economical manner that is of reinforced seam construction as taught by Southwick (Page 1, Col 1, lines 34-44).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 20, Goodrich (US PGPUB 2021/0252821), in view of Southwick (US Patent 2,395,077), and in further view of Wetsch (US PGPUB 2022/0002050) disclose and/or render obvious several features of the claimed invention of Claim 19 but neither of the references disclose the features of Claim 20, which depends from Claim 19. While further attention can be brought to Getty (US Patent 11,926,134) which outlines a second cushion sheet (11a, 11b; Figure 6) wider than a first cushion sheet (11c, 11d; Figure 2) wherein a bottom edge (23) of the second sheet is folded onto the first sheet (see Figure 9-10; Col 13, lines 25-28). However, Getty does not readily disclose the details of Claim 20 including the bottom edge comprising the longitudinal glue and a folding module arranged at the rear end of the bag glue providing member and configured to fold the bottom edge of the bag of the second cushion sheet after being continuously applied glue, so that the bottom edge of the bag wraps around opposite edges of the first cushion sheet and at least one group of material pressing rollers configured to press the bottom edge of the bag that is folded to fix the bottom edge of the bag on the first cushion sheet.
Further, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to further modify Goodrich to obtain invention of Claim 20 without further significant structural modifications as well as improper hindsight as motivation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See “Notice of References Cited”.
/JOSHUA G KOTIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3731 3/5/2026