DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims X are canceled.
Claims X are new.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
This action is in reply to the papers filed on 05/16/2024 (effective filing date 05/16/2023).
Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on xxx as modified by the amendment filed on xxx.
Reasons For Allowance
Prior-Art Rejection withdrawn
Claims xxx are allowed. The closest prior art (See PTO-892, Notice of References Cited) does not teach the claimed:
The closest prior-art (xxx) teach the features as disclosed in Non-final Rejection (xxxx), however, these cited references do not teach and the prior-art does not teach at least the following combination of features and/or elements:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101 - Withdrawn
Per Applicant’s amendments and arguments and considering new guidance in the MPEP, the rejections are withdrawn. Specifically, in Applicant’s Remarks (dated 03/14/2017, pgs. 8-11), Applicant traverses the 35 USC §101 rejections arguing that the amended claims recite new limitations that are not abstract, amount to significantly more, are directed to a practical application, etc… For example, Applicant argues….
In support of their arguments, Applicant cites to the following recent Fed. Cir. court cases (i.e., Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, SRI Int’l, Inc. v. Cisco Systems, Inc., Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, Berkheimer, Core Wireless, McRO, Enfish, Bascom, DDR, etc…).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. These claims recite a method of digital badging and micro credentialing.
Claim 1 recites [a] method of operating a digital credential platform comprising: prompting a user of the digital credential platform to select a credential program comprising one or more program tasks to be completed by the user, wherein the user earns a credential with respect to the credential program upon completion of a predefined quantity or set of the program tasks; displaying a listing of the program tasks associated with the selected credential program to the user; providing an interface for the user to interact with the digital credential platform in order for the user to: complete a corresponding one of the program tasks via the interacting of the user with the digital credential platform, or submit evidence to the digital credential platform regarding the completion of the corresponding one of the program tasks by the user; awarding the user a digital credential badge following a determination that the user has earned the credential with respect to the selected credential program; generating a webpage associated with the awarded digital credential badge, the webpage including the display of information relating to the credential earned by the user with respect to the selected credential program; and providing a sharable link to the user, the sharable link configured to redirect a third party to the webpage associated with the awarded digital credential badge.
The claims are being rejected according to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Federal Register, Vol. 84, No. 5, p. 50-57 (Jan. 7, 2019)).
Step 1: Does the Claim Fall within a Statutory Category?
Yes. Claims 1-20 recite a method and, therefore, are directed to the statutory class of a process.
Step 2A, Prong One: Is a Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The following tables identify the specific limitations that recite an abstract idea. The column that identifies the additional elements will be relevant to the analysis in step 2A, prong two, and step 2B.
Claim 1: Identification of Abstract Idea and Additional Elements, using Broadest Reasonable Interpretation
Claim Limitation
Abstract Idea
Additional Element
1. A method of operating a digital credential platform comprising:
No additional elements are positively claimed.
prompting a user of the digital credential platform to select a credential program comprising one or more program tasks to be completed by the user, wherein the user earns a credential with respect to the credential program upon completion of a predefined quantity or set of the program tasks;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: prompting a user of the digital credential platform to select a credential program comprising one or more program tasks to be completed by the user, wherein the user earns a credential with respect to the credential program upon completion of a predefined quantity or set of the program tasks.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method of digital badging and micro credentialing which may be categorized as any of the following:
mental process – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity –
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), and/or
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
Note the ‘digital credential platform’ is interpreted as software and NOT as an additional element per Applicant’s Specification 2024/0386082 [0054 - digital credential platform is generally described hereinafter as being accessible as a form of software application … Any references to the digital credential platform herein may refer to either of the software application 132 or the corresponding website managed by the enterprise system]
displaying a listing of the program tasks associated with the selected credential program to the user;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: displaying a listing of the program tasks associated with the selected credential program to the user.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method of digital badging and micro credentialing which may be categorized as any of the following:
mental process – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity –
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), and/or
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
providing an interface for the user to interact with the digital credential platform in order for the user to: complete a corresponding one of the program tasks via the interacting of the user with the digital credential platform, or submit evidence to the digital credential platform regarding the completion of the corresponding one of the program tasks by the user;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: providing an interface for the user to interact with the digital credential platform in order for the user to: complete a corresponding one of the program tasks via the interacting of the user with the digital credential platform, or submit evidence to the digital credential platform regarding the completion of the corresponding one of the program tasks by the user.
But for the interface, this limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method of digital badging and micro credentialing which may be categorized as any of the following:
mental process – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity –
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), and/or
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
providing an interface for the user to interact with the digital credential platform
awarding the user a digital credential badge following a determination that the user has earned the credential with respect to the selected credential program;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: awarding the user a digital credential badge following a determination that the user has earned the credential with respect to the selected credential program.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method of digital badging and micro credentialing which may be categorized as any of the following:
mental process – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity –
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), and/or
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
generating a webpage associated with the awarded digital credential badge, the webpage including the display of information relating to the credential earned by the user with respect to the selected credential program; and
This limitation includes the step(s) of: generating a webpage associated with the awarded digital credential badge, the webpage including the display of information relating to the credential earned by the user with respect to the selected credential program.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method of digital badging and micro credentialing which may be categorized as any of the following:
mental process – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity –
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), and/or
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
providing a sharable link to the user, the sharable link configured to redirect a third party to the webpage associated with the awarded digital credential badge.
This limitation includes the step(s) of: providing a sharable link to the user, the sharable link configured to redirect a third party to the webpage associated with the awarded digital credential badge.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method of digital badging and micro credentialing which may be categorized as any of the following:
mental process – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity –
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), and/or
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
As shown above, under Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite a judicial exception (an abstract idea). The claims are directed to the abstract idea of digital badging and micro credentialing, which, pursuant to MPEP 2106.04, is aptly categorized as a mental process and/or a method of organizing human activity. Therefore, under Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite a judicial exception.
Next, the aforementioned claims recite additional functional elements that are associated with the judicial exception, including: an interface to facilitate interactions with the digital credential platform. Examiner understands these limitations to be insignificant extrasolution activity. (See Accenture, 728 F.3d 1336, 108 U.S.P.Q.2d 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2013), citing Cf. Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 191-192 (1981) ("[I]nsignificant post-solution activity will not transform an unpatentable principle in to a patentable process.”).
The aforementioned claims also recite additional technical elements including: an interface to facilitate interactions with the digital credential platform. These limitations are recited at a high level of generality and appear to be nothing more than generic computer components. Examiner further notes that the “digital credential platform” is nothing more than a software application being executed on a generic computer. Claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2358, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 134 S. Ct. at 2389, 110 USPQ2d at 1984.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Is the Abstract Idea Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements listed above that relate to computing components are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic components performing generic computer functions such as communicating, receiving, processing, analyzing, and outputting/displaying data) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Additionally, the claims do not purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. There is no technological problem that the claimed invention solves. Rather, the computer system is invoked merely as a tool. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, these claims are directed to an abstract idea. Additionally, the ‘digital credential platform’ is interpreted as software and NOT as additional element(s) per Applicant’s Specification 2024/0386082 [0054 - digital credential platform is generally described hereinafter as being accessible as a form of software application … Any references to the digital credential platform herein may refer to either of the software application 132 or the corresponding website managed by the enterprise system].
Furthermore, looking at the elements individually and in combination, under Step 2A, Prong Two, the claims as a whole do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because they fail to: improve the functioning of a computer or a technical field, apply the judicial exception in the treatment or prophylaxis of a disease, apply the judicial exception with a particular machine, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply the judicial exception beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Rather, the claims merely use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea(s), and/or add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Step 2B: Does the Claim Provide an Inventive Concept?
Next, under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Simply put, as noted above, there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer (or any other technology), and their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements relating to computing components amount to no more than applying the exception using a generic computing components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computing component cannot provide an inventive concept. Furthermore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed computer components (i.e., additional elements) includes any generic computing components that are capable of being programmed to communicate, receive, send, process, analyze, output, or display data. Furthermore, Applicant’s Specification (PGPub. 2024/0386082 [0015]) refers to a general computer system, but they do not include any technically-specific computer algorithm or code.
Additionally, pursuant to the requirement under Berkheimer, the following citations are provided to demonstrate that the additional elements, identified as extra-solution activity, amount to activities that are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d).
Capturing an image (code) with an RFID reader. Ritter, US Patent No. 7734507 (Col. 3, Lines 56-67); “RFID: Riding on the Chip” by Pat Russo. Frozen Food Age. New York: Dec. 2003, vol. 52, Issue 5; page S22.
Receiving or transmitting data over a network. Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362; OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Storing and retrieving information in memory. Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Outputting/Presenting data to a user. Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015); MPEP 2106.05(g)(3).
Using a machine learning model to determine user segment characteristics for an ad campaign. https://whites.agency/blog/how-to-use-machine-learning-for-customer-segmentation/.
Thus, taken alone and in combination, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea), and are ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Dependent claims 2-20 further describe the abstract idea. The additional elements of the dependent claims fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus, as the dependent claims remain directed to a judicial exception, and as the additional elements of the claims do not amount to significantly more, the dependent claims are not patent eligible.
As such, the claims are not patent eligible.
Invention Could be Performed Manually
It is conceivable that the invention could be performed manually without the aid of machine and/or computer. For example, Applicant claims prompting a user to select a program, displaying a listing, providing an interface for the user to interact, awarding a badge, generating a webpage, and providing a link. Each of these features could be performed manually and/or with the aid of a simple generic computer to facilitate the transmission of data.
See also Leapfrog Enterprises, Inc. v. Fisher-Price, Inc., and In re Venner, which stand for the concept that automating manual activity and/or applying modern electronics to older mechanical devices to accomplish the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. Here, applicant is merely claiming computers to facilitate and/or automate functions which used to be commonly performed by a human.
Leapfrog Enterprises, Inc. v. Fisher-Price, Inc., 485 F.3d 1157, 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007) "[a]pplying modern electronics to older mechanical devices has been commonplace in recent years…"). The combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is commonly available and understood in the art.
In In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958), the court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. MPEP 2144.04, III Automating a Manual Activity.
MPEP 2144.04 III - Automating a Manual Activity and In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958) further stand for and provide motivation for using technology, hardware, computer, or server to automate a manual activity.
Therefore, the Office finds no improvements to another technology or field, no improvements to the function of the computer itself, and no meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, based on the two-part Alice Corp. analysis, there are no limitations in any of the claims that transform the exception (i.e., the abstract idea) into a patent eligible application.
Claim Rejections - Not an Ordered Combination
None of the limitations, considered as an ordered combination provide eligibility, because taken as a whole, the claims simply instruct the practitioner to implement the abstract idea with routine, conventional activity.
Claim Rejections - Preemption
Allowing the claims, as presently claimed, would preempt others from implementing a method of digital badging and micro credentialing. Furthermore, the claim language only recites the abstract idea of performing this method, there are no concrete steps articulating a particular way in which this idea is being implemented or describing how it is being performed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Omegna et al. 2024/0257155; in view of Payne et al. 2012/0190002.
18/666,344 – Claim 1. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 teaches A method of operating a digital credential platform (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0011 - digital credential platform server] one or more network interfaces configured to transmit secure data to a digital credential platform server) comprising: prompting a user of the digital credential platform to select a credential program comprising one or more program tasks to be completed by the user (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0050 - selection] The received selection of the first credential receiver may be a selection to accept the first digital credential, and wherein the memory of the digital credential platform server stores further instructions which, when executed by the processing unit, causes the digital credential platform server [0135 – select… selected…]), wherein the user earns a credential with respect to the credential program upon completion of a predefined quantity or set of the program tasks (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0133 - training course completion certificates] As used herein, a digital credential template (or digital badge template) may refer to an electronic document or data structure storing a general (e.g., non-user specific) template or description of a specific type of digital credential that may be issued to an individual. Within the context of the present disclosure, a credential may be any recognition held by an individual or organisation that provides evidence of a capability, entitlement, or ownership. Illustrative examples of such credentials include, but are not limited to, insurance policies, corporate licences, leases, evidence of title, registrations, and business/company registration numbers. Digital credential templates may include, for example, a description of the skills, proficiencies, and/or achievements that the digital credential represents. This description may take the form of diploma data, certification data, and/or license data, including the parent organisation (i.e., the digital credential template owner) responsible for creating and defining the digital credential template. Examples of digital credential templates include templates for various technology certifications, licensure exams, professional tests, training course completion certificates, and the like. In contrast to a digital credential template, a digital credential (or digital badge) may refer to an instance of an electronic document or data structure, generated for a specific individual (i.e., the credential receiver), and based on a digital credential template. Thus, a digital credential document or data structure may be based on a corresponding digital credential template, but may be customised and populated with user-specific information such as individual identification data (e.g., name, email address, and other user identifiers), credential issuance data (e.g., issue date, geographic location of issuance, authorised issuer of the credential, etc.), and links or embedded data that contain the specific user's supporting documentation or evidence relating to the credential. [0155 - the credential receiver may be an individual user of an electronic learning system, professional training system, online certification course, or the like, who has completed a predetermined set of eligibility requirements and/or successfully completed a qualification test to receive a credential in accordance] Assuming the issuer is authorised to issue and/or modify digital credentials based on the specified template (502: Yes), the issuer may provide data identifying the credential receiver in step 503. The credential receiver (or credential earner or badge earner) corresponds to an individual that has been determined by the issuer to be eligible to receive a digital credential based on the template. For example, the credential receiver may be an individual user of an electronic learning system, professional training system, online certification course, or the like, who has completed a predetermined set of eligibility requirements and/or successfully completed a qualification test to receive a credential in accordance with the template. The receiver identification data received in step 503 may include, for example, the individual's name, contact information (e.g., email address, phone number, etc.) and/or various other identifying data such as a login identifier, system account number, student number, social security number, etc.); displaying a listing of the program tasks associated with the selected credential program to the user; providing an interface for the user to interact with the digital credential platform (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0038 - user interface] output a user interface during a network session with the first credential receiver device, the user interface including a notification regarding the current status of the first digital credential [0127 - network interface 114 facilitates access to one or more data communications networks, including the Internet 102, to enable communication between the server 104 and the user devices] The microprocessor 108 is operably associated with a network interface 114 in a conventional manner. The network interface 114 facilitates access to one or more data communications networks, including the Internet 102, to enable communication between the server 104 and the user devices 106. In use, the volatile storage 112 includes a corresponding body of 116 of program instructions configured to perform processing and operations embodying features of the present invention, for example as described below with reference to FIGS. 3 to 6. [0134 - platform server 310 may provide graphical and/or programmatic interfaces to support interactions with different] As shown in this example, the system 300 also may include a digital credential receiver system 340 and a digital credential endorser system 350. The digital credential receiver system 340 may be a computing device associated with a credential receiver (or credential earner), for example, an individual user of an electronic learning system, professional training system, online certification course, etc. As discussed below, credential receivers may access the platform server 310 via systems 340 to accept or reject newly issued or modified digital credentials, review and update their own set of previously earned digital credentials, as well as to publish (or share) their digital credentials via communication applications or publishing platforms such as social media systems. Digital credential endorser system 350 may be a computing system associated with an endorsing entity, such as an educational institution, business, or technical organisation that has chosen to review and endorse a specific digital credential template. The platform server 310 may receive and track the endorsements received from systems 350, and may associate the endorsements with the user-specific digital credentials issued based on the endorsed templates. The platform server 310 may provide graphical and/or programmatic interfaces to support interactions with different endorser systems 350. [0156 - an interactive graphical user interface] In addition to the receiver identification data received in step 503, the issuer system 330 may provide the platform server 310 with additional data necessary (or optional) for generating a digital credential for the credential receiver. The additional data received in step 504 may depend on the credential template, as different templates may include different data fields requiring different information before a digital credential may be issued and/or modified. Such additional data may include, for example, as issue date for the digital credential, an (optional) expiration date for the digital credential, and/or user-specific evidence which may be embedded or provided as links that provides additional supporting documentation (e.g., transcripts, diplomas, scanned assignments or exam documents, certification letters, reference letters, licenses, identification documents, signed certificates of completion, etc.). The data received in steps 503 and 504 may be transmitted by the issuer system 330 separately or in the same transmission. In some cases, the data may be received in steps 503 and 504 via an interactive graphical user interface provided by the platform server 310. Additionally or alternatively, such data may be received via a programmatic interface (e.g., API calls), or as a network request, or via an invocation of an application or service executing on the platform server, etc.) in order for the user to: complete a corresponding one of the program tasks via the interacting of the user with the digital credential platform (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0143 - to perform the tasks described herein, platform server 310 may include components such as network interface controllers] In some embodiments, the digital credential platform server 310 may generate and provide software interfaces (e.g., via a web-based application, or using other programmatic or graphical interface techniques) used by the various client systems 320-370 to perform the various digital credential management functionality described herein. In response to receiving inputs from a client system 320-370 corresponding to digital credentials, templates, credential search requests and criteria, etc., the platform server 310 may access the underlying digital credential data store 315 perform the various functionality described herein. In other to perform the tasks described herein, platform server 310 may include components such as network interface controllers 312, processing units 313, and memory 314 configured to store server software, handle authentication and security, and to store, analyse, and manage the digital credentials, templates, and credential tracking data stored within the digital credential data store 315. As shown in this example, the digital credential data store 315 may be implemented as separate dedicated data stores (e.g., databases, file-based storage, etc.) used for storing digital credential template objects, issued digital credentials, credential tracking data, and authorised user/role data. The platform server 310 and data store 315 may be implemented as separate software (and/or storage) components within a single computer server 310 in some examples, while in other examples may be implemented as separate computer server systems having separate dedicated processing units, storage devices, and/or network components. [0155 - an individual user of an electronic learning system, professional training system, online certification course, or the like, who has completed a predetermined set of eligibility requirements and/or successfully completed a qualification test to receive a credential] Assuming the issuer is authorised to issue and/or modify digital credentials based on the specified template (502: Yes), the issuer may provide data identifying the credential receiver in step 503. The credential receiver (or credential earner or badge earner) corresponds to an individual that has been determined by the issuer to be eligible to receive a digital credential based on the template. For example, the credential receiver may be an individual user of an electronic learning system, professional training system, online certification course, or the like, who has completed a predetermined set of eligibility requirements and/or successfully completed a qualification test to receive a credential in accordance with the template. The receiver identification data received in step 503 may include, for example, the individual's name, contact information (e.g., email address, phone number, etc.) and/or various other identifying data such as a login identifier, system account number, student number, social security number, etc.), or submit evidence to the digital credential platform regarding the completion of the corresponding one of the program tasks by the user (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0133 - links or embedded data that contain the specific user's supporting documentation or evidence relating to the credential] As used herein, a digital credential template (or digital badge template) may refer to an electronic document or data structure storing a general (e.g., non-user specific) template or description of a specific type of digital credential that may be issued to an individual. Within the context of the present disclosure, a credential may be any recognition held by an individual or organisation that provides evidence of a capability, entitlement, or ownership. Illustrative examples of such credentials include, but are not limited to, insurance policies, corporate licences, leases, evidence of title, registrations, and business/company registration numbers. Digital credential templates may include, for example, a description of the skills, proficiencies, and/or achievements that the digital credential represents. This description may take the form of diploma data, certification data, and/or license data, including the parent organisation (i.e., the digital credential template owner) responsible for creating and defining the digital credential template. Examples of digital credential templates include templates for various technology certifications, licensure exams, professional tests, training course completion certificates, and the like. In contrast to a digital credential template, a digital credential (or digital badge) may refer to an instance of an electronic document or data structure, generated for a specific individual (i.e., the credential receiver), and based on a digital credential template. Thus, a digital credential document or data structure may be based on a corresponding digital credential template, but may be customised and populated with user-specific information such as individual identification data (e.g., name, email address, and other user identifiers), credential issuance data (e.g., issue date, geographic location of issuance, authorised issuer of the credential, etc.), and links or embedded data that contain the specific user's supporting documentation or evidence relating to the credential. [0156 - or user-specific evidence which may be embedded or provided as links that provides additional supporting documentation (e.g., transcripts, diplomas, scanned assignments or exam documents, certification letters, reference letters, licenses, identification documents, signed certificates of completion, etc.) … data received … may be transmitted by the issuer … separately or in the same transmission] In addition to the receiver identification data received in step 503, the issuer system 330 may provide the platform server 310 with additional data necessary (or optional) for generating a digital credential for the credential receiver. The additional data received in step 504 may depend on the credential template, as different templates may include different data fields requiring different information before a digital credential may be issued and/or modified. Such additional data may include, for example, as issue date for the digital credential, an (optional) expiration date for the digital credential, and/or user-specific evidence which may be embedded or provided as links that provides additional supporting documentation (e.g., transcripts, diplomas, scanned assignments or exam documents, certification letters, reference letters, licenses, identification documents, signed certificates of completion, etc.). The data received in steps 503 and 504 may be transmitted by the issuer system 330 separately or in the same transmission. In some cases, the data may be received in steps 503 and 504 via an interactive graphical user interface provided by the platform server 310. Additionally or alternatively, such data may be received via a programmatic interface (e.g., API calls), or as a network request, or via an invocation of an application or service executing on the platform server, etc.); awarding the user a digital credential badge following a determination that the user has earned the credential with respect to the selected credential program (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0004 - issuance of digital credentials (or digital badges) to qualifying individuals, with these digital credential earners using the digital credentials to certify the skills or qualifications that the earner obtained] These increasing opportunities for individuals to obtain technical skills and proficiencies through such digital means are presenting a range of challenges particularly in relation to issuing, verifying, publishing, sharing, and tracking the collection of credentials associated with a specific individual. Many individuals and institutions no longer rely on physical certificates such as diplomas, transcripts, certification statements, and physical licenses, to verify the authenticity of an individual's proficiencies or qualifications. Instead, there has been an increasing demand for the issuance of digital credentials (or digital badges) to qualifying individuals, with these digital credential earners using the digital credentials to certify the skills or qualifications that the earner obtained. [0133 - digital credential template, a digital credential (or digital badge) may refer to an instance of an electronic document or data structure, generated for a specific individual (i.e., the credential receiver)] As used herein, a digital credential template (or digital badge template) may refer to an electronic document or data structure storing a general (e.g., non-user specific) template or description of a specific type of digital credential that may be issued to an individual. Within the context of the present disclosure, a credential may be any recognition held by an individual or organisation that provides evidence of a capability, entitlement, or ownership. Illustrative examples of such credentials include, but are not limited to, insurance policies, corporate licences, leases, evidence of title, registrations, and business/company registration numbers. Digital credential templates may include, for example, a description of the skills, proficiencies, and/or achievements that the digital credential represents. This description may take the form of diploma data, certification data, and/or license data, including the parent organisation (i.e., the digital credential template owner) responsible for creating and defining the digital credential template. Examples of digital credential templates include templates for various technology certifications, licensure exams, professional tests, training course completion certificates, and the like. In contrast to a digital credential template, a digital credential (or digital badge) may refer to an instance of an electronic document or data structure, generated for a specific individual (i.e., the credential receiver), and based on a digital credential template. Thus, a digital credential document or data structure may be based on a corresponding digital credential template, but may be customised and populated with user-specific information such as individual identification data (e.g., name, email address, and other user identifiers), credential issuance data (e.g., issue date, geographic location of issuance, authorised issuer of the credential, etc.), and links or embedded data that contain the specific user's supporting documentation or evidence relating to the credential. [0155 - credential receiver (or credential earner or badge earner) corresponds to an individual that has been determined by the issuer to be eligible to receive a digital credential] Assuming the issuer is authorised to issue and/or modify digital credentials based on the specified template (502: Yes), the issuer may provide data identifying the credential receiver in step 503. The credential receiver (or credential earner or badge earner) corresponds to an individual that has been determined by the issuer to be eligible to receive a digital credential based on the template. For example, the credential receiver may be an individual user of an electronic learning system, professional training system, online certification course, or the like, who has completed a predetermined set of eligibility requirements and/or successfully completed a qualification test to receive a credential in accordance with the template. The receiver identification data received in step 503 may include, for example, the individual's name, contact information (e.g., email address, phone number, etc.) and/or various other identifying data such as a login identifier, system account number, student number, social security number, etc.); generating a webpage associated with the awarded digital credential badge (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0051 - generate a uniform resource locator (URL) associated with the first digital credential] in response to the acceptance of the first digital credential by the first credential receiver, generate a uniform resource locator (URL) associated with the first digital credential. [0111 - a web-based credential tracking and notification system] FIG. 2 is a schematic block diagram illustrating a web-based credential tracking and notification system in accordance with an alternative embodiment of the present invention. [0153 - the platform server 310 may provide a graphical user interface (e.g., web-based) through which issuer systems 330 may issue and/or modify digital credentials] In step 501, the platform server 310 may receive a request from a credential issuer system 330 to access a specified credential template in order to generate (or create, issue, or modify) a digital credential. In some embodiments, the platform server 310 may provide a graphical user interface (e.g., web-based) through which issuer systems 330 may issue and/or modify digital credentials. Additionally or alternatively, the request in step 501 may be received programmatically (e.g., via API calls) by a service executing on the platform server 310. In either case, the request from the issuer system 330 in step 501 may identify at least the issuer making the requesting (e.g., including a username and password and/or other authentication credentials associated with the issue for validation), as well as the specific template for which the issuer is requesting access.), the webpage including the display of information relating to the credential earned by the user with respect to the selected credential program (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0133 - a digital credential document or data structure may be based on a corresponding digital credential template, but may be customised and populated with user-specific information such as individual identification data (e.g., name, email address, and other user identifiers), credential issuance data (e.g., issue date, geographic location of issuance, authorised issuer of the credential, etc.), and links or embedded data that contain the specific user's supporting documentation or evidence relating to the credential.] As used herein, a digital credential template (or digital badge template) may refer to an electronic document or data structure storing a general (e.g., non-user specific) template or description of a specific type of digital credential that may be issued to an individual. Within the context of the present disclosure, a credential may be any recognition held by an individual or organisation that provides evidence of a capability, entitlement, or ownership. Illustrative examples of such credentials include, but are not limited to, insurance policies, corporate licences, leases, evidence of title, registrations, and business/company registration numbers. Digital credential templates may include, for example, a description of the skills, proficiencies, and/or achievements that the digital credential represents. This description may take the form of diploma data, certification data, and/or license data, including the parent organisation (i.e., the digital credential template owner) responsible for creating and defining the digital credential template. Examples of digital credential templates include templates for various technology certifications, licensure exams, professional tests, training course completion certificates, and the like. In contrast to a digital credential template, a digital credential (or digital badge) may refer to an instance of an electronic document or data structure, generated for a specific individual (i.e., the credential receiver), and based on a digital credential template. Thus, a digital credential document or data structure may be based on a corresponding digital credential template, but may be customised and populated with user-specific information such as individual identification data (e.g., name, email address, and other user identifiers), credential issuance data (e.g., issue date, geographic location of issuance, authorised issuer of the credential, etc.), and links or embedded data that contain the specific user's supporting documentation or evidence relating to the credential. [0161 - creation and support of a unique URL for each digital credential may allow external users to access and view any digital credential earned by any receiver] In step 507, the platform server 310 may provision the new digital credential by generating a unique uniform resource locator (URL) corresponding to the digital credential. The unique URL may reference a valid location within platform server 310 or a separate related web server within the system 300. As discussed in more detail below, the creation and support of a unique URL for each digital credential may allow external users to access and view any digital credential earned by any receiver, and also allows the platform server 310 to record, track, and analyse views the different digital credentials.); and providing a sharable link to the user, the sharable link configured to redirect a third party to the webpage associated with the awarded digital credential badge (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0005 - provide notifications to … third parties] Since digital representations of credentials are often far easier to alter, modify, or forge than their physical counterparts, there is a requirement for secure channels of issuance and verification of the digital credentials from trusted providers. Such authentication measures given employers and/or consumers confidence that the credentials shared with them are in fact valid and issued by the institution and or organisation/association in question. However, since many credentials (including digital credentials and micro-credentials) have an expiry date, and therefore a predefined validity period unless otherwise renewed, there is also the need for a system to manage an individual's credentials and to provide notifications to nominated third parties when credentials either expire, become invalid, or are withdrawn. [0115 - sharing of digital credentials] FIG. 6 is a flow diagram illustrating an example process of initiating the acceptance, modification and sharing of digital credentials, based on interactions with digital credential receivers, according to one or more embodiments of the disclosure. [0134 - publish (or share) their digital credentials via communication applications or publishing platforms such as social media systems] As shown in this example, the system 300 also may include a digital credential receiver system 340 and a digital credential endorser system 350. The digital credential receiver system 340 may be a computing device associated with a credential receiver (or credential earner), for example, an individual user of an electronic learning system, professional training system, online certification course, etc. As discussed below, credential receivers may access the platform server 310 via systems 340 to accept or reject newly issued or modified digital credentials, review and update their own set of previously earned digital credentials, as well as to publish (or share) their digital credentials via communication applications or publishing platforms such as social media systems. Digital credential endorser system 350 may be a computing system associated with an endorsing entity, such as an educational institution, business, or technical organisation that has chosen to review and endorse a specific digital credential template. The platform server 310 may receive and track the endorsements received from systems 350, and may associate the endorsements with the user-specific digital credentials issued based on the endorsed templates. The platform server 310 may provide graphical and/or programmatic interfaces to support interactions with different endorser systems 350. [0138 - third-party systems] Additionally, the digital credential tracking and notification system 300 in this example includes a number of external client devices 360 and external digital credential publishers 370. External client devices 360 may correspond to computing systems of third-party users that may interact with the platform server 310 to initiate various functionality or retrieve data relating to templates and/or digital credentials managed by the platform 310. For example, a client device 360 may query the platform server 310 for data metrics and/or analyses relating to a subset of digital credentials stored in the digital credential data store 315. The third-party systems 360 also may provide data to the platform server 310 that may initiate updates to the templates and/or digital credentials stored in the data store 315. External digital credential publishers 370 may correspond to third-party systems configured to receive digital credential data from the platform 310 and publish (or present) the digital credential data to users. Examples of publishers 370 may include social media website and systems, digital badge wallets, and/or other specialised servers or applications configured to store and present views of digital badges to users.).
Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 may not expressly disclose the “prompting a user … to select a …” and “listing” features, however, Payne et al. 2012/0190002 teaches (Payne et al. 2012/0190002 [0009 - a web-based, training system adapted to provide training … an e-training module … accessible by one or more trainees, the e-training module including a content library sub-module containing a collection of one or more e-training courses … a trainee planner sub-module adapted to allow a trainee to select one or more of the e-training courses and generate an e-learning plan, a validation sub-module adapted to validate completion of a knowledge portion and validation of completion of a practical portion … a status report of the e-learning plan indicating a status of each selected e-training course of the e-learning plan, a transcript of all completed e-training courses from the e-learning plan, and a certificate of completion for at least one e-training course which is completed from the e-learning plan …] According to yet another aspect, a web-based, training system adapted to provide training on an instrument or piece of equipment is provided. The system includes a server system operable to provide web-based portals accessible by one or more trainees and one or more work group administrators; an e-training module operable on the server system and accessible by one or more trainees, the e-training module including a content library sub-module containing a collection of one or more e-training courses directed at the instrument or piece of equipment, a trainee planner sub-module adapted to allow a trainee to select one or more of the e-training courses and generate an e-learning plan, a validation sub-module adapted to validate completion of a knowledge portion and validation of completion of a practical portion, and an output generator sub-module adapted to generate at least one output selected from the group of: a status report of the e-learning plan indicating a status of each selected e-training course of the e-learning plan, a transcript of all completed e-training courses from the e-learning plan, and a certificate of completion for at least one e-training course which is completed from the e-learning plan; and an administrator module operable on the server system and accessible by the one or more work group administrators, the administrator module including: an invitation sub-module adapted to invite one or more trainees to a work group, and a manage team sub-module adapted to allow the one or more work group administrators to select and assign one or more e-training courses to the one or more trainees accepting the invitation to the work group. [0087 - listing of one or more of the sub-categories of e-training 410 in the content library sub-module… listing of the collection of e-training courses. A screen shot 509 of a listing of available e-training courses… display screen…] Once in the content library sub-module 408, the trainee (e.g., 210A) may then refer to the listing of one or more of the sub-categories of e-training 410 in the content library sub-module 408, and select an e-training sub-category 410 in block 514. This will bring up a listing of the collection of e-training courses. A screen shot 509 of a listing of available e-training courses for the instrument or equipment specific sub-category is shown in FIG. 5F. As can be seen, the listing may be organized by the trade name of the instrument or piece of equipment. The trainee (e.g., 210A) may then drill deeper by selecting a particular instrument or piece of equipment from the listing via selecting ">more". Once a trainee selects a particular instrument or piece of equipment, a trainee planner sub-module 412 may be launched in block 516. The launch may be automatic or via the selection of a selection box indicating to launch the trainee planner sub-module 412 together with the selection of a training sub-category. A screen shot of the display screen 511 of the trainee planner sub-module 412 is shown in FIG. 5G. [0113 - listing of topics … for each training area…] Once the training areas have been established and populated, the topics may be added for each training area in the manage topics sub-module 808. The manage topics sub-module 808 functions to allow service personnel 214 to provide the listing of topics (see topics 515 in FIG. 5G) for each training area as shown in FIG. 9D. This includes adding/editing the text, or adding/editing a description from the create/edit topics screen shown in FIG. 9E. The order of the topics may be changed in the Manage PEP Topics sub-module.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 to include the features as taught by Payne et al. 2012/0190002. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for digital badging and micro credentialing which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
18/666,344 – Claim 2. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the selected credential program is one of a plurality of credential programs (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0011 - digital credential platform] one or more network interfaces configured to transmit secure data to a digital credential platform server) offered by the digital credential platform and selectable by the user (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0050 - received selection of the first credential … selection to accept the first digital credential…] The received selection of the first credential receiver may be a selection to accept the first digital credential, and wherein the memory of the digital credential platform server stores further instructions which, when executed by the processing unit, causes the digital credential platform server [0052 - including the first digital credential template and a second digital credential template] The digital credential platform server may receive a plurality of digital credential templates from the digital credential template owner device, including the first digital credential template and a second digital credential template, and wherein the memory of the digital credential platform server storing therein further instructions which, when executed by the processing unit, causes the digital credential platform server).
18/666,344 – Claim 3. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the credential program (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0011 - digital credential platform] one or more network interfaces configured to transmit secure data to a digital credential platform server) is developed by a subject matter expert in a topic associated with completion of at least one of the program tasks of the credential program (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0002 - Credentials are a well-known way … to verify an individual's qualifications in a given field or area of skill and expertise] Credentials are a well-known way for employers and/or consumers to verify an individual's qualifications in a given field or area of skill and expertise. Credentials can, for example, be certificates awarded by educational institutions (typically in programs that take less than two years to complete), as well as degrees at the associate, bachelor, master and doctorate levels. Industry and trade associations are also in the credentialing business, and offer certifications to demonstrate skill mastery and competencies, typically through some combination of training, assessment and continuing education. State agencies also award licenses to recognise skill attainment such as, for example, the issuance of licences for the operation of various classes of vehicles. [0033 - digital credential representing completion of the educational certification or training course by a credential recipient] receive, in response to said transmitted request, from the digital credential issuer device, data confirming the status change of the first digital credential, the first digital credential representing completion of the educational certification or training course by a credential recipient: [0133 - Examples of digital credential templates include templates for various technology certifications, licensure exams, professional tests, training course completion certificates, and the like] As used herein, a digital credential template (or digital badge template) may refer to an electronic document or data structure storing a general (e.g., non-user specific) template or description of a specific type of digital credential that may be issued to an individual. Within the context of the present disclosure, a credential may be any recognition held by an individual or organisation that provides evidence of a capability, entitlement, or ownership. Illustrative examples of such credentials include, but are not limited to, insurance policies, corporate licences, leases, evidence of title, registrations, and business/company registration numbers. Digital credential templates may include, for example, a description of the skills, proficiencies, and/or achievements that the digital credential represents. This description may take the form of diploma data, certification data, and/or license data, including the parent organisation (i.e., the digital credential template owner) responsible for creating and defining the digital credential template. Examples of digital credential templates include templates for various technology certifications, licensure exams, professional tests, training course completion certificates, and the like. In contrast to a digital credential template, a digital credential (or digital badge) may refer to an instance of an electronic document or data structure, generated for a specific individual (i.e., the credential receiver), and based on a digital credential template. Thus, a digital credential document or data structure may be based on a corresponding digital credential template, but may be customised and populated with user-specific information such as individual identification data (e.g., name, email address, and other user identifiers), credential issuance data (e.g., issue date, geographic location of issuance, authorised issuer of the credential, etc.), and links or embedded data that contain the specific user's supporting documentation or evidence relating to the credential. [0155 - the credential receiver may be an individual user of an electronic learning system, professional training system, online certification course, or the like, who has completed a predetermined set of eligibility requirements and/or successfully completed a qualification test to receive a credential in accordance with the template] Assuming the issuer is authorised to issue and/or modify digital credentials based on the specified template (502: Yes), the issuer may provide data identifying the credential receiver in step 503. The credential receiver (or credential earner or badge earner) corresponds to an individual that has been determined by the issuer to be eligible to receive a digital credential based on the template. For example, the credential receiver may be an individual user of an electronic learning system, professional training system, online certification course, or the like, who has completed a predetermined set of eligibility requirements and/or successfully completed a qualification test to receive a credential in accordance with the template. The receiver identification data received in step 503 may include, for example, the individual's name, contact information (e.g., email address, phone number, etc.) and/or various other identifying data such as a login identifier, system account number, student number, social security number, etc.).
18/666,344 – Claim 6. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the user completing a corresponding one of the program tasks via the interacting of the user with the digital credential platform (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0011 - digital credential platform] one or more network interfaces configured to transmit secure data to a digital credential platform server) includes the user taking a test via the interface of the digital credential platform (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0133 - Examples of digital credential templates include templates for various technology certifications, licensure exams, professional tests, training course completion certificates, and the like] As used herein, a digital credential template (or digital badge template) may refer to an electronic document or data structure storing a general (e.g., non-user specific) template or description of a specific type of digital credential that may be issued to an individual. Within the context of the present disclosure, a credential may be any recognition held by an individual or organisation that provides evidence of a capability, entitlement, or ownership. Illustrative examples of such credentials include, but are not limited to, insurance policies, corporate licences, leases, evidence of title, registrations, and business/company registration numbers. Digital credential templates may include, for example, a description of the skills, proficiencies, and/or achievements that the digital credential represents. This description may take the form of diploma data, certification data, and/or license data, including the parent organisation (i.e., the digital credential template owner) responsible for creating and defining the digital credential template. Examples of digital credential templates include templates for various technology certifications, licensure exams, professional tests, training course completion certificates, and the like. In contrast to a digital credential template, a digital credential (or digital badge) may refer to an instance of an electronic document or data structure, generated for a specific individual (i.e., the credential receiver), and based on a digital credential template. Thus, a digital credential document or data structure may be based on a corresponding digital credential template, but may be customised and populated with user-specific information such as individual identification data (e.g., name, email address, and other user identifiers), credential issuance data (e.g., issue date, geographic location of issuance, authorised issuer of the credential, etc.), and links or embedded data that contain the specific user's supporting documentation or evidence relating to the credential. [0155 - the credential receiver may be an individual user of an electronic learning system, professional training system, online certification course, or the like, who has completed a predetermined set of eligibility requirements] Assuming the issuer is authorised to issue and/or modify digital credentials based on the specified template (502: Yes), the issuer may provide data identifying the credential receiver in step 503. The credential receiver (or credential earner or badge earner) corresponds to an individual that has been determined by the issuer to be eligible to receive a digital credential based on the template. For example, the credential receiver may be an individual user of an electronic learning system, professional training system, online certification course, or the like, who has completed a predetermined set of eligibility requirements and/or successfully completed a qualification test to receive a credential in accordance with the template. The receiver identification data received in step 503 may include, for example, the individual's name, contact information (e.g., email address, phone number, etc.) and/or various other identifying data such as a login identifier, system account number, student number, social security number, etc.).
18/666,344 – Claim 18. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the webpage further includes the display of information (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0111 - diagram illustrating a web-based credential tracking and notification system] FIG. 2 is a schematic block diagram illustrating a web-based credential tracking and notification system in accordance with an alternative embodiment of the present invention.) relating to one or more program tasks completed by the user for completing the credential program (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0004 - verifying, publishing, sharing, and tracking the collection of credentials associated with a specific individual … to verify the authenticity of an individual's proficiencies or qualifications … increasing demand for the issuance of digital credentials (or digital badges) to qualifying individuals, with these digital credential earners using the digital credentials to certify the skills or qualifications that the earner obtained…] These increasing opportunities for individuals to obtain technical skills and proficiencies through such digital means are presenting a range of challenges particularly in relation to issuing, verifying, publishing, sharing, and tracking the collection of credentials associated with a specific individual. Many individuals and institutions no longer rely on physical certificates such as diplomas, transcripts, certification statements, and physical licenses, to verify the authenticity of an individual's proficiencies or qualifications. Instead, there has been an increasing demand for the issuance of digital credentials (or digital badges) to qualifying individuals, with these digital credential earners using the digital credentials to certify the skills or qualifications that the earner obtained. [0164 - performed via graphical user interface (e.g., web-based) provided by the platform server … the credential receiver may access and authenticate to the web-based interface, and then may navigate through the various menus of the interface to initiate the acceptance and/or sharing of the receiver's digital credentials] In step 601, the platform server 310 receives a request from a credential receiver system 340 to review and/or accept one or more digital credentials issued to the credential receiver (or earner). In some examples, the request in step 601 may be received in response to the transmission sent by the platform server 310 in step 506. The request in step 601, along with the subsequent interactions between the platform server 310 and the credential receiver system 340 in steps 602-606, may be performed via graphical user interface (e.g., web-based) provided by the platform server 310. In such cases, the credential receiver may access and authenticate to the web-based interface, and then may navigate through the various menus of the interface to initiate the acceptance and/or sharing of the receiver's digital credentials.).
18/666,344 – Claim 19. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the webpage further includes the display of information (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0111 - diagram illustrating a web-based credential tracking and notification system] FIG. 2 is a schematic block diagram illustrating a web-based credential tracking and notification system in accordance with an alternative embodiment of the present invention.) relating to authenticating the credential earned by the user upon completion of the credential program (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0004 - verifying, publishing, sharing, and tracking the collection of credentials associated with a specific individual … to verify the authenticity of an individual's proficiencies or qualifications … increasing demand for the issuance of digital credentials (or digital badges) to qualifying individuals, with these digital credential earners using the digital credentials to certify the skills or qualifications that the earner obtained…] These increasing opportunities for individuals to obtain technical skills and proficiencies through such digital means are presenting a range of challenges particularly in relation to issuing, verifying, publishing, sharing, and tracking the collection of credentials associated with a specific individual. Many individuals and institutions no longer rely on physical certificates such as diplomas, transcripts, certification statements, and physical licenses, to verify the authenticity of an individual's proficiencies or qualifications. Instead, there has been an increasing demand for the issuance of digital credentials (or digital badges) to qualifying individuals, with these digital credential earners using the digital credentials to certify the skills or qualifications that the earner obtained. [0164 - performed via graphical user interface (e.g., web-based) provided by the platform server … the credential receiver may access and authenticate to the web-based interface, and then may navigate through the various menus of the interface to initiate the acceptance and/or sharing of the receiver's digital credentials] In step 601, the platform server 310 receives a request from a credential receiver system 340 to review and/or accept one or more digital credentials issued to the credential receiver (or earner). In some examples, the request in step 601 may be received in response to the transmission sent by the platform server 310 in step 506. The request in step 601, along with the subsequent interactions between the platform server 310 and the credential receiver system 340 in steps 602-606, may be performed via graphical user interface (e.g., web-based) provided by the platform server 310. In such cases, the credential receiver may access and authenticate to the web-based interface, and then may navigate through the various menus of the interface to initiate the acceptance and/or sharing of the receiver's digital credentials.).
18/666,344 – Claim 20. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the sharable link is shared by the user to one or more of a social media platform, a business website, a digital resumé, or a digital CV (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0090 - uniform resource locator (URL) associated with the first digital credential] generating a uniform resource locator (URL) associated with the first digital credential, in response to the acceptance of the first digital credential by the first credential receiver. [0115 - sharing of digital credentials] FIG. 6 is a flow diagram illustrating an example process of initiating the acceptance, modification and sharing of digital credentials, based on interactions with digital credential receivers, according to one or more embodiments of the disclosure. [0133 - links or embedded data that contain the specific user's supporting documentation or evidence relating to the credential] As used herein, a digital credential template (or digital badge template) may refer to an electronic document or data structure storing a general (e.g., non-user specific) template or description of a specific type of digital credential that may be issued to an individual. Within the context of the present disclosure, a credential may be any recognition held by an individual or organisation that provides evidence of a capability, entitlement, or ownership. Illustrative examples of such credentials include, but are not limited to, insurance policies, corporate licences, leases, evidence of title, registrations, and business/company registration numbers. Digital credential templates may include, for example, a description of the skills, proficiencies, and/or achievements that the digital credential represents. This description may take the form of diploma data, certification data, and/or license data, including the parent organisation (i.e., the digital credential template owner) responsible for creating and defining the digital credential template. Examples of digital credential templates include templates for various technology certifications, licensure exams, professional tests, training course completion certificates, and the like. In contrast to a digital credential template, a digital credential (or digital badge) may refer to an instance of an electronic document or data structure, generated for a specific individual (i.e., the credential receiver), and based on a digital credential template. Thus, a digital credential document or data structure may be based on a corresponding digital credential template, but may be customised and populated with user-specific information such as individual identification data (e.g., name, email address, and other user identifiers), credential issuance data (e.g., issue date, geographic location of issuance, authorised issuer of the credential, etc.), and links or embedded data that contain the specific user's supporting documentation or evidence relating to the credential. [0134 - publish (or share) their digital credentials via communication applications or publishing platforms such as social media systems] As shown in this example, the system 300 also may include a digital credential receiver system 340 and a digital credential endorser system 350. The digital credential receiver system 340 may be a computing device associated with a credential receiver (or credential earner), for example, an individual user of an electronic learning system, professional training system, online certification course, etc. As discussed below, credential receivers may access the platform server 310 via systems 340 to accept or reject newly issued or modified digital credentials, review and update their own set of previously earned digital credentials, as well as to publish (or share) their digital credentials via communication applications or publishing platforms such as social media systems. Digital credential endorser system 350 may be a computing system associated with an endorsing entity, such as an educational institution, business, or technical organisation that has chosen to review and endorse a specific digital credential template. The platform server 310 may receive and track the endorsements received from systems 350, and may associate the endorsements with the user-specific digital credentials issued based on the endorsed templates. The platform server 310 may provide graphical and/or programmatic interfaces to support interactions with different endorser systems 350. [0156 - provided as links that provides additional supporting documentation (e.g., transcripts, diplomas, scanned assignments or exam documents, certification letters, reference letters, licenses, identification documents, signed certificates of completion, etc.)] In addition to the receiver identification data received in step 503, the issuer system 330 may provide the platform server 310 with additional data necessary (or optional) for generating a digital credential for the credential receiver. The additional data received in step 504 may depend on the credential template, as different templates may include different data fields requiring different information before a digital credential may be issued and/or modified. Such additional data may include, for example, as issue date for the digital credential, an (optional) expiration date for the digital credential, and/or user-specific evidence which may be embedded or provided as links that provides additional supporting documentation (e.g., transcripts, diplomas, scanned assignments or exam documents, certification letters, reference letters, licenses, identification documents, signed certificates of completion, etc.). The data received in steps 503 and 504 may be transmitted by the issuer system 330 separately or in the same transmission. In some cases, the data may be received in steps 503 and 504 via an interactive graphical user interface provided by the platform server 310. Additionally or alternatively, such data may be received via a programmatic interface (e.g., API calls), or as a network request, or via an invocation of an application or service executing on the platform server, etc.).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Omegna et al. 2024/0257155; in view of Payne et al. 2012/0190002; in further view of Federgreen et al. 2016/0140572.
18/666,344 – Claim 4. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the user must complete all of the listed program tasks to earn the credential associated with the credential program (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0134 - earned digital credentials] As shown in this example, the system 300 also may include a digital credential receiver system 340 and a digital credential endorser system 350. The digital credential receiver system 340 may be a computing device associated with a credential receiver (or credential earner), for example, an individual user of an electronic learning system, professional training system, online certification course, etc. As discussed below, credential receivers may access the platform server 310 via systems 340 to accept or reject newly issued or modified digital credentials, review and update their own set of previously earned digital credentials, as well as to publish (or share) their digital credentials via communication applications or publishing platforms such as social media systems. Digital credential endorser system 350 may be a computing system associated with an endorsing entity, such as an educational institution, business, or technical organisation that has chosen to review and endorse a specific digital credential template. The platform server 310 may receive and track the endorsements received from systems 350, and may associate the endorsements with the user-specific digital credentials issued based on the endorsed templates. The platform server 310 may provide graphical and/or programmatic interfaces to support interactions with different endorser systems 350.).
Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 may not expressly disclose the “user must complete all of the listed program tasks to earn the credential” feature, however, Federgreen et al. 2016/0140572 teaches (Federgreen et al. 2016/0140572 [0070 - The task list identifies all tasks that are required for the end user to complete in order to receive Readiness Certification] Once results and products are recommended, in step 510 a Remediation Task List is generated and associated to the questionnaire. The task list identifies all tasks that are required for the end user to complete in order to receive Readiness Certification. The task list will list all tasks necessary to comply with Readiness standards and associated products that will provide the end user with the requirements to complete tasks. An example of a Remediation Task List is shown in FIG. 3. Recommended product purchase is not required to complete the task list. Turning back to FIG. 1, the end user has the ability to identify that an item on the task list is completed in step (600). All items on the task list must be “checked off” in order for the end user to receive CSR Readiness Certification of Completion in step (700). The task list can include a predictive score for future breaches. The predictive score is based on initial gap analysis, regardless of remediation. Once the end users attests that they have remediated, they may or may not receive a different breach prediction. The system will make the final assessment and, if appropriate, present an after-remediation prediction.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 to include the features as taught by Federgreen et al. 2016/0140572. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for digital badging and micro credentialing which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Omegna et al. 2024/0257155; in view of Payne et al. 2012/0190002; in further view of Ingram et al. 2017/0365186.
18/666,344 – Claim 5. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying of the listing of the program tasks associated with the selected credential program (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0011 - digital credential platform] one or more network interfaces configured to transmit secure data to a digital credential platform server) includes displaying the progress of the user with respect to completion of each of the listed program tasks (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0142 - hardware and software components to support a specific set of output capabilities (e.g., LCD display screen characteristics, screen size, colour display, video driver, speakers, audio driver, graphics processor and drivers, etc.)] In some embodiments, each of the systems 320-370 that collaborate and communicate with the platform server 310 may be implemented as client computing systems, such desktop or laptop computers, smartphones, tablet computers, and other various types of computing devices, each of which may include some or all of the hardware, software, and networking components discussed above. Specifically, any of client systems 320-370 may be implemented using any computing device with sufficient processing components, memory and software components, and I/O system components for interacting with users and supporting the desired set of communications with the platform server 310, as described herein. Accordingly, client systems 320-370 may include the necessary hardware and software components to establish the network interfaces, security and authentication capabilities, and capabilities for transmitting/receiving digital credential templates and digital credentials, digital credential data requests/responses to the platform server 310, etc. Each client system 320-370 may include an I/O subsystem, network interface controller, a processing unit, and memory configured to operate client software applications. The digital credential platform server 310 may be configured to receive and execute various programmatic and graphical interfaces for generating, managing, and tracking issued digital credentials, in collaboration with the various client systems 320-370. Accordingly, each client systems 320-370 may include an I/O subsystem 311 having hardware and software components to support a specific set of output capabilities (e.g., LCD display screen characteristics, screen size, colour display, video driver, speakers, audio driver, graphics processor and drivers, etc.), and a specific set of input capabilities (e.g., keyboard, mouse, touchscreen, voice control, cameras, facial recognition, gesture recognition, etc.). Different client systems 320-370 may support different input and output capabilities within their I/O subsystems, and thus different types of user interactions, and platform server 310 functionality may be compatible or incompatible with certain client systems 320-370. For example, certain types of digital credential generation and search functionality may require specific types of processors, graphics components, network components, or I/O components in order to be optimally designed and constructed using a client system 320-370.).
Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 may not expressly disclose the “displaying the progress of the user with respect to completion of each of the listed program tasks” feature, however, Ingram et al. 2017/0365186 teaches (Ingram et al. 2017/0365186 [0076 - system displays a subset of tasks based on the necessary task pace, the environment of the user, the state of the user, and the progress on completed tasks for the user] Even though the system could display many or all of the tasks a user needs to complete for each wellness program in the graphical interface 700, the system displays a subset of tasks based on the necessary task pace, the environment of the user, the state of the user, and the progress on completed tasks for the user. By controlling the number of tasks displayed to a user, the user is not overwhelmed with too many tasks. Also, by providing tasks that are suitable for the user based on environment and user state information, the system is likely to encourage a user to complete tasks that he or she will enjoy.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 to include the features as taught by Ingram et al. 2017/0365186. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for digital badging and micro credentialing which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Omegna et al. 2024/0257155; in view of Payne et al. 2012/0190002; in further view of Knutson 2002/0087416.
18/666,344 – Claim 7. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the user completing a corresponding one of the program tasks via the interacting of the user with the digital credential platform (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0011 - digital credential platform] one or more network interfaces configured to transmit secure data to a digital credential platform server) includes the user reviewing educational materials via the interface of the digital credential platform (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0030] receive one or more digital credential templates, including the first digital credential template, from the digital credential template owner device associated with a digital credential template owner, the first digital credential template corresponding to an educational or training certification defined by the digital credential template owner: [0033] receive, in response to said transmitted request, from the digital credential issuer device, data confirming the status change of the first digital credential, the first digital credential representing completion of the educational certification or training course by a credential recipient:).
Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 may not expressly disclose the “reviewing educational materials via the interface” feature, however, Knutson 2002/0087416 teaches (Knutson 2002/0087416 [0110 - GUI 90 includes a viewing/working area 108 in which the various educational/IC material is presented, tests are taken, scores/progress is posted…] Typically, it is only necessary for the web-enabled device to have a standard Internet browser or similar program in order to avail the user/student of the education provided by the Mindshare.TM. system. With reference to FIG. 4, an exemplary GUI 90 for access to, implementation and use of the Mindshare.TM. system is shown. It should be appreciated that since the GUI 90 is only exemplary, other styles/configurations may be used. The GUI 90 includes a mode area 92 that is used to select various GUI modes. These modes may include a status area 94, a title bar area 96, a menu bar area 98, a button bar area 100, a task area 102, notebook area 104 and a browser area 104. In addition, the GUI 90 includes a viewing/working area 108 in which the various educational/IC material is presented, tests are taken, scores/progress is posted, and the like.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 to include the features as taught by Knutson 2002/0087416. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for digital badging and micro credentialing which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Omegna et al. 2024/0257155; in view of Payne et al. 2012/0190002; in further view of Rupple et al. 2015/0242862.
18/666,344 – Claim 8. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the user submitting evidence to the digital credential platform (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0011 - digital credential platform] one or more network interfaces configured to transmit secure data to a digital credential platform server) regarding the completion of the corresponding one of the program tasks by the user includes the user uploading a file to the digital credential platform (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0158] In addition to granting permissions for certain authorised issuers to be identified as the credential issuer (rather than the credential provider), certain embodiments may provide template owners the ability to grant other types of permissions to authorised issuers as well. For example, a template owner may grant a particular authorised issuer permission to edit an icon image, description, skill set list, and other credential data defined in the template. Similar to the above example, such permissions may be granted by template owners to all authorised issuers of a certain template, or only to some specific authorised issuers of the template. These grants of permission by template owners may be received and enforced by the platform server 310. For example, the platform server 310 may provide various interfaces (e.g., graphical and/or programmatic interfaces) to template owner systems 320 when templates are uploaded from the template owner system 320 to the data store 315. These interfaces also may be accessible to template owner systems 320 at later times, allowing template owners to review and modify to various permissions granted to different authorised issuers.).
Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 may not expressly disclose the “uploading” feature, however, Rupple et al. 2015/0242862 teaches (Rupple et al. 2015/0242862 [0153 - user is also able to enter Active Credentials information for their Continuing Education 1210 by entering information that includes Date 1244 of the first day of the course or the date the course was completed, Format 1246 (For example, Classroom, Online), Subject Title 1248 and Hours 1250 and then uploads, via the client device 300, an electronic version of the proof of certification documents 1252, namely a Verification, such as a Certificate of Completion] The user is also able to enter Active Credentials information for their Continuing Education 1210 by entering information that includes Date 1244 of the first day of the course or the date the course was completed, Format 1246 (For example, Classroom, Online), Subject Title 1248 and Hours 1250 and then uploads, via the client device 300, an electronic version of the proof of certification documents 1252, namely a Verification, such as a Certificate of Completion. Because a continuing education course may be relevant to multiple active credentials, in certain embodiments, the server 200 applies the hours to each applicable credential column in the State License, Permits and Certifications 1206 and the Federal Certifications 1208. In certain embodiments, the client device 300 automatically, or in response to user direction or selection, applies the hours to each applicable credential column in the State License, Permits and Certifications 1206 and the Federal Certifications 1208. That is, upon entering information for a completed course, the LCMP 400 can identify multiple certifications to which the course applies and associate the completed course to each of those identified multiple certifications. The user the saves the information, such as by selecting a "save" button, and initiates Platform validation processes that can include comparing the "Date" 1244 to a timeframe of the credential's defined by the Issued dates 1254 and Expiration dates 1256. Once continuing education information is successfully saved, the server 200 automatically updates calculated values that show the user a compliance status for each credential. Compliance statistics 1258 can include comparing the total continuing education hours taken to the number required and the percent of continuing education hours taken as an "Online/Self" format based on total hours taken and compared to the "Max % Online/Self" percentage. To accommodate entering multiple "Continuing Education" courses, the user can select "Add another course" 1260, at which time the LCMP 400, namely either the client device 300 or the server 200, automatically creates another row.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 to include the features as taught by Rupple et al. 2015/0242862. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for digital badging and micro credentialing which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Omegna et al. 2024/0257155; in view of Payne et al. 2012/0190002; in further view of Rupple et al. 2015/0242862; in view of Kamath 2020/0265742.
18/666,344 – Claim 9. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 8, wherein the file includes a recording of the user performing an action associated with completing the corresponding one of the program tasks (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0141] Although the various interactions between the platform server 310 and other systems 320-370 may be described below in terms of a client-server model, it should be understood that other computing environments and various combinations of servers and devices may be used to perform the functionality described herein in other embodiments. For instance, although the requests/responses to determine the authorised issuers and/or modifiers 330 for specific digital credential templates, the generation of digital credentials, and the retrieval and presentation of digital credential tracking and reporting data, may be performed by a centralised web-based platform server 310 in collaboration with various client applications at the other systems 320-370 (e.g., web browser applications or standalone client software), in other cases these techniques may be performed entirely by a specialised digital credential platform server 310, or entirely by one or more digital credential tools (e.g., software services) executing on any one of the systems 320-370. In other examples, a client-server model may be used as shown in system 300, but different functional components and processing tasks may be allocated to the client-side or the sever-side in different embodiments. Additionally, the digital credential data store 315 may be implemented as separate servers or storage systems in some cases, and may use independent hardware and software service components. However, in other implementations, some or all of the digital credential data store 315 may be incorporated into the platform server 310 (as shown in this example) and/or may be incorporated into various other systems 320-370.).
Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 may not expressly disclose the “file includes a recording of the user performing an action” feature, however, Kamath 2020/0265742 teaches (Kamath 2020/0265742 [0011 - a visual representation of the … user completing the electronic activity] In various embodiments, a data processing system for processing data regarding error evaluation for use in the development of a first user's executive functions, comprises: (1) at least one computer processor; and (2) memory operatively coupled to the at least one computer processor. In particular embodiments, the at least one computer processor is adapted for: (1) executing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one computer processor, facilitate evaluating, by the first user, an electronic activity completed by a second user; (2) displaying, via a graphical user interface, a visual representation of the second user completing the electronic activity; (3) while displaying the visual representation of the second user completing the electronic activity, gathering feedback data from the first user indicating the second user's performance on the electronic activity; (4) automatically evaluating the feedback data to determine a learning score for the first user (which may, for example, reflect the user's ability to evaluate other users' performance of one or more particular activities), wherein evaluating the feedback data comprises modifying the learning score based at least in part on the feedback data; and (5) digitally storing the learning score in an electronic record associated with the first user.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 to include the features as taught by Kamath 2020/0265742. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for digital badging and micro credentialing which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
18/666,344 – Claim 10. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 9, wherein the recording is one of an audio recording, a visual recording, or an audio/visual recording (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0141] Although the various interactions between the platform server 310 and other systems 320-370 may be described below in terms of a client-server model, it should be understood that other computing environments and various combinations of servers and devices may be used to perform the functionality described herein in other embodiments. For instance, although the requests/responses to determine the authorised issuers and/or modifiers 330 for specific digital credential templates, the generation of digital credentials, and the retrieval and presentation of digital credential tracking and reporting data, may be performed by a centralised web-based platform server 310 in collaboration with various client applications at the other systems 320-370 (e.g., web browser applications or standalone client software), in other cases these techniques may be performed entirely by a specialised digital credential platform server 310, or entirely by one or more digital credential tools (e.g., software services) executing on any one of the systems 320-370. In other examples, a client-server model may be used as shown in system 300, but different functional components and processing tasks may be allocated to the client-side or the sever-side in different embodiments. Additionally, the digital credential data store 315 may be implemented as separate servers or storage systems in some cases, and may use independent hardware and software service components. However, in other implementations, some or all of the digital credential data store 315 may be incorporated into the platform server 310 (as shown in this example) and/or may be incorporated into various other systems 320-370.).
Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 may not expressly disclose the “visual recording” feature, however, Kamath 2020/0265742 teaches (Kamath 2020/0265742 [0011 - a visual representation of the … user completing the electronic activity] In various embodiments, a data processing system for processing data regarding error evaluation for use in the development of a first user's executive functions, comprises: (1) at least one computer processor; and (2) memory operatively coupled to the at least one computer processor. In particular embodiments, the at least one computer processor is adapted for: (1) executing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one computer processor, facilitate evaluating, by the first user, an electronic activity completed by a second user; (2) displaying, via a graphical user interface, a visual representation of the second user completing the electronic activity; (3) while displaying the visual representation of the second user completing the electronic activity, gathering feedback data from the first user indicating the second user's performance on the electronic activity; (4) automatically evaluating the feedback data to determine a learning score for the first user (which may, for example, reflect the user's ability to evaluate other users' performance of one or more particular activities), wherein evaluating the feedback data comprises modifying the learning score based at least in part on the feedback data; and (5) digitally storing the learning score in an electronic record associated with the first user.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 to include the features as taught by Kamath 2020/0265742. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for digital badging and micro credentialing which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Omegna et al. 2024/0257155; in view of Payne et al. 2012/0190002; in further view of Rupple et al. 2015/0242862; in view of Roseberry 2019/0362439.
18/666,344 – Claim 11. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 8, wherein the file is a document attesting to the user having performed an action associated with completing the corresponding one of the program tasks (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0155] Assuming the issuer is authorised to issue and/or modify digital credentials based on the specified template (502: Yes), the issuer may provide data identifying the credential receiver in step 503. The credential receiver (or credential earner or badge earner) corresponds to an individual that has been determined by the issuer to be eligible to receive a digital credential based on the template. For example, the credential receiver may be an individual user of an electronic learning system, professional training system, online certification course, or the like, who has completed a predetermined set of eligibility requirements and/or successfully completed a qualification test to receive a credential in accordance with the template. The receiver identification data received in step 503 may include, for example, the individual's name, contact information (e.g., email address, phone number, etc.) and/or various other identifying data such as a login identifier, system account number, student number, social security number, etc.).
Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 may not expressly disclose the “attesting to the user having performed an action” feature, however, Roseberry 2019/0362439 teaches (Roseberry 2019/0362439 [0023 - digital documents and/or scanned paperwork attesting to the completion of the service activity] In the preferred embodiment, at least one administrator account managed by the remote server is provided, wherein the administrator account is associated with an administrator PC device. As can be seen in FIG. 3, the administrator account enables the administrator to inspect the service evidence and accordingly authenticate the service activity. The service activity is then designated as the verified service activity by the remote server. In one scenario of the present invention, a user-inputted evidence is provided as the service evidence. The user-inputted evidence can be, but is not limited to, digital documents and/or scanned paperwork attesting to the completion of the service activity. Further, the user-inputted evidence can also be visual evidence such as photos and videos of the user performing the service activity.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 to include the features as taught by Roseberry 2019/0362439. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for digital badging and micro credentialing which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Omegna et al. 2024/0257155; in view of Payne et al. 2012/0190002; in further view of Rupple et al. 2015/0242862; in view of Roseberry 2019/0362439; in view of Bahl et al. 2017/0277755.
18/666,344 – Claim 12. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 11, wherein the document is authenticated by a subject matter expert in a topic associated with completion of the corresponding program task (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0155]).
Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 may not expressly disclose the “subject matter expert in a topic” feature, however, Bahl et al. 2017/0277755 teaches (Bahl et al. 2017/0277755 [0019 - topic expert verifier…] FIG. 2 depicts a conceptual block diagram of a verified expert information system 222, in another aspect of this disclosure. Verified expert information system 222 is analogs to verified expert information system 22 of FIG. 1 with regard to some features, including topic tagging module 30, tagged topic expert verifier module 32, tagged topic content selecting module 34, expert response interface 36, and expert response portal 38. Verified expert information system 222 of the example of FIG. 2 further includes an expert content source registrar 24, a topic of interest detecting module 26, and a topic tagged verified expert data store 33. Tagged topic expert verifier module 32 may also interact with an authorization client 40. Tagged topic expert verifier module 32 may further interact with an expert content submitting and verifying client application 42 executed on an external computing device 16 belonging to or operated by an expert 14. Expert response interface 36 may interact with an expert response interface client application 44 that may also execute on the expert's computing device 16. Expert response portal 38 may also generate outputs to expert response portal clients 50, which may include browser applications, web applications, or other clients or interfaces for viewing or embedding verified expert responses provided by experts, such as expert 14, via expert response interface 36.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 to include the features as taught by Bahl et al. 2017/0277755. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for digital badging and micro credentialing which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Omegna et al. 2024/0257155; in view of Payne et al. 2012/0190002; in further view of Rupple et al. 2015/0242862; in view of Roseberry 2019/0362439; in view of Young et al. 2005/0216489.
18/666,344 – Claim 13. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 12, wherein the subject matter expert is registered with the digital credential platform (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0011 - digital credential platform] one or more network interfaces configured to transmit secure data to a digital credential platform server) as being qualified to evaluate the user or the action taken by the user (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0004]).
Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 may not expressly disclose the “subject matter expert” feature, however, Young et al. 2005/0216489 teaches (Young et al. 2005/0216489 [0052 - subject matter experts to include assessments, interviews, reviews…] The process may be repeated as indicated by the process returning to step 90 to discover new or additional pertinent inputs. Additionally, this search agent may perform automated or manually prompted searches to discover and retrieve the pertinent inputs from resources operably coupled to dynamic reference repository. These resources may include the Internet, local networks such as Internet, input from subject matter experts to include assessments, interviews, reviews, or other communications that are addressed directly to the dynamic reference repository such as emails, faxes, voice or other communications as known to those skilled in the art. These customizable agent searches may be developed using a user interface with dynamic reference repository. This user interface allows the user to develop, customize and inter-manage the customizable agent in order to create, update, and maintain the currency and consistency of the dynamic reference repository. Further, the customizable agents may search automatically based on a specified periodicity, search initiation criteria or when manually directed. These searches may be prioritized to specific reference materials.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 to include the features as taught by Young et al. 2005/0216489. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for digital badging and micro credentialing which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Omegna et al. 2024/0257155; in view of Payne et al. 2012/0190002; in further view of Ashton 2016/0051890.
18/666,344 – Claim 14. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 1, further comprising a step of evaluating the evidence submitted by the user to determine whether the user has completed the corresponding one of the program tasks (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0155]).
Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 may not expressly disclose the “evaluating the evidence … to determine whether the user has completed … tasks” feature, however, Ashton 2016/0051890 teaches (Ashton 2016/0051890 [0040 - a validation module for determining whether or not selected recordings evidence the correct completion of a task according to the rules] a validation module for determining whether or not selected recordings evidence the correct completion of a task according to the rules [0066 - playing back the recording and determining whether or not the task has been successfully completed according to the rules] (a) playing back the recording and determining whether or not the task has been successfully completed according to the rules; [0106 - transmitted recordings may be assumed to evidence successful task completion … successful completion of the relevant task] In FIG. 3, the portable device is in a leaderboard display mode, and shows a progress indicator 18a, 18b, 18c, 18d for each player in the game. The leaderboard is updated in real time as players transmit their recordings to the referee. As explained above, transmitted recordings may be assumed to evidence successful task completion for the purposes of the leaderboard display, with the possibility that a player's score may be adjusted downwards if the referee determines that a transmitted recording does not evidence successful completion of the relevant task.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 to include the features as taught by Ashton 2016/0051890. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for digital badging and micro credentialing which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Omegna et al. 2024/0257155; in view of Payne et al. 2012/0190002; in further view of Ashton 2016/0051890; in view of Young et al. 2005/0216489.
18/666,344 – Claim 15. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 14, wherein the evaluating of the evidence submitted by the user is performed by a subject matter expert in a topic associated with completion of the corresponding program task (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0155]).
Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 may not expressly disclose the “subject matter expert” feature, however, Young et al. 2005/0216489 teaches (Young et al. 2005/0216489 [0052 - subject matter experts to include assessments, interviews, reviews…] The process may be repeated as indicated by the process returning to step 90 to discover new or additional pertinent inputs. Additionally, this search agent may perform automated or manually prompted searches to discover and retrieve the pertinent inputs from resources operably coupled to dynamic reference repository. These resources may include the Internet, local networks such as Internet, input from subject matter experts to include assessments, interviews, reviews, or other communications that are addressed directly to the dynamic reference repository such as emails, faxes, voice or other communications as known to those skilled in the art. These customizable agent searches may be developed using a user interface with dynamic reference repository. This user interface allows the user to develop, customize and inter-manage the customizable agent in order to create, update, and maintain the currency and consistency of the dynamic reference repository. Further, the customizable agents may search automatically based on a specified periodicity, search initiation criteria or when manually directed. These searches may be prioritized to specific reference materials.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 to include the features as taught by Young et al. 2005/0216489. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for digital badging and micro credentialing which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Omegna et al. 2024/0257155; in view of Payne et al. 2012/0190002; in further view of Bahl et al. 2017/0277755.
18/666,344 – Claim 16. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the determination that the user has earned the credential with respect to the selected credential program (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0011 - digital credential platform] one or more network interfaces configured to transmit secure data to a digital credential platform server) is made by a subject matter expert in a topic associated with the credential program (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0004]).
Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 may not expressly disclose the “subject matter expert in a topic” feature, however, Bahl et al. 2017/0277755 teaches (Bahl et al. 2017/0277755 [0019 - topic expert verifier…] FIG. 2 depicts a conceptual block diagram of a verified expert information system 222, in another aspect of this disclosure. Verified expert information system 222 is analogs to verified expert information system 22 of FIG. 1 with regard to some features, including topic tagging module 30, tagged topic expert verifier module 32, tagged topic content selecting module 34, expert response interface 36, and expert response portal 38. Verified expert information system 222 of the example of FIG. 2 further includes an expert content source registrar 24, a topic of interest detecting module 26, and a topic tagged verified expert data store 33. Tagged topic expert verifier module 32 may also interact with an authorization client 40. Tagged topic expert verifier module 32 may further interact with an expert content submitting and verifying client application 42 executed on an external computing device 16 belonging to or operated by an expert 14. Expert response interface 36 may interact with an expert response interface client application 44 that may also execute on the expert's computing device 16. Expert response portal 38 may also generate outputs to expert response portal clients 50, which may include browser applications, web applications, or other clients or interfaces for viewing or embedding verified expert responses provided by experts, such as expert 14, via expert response interface 36.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 to include the features as taught by Bahl et al. 2017/0277755. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for digital badging and micro credentialing which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Omegna et al. 2024/0257155; in view of Payne et al. 2012/0190002; in further view of Shalhulhameed 2017/0024700.
18/666,344 – Claim 17. Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the sharable link includes a graphic representation of the digital credential badge viewable by the third party (Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 [0004-0005; 0138; 0158]).
Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 may not expressly disclose the “third party” feature, however, Shalhulhameed 2017/0024700 teaches (Shalhulhameed 2017/0024700 [0063 - interactive icon, hyperlink, link or graphic displayed within a graphical user interface, such as graphical user interface 118, through which third party 108 can request additional assurances from user 104 regarding verified … as indicated in badge image] In an illustrative embodiment, third-party verification interface 172 includes confirmation option 178. Confirmation option 178 is an interactive icon, hyperlink, link or graphic displayed within a graphical user interface, such as graphical user interface 118, through which third party 108 can request additional assurances from user 104 regarding verified employment data 128 as indicated in badge image 176. In response to receiving an interaction with confirmation option 178, employment verification system 102 uses contact information 126 to request additional assurances from user 104. [0089 - Graphical user interface 600 provides an interface through which the third party can access additional information and details regarding verified … data displayed in badge image] Graphical user interface 600 is a graphical user interface through which a third party, such as third party 108 of FIG. 1, can interact with employment verification system 102. Graphical user interface 600 provides an interface through which the third party can access additional information and details regarding verified employment data displayed in badge image 512 of FIG. 5.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Omegna et al. 2024/0257155 to include the features as taught by Shalhulhameed 2017/0024700. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for digital badging and micro credentialing which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Examiner’s Response to Arguments
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Examiner’s Response: Claim Rejections – 35 USC §112
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Examiner’s Response: Claim Rejections – 35 USC §101
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn. See notes above for additional reasoning and rationale for dropping 35 USC 101 rejection including Applicant’s amendments, arguments, lack of abstract idea, and practical integration.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Regarding Claims 1-15, on page(s) 6-12 of Applicant’s Remarks (dated 12/27/2016), Applicants traverse the 35 USC §101 rejections arguing the following:
Examiner’s Response: Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102 / § 103
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn. See notes above for additional reasoning and rationale for dropping prior-art rejection including Applicant’s amendments and arguments and unique combination of features and elements not taught by the prior-art without hindsight reasoning.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Regarding Claim X, on page(s) 8-9 of Applicant’s Remarks / After Final Amendments (dated 07/15/2011), Applicant(s) argues that the cited reference(s) (Ellis and Vandermolen) fails to teach, describe, or suggest the amended features. Specifically, Applicant(s) argues that cited reference(s) do not teach, describe, or suggest the following: . With respect, Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive and the amended feature(s) remain rejected as follows.
With respect, Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive and the amended feature(s) remain rejected as follows.
Conclusion
PERTINENT PRIOR ART – Patent Literature
The prior-art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Doti et al. 2020/0098278 [0015 - techniques … used to implement an integrated reward system … “stamps” may be a type of award provided to users for completing certain tasks in the CRM platform … attaining other types of awards such as “badges,” “super badges,” and “master badges.”]
PERTINENT PRIOR ART – Non-Patent Literature (NPL)
The NPL prior-art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
C. L. Lim, P. K. Nair, M. J. Keppell, N. Hassan and E. Ayub, "Developing a Framework for the University-Wide Implementation of Micro-Credentials and Digital Badges: A Case Study From a Malaysian Private University," 2018 IEEE 4th International Conference on Computer and Communications (ICCC), Chengdu, China, 2018, pp. 1715-1719, doi: 10.1109/CompComm.2018.8780706.
O. Borrás-Gené, "Use of digital badges for training in digital skills within higher education," 2018 International Symposium on Computers in Education (SIIE), Jerez, Spain, 2018, pp. 1-7, doi: 10.1109/SIIE.2018.8586734.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL
Applicant’s amendment necessitated new grounds of rejection and FINAL Rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/MATTHEW T SITTNER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629b