DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office action in response to communications received on 7/25/2025. No claims have been amended. Therefore claims 1-7 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clemons (US 2021/0108879 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Clemons discloses a pressure vessel comprising: a hollow body (226 – fig. 25) having an opening; and a cap (near 233 – fig. 25) comprising: a shoulder (near 260 and 30 – fig. 25) having a bottom surface configured to abut the hollow body (fig. 25) about the opening in the hollow body when the pressure vessel is assembled, wherein the shoulder is generally planar having a hole therethrough; a sidewall (226 – fig. 25) extending longitudinally and perpendicularly from the bottom surface of the shoulder about the hole, said sidewall having a central opening; and a membrane (236) closing off the central opening, wherein the membrane is longitudinally offset from the shoulder (fig. 25).
Regarding claim 2, Clemons discloses the pressure vessel of claim 1, wherein: the pressure vessel contains compressed nitrogen (par. 53) when assembled.
Regarding claim 3, Clemons discloses the pressure vessel of claim 1, wherein: the hole through the shoulder is generally circular; the central opening is generally circular; the shoulder is generally circular; and the membrane is generally circular (fig. 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
In the alternative, claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Clemons (US 2021/0108879 A1).
Regarding claims 1-7, Clemons discloses the claimed invention except he may not explicitly disclose the exact recited arrangement. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the same arrangement, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claims 1-7, Clemons discloses the claimed invention except he may not explicitly disclose the exact same shapes/sizes. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the same shapes/sizes, since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23.
Double Patenting
At least claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12196522. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claim is broader (doesn’t include the airgun and some other components).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons set forth below.
Re: § 102/103 Rejections – Clemons (US 2021/0108879 A1)
Regarding applicant’s argument that Clemons’ element 226 is not a pressure vessel but rather a container for irritant gel, Examiner respectfully disagrees.Paragraph 65 of Clemons expressly identifies pressure vessel 50 as containing compressed gas. Figures 24–25 show that vessel 50 is the gas source that interacts with the membrane and piercing member. The fact that the surrounding cartridge 22 also includes container 226 for irritant gel does not change the disclosure of a pressurized vessel having an opening closed by a recessed end structure. Claim 1 recites a pressure vessel comprising a hollow body and a cap with a recessed membrane—that same structure is clearly shown in Clemons (vessel 50 and associated closure 233). Accordingly, Clemons anticipates or at least renders obvious the claimed configuration.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Clemons’ pressure vessel is “enclosed by an external sleeve 54” and therefore structurally different, Examiner respectfully disagrees.Sleeve 54 in Clemons is part of the cartridge housing that retains the pressure vessel. The presence of the sleeve is merely an environmental feature and does not alter the structural relationship of the shoulder, sidewall, and recessed membrane forming the vessel cap itself. The claim does not preclude the vessel from being received within another component, and no structural limitation distinguishes the claimed cap from that shown by Clemons.
Regarding applicant’s assertion that the presently claimed recessed membrane provides an “improved pressure-containment safety feature,” Examiner respectfully disagrees.The alleged improvement is described only in functional terms (“prevents piercing by prior art systems”) and is unsupported by objective evidence. Patentability must rest on structural distinctions, not on intended use or advantages. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The recited cap and membrane structure perform the same function in Clemons, containing pressurized gas until pierced, and therefore do not impart patentable distinction.
Regarding applicant’s statement that the claimed features are not mere styling choices but are “directed to safety,” Examiner respectfully disagrees.Even accepting that safety was a design motivation, obviousness is determined by the structure itself, not by the inventor’s purpose. See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). The modifications alleged to confer safety (thickness, recess depth, offset) represent only routine optimization of a known vessel closure for predictable results. Such optimization would have been well within the level of ordinary skill.
Regarding dependent claims 2–6, Examiner notes that applicant merely repeats the arguments for claim 1 and presents no separate reasoning. Because the parent claim remains unpatentable, the dependent claims fall therewith. Each limitation (e.g., circular geometry, threaded neck, relative membrane thickness) is either explicitly disclosed or would have been an obvious design choice for manufacturability as discussed in Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous, 3 USPQ 23.
Accordingly, the rejections of claims 1–7 under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102(a)(1) and 103(a) are maintained and made FINAL.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
*Communications via Internet e-mail are at the discretion of the applicant. Applicant is welcome to file an electronic communication authorization (sb439) form at any time if he/she would like to communicate via e-mail:
https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdfWithout a written authorization by applicant in place, the USPTO will not respond via Internet e-mail to any Internet correspondence which contains information subject to the confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 122. A paper copy of such correspondence will be placed in the appropriate patent application.
/MICHAEL D DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641