Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (CN 114590165).
Regarding Claim 1, Wu discloses a battery-storage apparatus (a battery replacing station; Para. [0040]) comprising:
a plurality of cubbies having respective electrical ports (a battery rack 2 having compartments with chargers for low-power batteries; Fig. 1; Para. [0040]);
a tray bay having an adjustable frame that releasably holds a battery tray (a battery buffer device 1 releasably holds a battery 7, the battery 7 is an EV battery containing individual batteries; Figs. 2, 3; Para. [0045]); and
a robotic crane that automatically transports batteries between the battery tray and respective cubbies to charge and/or discharge the batteries using the respective electrical ports (a stacker crane 3 for transporting the battery from the buffer device 1 to the rack 2 for charging; Fig. 6; Para. [0054]).
Regarding Claim 2, Wu discloses the battery-storage apparatus of claim 1, wherein each cubby includes a floor, sidewalls, a rear wall, a ceiling, and an open end (each compartment including a floor, ceiling, sides, a rear, and an open front end; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Wu discloses the battery-storage apparatus of claim 2, wherein the open end of each cubby is aligned with respect to a first axis (the open front end aligned with the Y axis; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Wu discloses the battery-storage apparatus of claim 1, wherein the tray bay includes a frame that is defined, at least in part, by a pair of robotic arms, the robotic arms configured to move inwardly to hold the battery tray and to move outward to release the battery tray (the buffer device 1 including upper 111 and lower 112 support arms which move inwardly to secure the battery tray; Figs. 3, 4; Para. [0045]).
Regarding Claim 20, Wu discloses a battery-exchange system (a battery replacing station; Para. [0040]) comprising:
a battery-exchange robot configured to transport a battery tray between an electric vehicle and a battery-storage apparatus (a battery replacement robot 4 for transporting an EV battery 7 from an EV to a batter rack 2; Paras. [0040], [0054]),
wherein the battery-storage apparatus comprises: a plurality of cubbies having respective electrical ports (a battery rack 2 having compartments with chargers for low-power batteries; Fig. l; Para. [0040]);
a tray bay having an adjustable frame that releasably holds the battery tray (a battery buffer device 1 releasably holds a battery 7, the battery 7 is an EV battery containing individual batteries; Figs. 2, 3; Para. [0045]),
wherein a battery-exchange robot channel is defined below the tray bay (guide rails 5 extending below the buffer device 1 such that a battery replacement robot 4 can move along a channel on the rails 5; Paras. [0040], [0054]); and
a robotic crane that transports batteries between the battery tray and respective cubbies to charge and/or discharge the batteries using the respective electrical ports (a stacker crane 3 for transporting the battery from the buffer device 1 to the rack 2 for charging; Fig. 6; Para. [0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN 114590165).
Regarding Claim 15, Wu discloses a battery-storage apparatus (a battery replacing station; Para. [0040]) comprising:
a plurality of cubbies having respective electrical ports (a battery rack 2 having compartments with chargers for low-power batteries; Fig. 1; Para. [0040]);
a tray bay having an adjustable frame configured to releasably hold a battery tray, each battery tray holding one or more batteries (a battery buffer device 1 releasably holds a battery 7, the battery 7 is an EV battery containing individual batteries; Figs. 2, 3; Para. [0045]); and
a robotic crane configured to transport the batteries between the respective battery tray and respective cubbies to charge and/or discharge the batteries using the respective electrical ports.
Wu fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of tray bays and a plurality of robotic cranes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu to include a plurality of tray bays and a plurality of robotic cranes, as the court has held a mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04.
The motivation being to increase the capacity of the swapping station, thereby increasing the number of consecutive battery swaps that can be performed.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. as applied to claim 1-3 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 212751289).
Regarding Claim 4, Wu discloses the battery-storage apparatus of claim 2.
Wu fails to disclose wherein a respective printed circuit board (PCB) is mounted on a surface of each cubby, each electrical port mounted on the respective PCB.
Zhang teaches a battery assembly (abstract), wherein a respective printed circuit board, PCB, is mounted on a surface of each cubby, each electrical port mounted on the respective PCB (a battery shell 101 has a substrate or PCB 103 mounted to a surface thereof, an electrical connector 11 is mounted to the PCB; Fig. 3; Paras. [0048], [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu such that a respective printed circuit board, PCB, is mounted on a surface of each cubby, each electrical port mounted on the respective PCB as taught by Zhang to improve the service life of the connector and PCB (Zhang Para. [0026]).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Wu discloses the battery-storage apparatus of claim 4.
Wu fails to explicitly disclose wherein each PCB includes one or more alignment pins.
Zhang discloses the battery assembly (abstract), wherein each PCB includes one or more alignment pins (a mounting column 107 includes an alignment pin extending through the PCB 103; Fig. 11, para [0048], [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu such that wherein each PCB includes one or more alignment pins as taught by Zhang as the court has held it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods, wherein the result is predictable.
Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses the battery-story apparatus of claim 4.
Wu fails to explicitly disclose a respective support frame is attached to the surface of each cubby, each PCB mounted on the respective support frame, and the respective support frame includes flexible spirals that allow the respective PCB to translate parallel to the surface of each cubby.
Zhang teaches the battery assembly (abstract), wherein: a respective support frame is attached to the surface of each cubby, each PCB mounted on the respective support frame (the mounting column 107 extending from the surface of the battery case 101, the PCB 103 mounted on the column; Fig. 11, para [0048], [0064]), and the respective support frame includes flexible spirals that allow the respective PCB to translate parallel to the surface of each cubby (the PCB 103 mounted on the pin of column 107 by a deformation element 106, such as a torsion spring, which allows the PCB to translate in X and Y directions; Figs. 7, 11; Paras. [0078]-[0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu such that a respective support frame is attached to the surface of each cubby, each PCB mounted on the respective support frame, and the respective support frame includes flexible spirals that allow the respective PCB to translate parallel to the surface of each cubby as taught by Zhang as the court has held it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods, wherein the result is predictable. See MPEP 2143. The motivation being to improve the service life of the connector and PCB (Zhang Para. [0026]).
Claims 8-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. as applied to claims 1and 15 above, and further in view of Concalves (US 2020/0206909).
Regarding Claim 8, Wu discloses the battery-storage apparatus of claim 1, wherein the crane includes: a shaft that extends along a vertical axis (a vertical support 31; Fig. 6; Para. [0054]); a base attached to the shaft (a lifting support 32 attached to the vertical support; Fig. 6; Para. [0054]); a telescoping arm attached to the base (a telescopic fork 34 attached to the lifting support; Para. [0054]).
Wu fails to explicitly disclose and robotic grippers attached to the telescoping arm, the robotic grippers configured to releasably hold an individual battery.
Concalves teaches an assistive robot system (abstract), comprising: robotic grippers attached to the telescoping arm, the robotic grippers configured to releasably hold an individual battery (an assistive robot system 100 includes a moveable arm assembly 112 including a pair of arms 112a, b and gripping assemblies 122; Fig. 2; Paras. [0055], [0059], [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu to include robotic grippers attached to the telescoping arm, the robotic grippers configured to releasably hold an individual battery as taught by Concalves. The motivation being to assist in gripping and retaining containers of various shapes (Concalves Para. [0060]).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Wu discloses the battery-storage apparatus of claim 8, wherein the base is electromechanically attached to the shaft such that a height of the base is adjustable (the lifting support 32 lifts vertically; Para. [0054]).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Wu discloses the battery-storage apparatus of claim 9, wherein: the telescoping arm is configured to extend and retract with respect to a first axis, and an open end of each cubby is aligned with respect to the first axis (the telescoping fork 34 is extended and retracted along a Yaxis aligned with an open end of each compartment in rack 2; Fig. l; Para. [0054]).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Wu discloses the battery-storage apparatus of claim 10.
Wu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the robotic grippers includes fingers having planar surfaces to mechanically engage the individual battery.
Concalves teaches an assistive robot system (abstract), comprising: wherein the robotic grippers includes fingers having planar surfaces to mechanically engage the individual battery (the gripping assemblies 122 include gripping portions 122b having an inside planar surface 122c; Fig. 2; Para. [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu such that wherein the robotic grippers includes fingers having planar surfaces to mechanically engage the individual battery as taught by Concalves. The motivation being to assist in gripping and retaining containers of various shapes (Concalves Para. [0060]).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Wu discloses the battery-storage apparatus of claim 10.
Wu fails to explicitly disclose wherein: a first set of the fingers is mechanically attached to a first robotic arm, a second set of the fingers is mechanically attached to a second robotic arm, the first and second robotic arms are configured to move inwardly such that the first and second set of fingers mechanically engage first and second sides, respectively, of the individual battery, and the first and second robotic arms are configured to move outwardly such that the first and second set of fingers release the first and second sides, respectively, of the individual battery.
Concalves teaches an assistive robot system (abstract), wherein: a first set of the fingers is mechanically attached to a first robotic arm, a second set of the fingers is mechanically attached to a second robotic arm (gripping portions 122b on each arm 112a, b; Fig. 2; Para. [0060]), the first and second robotic arms are configured to move inwardly such that the first and second set of fingers mechanically engage first and second sides, respectively, of the individual battery, and the first and second robotic arms are configured to move outwardly such that the first and second set of fingers release the first and second sides, respectively, of the individual battery (the arms 112a, b include a lateral telescoping assembly 113a allowing them to move inward and outward for gripping a container; Para. [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to modify Wu such that a first set of the fingers is mechanically attached to a first robotic arm, a second set of the fingers is mechanically attached to a second robotic arm, the first and second robotic arms are configured to move inwardly such that the first and second set of fingers mechanically engage first and second sides, respectively, of the individual battery, and the first and second robotic arms are configured to move outwardly such that the first and second set of fingers release the first and second sides, respectively, of the individual battery as taught by Concalves to assist in gripping and retaining containers of various shapes (Concalves Para. [0060]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Wu discloses the battery-storage apparatus of claim 10, further comprising one or more tracks that extend parallel to a second axis that is orthogonal to the first and vertical axes, wherein the shaft is mounted on the one or more tracks to adjust a position of the shaft with respect to the second axis (the crane 3 moveable along horizontal guide rails 5 in an X-axis direction; Fig. l; Para. [0054]).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Wu discloses the battery-storage apparatus of claim 13, wherein a battery-exchange robot channel is defined below the tray bay, the battery-exchange robot channel configured to receive rails on which a battery-exchange robot is mounted (the guide rails 5 extending below the buffer device 1 such that a battery replacement robot 4 can move along a channel on the rails 5; Paras. [0040], [0054]).
Regarding Claim 16, Wu discloses the battery-storage apparatus of claim 15, wherein each crane includes: a shaft that extends parallel to a vertical axis (a vertical support 31; Fig. 6; Para. [0054]); a base electromechanically attached to the shaft such that a height of the base is adjustable (a lifting support 32 attached to the vertical support; Fig. 6; Para. [0054]); a telescoping arm attached to the base (a telescopic fork 34 attached to the lifting support; Para. [0054]).
Wu fails to explicitly disclose robotic grippers attached to the telescoping arm, the robotic grippers including fingers having planar surfaces to releasably hold an individual battery.
Concalves teaches an assistive robot system (abstract), comprising robotic grippers attached to the telescoping arm, the robotic grippers including fingers having planar surfaces to releasably hold an individual battery (an assistive robot system 100 includes a moveable arm assembly 112 including a pair of arms 112a, b and gripping assemblies 122, each gripping assembly including a gripping portion 122b having an inner planar surface 122c; Fig. 2; Paras. [0055], [0059], [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu to include robotic grippers attached to the telescoping arm, the robotic grippers including fingers having planar surfaces to releasably hold an individual battery as taught by Concalves to assist in gripping and retaining containers of various shapes (Concalves Para. [0060]).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Wu discloses the battery-storage apparatus of claim 16, wherein for each crane: the telescoping arm is configured to extend and retract with respect to a first axis, and an open end of each cubby is aligned with respect to the first axis (the telescoping fork 34 is extended and retracted along a Y-axis aligned with an open end of each compartment in rack 2; Fig. 1; Para. [0054]).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Wu discloses the battery-storage apparatus of claim 17.
Wu fails to explicitly disclose wherein for each crane: a first set of the fingers is mechanically attached to a first robotic arm, a second set of the fingers is mechanically attached to a second robotic arm, the first and second robotic arms are configured to move inwardly such that the first and second set of fingers mechanically engage first and second sides, respectively, of the individual battery, and the first and second robotic arms are configured to move outwardly such that the first and second set of fingers release the first and second sides, respectively, of the individual battery.
Concalves teaches an assistive robot system (abstract), wherein: a first set of the fingers is mechanically attached to a first robotic arm, a second set of the fingers is mechanically attached to a second robotic arm (gripping portions 122b on each arm 112a, b; Fig. 2; Para. [0060]), the first and second robotic arms are configured to move inwardly such that the first and second set of fingers mechanically engage first and second sides, respectively, of the individual battery, and the first and second robotic arms are configured to move outwardly such that the first and second set of fingers release the first and second sides, respectively, of the individual battery (the arms 112a, b include a lateral telescoping assembly 113a allowing them to move inward and outward for gripping a container; Para. [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu such that a first set of the fingers is mechanically attached to a first robotic arm, a second set of the fingers is mechanically attached to a second robotic arm, the first and second robotic arms are configured to move inwardly such that the first and second set of fingers mechanically engage first and second sides, respectively, of the individual battery, and the first and second robotic arms are configured to move outwardly such that the first and second set of fingers release the first and second sides, respectively, of the individual battery as taught by Concalves. The motivation being to assist in gripping and retaining containers of various shapes (Concalves Para. [0060]).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Wu discloses the battery-storage apparatus of claim 18, further comprising one or more common tracks that extend parallel to a second axis that is orthogonal to the first and vertical axes, wherein a respective shaft of each crane is mounted on the one or more common tracks to adjust a position of the respective shaft with respect to the second axis (the crane 3 moveable along horizontal guide rails 5 in an X-axis direction; Fig. 1; Para. [0054]).
Conclusion
JAYNE L. MERSHON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1721
/JAYNE L MERSHON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721