DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 9, 10, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0208024 to Jablonski in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0100529 to Petroulas.
Jablonski ‘024 disclose:
As concerns claim 1, a computer-implemented method when executed by data processing hardware causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising:
initiating, at a first ecosystem (0002-a first network), a request (0038-query, request), the first ecosystem being one of a donor and a requestor;
discovering (0038-device receiving request; 0004-device discovery; 0006), by a second ecosystem (0002-a second network), the initiated request, the second ecosystem being the other of the donor and requestor; and
executing, at one of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem, a resource exchange auction protocol (REAP) (0003-protocols; BRI – “REAP” is a label that is interpreted based upon its defined functionality within the claim), the REAP including:
controlling access to resources (0063-discover multiple devices);
assessing (0038-configured to communicate) the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem including executing a bidder network scoring to rank the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem based on one or more of urgency, mobility, location, availability, congestion and energy;
dynamically adjusting, based on the rank, a price associated with the resources;
prioritizing, in selection, the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem having an established trust relationship with the one of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem (0070-retrieve, evaluate selections based upon authorization);
selecting (0063-select a particular device; selection process; 0067-multiple devices queried, compared and negotiated) the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem; and
sharing the resources (0063-selected device performs requested task) of one of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem with the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem.
As concerns claim 10, a system comprising: data processing hardware (Fig. 3); and memory hardware (Fig. 3) in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising:
initiating, at a first ecosystem (0002-a first network), a request (0038-query, request), the first ecosystem being one of a donor and a requestor;
discovering (0038-device receiving request; 0004-device discovery; 0006), by a second ecosystem (0002-a second network), the initiated request, the second ecosystem being the other of the donor and requestor; and
executing, via one of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem, a resource exchange auction protocol (REAP) (0003-protocols; BRI – “REAP” is a label that is interpreted based upon its defined functionality within the claim), the REAP including:
controlling access (0063-discover multiple devices) to resources;
assessing (0038-configured to communicate) the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem including executing a bidder network scoring to rank the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem based on one or more of urgency, mobility, location, availability, congestion and energy;
dynamically adjusting, based on the rank, a price associated with the resources;
prioritizing, in selection, the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem having an established trust relationship with the one of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem (0070-retrieve, evaluate selections based upon authorization);
selecting (0063-select a particular device; selection process; 0067-multiple devices queried, compared and negotiated) the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem; and
sharing (0063-selected device performs requested task) the resources of one of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem with the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem.
Jablonski ‘024 do not disclose:
including executing a bidder network scoring to rank the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem based on one or more of urgency, mobility, location, availability, congestion and energy;
dynamically adjusting, based on the rank, a price associated with the resources.
Petroulas ‘529 teach:
including executing a bidder network scoring to rank the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem based on one or more of urgency, mobility, location, availability, congestion and energy (0966-varies the price dependent on ranking, ranking of that space; 0093-ranking, location);
dynamically adjusting, based on the rank, a price associated with the resources (0966-varies the price dependent on ranking, ranking of that space).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Jablonski ‘024 with dynamic pricing, as taught by Petroulas ‘529, in order to allow price adjustments based on market supply/demand thus providing adaptability and optimizations.
Jablonski ‘024 further disclose:
As concerns claim 3, the method of Claim 1, wherein an internet-of-things (IoT) controller is configured to execute the REAP, the IoT controller in communication with a first ecosystem controller (0005-IoT controller) and a second ecosystem controller (0005-IoT controller).
As concerns claim 9, the method of Claim 1, wherein executing the REAP includes executing a true auction (0075-bidding, auction).
As concerns claim 12, the system of Claim 10, wherein an internet-of-things (IoT) controller (0024-IoT controller device) is configured to execute the REAP, the IoT controller in communication with a first ecosystem controller (0024-multiple controller devices, thus a “first”) and a second ecosystem controller (0024-multiple controller devices, thus a “second”).
As concerns claim 18, the system of Claim 10, wherein executing the REAP includes executing a true auction (0075-bidding, auction).
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0208024 to Jablonski and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0100529 to Petroulas in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0114347 to Tayal.
Jablonski ‘024 disclose:
As concerns claim 2, the method of claim 1, wherein assessing the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem includes scoring the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem with a bidder network (0075-submit bids, bidding or auction process) scoring of the REAP.
As concerns claim 11, the system of Claim 10, wherein assessing the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem includes scoring the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem with a bidder network (0075-submit bids, bidding or auction process) scoring of the REAP.
Jablonski ‘024 do not disclose:
As concerns claims 2 and 11, scoring.
As concerns claims 2 and 11, Tayal ‘347 teach scoring (0053-0054-bid score).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Jablonski ‘024 with scoring, as taught by Tayal ‘347, in order provide the most beneficial outcome.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0208024 to Jablonski and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0100529 to Petroulas in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0185581 to Senarath et al.
Jablonski ‘024 do not disclose:
As concerns claim 7, the method of Claim 1, wherein the REAP includes admission control logic and controlling access to the resources includes executing the admission control logic.
As concerns claim 16, the system of Claim 10, wherein the REAP includes admission control logic and controlling access to the resources includes executing the admission control logic.
Senarath et al. ‘581 teach:
As concerns claim 7, the method of Claim 1, wherein the REAP includes admission control logic (0107-admission control logic) and controlling access to the resources includes executing the admission control logic.
As concerns claim 16, the system of Claim 10, wherein the REAP includes admission control logic (0107-admission control logic) and controlling access to the resources includes executing the admission control logic.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Jablonski ‘024 with admission control logic, as taught by Senarath et al. ‘581, in order to provide check for adequate resource availability.
Claims 4-6, 8, 13-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0208024 to Jablonski and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0100529 to Petroulas in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0364978 to Loeb et al.
Jabonski ‘024 do not disclose:
As concerns claim 4, the method of Claim 3, wherein the first ecosystem is a requestor and initiating the request includes notifying, by the IoT controller, the first ecosystem of a resource surplus of the second ecosystem.
As concerns claim 5, the method of Claim 3, wherein the first ecosystem is a donor and initiating the request includes notifying, by the IoT controller, the second ecosystem of a resource surplus of the first ecosystem.
As concerns claim 6, the method of Claim 5, wherein the IoT controller is configured to execute the REAP based on a request from the second ecosystem to access the resource surplus of the first ecosystem.
As concerns claim 13, the system of Claim 12, wherein the first ecosystem is a requestor and initiating the request includes notifying, by the IoT controller, the first ecosystem of a resource surplus of the second ecosystem.
As concerns claim 14, the system of Claim 12, wherein the first ecosystem is a donor and initiating the request includes notifying, by the IoT controller, the second ecosystem of a resource surplus of the first ecosystem.
As concerns claim 15, the system of Claim 14, wherein the IoT controller is configured to execute the REAP based on a request from the second ecosystem to access the resource surplus of the first ecosystem.
Loeb et al. ‘978 teach:
As concerns claim 4, the method of Claim 3, wherein the first ecosystem is a requestor and initiating the request includes notifying (0089-event indicating), by the IoT controller, the first ecosystem of a resource surplus (0089-surplus) of the second ecosystem.
As concerns claim 5, the method of Claim 3, wherein the first ecosystem is a donor and initiating the request includes notifying (0089-event indicating), by the IoT controller, the second ecosystem of a resource surplus (0089-surplus) of the first ecosystem.
As concerns claim 6, the method of Claim 5, wherein the IoT controller is configured to execute the REAP based on a request from the second ecosystem to access (0089-event indicating buyer has a need) the resource surplus (0089-surplus) of the first ecosystem.
As concerns claim 13, the system of Claim 12, wherein the first ecosystem is a requestor and initiating the request includes notifying (0089-event indicating), by the IoT controller, the first ecosystem of a resource surplus (0089-surplus) of the second ecosystem.
As concerns claim 14, the system of Claim 12, wherein the first ecosystem is a donor and initiating the request includes notifying (0089-event indicating), by the IoT controller, the second ecosystem of a resource surplus (0089-surplus) of the first ecosystem.
As concerns claim 15, the system of Claim 14, wherein the IoT controller is configured to execute the REAP based on a request from the second ecosystem to access (0089-event indicating buyer has a need) the resource surplus (0089-surplus) of the first ecosystem.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Jablonski ‘024 with resource surplus, as taught by Loeb et al. ‘978, in order to provide a dynamic marketplace.
Jablonski ‘024 do not disclose:
As concerns claim 8, the method of Claim 1, wherein executing the REAP includes executing a reverse auction.
As concerns claim 17, the system of Claim 10, wherein executing the REAP includes executing a reverse auction.
Loeb et al. ‘978 teach:
As concerns claim 8, the method of Claim 1, wherein executing the REAP includes executing a reverse auction (0004-reverse auction).
As concerns claim 17, the system of Claim 10, wherein executing the REAP includes executing a reverse auction (0004-reverse auction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Jablonski ‘024 with a reverse auction, as taught by Loeb et al. ‘978, in order to provide a dynamic marketplace.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0208024 to Jablonski in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0100529 to Petroulas in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0114347 to Tayal and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0185581 to Senarath et al.
Jablonski ‘024 disclose:
As concerns claim 19, a computer-implemented method when executed by data processing hardware causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising:
initiating, at a first ecosystem (0002-a first network), a request (0038-query, request), the first ecosystem being one of a donor and a requestor (0038-query, request);
discovering (0038-device receiving request; 0004-device discovery; 0006), by a second ecosystem (0002-a second network), the initiated request, the second ecosystem being the other of the donor and requestor; and
executing, at one of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem, a resource exchange auction protocol (REAP) (0003-protocols; BRI – “REAP” is a label that is interpreted based upon its defined functionality within the claim), the REAP including admission control logic, executing the REAP including:
controlling access (0063-discover multiple devices) to resources via the admission control logic;
scoring the first ecosystem with a bidder network (0075-submit bids, bidding or auction process) scoring of the REAP including executing a bidder network scoring to rank the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem based on one or more of urgency, mobility, location, availability, congestion and energy;
dynamically adjusting, based on the rank, a price associated with the resources;
prioritizing, in selection, the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem having an established trust relationship with the one of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem (0070-retrieve, evaluate selections based upon authorization);
selecting (0063-select a particular device; selection process; 0067-multiple devices queried, compared and negotiated) the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem; and
sharing (0063-selected device performs requested task) the resources of one of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem with the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem.
Jablonski ‘024 do not disclose:
including executing a bidder network scoring to rank the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem based on one or more of urgency, mobility, location, availability, congestion and energy;
dynamically adjusting, based on the rank, a price associated with the resources.
Petroulas ‘529 teach:
including executing a bidder network scoring to rank the other of the first ecosystem and the second ecosystem based on one or more of urgency, mobility, location, availability, congestion and energy (0966-varies the price dependent on ranking, ranking of that space; 0093-ranking, location);
dynamically adjusting, based on the rank, a price associated with the resources (0966-varies the price dependent on ranking, ranking of that space).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Jablonski ‘024 with dynamic pricing, as taught by Petroulas ‘529, in order to allow price adjustments based on market supply/demand thus providing adaptability and optimizations.
Jablonski ‘024 do not disclose scoring.
Tayal ‘347 teach scoring (0053-0054-bid score).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Jablonski ‘024 with scoring, as taught by Tayal ‘347, in order provide the most beneficial outcome.
Jablonski ‘024 as modified do not disclose admission control logic.
Senarath et al. ‘581 teach admission control logic (0107-admission control logic) for controlling access (0107).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Jablonski ‘024 as modified with admission control logic, as taught by Senarath et al. ‘581, in order to provide check for adequate resource availability.
Jablonski ‘024 further disclose:
As concerns claim 20, a vehicle (0003-vehicle systems) including a controller configured to execute the method of Claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892. USPGPub 2012/0265590-0175-dynamic price assigned to rank of buyer.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN B WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451