Claims 1-20 are rejected.
The 112 rejection has been withdrawn in view of the present amendment and response.
The rejection over Wylezinski in view of Hessenberger has been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0260858 to Wylezinski (hereinafter “Wylezinski”) in view of US 2022/0177162 to Hessenberger et al. (hereinafter “Hessenberger”).
As to claims 1, 4, and 8, Wylezinski discloses a preform comprising
a foam core 202;
a permeable intermediate layer 204 surrounding the foam core; and
an outer fiber-reinforced polymer (FRP) layer 206 surrounding the permeable intermediate layer (paragraph 32). The outer FRP layer reads on the claimed core FRP layer.
The intermediate layer is sufficiently porous to at least partially receive foam from the foam core and the polymer matrix from the FRP layer. The intermediate layer is stitched to the FRP layer to ensure proper attachment and to prevent shifting and/or bunching. The intermediate layer is a nonwoven fabric with continuous or chopped fibers (paragraph 32).
As shown in figure 2, Wylezinski teaches a composite wall 126L of a cargo body comprising the composite structure 200 disposed between inner and outer skin layers 210 and 220, and gel coat layers 214, 224 provided on the inner and outer skin layers. An electrical grid is embedded within the skin layer which is between the core layer 200 and the gel coat. The composite structure 200 contains the preform 204/202/204, disposed between two additional layers of the FRP 206 (paragraph 32).
The cargo body includes a power source, a control system, an electrical component in communication with the power source, and electrical sensors in communication with the control system (paragraphs 23 and 24). The electrical sensors include a thermocouple, a moisture sensor, a GPS sensor and a load sensor (paragraph 24). The electrical grid is configured to perform at least one of the following functions:
distributing power from the power source to the electrical component;
communicating a signal from the sensor to the control system; and
detecting a puncture in the composite panel (paragraphs 48 and 49).
Wylezinski does not explicitly disclose the electrical sensors which are wireless sensors and positioned within the foam core 202 and coupled to an inner surface of the core FRP layer 204.
Hessenberger, however, discloses a cushion for an aircraft seat including at least one cushion having an upper side and a lower side of at least one plastic foam; at least one sensor system, where at least one sensor system is arranged in a region of the cushion adjacent the bottom surface of the cushion; and at least one flame retardant fabric covering at least one side of the at least one cushion (abstract). That is to say, the foam layer is completely covered with the flame-retardant fabric and the at least one sensor system inserted within the bottom of the foam layer and thus coupled to the fabric covering. This is in line with the description set out in paragraph 39 indicating that the sensor system is integrated between laminate layers, or between the foam layer the fabric covering. The sensor system is attached to or onto the foam layer using an adhesive (paragraph 46). The sensor system includes sensors for pressure measurement, strain measurement, force measurement, deflection measurement, and/or temperature measurement (paragraphs 22 and 110). The sensor system includes antennas and thus is a wireless sensor (paragraph 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place a wireless sensor disclosed in Hessenberger between the laminate layers of the Wylezinski, specifically between the intermediate layer and the foam core, motivated by the desire to obtain an ease of installation without the need for physical wiring, thereby reducing the cost of installation.
The combined teachings of Wylezinski and Hessenberger result in a preform where a wireless sensor is integrated between the intermediate layer and the foam core. During foaming process, the intermediate layer is sufficiently porous to at least partially receive foam from the foam core and the polymer matrix from the FRP layer. As the wireless sensor is inserted between the inner surface of the intermediate layer and the foam core, it is coupled to the intermediate layer.
As to claim 2, Wylezinski discloses that the cargo body includes one of a trailer, a van, a train and a boat (figure 1).
As to claim 3, Wylezinski discloses that the foam core 202 is coupled to the inner surface of the core FRP layer 206 via the intermediate layer 204 (paragraph 32, and figure 2).
As to claim 5, Wylezinski discloses a composite left wall 126L of a cargo body comprising the composite structure 200 disposed between inner and outer skin layers 210 and 220, and a gel coat 214, 224 provided on each skin layer.
As to claim 6, Wylezinski discloses that a control system of the cargo body is communicatively coupled to the sensor wherein the control system is configured to received and process signals transmitted by the sensor (paragraphs 23, 24, and 50).
As to claim 7, Wylezinski discloses that the composite structure is a single, unitary structure (paragraph 26).
As to claim 9, Wylezinski discloses that the FRP layer includes a polymer matrix reinforced with a fiberglass fabric (paragraph 31).
As to claim 10, Wylezinski discloses that the permeable intermediate layer is a nonwoven fabric (paragraph 32).
As to claim 11, Wylezinski discloses that the electrical sensors include a thermocouple, a moisture sensor, a GPS sensor and a load sensor (paragraph 24). Wylezinski does not explicitly disclose the electrical sensors which are wireless sensors.
Hessenberger, however, discloses a cushion for an aircraft seat including at least one cushion having an upper side and a lower side of at least one plastic foam; at least one sensor system, where at least one sensor system is arranged in a region of the cushion adjacent the bottom surface of the cushion; and at least one flame retardant fabric covering at least one side of the at least one cushion (abstract). That is, foam layer can be completely covered with the flame-retardant fabric and the at least one sensor system is inserted in the bottom of the foam layer and coupled to the fabric covering. This is in line with the description set out in paragraph 39 indicating that the sensor system is integrated between laminate layers, or between the foam layer the fabric covering. The sensor system is attached to or onto the foam layer using an adhesive (paragraph 46). The sensor system includes sensors for pressure measurement, strain measurement, force measurement, deflection measurement, and/or temperature measurement (paragraphs 22 and 110). The sensor system includes antennas and thus is a wireless sensor (paragraph 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place wireless sensors disclosed in Hessenberger between the intermediate layer and the foam core disclosed in Wylezinski motivated by the desire to obtain an ease of installation without the need for physical wiring, thereby reducing the cost of installation.
As to claim 12, Wylenzinski discloses that the intermediate layer is stitched to the FRP layer to ensure proper attachment and to prevent shifting and/or bunching (paragraph 32).
As to claim 13, Wylenzinski discloses that the foam core comprises a polyurethane foam (paragraph 30).
As to claim 14, Wylenzinski does not explicitly disclose the wireless sensor being attached to the inner surface of the intermediate layer via adhesive.
Hessenberger, however, discloses a cushion for an aircraft seat including at least one cushion having an upper side and a lower side of at least one plastic foam; at least one sensor system, where at least one sensor system is arranged in a region of the cushion adjacent the bottom surface of the cushion; and at least one flame retardant fabric covering at least one side of the at least one cushion (abstract). That is to say, the foam layer is completely covered with the flame-retardant fabric and the at least one sensor system inserted within the bottom of the foam layer and thus coupled to the fabric covering. This is in line with the description set out in paragraph 39 indicating that the sensor system is integrated between laminate layers, or between the foam layer the fabric covering. The sensor system is attached to or onto the foam layer using an adhesive (paragraph 46). The sensor system includes sensors for pressure measurement, strain measurement, force measurement, deflection measurement, and/or temperature measurement (paragraphs 22 and 110). The sensor system includes antennas and thus is a wireless sensor (paragraph 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to insert the wireless sensor disclosed in Hessenberger between the intermediate layer and the foam core of Wylezinski using an adhesive motivated by the desire to improve adhesion strength.
As to claim 15, Wylezinski discloses a method of forming a preform comprising:
providing a FRP layer,
providing a porous nonwoven fabric on the FRP layer,
providing foam material on the surface of the porous nonwoven fabric opposite the FRP layer; and
curing the foam material such that the foam material and the polymer matrix of FRP layer penetrate into the pores of the nonwoven fabric (paragraphs 32).
Wylezinski further discloses that the preform can be sized and shaped in a manner that accommodates the needs of the particular application. The preform can be relatively large or small in size depending on its end use (paragraph 33). This is a clear indication that the method of forming a preform must include a step of cutting the preform to a predetermined size to accommodate the needs of the particular application.
Wylezinski discloses that the cargo body includes a power source, a control system, an electrical component in communication with the power source, and electrical sensors in communication with the control system (paragraphs 23 and 24). The electrical sensors include a thermocouple, a moisture sensor, a GPS sensor and a load sensor (paragraph 24).
Wylezinski does not explicitly disclose the electrical sensors which are wireless sensors and positioned between the foam core and the intermediate layer.
Hessenberger, however, discloses a cushion for an aircraft seat including at least one cushion having an upper side and a lower side of at least one plastic foam; at least one sensor system, where at least one sensor system is arranged in a region of the cushion adjacent the bottom surface of the cushion; and at least one flame retardant fabric covering at least one side of the at least one cushion (abstract). That is to say, the foam layer is completely covered with the flame-retardant fabric and the at least one sensor system inserted within the bottom of the foam layer and thus coupled to the fabric covering. This is in line with the description set out in paragraph 39 indicating that the sensor system is integrated between laminate layers, or between the foam layer the fabric covering. The sensor system is attached to or onto the foam layer using an adhesive (paragraph 46). The sensor system includes sensors for pressure measurement, strain measurement, force measurement, deflection measurement, and/or temperature measurement (paragraphs 22 and 110). The sensor system includes antennas and thus is a wireless sensor (paragraph 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to insert a wireless sensor disclosed in Hessenberger between the nonwoven fabric and the foam core of Wylezinski motivated by the desire to obtain an ease of installation without the need for physical wiring, thereby reducing the cost of installation.
As to claim 16, Wylezinski discloses that the foam material is a self-curing material (paragraph 30).
As to claim 17, Wylenzinski does not explicitly disclose the wireless sensor being attached to the inner surface of the intermediate layer using an adhesive.
Hessenberger, however, discloses a cushion for an aircraft seat including at least one cushion having an upper side and a lower side of at least one plastic foam; at least one sensor system, where at least one sensor system is arranged in a region of the cushion adjacent the bottom surface of the cushion; and at least one flame retardant fabric covering at least one side of the at least one cushion (abstract). That is to say, the foam layer is completely covered with the flame-retardant fabric and the at least one sensor system inserted within the bottom of the foam layer and thus coupled to the fabric covering. This is in line with the description set out in paragraph 39 indicating that the sensor system is integrated between laminate layers, or between the foam layer the fabric covering. The sensor system is attached to or onto the foam layer using an adhesive (paragraph 46). The sensor system includes sensors for pressure measurement, strain measurement, force measurement, deflection measurement, and/or temperature measurement (paragraphs 22 and 110). The sensor system includes antennas and thus is a wireless sensor (paragraph 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the wireless sensor disclosed in Hessenberger to the intermediate layer of Wylezinski using an adhesive motivated by the desire to improve adhesion strength.
As to claim 18, Wylenzinski discloses a composite structure 200 comprising the preform disposed between two additional layers of the FRP 206 (paragraph 32 and figure 2).
As to claim 19, Wylezinski teaches a composite wall 126L of a cargo body comprising the composite structure 200 disposed between inner and outer skin layers 210 and 220, and gel coat layers 214, 224 provided on the inner and outer skin layers.
As to claim 20, Wylezinski discloses that the electrical sensors include a thermocouple, a moisture sensor, a GPS sensor and a load sensor (paragraph 24). Wylezinski does not explicitly disclose a plurality of wireless sensors attached to the nonwoven fabric.
Hessenberger, however, discloses a cushion for an aircraft seat including at least one cushion having an upper side and a lower side of at least one plastic foam; at least one sensor system, where at least one sensor system is arranged in a region of the cushion adjacent the bottom surface of the cushion; and at least one flame retardant fabric covering at least one side of the at least one cushion (abstract). That is to say, the foam layer is completely covered with the flame-retardant fabric and the at least one sensor system inserted within the bottom of the foam layer and thus coupled to the fabric covering. This is in line with the description set out in paragraph 39 indicating that the sensor system is integrated between laminate layers, or between the foam layer the fabric covering. The sensor system is attached to or onto the foam layer using an adhesive (paragraph 46). The sensor system includes sensors for pressure measurement, strain measurement, force measurement, deflection measurement, and/or temperature measurement (paragraphs 22 and 110). The sensor system includes antennas and thus is a wireless sensor (paragraph 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place a plurality of wireless sensors disclosed in Hessenberger between the porous nonwoven fabric and the foam core of Wylezinski motivated by the desire to obtain an ease of installation without the need for physical wiring, thereby reducing the cost of installation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant alleges that the claim is not rendered obvious in view of the combined disclosures of Wylezinski and Hessenberger because Hessenberger fails to teach at least one wireless sensor positioned with the foam core and coupled to an inner surface of the core fiber-reinforced polymer layer.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As previously discussed, Hessenberger discloses a cushion for an aircraft seat including at least one cushion having an upper side and a lower side of at least one plastic foam; at least one sensor system, where at least one sensor system is arranged in a region of the cushion adjacent the bottom surface of the cushion; and at least one flame retardant fabric covering at least one side of the at least one cushion (abstract). That is to say, the foam layer is completely covered with the flame-retardant fabric and the at least one sensor system inserted within the bottom of the foam layer and thus coupled to the fabric covering. This is in line with the description set out in paragraph 39 indicating that the sensor system is integrated between laminate layers, or between the foam layer the fabric covering.
The combined disclosures of Wylezinski and Hessenberger result in a preform where the electrical sensors are integrated between the foam core and the intermediate layer of fiber-reinforced polymer layer.
As there is a motivation to combine the teachings of Wylezinski and Hessenberger, a prima facie case of obviousness is said to exist. Accordingly, the rejection over Wylezinski in view of Hessenberger has been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788