DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on July 29, 2024. As directed by the amendment: no claims have been amended, claims 1-16 have been canceled, and new claims 17-27 have been added. Thus, claims 17-27 are presently pending in the application
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature of claim 25 (a ball and socket type joint that allows relative movement between a frame portion and a mask seal position along a principal axis of the ball and socket joint) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claim 25, the specification does not describe how a ball and socket type joint can allow relative movement along a principal axis of the ball and socket type joint. Parent claim 1 defines the coupling between the mask seal and the mask frame as the ball and socket type joint. This joint allows rotational movement between the two components, but it is not clear from the specification what the principal axis of such a rotational joint is and how the joint could allow movement along such an axis. The specification only states “the relative movement can be along the principal axis of the ball and socket type joint (i.e., the axis of connection of the ball and socket)”. The description of the principal axis being the axis of connection of the ball and socket does not clarify how a ball can move in a socket along an axis of their connection. For example, Fig. 3 shows a ball and socket type joint where the ball 326 of the frame portion 320 can rotate within the socket of the mask seal portion 310. The movement is defined as rotation movement around center 328. Even if the “principal axis of the ball and socket type joint” is assumed to be the axis running through the centers of the frame inlet 324, frame outlet 326, and seal inlet 314 (which is an assumption made by Examiner and not explicitly described in the specification), then there is still no mechanism shown or described as to how the ball and socket joint allows movement along this axis. The other embodiment of the joint shown in Fig. 2 allows movement in this direction, but it is not a ball and socket joint between the frame 220 and seal 210.
As to claims 26-27, the specification does not describe how a ball and socket type joint allows relative movement that is constrained to a cylindrical boundary. The specification only describes a ball and socket type joint constrained to a spherical boundary (Fig. 3 embodiment, paragraph [0014]). An alternative type of joint is separately described as being constrained to a cylindrical boundary, such as a shaft and bearing type joint (paragraph [0015],[0039]). This type of joint is not shown in the drawings nor is there any description as to how a ball and socket type joint could move in this cylindrically constrained manner.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the ball joint" in line 1. It is not expressly clear if the ball joint is referring to the ball and socket type joint recited in claim 17 or the ball joint of the connector recited in claim 20. Examiner suggests amending the language to read --the ball joint of the connector-- to clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matula, Jr et al. (US 2007/0044804), in view of Marque et al. (US 2007/0209663).
As to claim 17, Matula discloses a mask interface 450 (Fig. 27-28, paragraphs [0099]-[0101]) comprising:
a mask seal 454 comprising a seal inlet 463, the seal inlet 463 comprising a mask seal female connector portion 463 (the opening 463 is a female connector for receiving neck portion 466 of collar 464, see Fig. 28, paragraphs [0099]-[0100]);
a frame (the frame is considered the faceplate 452 and collar 464 together) comprising a frame inlet (the inlet end of neck portion 466 that receives air/oxygen from conduit 46), the frame inlet 466 comprising a frame connector portion (the inlet end of neck portion 466 connects to conduit 46, see Fig. 27), the frame 452,464 also comprising a frame outlet (the flange 468 defines an outlet end of the collar 464 around neck portion 466), the frame outlet 468 comprising a frame male connector portion 468 (flange 468 of collar 464 connects to the mask seal 454 through opening 463, paragraphs [0099]-[0100]), and the frame 452, 464 further comprising at least one attachment point, the at least one attachment point being configured to connect to headgear (see Fig. 14, paragraph [0082] which describes identical attachment points 266 to those shown in Fig. 27, unlabeled);
a connector (coupling member 46, Fig. 29) that is configured to connect a conduit 34 (sown schematically in Fig. 7) to the mask interface 450, the connector 46 being configured to be connected to the frame inlet 466 (see Fig. 27-28, and paragraph [0102]); and
the frame 452,464 being connectable to the mask seal 454 by a coupling (Figs. 27-28), the coupling comprising a ball and socket type joint 468, 460 (the curved flange 468 of collar 464 acts as the ball of the joint and the curved support 460 act as the socket, see Figs. 27-28, paragraph [0100]), the ball and socket type joint 468, 460 being configured to allow flexing in one direction easier than others (the shape of the opening 463 determines the extent of the movement in each direction, with the elongate shape shown in Fig. 27, it allows the movement more easily in the vertical direction than the horizontal, paragraphs [0100]), the ball and socket type joint 468, 460 comprising the mask seal female connector portion (opening 463) and the frame male connector portion (ball-shaped flange 468 of collar 464 is a male connector portion received by the female socket-like support 460), the coupling 468, 460 being configured to enable independent movement between the frame 452, 468 and the mask seal 454 (when deflectable arm 470 is depressed, paragraph [0101]), the independent movement comprising relative movement between a portion 464 of the frame 452 that is coupled to the mask seal 454 and a portion 460 of the mask seal 454 that is coupled to the frame 452, 464 (Figs. 27-28, paragraph [0100]-[0101]).
Matula does not expressly disclose that the frame connector portion of the frame inlet is a female connector portion (Matula’s frame inlet/neck portion end 466 appears to be a male connector that is inserted into connector 46 in this embodiment) and does not expressly disclose whether the connector 46 is configured to rotatably connect the frame inlet 466.
However, Marque teaches a mask interface (Fig. 1) having a connector assembly 18 including a female frame inlet connector portion (female ball and socket joint 19, Fig. 5) receiving a male portion 22 of a connector 21 (male spherical element 22 of coupling sleeve 21, Fig. 5), wherein the connector 21 is rotatable relative to the frame inlet 19 (see Fig. 5, paragraphs [0045]-[0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mask interface of Matula so that the connection between the frame inlet (neck portion 466) and the connector 46 is a ball and socket type joint (with the frame inlet 466 forming the female connector portion and the connector 46 forming the male connector portion), as taught by Marque, in order to provide a suitable known type of connection that allows improved articulation of the patient circuit relative to the mask interface for ease of maneuvering components.
As to claim 18, modified Matula discloses the mask interface of claim 17, wherein the connector 46 is configured to swivel (see Marque’s ball and socket joint 18, Figs. 5-7, paragraphs [0023],[0045]-[0046]).
As to claim 19, modified Matula discloses the mask interface of claim 17, wherein the connector 46 is an elbow (see Figs. 26, 26, and 29 of Matula).
As to claim 20, modified Matula discloses the mask interface of claim 17, wherein the connector 46 comprises a ball joint (see Marque, Figs. 5-7, paragraphs [0023],[0045]-[0046]).
As to claim 21, modified Matula discloses the mask interface of claim 20, wherein the ball joint is connected to the frame inlet (see Marque, Figs. 5-7, paragraphs [0023],[0045]-[0046]).
As to claim 22, modified Matula discloses the mask interface of claim 17, wherein the seal inlet 463 and the frame outlet 464,468 comprise a common rotational center (see Figs. 27-28 of Matula, paragraph [0099]-[0101]).
As to claim 23, modified Matula discloses the mask interface of claim 17, wherein the relative movement is between mounting locations of the coupling (see Figs. 27-28 of Matula, paragraph [0099]-[0101]).
As to claim 24, modified Matula discloses the mask interface of claim 17, wherein the relative movement is constrained to a generally spherical boundary with a common rotational center (see Figs. 27-28 of Matula, paragraph [0099]-[0101]).
As to claim 25, modified Matula discloses the mask interface of claim 17, but does not expressly disclose that the relative movement is along a principal axis of the ball and socket type joint. However, Marque teaches a ball and socket type joint 18, 19, 20 (Figs. 5-7) that allows relative movement along an axis of the joint (the funnel shaped ball and socket can be connected and disconnected forcibly nesting, paragraph [0046]-[0047]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mask interface of Matula so thathe ball and socket joint allows movement along the axis of the joint (in the connecting/disconnecting direction), as taught by Marque, in order to allow the components to be disconnected and re-connected to replace or interchange the components as desired.
As to claim 26, modified Matula discloses the mask interface of claim 17, wherein the relative movement is rotational but does not expressly disclose that the movement is constrained to a generally cylindrical boundary (the movement is constrained by the shape of the opening 463, see Matula, paragraph [0100]).
As to claim 27, modified Matula discloses the mask interface of claim 26, but does not expressly disclose that the relative movement is permitted along an axis of the generally cylindrical boundary. However, Marque teaches a ball and socket type joint 18, 19, 20 (Figs. 5-7) that allows relative movement along an axis of the joint (the funnel shaped ball and socket can be connected and disconnected by forcibly nesting, paragraph [0046]-[0047]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mask interface of Matula so that the ball and socket joint allows movement along the axis of the joint (in the connecting/disconnecting direction), as taught by Marque, in order to allow the components to be disconnected and re-connected to replace or interchange the components as desired.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McCall et al. (US 5,921,239), Eifler et al. (US 2005/0150497), and Schulz et al. (US 2008/0210241), and Hoffman (US 2007/0163600) each disclsoe a mask interface with a ball and socket type joint.
/VALERIE L WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785