Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 05-20-2026 has been entered and considered.
Claims 5-6, 9-12, and 18-20 are pending in the current application.
Claims 5-6, 9-12, and 18-20 remain rejected as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 9-12, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al (US 2025/0184053) in view of Akkarakaran et al (US 2021/0051610). Hereinafter referred to as Sun and Akkarakaran.
Regarding claims 5, and 12. Sun discloses a method performed by a WTRU comprising receiving configuration information comprising at least a first frequency for a first sidelink synchronization signal/physical sidelink broadcast channel (S-SS/PSBCH) transmission and a second frequency for a second S-SS/PSBCH transmission (see at least paragraphs [0040]-[0042], [0049]-[0053] and figures 1-2); monitoring for reception of the first S-SS/PSBCH transmission on the first frequency at a first time; and monitoring for reception of the second S-SS/PSBCH transmission on the second frequency at a second time (see at least paragraphs [0040]-[0042], [0049]-[0053] and figures 1-2).
Sun discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that the first time and second time are different, and the first time and the second time are within a signal S-SSB transmission period. However, Akkarakaran, from the same field of endeavor, teaches the first time and second time are different, and the first time and the second time are within a signal S-SSB transmission period (see at least paragraphs [0068], and [0085]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Akkarakaran, as indicated, into the communication method of Sun for the purpose of improving distance coverage.
Regarding claim 6. Sun in view of Akkarakaran discloses a method wherein the configuration information is received during a radio resource control (RRC) configuration or a system information message (see at least paragraph [0103]).
Regarding claims 9 and 18. Sun in view of Akkarakaran discloses a method wherein the WTRU performs beam sweeping comprising a plurality of beam directions and wherein the first S-SS/PSBCH transmission and the second S-SS/PSBCH transmission are made in a first beam direction, and every subsequent two S-SS/PSBCH transmissions are made in the first and second frequencies per each remaining beam direction within a beam sweep (see at least figure 12, abstract and Embodiment of Multibeam S-SSB Enhancement).
Regarding claims 10 and 19. Sun in view of Akkarakaran discloses a method wherein the WTRU performs beam sweeping comprising a plurality of beam directions and wherein the first S-SS/PSBCH transmission is made in a first set of the beam directions of a first sweep through the plurality of beam directions and wherein the second S-SS/PSBCH transmission is made in a second set of beam directions of the first sweep through the plurality of beam directions (see at least figure 12, abstract and Embodiment of Multibeam S-SSB Enhancement) (Akkarakaran: see at least paragraphs [0054], [0056]).
Regarding claims 11 and 20. Sun in view of Akkarakaran discloses a method, wherein the WTRU performs beam sweeping comprising a plurality of beam directions and wherein the first S-SS/PSBCH transmission is made at each of the beam directions of a first set of sweeps through the plurality of beam directions and wherein the second S-SS/PSBCH transmission is made at each of the beam directions of a second set of sweeps through the plurality of beam directions (see at least figure 12, abstract and Embodiment of Multibeam S-SSB Enhancement) (Akkarakaran: see at least paragraphs [0054], [0056] and [0061]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 5, 6, 9-12, and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO_892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37C.F.R 1.111(c). In addition, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and pages numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/MOUNIR MOUTAOUAKIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476