DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the structural component being a component of a robotics system must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 currently states “..a flexible collar including a plurality of ribs spaced therearound and a plurality of recesses positioned between the plurality of ribs, the plurality of ribs and the plurality of recesses extending inward and downward…” This limitation is confusing because it’s unclear where the plurality ribs and plurality of recesses are extending inward and downward from. Further clarification is required. The claim has been examined below as best the Examiner can understand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krueger (US 11071401).
Regarding Claim 1
Krueger teaches a holding system (below – Fig. 2 and 5A, B, D, and E) comprising: a holder (100) including: a peripheral lip (502); and a flexible collar (518) extending inward and downward from the peripheral lip, the flexible collar defining an opening (510) configured to receive an object; and a plurality of slide pads (108) having at least a portion thereof positioned along an upper side of the flexible collar, as can be seen in the figures below (Col. 4, Ln. 6 – Col. 7, Ln,. 10).
Regarding Claim 8
Krueger teaches the holding system includes the plurality of slide pads (108), as can be seen above.
Regarding Claim 12
Krueger teaches the flexible collar includes a plurality of ribs (514) spaced therearound and a plurality of recesses (512) positioned between the plurality of ribs, as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 16
Krueger teaches a holding system comprising: a flexible collar (518) including a plurality of ribs (514) spaced therearound and a plurality of recesses (512) positioned between the plurality of ribs, the plurality of ribs and the plurality of recesses extending inward and downward, the flexible collar defining an opening (510) configured to receive an object; and a plurality of slide pads (108) having a first portion positioned above an upper side of the plurality of ribs (Fig. 5D) and a second portion positioned below an underside of the plurality of ribs (Fig. 5E) , as can be seen in the figures above (Col. 4, Ln. 6 – Col. 7, Ln,. 10).
Claim(s) 1-6, 12, 13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bieck et al. (US 5839711) (hereinafter Bieck).
Regarding Claim 1
Bieck teaches a holding system (below – Fig. 1 and 2) comprising: a holder (10) including: a peripheral lip (16); and a flexible collar (18/20) extending inward and downward from the peripheral lip, the flexible collar defining an opening configured to receive an object; and a biasing element (22) extending along and around a periphery of an underside of the flexible collar (Col. 2, Ln. 9-58).
Regarding Claims 2-5
Bieck teaches the peripheral lip (16) defines a plurality of apertures (shown below) configured to facilitate coupling the holder to a structural component (e.g. a car cup holder – with the car being a robotics system).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 6
Bieck teaches the holding system includes the biasing element (22), and wherein the biasing element is configured to provide a retention or squeezing force against the object received by the flexible collar.
Regarding Claim 12
Bieck teaches the flexible collar includes a plurality of ribs (20) spaced therearound and a plurality of recesses (18) positioned between the plurality of ribs.
Regarding Claim 13
Bieck teaches the flexible collar includes one or more braces (14) positioned along the underside of one or more of the plurality of recesses.
Regarding Claim 15
Bieck teaches lower ends of the plurality of recesses (18)extend lower than lower ends of the plurality of ribs (20), as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 16
Bieck teaches a holding system (10) comprising: a flexible collar (18/20) including a plurality of ribs (20) spaced therearound and a plurality of recesses (18) positioned between the plurality of ribs, the plurality of ribs and the plurality of recesses extending inward and downward, the flexible collar defining an opening configured to receive an object; and a biasing element (22) extending around the flexible collar (Col. 2, Ln. 9-58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bieck as applied to claims 6 and 16 above.
Regarding Claims 7 and 17
Bieck teaches all the limitations of claims 6 and 16 above. While Bieck does teach the biasing element is a spring, Bieck does not specifically teach a garter spring.
At the time of filing, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the spring be a garter spring. Applicant has not disclosed that a garter spring provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. As such, the claim of a garter spring does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19 and 20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 9: Closest prior art (Krueger, cited above) – teaches a majority of the Applicant’s claimed invention. Kreuger further teaches each of the plurality of slide pads includes: a body positioned along the underside of the flexible collar; and a flap positioned along an upper side of the flexible collar. However, the closest prior art does not teach the flap including a retainer extending therefrom that extends through the flexible collar and into the body; and a flexible edge connecting the flap to the body.
Regarding Claim 10: Closest prior art (Krueger, cited above) – teaches a majority of the Applicant’s claimed invention. However, the closest prior art does not teach the holding system includes the plurality of slide pads and the biasing element.
Regarding Claim 14: Closest prior art (Krueger, cited above) – teaches a majority of the Applicant’s claimed invention. However, the closest prior art does not teach an upper end of each of the plurality of recesses is wider than a lower end of each of the plurality of recesses such that each of the plurality of recesses has a tapered profile.
Regarding Claim 18: Closest prior art (Krueger, cited above) – teaches a majority of the Applicant’s claimed invention. However, the closest prior art does not teach the holding system includes the plurality of slide pads and the biasing element, wherein the second portion of two or more of the plurality of slide pads includes a retainer, and wherein the biasing element is in engagement with the retainer of the two or more of the plurality of slide pads.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 19: Closest prior art (Krueger, cited above) teaches: a holding system comprising: a holder including: a peripheral lip; and a flexible collar including a plurality of ribs spaced therearound and a plurality of recesses positioned between the plurality of ribs, the plurality of ribs and the plurality of recesses extending inward and downward from the peripheral lip, the flexible collar defining an opening configured to receive an object; and a plurality of slide pads having a first portion positioned above an upper side of the plurality of ribs and a second portion positioned below an underside of the plurality of ribs.
However, the closest prior art does not teach: the second portion of two or more of the plurality of slide pads including a retainer; and a garter spring extending around a periphery of the flexible collar and in engagement with the retainer of the two or more of the plurality of slide pads
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further pertinent prior art includes but is not limited to that which is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733