Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-9, filed August 17, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 10, and 17 under the grounds that "Even in combination, the references [Bhowmick and Fujii] fail to reach claim 1" have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chen (US 20220406565 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhowmick (US 20230298857 A1) in further view of Chen (US 20220406565 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Bhowmick teaches a method of processing a substrate, the method comprising: fixing a substrate in a substrate processing apparatus, wherein the substrate processing apparatus comprises: a process chamber providing a process space ([0017], “…within a plasma processing region to which the substrate is exposed.”), a stage supporting the substrate (Fig. 1, 103; [0022], “The CCP processing chamber 101 includes a substrate support structure 103 upon which the substrate 105 is positioned and supported during processing operations.”), a plasma induction electrode configured to generate plasma and located in the stage (Fig. 1, 107; [0022], “In some embodiments, an electrode 107 is disposed within the substrate support structure 103 to provide for transmission of RF power from the electrode 107 through the plasma processing region 102 to generate the plasma 123 and/or control ion energy.”), a first power source configured to supply radio frequency (RF) power to the plasma induction electrode (Fig. 1, 111; [0022], “The electrode 107 is connected to receive RF power through an RF feed structure 109, which is connected to one or more RF power generator(s) 111 by way of one or more impedance matching system(s) 113.”); a heater located in the stage and configured to heat the stage (Fig. 1, 125; [0024], “In some embodiments, a heater assembly 125 is disposed within the substrate support structure 103 to provide temperature control of the substrate 105.”), a second power source configured to supply alternating current (AC) power to the heater (Fig. 1, 131; [0024], “In some embodiments, the power supply 131 is an alternating current (AC) power supply.”), and processing the substrate, wherein processing the substrate comprises heating the stage by supplying the AC power to the heater using the second power source ([0024], “The heater assembly 125 is electrically connected to receive electrical power through an electrical connection 127, where the electrical power is supplied from a power supply 131 through an electrical connection 137 to an RF filter 129, and through the RF filter 129 to the electrical connection 127. In some embodiments, the power supply 131 is an alternating current (AC) power supply.”).
However, Bhowmick does not teach a monitoring unit electrically connected to the plasma induction electrode; and checking a state of fixation of the substrate, wherein checking the state of fixation of the substrate comprises measuring a component of the AC power that is transferred to the monitoring unit through the heater and the plasma induction electrode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches a monitoring unit electrically connected to the plasma induction electrode (Fig. 5, 508; [0032], "In some embodiments, an optional voltage/current (V/I) sensor 508 may be used to monitor the voltages of the electrodes 122 and/or the current flowing through the RF termination filter 142."); and checking a state of fixation of the substrate, wherein checking the state of fixation of the substrate comprises measuring a component of the AC power that is transferred to the monitoring unit through the heater and the plasma induction electrode (Fig. 1, 122, 124; [0026], "The electrodes 122 may serve a dual purpose of conducting DC current for electrostatic chucking of substrates and as a bottom RF electrode during plasma generation. In some instances, the RF on the electrodes 122 may capacitively couple to the heaters 124 when the RF voltage on the electrodes 122 becomes high and couples with the AC lines.", Fig. 5, 508; [0032], "In some embodiments, an optional voltage/current (V/I) sensor 508 may be used to monitor the voltages of the electrodes 122 and/or the current flowing through the RF termination filter 142.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the substrate processing method of Bhowmick with the AC measurement of Chen so as to "send voltage and/or current information to a controller", (Chen, [0032]).
Regarding independent claim 17, Bhowmick teaches a method of processing a substrate, the method comprising: fixing a substrate in a substrate processing apparatus, wherein the substrate processing apparatus comprises: a process chamber providing a process space ([0017], “…within a plasma processing region to which the substrate is exposed.”), a stage supporting the substrate (Fig. 1, 103; [0022], “The CCP processing chamber 101 includes a substrate support structure 103 upon which the substrate 105 is positioned and supported during processing operations.”), a plasma induction electrode located in the stage and configured to generate plasma(Fig. 1, 107; [0022], “In some embodiments, an electrode 107 is disposed within the substrate support structure 103 to provide for transmission of RF power from the electrode 107 through the plasma processing region 102 to generate the plasma 123 and/or control ion energy.”), a first power source comprising a radio frequency (RF) power source electrically connected to the plasma induction electrode and configured to supply RF power (Fig. 1, 111; [0022], “The electrode 107 is connected to receive RF power through an RF feed structure 109, which is connected to one or more RF power generator(s) 111 by way of one or more impedance matching system(s) 113.”), a heater located in the stage and configured to heat the stage (Fig. 1, 125; [0024], “In some embodiments, a heater assembly 125 is disposed within the substrate support structure 103 to provide temperature control of the substrate 105.”), a second power source configured to supply alternating current (AC) power to the heater (Fig. 1, 131; [0024], “In some embodiments, the power supply 131 is an alternating current (AC) power supply.”), processing the substrate, wherein processing the substrate comprises heating the stage by supplying the AC power to the heater using the second power source ([0024], “The heater assembly 125 is electrically connected to receive electrical power through an electrical connection 127, where the electrical power is supplied from a power supply 131 through an electrical connection 137 to an RF filter 129, and through the RF filter 129 to the electrical connection 127. In some embodiments, the power supply 131 is an alternating current (AC) power supply.”), and checking an arcing state of the substrate by measuring a component of the RF power that is transferred to the monitoring unit through the substrate and the plasma induction electrode ([0056], “Therefore, it is advantageous to be able to detect the arcing event by monitoring for perturbations in the reflected RF voltage 450 of the high frequency RF signal.”).
However, Bhowmick does not teach a monitoring unit connected to the first power source and configured to analyze a state of the substrate; and checking a state of fixation of the substrate by measuring a component of the AC power that is transferred from the AC power source to the monitoring unit through the heater and the plasma induction electrode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches a monitoring unit electrically connected to the plasma induction electrode (Fig. 5, 508; [0032], "In some embodiments, an optional voltage/current (V/I) sensor 508 may be used to monitor the voltages of the electrodes 122 and/or the current flowing through the RF termination filter 142."); and checking a state of fixation of the substrate, wherein checking the state of fixation of the substrate comprises measuring a component of the AC power that is transferred to the monitoring unit through the heater and the plasma induction electrode (Fig. 1, 122, 124; [0026], "The electrodes 122 may serve a dual purpose of conducting DC current for electrostatic chucking of substrates and as a bottom RF electrode during plasma generation. In some instances, the RF on the electrodes 122 may capacitively couple to the heaters 124 when the RF voltage on the electrodes 122 becomes high and couples with the AC lines.", Fig. 5, 508; [0032], "In some embodiments, an optional voltage/current (V/I) sensor 508 may be used to monitor the voltages of the electrodes 122 and/or the current flowing through the RF termination filter 142.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the substrate processing method of Bhowmick with the AC measurement of Chen so as to "send voltage and/or current information to a controller", (Chen, [0032]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhowmick (US 20230298857 A1) in further view of Chen (US 20220406565 A1) and Fujii (US 20200411356 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Bhowmick, as previously modified by Chen, teaches the method of claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein measuring the component of the AC power comprises: measuring a change in voltage of the component of the AC power, the change in voltage responsive to a change in resistance between the substrate and the stage.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fujii teaches wherein measuring the component of the AC power comprises: measuring a change in voltage of the component of the AC power, the change in voltage responsive to a change in resistance between the substrate and the stage ([0023], “…the measured AC voltage value will vary accompanied by the change in the electrostatic capacitance due to the change in the contact area between the chuck plate 2 and the wafer W. By comparing this measured AC voltage value…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further combine the measuring of change in voltage described by Chen with the method as described by the combination of Fujii and Chen “…so that a judgment can be made as to whether attraction of the wafer W is acceptable or not.” (Fujii, [0023]).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 10, 14, 16, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhowmick (US 20230298857 A1) in further view of Chen (US 20220406565 A1). Fujii (US 20200411356 A1), and Uhm (US 20240162006 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Bhowmick, as previously combined with Chen teaches the method of claim 1. Bhowmick further teaches an RF power source configured to generate plasma (Fig. 1, 111; [0017], ”The CCP and ICP processing chambers can be equipped with one or more electrodes that receive RF power for generating the plasma within the plasma processing region.”). However, as previously combined, they do not teach a direct current (DC) power source configured to fix the substrate on the stage; and an alternating current filter configured to filter RF power supplied from the RF power source, wherein the alternating current filter is located between the DC power source and the plasma induction electrode, and wherein the monitoring unit is connected to the first power source between the DC power source and the alternating current filter.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fujii teaches a direct current (DC) power source configured to fix the substrate on the stage (Fig. 1, 6a, 6B; [0007], “…provided that a circuit for charging an electrode, from the DC power source unit, with chuck voltage to attract and hold in position the to-be-processed substrate…”), and in the same field of endeavor, Uhm teaches an alternating current filter configured to filter RF power supplied from the RF power source (Fig. 2, 1400; [0097], “The filter can remove an AC component from the input current or voltage signal…”, [0101], “As described above, the RF generator 1000 can control the driving frequency of second AC power…”), wherein the alternating current filter is located between the DC power source and the plasma induction electrode ([0102], “…the RF generator 1000 may be provided with DC power or rectified DC power from the outside…”; Fig. 1, 1000, 2000), and wherein the monitoring unit is connected to the first power source between the DC power source and the alternating current filter (Fig. 2, 1400, 1500; [0095], “The sensor module 1400 can receive a current or voltage signal flowing to the load through the current transformer, convert the current or voltage signal into a current or voltage signal having a different magnitude, filter the converted current or voltage using the filter, and output phase data to the controller 1500 through the comparer.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the substrate processing method as described by the combination of Bhowmick and Chen with the DC power source of Fujii so as to provide power to fix the substrate in place (Fujii, [0002]), and the alternating current filter of Uhm so as to “remove the AC component from the current” (Uhm, [0097]).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Bhowmick teaches the method of claim 2. Uhm further teaches filtering the RF power supplied form the RF power source using the alternating current filter (Fig. 2, 1400; [0097], “The filter can remove an AC component from the input current or voltage signal…”, [0101], “As described above, the RF generator 1000 can control the driving frequency of second AC power…”), and Fujii further teaches measuring the component of the AC power ([0023], “By comparing this measured AC voltage value (measured value) with the AC voltage value empirically measured in advance, the state of the wafer W, before processing, that is placed on the chuck plate 2 can be ascertained prior to attraction, so that a judgment can be made as to whether attraction of the wafer W is acceptable or not.”).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Bhowmick, as previously modified by Chen, Uhm and Fujii, teaches the method of claim 2, and futher teaches wherein processing the substrate comprises supplying the RF power to the plasma induction electrode using the RF power source (Fig. 1, 111; [0022], “The electrode 107 is connected to receive RF power through an RF feed structure 109, which is connected to one or more RF power generator(s) 111 by way of one or more impedance matching system(s) 113.”), and wherein the method further comprises: checking an arcing state of the substrate after fixing the substrate on the stage, wherein checking of the arcing state of the substrate comprises measuring a component of the RF power that is transferred to the monitoring unit, before the component of the RF power reaches the alternating current filter ([0056], “Therefore, it is advantageous to be able to detect the arcing event by monitoring for perturbations in the reflected RF voltage 450 of the high frequency RF signal.”).
Regarding independent claim 10, Bhowmick teaches a method of processing a substrate, the method comprising: fixing a substrate in a substrate processing apparatus, wherein the substrate processing apparatus comprises: a process chamber providing a process space ([0017], “…within a plasma processing region to which the substrate is exposed.”), a stage supporting the substrate (Fig. 1, 103; [0022], “The CCP processing chamber 101 includes a substrate support structure 103 upon which the substrate 105 is positioned and supported during processing operations.”), a plasma induction electrode located in the stage and configured to generate plasma(Fig. 1, 107; [0022], “In some embodiments, an electrode 107 is disposed within the substrate support structure 103 to provide for transmission of RF power from the electrode 107 through the plasma processing region 102 to generate the plasma 123 and/or control ion energy.”), a first power source comprising a radio frequency (RF) power source electrically connected to the plasma induction electrode and configured to supply RF power (Fig. 1, 111; [0022], “The electrode 107 is connected to receive RF power through an RF feed structure 109, which is connected to one or more RF power generator(s) 111 by way of one or more impedance matching system(s) 113.”), a heater located in the stage and configured to heat the stage (Fig. 1, 125; [0024], “In some embodiments, a heater assembly 125 is disposed within the substrate support structure 103 to provide temperature control of the substrate 105.”), a second power source configured to supply alternating current (AC) power to the heater (Fig. 1, 131; [0024], “In some embodiments, the power supply 131 is an alternating current (AC) power supply.”), and processing the substrate using the substrate processing apparatus ([0024], “The heater assembly 125 is electrically connected to receive electrical power through an electrical connection 127, where the electrical power is supplied from a power supply 131 through an electrical connection 137 to an RF filter 129, and through the RF filter 129 to the electrical connection 127. In some embodiments, the power supply 131 is an alternating current (AC) power supply.”).
However, Bhowmick does not teach an alternating current filter configured to filter the RF power, and a monitoring unit configured to measure a change in a component of the AC power that is supplied from the second power source and passed through the heater, the plasma induction electrode and the alternating current filter; and checking a state of fixation of the substrate, wherein checking the state of fixation of the substrate comprises measuring the component of the AC power.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Uhm teaches an alternating current filter configured to filter the RF power (Fig. 2, 1400; [0097], “The filter can remove an AC component from the input current or voltage signal…”, [0101], “As described above, the RF generator 1000 can control the driving frequency of second AC power…”), and Chen teaches a monitoring unit electrically connected to the plasma induction electrode (Fig. 5, 508; [0032], "In some embodiments, an optional voltage/current (V/I) sensor 508 may be used to monitor the voltages of the electrodes 122 and/or the current flowing through the RF termination filter 142."); and checking a state of fixation of the substrate, wherein checking the state of fixation of the substrate comprises measuring a component of the AC power that is transferred to the monitoring unit through the heater and the plasma induction electrode (Fig. 1, 122, 124; [0026], "The electrodes 122 may serve a dual purpose of conducting DC current for electrostatic chucking of substrates and as a bottom RF electrode during plasma generation. In some instances, the RF on the electrodes 122 may capacitively couple to the heaters 124 when the RF voltage on the electrodes 122 becomes high and couples with the AC lines.", Fig. 5, 508; [0032], "In some embodiments, an optional voltage/current (V/I) sensor 508 may be used to monitor the voltages of the electrodes 122 and/or the current flowing through the RF termination filter 142.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the substrate processing method of Bhowmick with the alternating current filter of Uhm, so as to “remove the AC component from the current” (Uhm, [0097]), and the monitoring unit and process of Chen, so as to "send voltage and/or current information to a controller", (Chen, [0032]).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Bhowmick, as previously modified by Uhm and Chen, teaches the method of claim 10.
However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein measuring the component of the AC power comprises measuring a change in voltage of the component of the AC power, the change in voltage responsive to a change in resistance between the substrate and the stage.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fujii teaches wherein measuring the component of the AC power comprises measuring a change in voltage of the component of the AC power, the change in voltage responsive to a change in resistance between the substrate and the stage ([0023], “By comparing this measured AC voltage value (measured value) with the AC voltage value empirically measured in advance, the state of the wafer W, before processing, that is placed on the chuck plate 2 can be ascertained prior to attraction, so that a judgment can be made as to whether attraction of the wafer W is acceptable or not.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the substrate processing method as described by the combination of Bhowmick, Uhm, and Chen with the measurement of Fujii “…so that a judgment can be made as to whether attraction of the wafer W is acceptable or not.” (Fujii, [0023]).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Bhowmick, as previously modified by Uhm and Chen, teaches the method of claim 10, and further teaches measuring a component of the RF power that is transferred to the monitoring unit through the plasma induction electrode, before the component of the RF power reaches the alternating current filter; and determining whether arcing occurs at the substrate based on the component of the RF power ([0056], “Therefore, it is advantageous to be able to detect the arcing event by monitoring for perturbations in the reflected RF voltage 450 of the high frequency RF signal.”).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Bhowmick, as previously modified by Chen, teaches the method of claim 17, but does not teach wherein the first power source comprises an alternating current filter configured to filter the RF power, and wherein measuring the component of the AC power comprises measuring a voltage of the component of the AC power, wherein the component of the AC power is passed through the alternating current filter.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Uhm teaches wherein the first power source comprises an alternating current filter configured to filter the RF power, and that the component of the AC power is passed through the alternating current filter (Fig. 2, 1400; [0097], “The filter can remove an AC component from the input current or voltage signal…”, [0101], “As described above, the RF generator 1000 can control the driving frequency of second AC power…”), and Fujii teaches wherein measuring the component of the AC power comprises measuring a voltage of the component of the AC power ([0023], “By comparing this measured AC voltage value (measured value) with the AC voltage value empirically measured in advance, the state of the wafer W, before processing, that is placed on the chuck plate 2 can be ascertained prior to attraction, so that a judgment can be made as to whether attraction of the wafer W is acceptable or not.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the substrate processing method as described by the combination of Bhowmick and Chen with the alternating current filter of Uhm, so as to “remove the AC component from the current” (Uhm, [0097]), and the monitoring process of Fujii, “…so that a judgment can be made as to whether attraction of the wafer W is acceptable or not.” (Fujii, [0023]).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Bhowmick, as previously modified by Chen, Fujii, and Uhm, teaches the method of claim 18, and further teaches wherein measuring the component of the RF power comprises measuring a voltage of the component of the RF power, wherein the component of the RF power is not passed through the alternating current filter ([0056], “Therefore, it is advantageous to be able to detect the arcing event by monitoring for perturbations in the reflected RF voltage 450 of the high frequency RF signal.”).
Claim(s) 6, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhowmick (US 20230298857 A1) in further view of Chen (US 20220406565 A1), Uhm (US 20240162006 A1), and Yamagishi (US 20210183631 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Bhowmick, as modified by Chen, teaches the method of claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the substrate processing apparatus further comprises: a shower head spaced vertically above the stage in the process space; and a third power source electrically connected to the shower head and configured to induce generation of plasma.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yamagishi teaches a shower head spaced vertically above the stage in the process space (Fig. 1, 30; [0032], “The plasma processing apparatus 10 is further equipped with a shower head 30. The shower head 30 is disposed above the stage 16.”); and a third power source electrically connected to the shower head and configured to induce generation of plasma (Fig. 1, 68; [0036], “The supporting body 36 of the shower head 30 is connected to a variable DC power supply 68 via a low pass filter (LPF) 66.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the substrate processing method as described by the combination of Bhowmick and Chen with the shower head and power source of Yamagishi so as to discharge gas into the chamber (Yamagish [0034]).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Bhowmick, as previously modified by Uhm and Chen, teaches the method of claim 10. However, as previously combined, they do not teach a shower head configured to inject a gas into the process space; and a third power source connected to the shower head and configured to convert the gas into plasma.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yamagishi teaches a shower head configured to inject a gas into the process space (Fig. 1, 30; [0032], “The plasma processing apparatus 10 is further equipped with a shower head 30. The shower head 30 is disposed above the stage 16.”); and a third power source connected to the shower head and configured to convert the gas into plasma (Fig. 1, 68; [0036], “The supporting body 36 of the shower head 30 is connected to a variable DC power supply 68 via a low pass filter (LPF) 66.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the substrate processing method as described by the combination of Bhowmick, Chen, and Uhm with the shower head and power source of Yamagishi so as to discharge gas into the chamber (Yamagish [0034]).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Bhowmick, as previously modified by Fujii, teaches the method of claim 17. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the substrate processing apparatus further comprises a third power source configured to generate plasma and located above the process space.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yamagishi teaches a third power source configured to generate plasma and located above the process space (Fig. 1, 68; [0036], “The supporting body 36 of the shower head 30 is connected to a variable DC power supply 68 via a low pass filter (LPF) 66.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the substrate processing method as described by the combination of Bhowmick and Chen with the power source of Yamagishi so as to discharge gas into the chamber for plasma generation (Yamagish [0034]).
Claim(s) 7, 8, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhowmick (US 20230298857 A1) in further view of Chen (US 20220406565 A1), Uhm (US 20240162006 A1), and Koosau (US 20230380016 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Bhowmick, as previously modified by Chen, teaches the method of claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the stage includes aluminum nitride.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Koosau teaches wherein the stage includes aluminum nitride ([0061], “Upper puck plate 230 may include electrically insulating materials such as aluminum nitride (AlN)…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the substrate processing method as described by the combination of Bhowmick and Chen with the aluminum nitride stage of Koosau so as to electrically insulate the plate.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Bhowmick, as previously modified by Chen, teaches the method of claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein processing the substrate further comprises raising a temperature of the stage to 400°C or more using the AC power supplied to the heater.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Koosau teaches raising a temperature of the stage to 400°C or more using the AC power supplied to the heater ([0077], “In some embodiments, puck 306 may be heated to temperatures of 200-400° C.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the substrate processing method as described by the combination of Bhowmick and Chen with the temperature raise of Koosau so as to perform “…high temperature processing operations…” (Koosau, [0002]).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Bhowmick, as previously modified by Uhm and Chen, teaches the method of claim 10. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the stage includes aluminum nitride (AlN).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Koosau teaches wherein the stage includes aluminum nitride (AlN) ([0061], “Upper puck plate 230 may include electrically insulating materials such as aluminum nitride (AlN)…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the substrate processing method as described by the combination of Bhowmick, Chen, and Uhm with the aluminum nitride stage of Koosau so as to electrically insulate the plate.
Claim(s) 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhowmick (US 20230298857 A1) in further view of Chen (US 20220406565 A1), Uhm (US 20240162006 A1), and Kondoh (US 20220098753 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Bhowmick, as previously modified by Chen, teaches the method of claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein an amplitude of the AC power supplied by the second power source is constant.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kondoh teaches wherein an amplitude of the AC power supplied by the second power source is constant ([0126], “The conditions of the measurement of the alternating current impedance are as follows…AC amplitude: 1 mA…” (Since the amplitude is set to one value and not a variable, it is constant)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the substrate processing method as described by the combination of Bhowmick and Chen with the constant AC amplitude of Kondoh so as to have a baseline to determine whether or not “film formation is performable” (Kondoh, [0057]).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Bhowmick, as previously modified by Uhm and Chen, teaches the method of claim 10. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the second power source is configured to generate the AC power with a constant amplitude.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kondoh teaches wherein the second power source is configured to generate the AC power with a constant amplitude ([0126], “The conditions of the measurement of the alternating current impedance are as follows…AC amplitude: 1 mA…” (Since the amplitude is set to one value and not a variable, it is constant)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the substrate processing method as described by the combination of Bhowmick and Chen with the constant AC amplitude of Kondoh so as to have a baseline to determine whether or not “film formation is performable” (Kondoh, [0057]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhowmick (US 20230298857 A1) in further view of Chen (US 20220406565 A1), Uhm (US 20240162006 A1), and Match (US 20220216080 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Bhowmick, as previously modified by Chen and Uhm, teaches the method of claim 10. However, as previously combined, they do not teach a direct current (DC) power source configured to fix the substrate on the stage; and a blocking capacitor connected to the plasma induction electrode, wherein the blocking capacitor and the DC power source are connected in parallel with the plasma induction electrode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fujii teaches a direct current (DC) power source configured to fix the substrate on the stage (Fig. 1, 6a, 6B; [0007], “…provided that a circuit for charging an electrode, from the DC power source unit, with chuck voltage to attract and hold in position the to-be-processed substrate…”); and in the same field of endeavor, Match teaches a blocking capacitor connected to the plasma induction electrode, wherein the blocking capacitor and the DC power source are connected in parallel with the plasma induction electrode (Fig. 2, 240, 216, 206; [0031], “This injected signal can be arranged in parallel to the high voltage line and can be injected to or meet the high voltage line at node 208. A chucking sensor 214 can couple to a low voltage side of a blocking capacitor 240, which can be arranged between the AC chuck monitoring source 210 and the node 208.”, [0007], “The high voltage power source can be configured to provide high voltage to a wafer chuck in a plasma processing chamber, and in some embodiments can be implemented as a DC power supply…” (In the diagram, the line from the electrodes splits off – on one side it goes to the blocking capacitor, on the other the DC power supply)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the substrate processing method as described by the combination of Bhowmick, Uhm, and Chen with the DC power source of Fujii so as to provide power to fix the substrate in place (Fujii, [0002]), and the blocking capacitor of Match so that “the low voltage AC source is protected from the high voltage line (DC)” (Match, [0027]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20230360893 A1,.
/TIMOTHY JAMES MATTABONI/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897