DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7 – 11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,974,053 and 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,042,660. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the present application and the ‘053 patent claim a method, comprising: receiving a request to modify application; transmitting the request to the administrative device; receiving a response provided by the administrator; and modifying the application in response to receiving the response. The ‘053 patent and the ‘660 patent are more specific by specifying that the request to modify the application comprise a request to modify the program schedule. Therefore, the claims of the ‘053 patent anticipate the claims of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 – 7, 9 – 12, 14 – 16, and 18 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gerber et al. (US PGPUB 2006/0190051 – in IDS).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 11, 12, and 19, Gerber discloses a system and method implemented using a system having an implantable medical device (e.g. 12) including an implantable pulse generator configured for implantation in a patient (e.g. ¶ 5 and Fig. 1); an administrative device (e.g. 26, 28) configured for use by an administrator, wherein the administrator includes a physician, a clinician, a specialist, a sales representative, an insurance representative, or a customer support representative (e.g. ¶ 26); and a user device (e.g. 22) configured for use by the patient to communicate with the administrative device and the implantable medical device (e.g. Fig. 1), the method comprising: receiving at an application executing on the user device, a request to modify the application, wherein the request to change a version of the application on the user device (e.g. ¶ 34 – 38); transmitting the request to the administrative device for approval (e.g. ¶ 26); receiving a response to the request from the administrative device (e.g. ¶ 26), wherein the response is provided by the administrator using the administrative device (e.g. ¶ 26); and changing the version of the application, in response to receiving the response (e.g. ¶ 26 – 29).
Regarding claims 4, 5, 14, 15 and 20, Gerber discloses providing additional features for managing a patient condition, and rotating through programs implemented by the IMD (e.g. ¶ 26 – 29; by dynamically adjusting the stimulation parameters; Gerber teaches changing/cycling through different programs).
Regarding claim 6, Gerber discloses the response provided by the administrator using the administration device is based on a physical condition of the patient (e.g. ¶ 26).
Regarding claims 7, 9, 16, and 18, Gerber discloses a user interface configured to set test periods and provide user reports (e.g. ¶ 26 – 29)
Regarding claim 10, Gerber teaches dynamically adjusting the parameters based on evaluations (e.g. ¶ 26). This would necessarily read on choosing the best program schedule.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerber et al.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Gerber discloses the claimed invention except for specifically reciting changing the wash-in and/or wash-out times. However, Gerber teaches using pain metrics and adjusting stimulation parameters to determine an optimal stimulation program. Was-in and wash-out times are well known parameters related treating pain. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Gerber with modifying the wash-in and wash-out times, since finding the optimal workable conditions requires only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerber et al. in view of Parker (USPN 2015/039047).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Gerber discloses updating the program, as previously discussed, but fails to explicitly recite changing to a new release of the application.
Parker teaches it is known to periodically check for updates and change to a new release of an application when available (e.g. ¶ 33). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Gerber with the application updates as taught by Parker, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing the invention with software and hardware updates that will fix any known bugs and update security.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792