Response to Arguments
The applicant has argued that Huval (US 2018/0373980) does not disclose “wherein the machine learning model is trained based on a training dataset comprising a plurality of time series elements and a ground truth determined based on the plurality of time series elements by: identifying respective portions of an object from the plurality of time series elements, determining locations of the respective portions, and combining the respective portions based on the locations to generate ground truth” because Huval “describes a system where human annotators manually label individual images to create ground truth data. The argument is elaborated on by the applicant with “Huval’s ground truth is derived from human annotation of individual frames, not ‘determined based on the plurality of time series elements by :identifying respective portions of an object from the plurality of time series elements, determining locations of the respective portions, and combining the respective portions based on the locations to generate the ground truth’ as recited in claim 1”. This argument is not persuasive as the human labelling argued by the applicant as not disclosing the amended limitations is being done on time-series elements, i.e. a video feed in Paragraph [0011] of Huval. If a human is presented with a video feed and then labels an object within that feed, even if the label only applies to a single frame, then the human has still “identif[ied] respective portions of an object from the plurality of time series elements”. This element of the claim does not require that the identifying be done across multiple frames, only that the object, or respective portion thereof, be identified “from the plurality of time series elements”. A singular frame taken from a plurality of time series elements still constitutes item “from the plurality of time series elements”. Additionally, the Specification of the instant application, in Paragraph [0013], specifically mentions a ground truth being associated with a “subset of the time series elements, such as a single frame of the group of captured image data” [emphasis added]. Huval also discloses automated labelling occurring without human labelling that is also used to train machine learning models which can be compared to human labels to ensure accuracy but this is not a one-to-one phenomenon where every automated label is compared, the comparison is used to ensure accuracy of the larger quantity of automated labels that are produced compared to human labels specifically to lower cost of human labelling efforts.
Summary of Claims
Claims 1-2, 5-10, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huval (US 2018/0373980).
Claims 3-4, 11-12, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huval in view of Schuh (US 2020/0201356).
Priority Date
The priority date of this application is 02/01/2019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-10, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huval (US 2018/0373980).
As per Claim 1:
Huval discloses the following limitations:
“one or more processors configured to: obtain sensor data associated with one or more sensors of a vehicle… and determine one or more control signals to control operation of the vehicle based on the three-dimensional feature; and provide data associated with the one or more control signals to cause operation of the vehicle in accordance with the one or more control signals.”
Huval Paragraph [0018] discloses feeding sensor data into a neural network to identify three-dimensional objects in the environment of an autonomous vehicle that subsequentially generates control signals based on said identification.
“determine a three-dimensional feature associated with the sensor data based on a machine learning model configured to generate an output representing the three-dimensional feature based on the sensor data, wherein the machine learning model is trained based on a training dataset comprising a plurality of time series elements and a ground truth determined based on the plurality of time series elements by: identifying respective portions of an object from the plurality of time series elements; determining locations of the respective portions; and combining the respective portions based on the locations to generate the ground truth.
Huval Figure 3 discloses labelled data being incorporated into a training set used to train a neural network. Paragraph [0011] discloses training a machine learning model based on identification of objects. Paragraph [0018] discloses combining objects’ locations with relative locations for ground truth identification.
With regards to Claim 2, Huval discloses the following limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein the one or more processors configured to determine the one or more control signals are configured to: determine updates to one or more of: a steering angle of the vehicle; a speed of the vehicle; a rate of acceleration of the vehicle; or a rate of deceleration of the vehicle.”
Huval Paragraph [0018] discloses controlling all of these parameters.
With regards to Claim 5, Huval discloses the following limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein the one or more processors configured to determine the one or more control signals to control operation of the vehicle based on the three-dimensional feature are configured to: determine a drivable space based on the three-dimensional feature; and determine the one or more control signals based on the drivable space.”
Huval Paragraph [0018] discloses by-passing obstacles and therefore identifies drivable space which the autonomous vehicle remains in.
With regards to Claim 6, Huval discloses the following limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein the one or more processors configured to determine a three-dimensional feature associated with the sensor data based on a machine learning model are configured to determine a path of a vehicle in an adjacent lane relative to a lane of the vehicle; and wherein the one or more processors configured to determine the one or more control signals to control operation of the vehicle based on the three-dimensional feature are configured to: determine the one or more control signals to control operation of the vehicle based on the path of the vehicle in the adjacent lane.”
Huval Paragraph [0018] discloses identifying objects surrounding a vehicle including other vehicles which would include vehicles in adjacent lanes. This further includes identifying the movement of said other vehicles.
With regards to Claim 7, Huval discloses the following limitations of Claim 6 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein controlling operation of the vehicle based on the path of the vehicle in the adjacent lane involves adjusting a steering angle of the vehicle; a speed of the vehicle; a rate of acceleration of the vehicle; or a rate of deceleration of the vehicle to avoid contact between the vehicle and the vehicle in the adjacent lane.”
Huval Paragraph [0018] discloses by-passing surrounding obstacles including surrounding vehicles.
With regards to Claim 8, Huval discloses the following limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein the one or more processors configured to determine the three-dimensional feature associated with the sensor data based on a machine learning model are configured to: determine the three-dimensional feature associated with the sensor data based on the machine learning model, wherein the machine learning model is trained using the training dataset comprising the ground truth and corresponding sensor data captured within a period of time, and wherein the machine learning model is trained to output the ground truth based on an input of at least a portion of the corresponding sensor data comprising a particular time series element of the plurality of time series elements.
Huval Paragraph [0008] discloses training a neural network using ground truth data that is first generated by a human operator, the neural network is then trained to output the ground truth data in the form of automated labels, S132 in Figure 4 in response to sensor information being received front he vehicle.
As per Claim 9: this claim is substantially similar to Claim 1 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 10, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 2 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 13, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 5 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 14, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 6 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 15, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 7 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 16, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 8 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
As per Claim 17: this claim is substantially similar to Claim 1 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 18, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 2 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 11-12, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huval in view of Schuh (US 2020/0201356).
With regards to Claim 3, Huval discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 but does not disclose the following limitations that Schuh does disclose:
“wherein the one or more processors configured to determine the one or more control signals are configured to: determine the one or more control signals to maintain a position of the vehicle in a lane associated with the vehicle.”
Schuh Paragraphs [0090]-[0091] discloses using machine learning to autonomously control vehicles to maintain their position relative to other vehicles. Paragraph [0028] discloses that maintaining a lane in addition to relative position of surrounding vehicles is also accounted for.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Huval with the lane-keeping disclosed by Schuh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by allowing a vehicle to maintain its own position within a lane.
With regards to Claim 4, Huval discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 but does not disclose the following limitations that Schuh does disclose:
“wherein the one or more processors configured to determine the one or more control signals are configured to: determine the one or more control signals to maintain a position of the vehicle in a lane associated with the vehicle relative to other vehicles or obstacles in proximity to the vehicle.”
Schuh Paragraphs [0090]-[0091] discloses using machine learning to autonomously control vehicles to maintain their position relative to other vehicles. Paragraph [0028] discloses that maintaining a lane in addition to relative position of surrounding vehicles is also accounted for.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Huval with the lane-keeping disclosed by Schuh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by allowing a vehicle to maintain its own position within a lane.
With regards to Claim 11, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 4 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 12, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 5 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 19, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 4 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 20, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 5 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Related References
Theverapperuma (US 2020/0394813)
Related to volumetric estimation using machine learning.
Frisbie (US 2020/0393841)
Related to vehicle control using machine learning.
Gurel (US 2020/0364508)
Related to lane identification based on machine learning.
Jung (US 2020/0116499)
Related to vehicle localization.
Ghafarianzadeh (US 2019/0250626)
Related to vehicle control and machine learning.
Chen (US 2019/0212749)
Related to vehicle control using machine learning.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach examiner by telephone are unsuccessful the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Worden can be reached on (571) 272-4876. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/GODFREY ALEKSANDER MACIOROWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3658