DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
The Amendment filed 6/5/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15, 18-20 are pending in the application with claims 1, 13, 14, 18, 20 amended, claims 7-9 withdrawn, claims 16, 17 cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the first portion" in Line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10, 13-15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saiga et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0076910, hereinafter Saiga).
In regard to claim 1, Saiga discloses a medical device (10, Fig. 7), comprising:
a suction valve set (10, Figs. 11,16,19) including a working channel valve (102,103,105) configured to be inserted into a working channel of valve well (8) and control flow through the working channel (61) of a valve well, a balloon channel (65) of the valve well, and an atmospheric channel (via channel extending through body (105) shown in Figs. 7,9), the working channel valve (102,103,105) comprising a valve body (105) with a proximal end, a distal end, and an outer surface extending between the proximal end and the distal end, and one or more channels comprising the atmospheric channel extending through the valve body between an opening in the proximal end of the valve body (the proximal end of the valve body (105) defines an open end) and a first port in the outer surface of the valve body (via gap along an outer surface of the valve body (105) between adjacent legs of the valve body, wherein suction is applied to the leak hole (1021a) from the suction channel (68) through the valve body, Figs. 7,9); and
a valve interface mechanism (104) operable to move the working channel valve between a first state (Fig. 7), a second state (Fig. 12), and a third state (Fig. 14), the first state comprising the working channel valve configured to place a suction channel (68) of the valve well in fluid communication with the atmospheric channel (Fig. 7), the second state comprising the working channel valve configured to place the suction channel in fluid communication with the working channel (Fig. 12), and the third state comprising the working channel valve configured to place the suction channel in fluid communication with the balloon channel (Fig. 14).
In regard to claim 2, Saiga teaches the valve interface mechanism, in the first state, configured to position a first portion of the one or more channels in fluid communication with the atmospheric channel and a second portion of the one or more channels in fluid communication with the suction channel (Fig. 7).
In regard to claim 3, Saiga teaches the valve interface mechanism, in the second state, configured to position a first portion of the one or more channels in fluid communication with the suction channel and a second portion of the one or more channels in fluid communication with the working channel (Fig. 12).
In regard to claim 4, Saiga teaches the valve interface mechanism, in the second state, configured to position the outer surface of the valve body to block flow through the atmospheric channel (Fig. 12).
In regard to claim 5, Saiga teaches the valve interface mechanism, in the third state, configured to position the outer surface of the valve body to block flow through the working channel (Fig. 14).
In regard to claim 6, Saiga teaches the valve interface mechanism, in the second state, configured to position the outer surface of the valve body to block flow through the atmospheric channel (Fig. 12).
In regard to claim 10, Saiga teaches wherein the valve interface mechanism, in the first state, is configured to position the outer surface of the valve body to block flow through the working channel (Fig. 7).
In regard to claim 13, Saiga teaches wherein the working channel valve comprises a second port extending through the outer surface and to a bottom of the working channel valve (via a different gap formed between legs of the valve body that opens to both the top and bottom of the valve body, Figs. 7,9).
In regard to claim 14, Saiga wherein the first port is spaced from the bottom of the working channel valve (Fig. 9).
In regard to claim 15, Saiga wherein the first port diametrically opposes the second port (Fig. 9 wherein the ports are circumferentially spaced apart).
In regard to claim 18, Saiga discloses a valve assembly (10, Fig. 7), comprising:
a valve well (8, Fig. 7) comprising a working channel (61), a balloon channel (65), and a suction channel (68);
a suction valve set (10, Figs. 11,16,19) including a working channel valve (102,103,105) configured to be inserted into a working channel of valve well (8) and control flow through the working channel (61) of a valve well, a balloon channel (65) of the valve well, and an atmospheric channel (via channel extending through body (105) shown in Figs. 7,9), the working channel valve (102,103,105) comprising a valve body (105) with a proximal end, a distal end, and an outer surface extending between the proximal end and the distal end, and one or more channels comprising the atmospheric channel extending through the valve body between an opening in the proximal end of the valve body (the proximal end of the valve body (105) defines an open end) and a first port in the outer surface of the valve body (via gap along an outer surface of the valve body (105) between adjacent legs of the valve body, wherein suction is applied to the leak hole (1021a) from the suction channel (68) through the valve body, Figs. 7,9); and
a valve interface mechanism (104) operable to move the working channel valve between a first state (Fig. 7), a second state (Fig. 12), and a third state (Fig. 14), the first state comprising the working channel valve configured to place a suction channel (68) of the valve well in fluid communication with the atmospheric channel (Fig. 7), the second state comprising the working channel valve configured to place the suction channel in fluid communication with the working channel (Fig. 12), and the third state comprising the working channel valve configured to place the suction channel in fluid communication with the balloon channel (Fig. 14).
In regard to claim 20, Saiga teaches wherein the working channel valve comprises: a second port extending through the outer surface and to a bottom of the working channel valve (via a different gap formed between legs of the valve body that opens to both the top and bottom of the valve body, Figs. 7,9), and the first portion is spaced from the bottom of the working channel valve (Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saiga et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0076910, hereinafter Saiga) in view of Ouchi et al. (US Patent No. 4,325,362, hereinafter Ouchi).
In regard to claims 11, 12 and 19, Saiga fails to teach wherein the working channel valve is configured to be rotated to transition between the first state, the second state, and the third state, wherein the valve interface mechanism is configured to translate a linear input acting on the working channel valve into rotation of the working channel valve to transition the working channel valve between the first state, the second state, and the third state.
Ouchi teaches an analogous endoscope valve (20, Figs. 6-11) configured to transition between four configurations (Figs. 7-10) allowing for different flow states of the valve. Ouchi further teaches that transitioning between the four configurations of the valve is accomplished through rotation of adjusting member (280) thereby aligning outlets (27a-27c) with grooves (290a-290d), Figs. 7-10. Ouchi further teaches a piston (30) that engages with grooves (221a-221d) which are positioned to be associated with the outlets (27a-27c) and grooves (290a-290d) providing tactile feedback between each of the four configurations of the valve (Fig. 6).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the suction valve of Saiga to transition between flow states of the valve via rotation as taught by Ouchi as a matter of design choice for transitioning between different flow states of the valve while further providing the user with tactile feedback when the transition between each flow state has been achieved.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 10-15, 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner Comments
In order to advance prosecution, the examiner suggests amending Claims 1 and 18 to include the features of Claims 13 and 20 and further defining the function of the second port.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 July 18, 2026