DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The previous objection is withdrawn due to the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections under this heading are withdrawn due to the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tateno (U.S. Patent 4989218; already of record). Regarding claim 1, Tateno teaches:
Providing a melting furnace chamber (As seen in Figure 1) configured to form a molten copper-based alloy comprising at least 50 weight % copper (the furnace of Tateno is capable of melting such an alloy; however such a limitation does not add to the method of making the apparatus since such a limitation is directed to a method of using the apparatus);
Forming a diffusive lining covering substantially an entire bottom inner surface of the melting furnace chamber (Figure 1, porous furnace body 1), the diffusive lining comprising an aluminum-silicate ceramic material having a porous structure (mullite can be used, column 2, lines 39-50 and gas is introduced into the porous furnace body 1 by the pipes 15) adapted for bubbling an inert gas through the molten copper-based alloy (Since Tateno teaches bubbling gas, Tateno is capable of using inert gas, again this limitation is directed to the use of the apparatus and not its construction method)
Regarding claim 2:
Wherein the diffusive lining comprises alumina and silica (As previously discussed Tateno teaches mullite which is made from alumina and silica)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tateno, in view of He et al (CN 202522062; herein He, already of record, with machine translation). Regarding claims 3:
As previously discussed Tateno teaches a method of making a porous ceramic furnace body. However, Tateno does not teach selectively sintering a surface leaving unsintered material underneath.
In the same field of endeavor He teaches a ceramic furnace liner that has a three layered structure. A inner sintered layer (Figure 2, 11), a middle semi-sintered layer (Figure 2, 12), and an outer unsintered layer (Figure 2, 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to control the sintering step in Tateno in order to achieve the layers of He, since having an unsintered layer prevents local stress concentration and cracking. The layered structure also increases the service life of the furnace since as the sintered ceramic erodes unsintered material underneath becomes sintered (Abstract and paragraph 0012)
Regarding claims 4:
As seen in Figure 1 of Tateno, the porous body 1 would contact the molten material.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tateno and He as applied above, and further in view of Rice (U.S. Patent 4762305; already of record). Regarding claim 5:
Wherein forming the sintered ceramic layer comprises partially sintering a compacted ceramic powder layer such that the sintered layer and the unsintered ceramic layer have substantially the same chemical composition while the sintered ceramic layer comprises ceramic particles that are fused together
As previously discussed Tateno teaches a method of making a porous ceramic furnace body. Tateno further discloses silica, alumina, or mullite (an aluminum silicate) can be used as the ceramic (column 2, lines 39-50). However, Tateno does not disclose the ins and outs of the material system in terms of the processing.
In the same field of endeavor Rice teaches using kyanite, alumina, and silica in a ramming mixture for a furnace liner (column 1, line 53 through column 2, line 34, and Table 1). It is noted that kyanite can be interpreted as a mixture of alumina and silica since it can be represented as 3Al2O3∙3SiO2. In the material system of Rice the kyanite decomposes to mullite and silica, the silica from the decomposition and the silica in Table 1 further react with the alumina in the composition to form additional mullite.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the material system of Rice in the production of the Tateno furnace body, since the formed liner has increased strength and crack resistance which extends the life of the liner (column 1, lines 38-50). Further, since material is sintered the particles would be fused together.
Regarding claim 6:
The material system of Rice has been previously discussed. Based on Table 1 of Rice and converting to mol%, Rice teaches either 74.2 mol% alumina and 23.32 mol% silica in Table A using the stoichiometric kyanite, or 73.45 mol% alumina and 24.82 mol% silica in Table Busing Rice’s definition of kyanite being 3 of each alumina and silica.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the composition of the mixture be as needed since the art has shown a similar composition has benefits in the same environment, and can be seen as optimization of known process variables, since the claimed invention and prior art both desire a mullite based sintered furnace liner. See MPEP 2144.05 I and IIA.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11993828. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims 1, 7, and 14 are the broader recitation of the methods of 11993828, thus they would infringe on each other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The diffusive liner of Tateno and Kim is not adapted to bubble gas through substantially the entire bottom surface. In Tateno the bubbling occurs at the sidewalls, and in Kim the bubbling occurs at a central plug.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but are only partly persuasive. The amendments to claims 7 and 14 overcome the prior art and those rejections are withdrawn. However, the rejection of claim 1 still stands.
The Applicant argues that Tateno does not teach the last clause of claim 1:
Forming a diffusive lining covering substantially an entire bottom inner surface of the melting furnace chamber, the diffusive lining comprising an aluminum-silicate ceramic material having a porous structure adapted for bubbling an inert gas through the molten copper-based alloy
The diffusive lining of Tateno covers the entire inner surface of the furnace as seen in Figure 1. The inert gas in Tateno is introduced through the sidewalls. Therefore the furnace of Tateno still anticipates claims 1. Claim 1 does not state that the gas is being bubbled through the bottom, as it is in claims 7 and 14, just that it is bubbled through the lining. Therefore, Tateno still anticipates claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY KENNEDY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743