DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 12/12/2025 has been entered.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3 of claim 3: “… the first pressure sensor …” should be changed into --… the first force transducer …--; and
In line 3 of claim 3: “… the second pressure sensor …” should be changed into --… the second force transducer …--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poore (U.S. Pub. No. US 2021/0271093 A1) in view of Aghara (U.S. Pub. No. US 2018/0046147 A1).
As to claim 1, Poore (Figs. 1-16) teaches a head-mountable device (HMD) (a head-mounted display 100; Figs. 1 and 3), comprising:
a display (a display devices 320) (Fig. 3);
a housing (a housing 102) coupled to the display (the display devices 320) (Fig. 3);
a force transducer (a force sensor (a feedback component 435); [0047], lines 9-13) coupled to the housing (the housing 102) (Figs. 3-4); and
an adjustable band (a headband 506/1106) coupled to the housing (the housing 502) (Figs. 5A-5B and 11).
Poore does not expressly teach wherein the adjustable band is adjustable in response to a pressure detected by the force transducer and a prescribed tension range selected by a user and defined in a user profile.
Aghara (Figs. 1-7) teaches
wherein the adjustable band (the strap harness 420) is adjustable (the straps are automatically adjusted) in response to a pressure detected by the force transducer (based on pressure detected on face points; pressure sensors 315/540) and a prescribed tension range selected by a user and defined in a user profile (a user’s preferred strap fitting with the user’s profile) ([0058], lines 1-14; 716, 720, 724, and 728 in Fig. 7) (Figs. 3-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used an adjustment of the strap harness as taught by Aghara in a head mounted display of Poore because the adjustment of the strap harness provides a user with comfort, stability, and weight distribution compared to traditional strap-only or glasses-style systems.
As to claim 2, Aghara teaches wherein:
the force transducer comprises a first force transducer (a pressure sensor (top) 315) (Fig. 3);
the HMD further comprises:
a second force transducer (a pressure sensor (middle of bottom) 315) (Fig. 3); and
a tension adjustment system (a motor rolling mechanism 430) coupled to the adjustable band (the strap harness 420) ([0045], lines 6-10; Fig. 4A);
the first force transducer (the pressure sensor (top) 315) is configured to be adjacent to a forehead region of a user of the HMD (Fig. 3); and
the second force transducer (the pressure sensor (middle of bottom) 315) is configured to be adjacent to a maxilla region or a zygoma region of the user of the HMD (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used an adjustment of the strap harness as taught by Aghara in a head mounted display of Poore because the adjustment of the strap harness provides a user with comfort, stability, and weight distribution compared to traditional strap-only or glasses-style systems.
As to claim 3, Aghara teaches
wherein the tension adjustment system is configured to automatically adjust tension in the adjustable band in response to at least one of a first pressure detected by the first pressure sensor (the pressure sensor (top) 315) or a second pressure detected by the second pressure sensor (the pressure sensor (middle of bottom) 315) (each motor rolling mechanism 437 is to automatically adjust a tension of a respective strap or straps of the harness 420; [0049], lines the straps are automatically adjusted based on pressure detected on face points; [0049], lines 1-10) (Figs. 3 and 4A-4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used an adjustment of the strap harness as taught by Aghara in a head mounted display of Poore because the adjustment of the strap harness provides a user with comfort, stability, and weight distribution compared to traditional strap-only or glasses-style systems.
As to claim 4, Poore teaches
wherein the display (the display devices 320) is configured to provide tension adjustment instructions in response to the pressure (the headband 106) detected by the force transducer (the force sensor (the feedback component 435 in the adjustment mechanism 107) (computer-executable program instruction are stored in the memory and can be executed by the processors to perform the operations that are described herein (e.g., loosening an adjustable headband relative to a housing in response to detecting user contact with a first location and a second location of the housing); operation 1302/1304); [0079], lines 14-18) (Figs. 2, 4 and 13).
As to claim 6, Poore teaches wherein the adjustable band (the headband 1106; Fig. 11) comprises:
a first tension adjustment system (a first motorized joint 1165) configured to adjust tension (constrict and expand) applied to a first region (a first band portion 1161) of the adjustable band (the headband 1106) ([0069], lines 5-10) (Fig. 11); and
a second tension adjustment system (a second motorized joint 1166) configured to adjust tension (constrict and expand) applied to a second region (a third band portion 1163) of the adjustable band (the headband 1106) independent from the first tensioning system (the first motorized joint 1165) ([0069], lines 10-16) (Fig. 11).
As to claim 7, Poore teaches further comprising
a tension adjustment system (an adjustment mechanism 107) configured to adjust tension in the adjustable band (the headband 506) in response to the pressure detected by the force transducer (the force sensor (the feedback component 435)) (the force sensor (the feedback component 435) (a force sensor in contact with the headband, wherein the adjustment mechanism is operable to change the tightness of the headband relative to the housing in response to an output signal from the force sensor, the output signal from the force sensor representing a tightness level of the headband relative to the head of the user; claim 13, lines 3-9) (Figs. 4-5),
wherein the tension adjustment system (the adjustment mechanism 107) comprises a motor (a motor 432) electrically coupled to a processor (a processor (a controller 436); [0048], lines 4-7) of the HMD (Figs. 2 and 4).
6. Claims 8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poore in view of Roig (U.S. Pub. No. US 2022/0042646 A1).
As to claim 8, Poore (Figs. 1-16) teaches an electronic device (a head-mounted display 100; Figs. 1 and 3) comprising:
a display (a display devices 320) (Fig. 3);
a pressure sensor (a force sensor (a feedback component 435); [0047], lines 9-13) coupled to the display (the display devices 320) (Figs. 1 and 3-4); and
an adjustable band (a headband 506) coupled to the display (the display devices 320) (Figs. 3 and 5), the adjustable band (the headband 506) comprising a tension adjustment system (an adjustment mechanism 107) configured to adjust tension (change the tightness) in the adjustable band (the headband 506) in response to a signal from the pressure sensor (the force sensor (the feedback component 435)) (claim 13, lines 3-9; Figs. 4-5).
Poore does not expressly teach a duration signal indicating a duration of use of the electronic device for a current use session.
Roig (Figs. 1-9) teaches
a duration signal indicating a duration of use of the electronic device for a current use session (head cradle 109 may increase user comfort that may be associated with wearing adjustable band 100 attached to an HMD for an extended period of time; [0020], lines 3-10) (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used an adjustment based on an extended period of time as taught by Roig in a head mounted display of Poore because the adjustment based on the extended period of time provides a user with comfort and securement compared to traditional strap-only or glasses-style systems.
As to claim 10, Poore teaches further comprising
an inertial measurement unit (an inertial measurement unit in the motion tracking system 1214) (Fig. 12),
wherein the tension adjustment system (the adjustment mechanism 107) is further configured to adjust the tension (the controller (processor) 436 can adjust the tension of the headband 506, depending on the orientation/tilt of the headband 506) in the adjustable band (the headband 106) in response to a signal from the inertial measurement unit indicating an orientation of the electronic device (e.g., the inertial measurement unit utilizes an accelerometer can detect the orientation of the head-mounted display 100; [0075], lines 9-12).
As to claim 11, Poore teaches
wherein the display (the display devices 320) is configured to display instructions for adjusting the tension in the adjustable band (the headband 106) in response to the signal from the pressure sensor (the force sensor (the feedback component 435 in the adjustment mechanism 107) (computer-executable program instruction are stored in the memory and can be executed by the processors to perform the operations that are described herein (e.g., loosening an adjustable headband relative to a housing in response to detecting user contact with a first location and a second location of the housing); operation 1302/1304); [0079], lines 14-18) (Figs. 2, 4 and 13).
As to claim 12, Poore teaches further comprising
an optical sensor (sensors in the electronic components 322) coupled to the display (a display devices 320), the display (the display devices 320) configured to display instructions (computer-executable program instruction are stored in the memory and can be executed by the processors to perform the operations that are described herein (e.g., adjusting a position of the head-mounted display 100); operation 1302/1304); [0079], lines 14-18) for adjusting a position (e.g., a position) of the electronic device (the head-mounted display 100) in response to a signal from the optical sensor (the sensors in the electronic components 322) ([0044], lines 9-13) (Figs. 1-4 and 13).
7. Claims 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulliken (U.S. Pub. No. US 2021/0068277 A1) in view of Ackerman (U.S. Pub. No. US 2014/0375540 A1).
As to claim 13, Mulliken (Figs. 1-21) teaches a method comprising:
determining a position of a wearable electronic device (the head-mounted display 100) relative to a landmark (a portion of the user’s body such as the user’s forehead, nose, side of head, etc.; [0087], lines 8-10) on the user (Figs. 1 and 10);
detecting, with a sensor (a pressure sensor 834), a force (the pressure signal 836) between the wearable electronic device (a head-mounted device 100) and the user (a user) (the pressure sensor 834 obtains the pressure signal 836, which represents a pressure applied to a portion of the user's body by a component of the head-mounted device 100; [0083], lines 1-4) (Figs. 1-4 and 8); and
providing a position adjustment instruction (a tensioning command 1038) to the user in response to the determined position (the deviation from the nominal proximity value; [0089], lines 8-9) of the wearable electronic device (the head-mounted display 100) relative to the benchmark (the portion of the user’s body such as the user’s forehead, nose, side of head, etc.; [0087], lines 8-10) on the user and the force (the pressure signal 836) detected by the sensor (the pressure sensor 834) (Figs. 1-4, 8 and 10).
Mulliken does not expressly teach determining an alignment position of the wearable device relative to the user; determining a misalignment of the wearable electronic device relative to the landmark on the user based on the position of the wearable electronic device and the alignment position.
Ackerman (Figs. 1-13) teaches
determining an alignment position of the wearable device relative to the user (determining the position of the head mounted display device 2 relative to the eyes of a user; [0041], lines 5-9) (Figs. 2-4);
determining a misalignment of the wearable electronic device relative to the landmark on the user based on the position of the wearable electronic device and the alignment position (determining any misalignment of the optical elements 115 of the left and right eyes; [0041], lines 9-10) (Figs. 2-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determined alignment/misalignment as taught by Ackerman in a method of Mulliken because determining alignment/misalignment is used to provide precise feedback to the user on how to adjust head mounted display so as to provide centered, optimal alignment of the optical elements with the user’s eye.
As to claim 14, Mulliken teaches further comprising
providing a tension adjustment instruction (a tensioning command 838) to the user (the user) in response to the detected force (the pressure signal 836) (Fig. 1-4 and 8),
wherein the tension in the adjustable band (the strap 206) is adjusted (by a tension adjuster 828) in response to the tension adjustment instruction (a tensioning command 838) ([0083], lines 1-15) (Figs. 1-4 and 8).
As to claim 15, Mulliken teaches further comprising
providing a tension adjustment instruction (a tensioning command 838) to a motor of a tension adjustment system (an active tension adjuster such as a motor in a tension adjuster 1328; [0101], lines 1-4) of the wearable electronic device (the head-mounted display 100) in response to the detected force (the pressure signal 836) (Figs. 1-4, 8 and 13),
wherein the tension in the adjustable band (the strap 206) is adjusted (by a tension adjuster 828) in response to the tension adjustment instruction (the tensioning command 838); [0079], lines 14-18) (Figs. 2, 4 and 13).
As to claim 16, Mulliken teaches further comprising:
determining an activity type for use (a particular activity such as reading, watching a movie, or playing a video game) of the wearable electronic device (the head-mounted display 100) by the user ([0076], lines 12-15) (Fig. 6) (Figs. 1-4 and 6); and
adjusting the tension (by a tension adjuster 828) in the adjustable band (the strap 206) in response to the determined activity type (the particular activity type) (Figs. 1-4 and 6).
As to claim 17, Mulliken teaches further comprising:
determining a duration of use (an extended time period using information recorded during usage of the device) for the wearable electronic device (the head-mounted display 100) by the user ([0128], lines 16-18) (Figs. 2 and 21); and
adjusting the tension (by a control tension adjuster; operation 2155) in the adjustable band (the strap 206) in response to the determined duration of use (the extended time period) (Figs. 1 and 21).
As to claim 18, Mulliken teaches further comprising:
associating the wearable electronic device (the head-mounted display 100) with a user profile (a user behavior profile) (operation 2151) (Figs. 1 and 21); and
adjusting the tension (by a control tension adjuster) in the adjustable band (the strap 206) in response to the associated user profile (the associated user behavior profile) (operation 2155) (Figs. 1 and 21).
As to claim 19, Ackerman teaches wherein:
determining the misalignment of the wearable electronic device relative to the landmark on the user comprises determining a rotation between an actual eye position and an aligned eye position (the processing unit 4 is able to determine a pitch, yaw and roll of the optical elements 115 relative to the user's eyes. For example, using the eye vector as determined above, the processing unit 4 is able to determine the pitch of the optical elements 115, i.e., rotation about the x axis, and the yaw of the optical elements 115, i.e., rotation about the y axis. As roll of an optical element is about the eye vector from the left or right eye, roll may be determined using information in addition to the eye vector. For example, roll may be determined by examining the eye vectors from both the left and right eyes) (Figs. 7-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used rotation as taught by Ackerman in a method of Mulliken because rotation provides centered, optimal alignment of the optical elements with the user’s eye.
8. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poore in view of Aghara as applied to claim 1 above, and further in vies of Yasuda (U.S. Pub. No. US 2009/0230229 A1).
As to claim 5, Poore and Aghara teach the HMD of claim 1.
Poore and Aghara do not expressly teach wherein the adjustable band comprises: a cable; and a dial connected to the cable, the dial configured to alter an effective length of the cable to adjust tension applied to the adjustable band by the cable.
Yasuda (Figs. 1-8) teaches wherein the adjustable band (the tube 103) comprises:
a cable (a wire 107) (Figs. 1 an 5); and
a dial (a dial 401) connected to the cable (the wire 107) (Figs. 1 and 5), the dial (the wire 107) configured to alter an effective length of the cable (the wire 107) to adjust tension applied to the adjustable band (the tube 103) by the cable (the wire 107) (if the wearer rotates the adjusting dial 401 clockwise after the engagement, the pulley 408 winds the wire 107 therearound, and thus the back head pad 104 and the top head pad 106 can be fastened to the wearer's head; [0047], lines 1-25) (Figs. 1-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a dial as taught by Yasuda in a head mounted display of Poore as modified by Aghara because a dial is simple, reliable, and more familiar to users.
9. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poore in view of Roig as applied to claim 8 above, and further in vies of Yasuda.
As to claim 9, Poore and Roig teach the electronic device of claim 8.
Poore also teaches
wherein the tension adjustment system (the adjustment mechanism 107) comprises: [a dial] (a knob) configured to adjust an effective length of [the cable] (the headband 506) in response to the signal from the pressure sensor (the force sensor (the feedback component 435)) (claim 13, lines 3-9) (Figs. 4-5).
Poore and Roig do not expressly teach [wherein the tension adjustment system comprises:] a cable coupled to the adjustable band; and a dial.
Yasuda (Figs. 1-8) teaches
[wherein the tension adjustment system (an adjusting unit; Figs. 5-6) comprises:]
a cable (a wire 107) (Figs. 1 an 5) coupled to the adjustable band (the tube 103) (Figs. 1-6); and
a dial (a dial 401) (Figs. 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a dial as taught by Yasuda in a head mounted display of Poore as modified by Roig because a dial is simple, reliable, and more familiar to users.
10. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulliken in view of Ackerman as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Yasuda.
As to claim 20, Mulliken and Ackerman teach the method of claim 13.
Mulliken also teaches wherein:
the sensor comprises a force transducer (a pressure sensor 834) (Fig. 8); and
the tension is adjusted by a tension adjustment system comprising a cable (the tension adjuster 1828 may change the curvature of the temple portion using an actuated cable that applies tension along the length of the temple portion 1806a, by causing relative motion of a parallel plate structure included in the temple portion 1806a, or using other suitable structures known in the mechanical arts; [0113], lines 16-22), the method further comprising:
adjusting the tension (by a tension adjuster 828) in the adjustable band (the strap 206) to alter an effective length of the cable (change the curvature of the temple portion using an actuated cable that applies tension along the length of the temple portion 1806a by causing relative motion of a parallel plate structure included in the temple portion 1806a between the normal position and the curved position; [0113], lines 16-22).
Mulliken and Ackerman do not expressly teach a dial; by rotating the dial.
Yasuda (Figs. 1-8) teaches
a dial (a dial 401) (Figs. 5-6);
by rotating the dial (by rotating the dial 401) (Figs. 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a dial as taught by Yasuda in a method of Mulliken as modified by Ackerman because a dial is simple, reliable, and more familiar to users.
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
In view of amendment, the prior art references, Poore, Aghara, Roig, Ackerman, and Yasuda, have been used for the new grounds of rejection.
Therefore, the Office maintains the rejections as recited above.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Woda (U.S. Pub. No. US 2013/0031697 A1) is cited to teach a device that provides comfort and mor freedom of movement even with long periods of wear.
Ahlgren (U.S. Pub. No. US 2010/0229286 A1) is cited to teach a head suspension having transition arms and a rear support portion pivotally connected to the transition arms.
Inquiries
/KWANG-SU YANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623