February 20, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 11, line it is not clear to what “on one side” is referring. “On one side” of what? On lone 3, “the other side” lacks antecedent basis. Also, it is not clear to what “the other side”” is referring. On line 4,” is chosen in such a way” is unclear and confusing language.
The aforementioned problem renders the claim vague and indefinite. Clarification and/or correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BENJAMIN (U.S. Patent No. 2,260,735)
As for Claim 1, Benjamin teaches a folding chair 10, comprising: a backrest portion C, a seat portion 39, two armrests 41, and two pairs of a front leg A and a back leg B each, the front leg and the back leg of each pair being pivotably connected at top ends by a hinge 18, a bottom end of the backrest portion being pivotably connected to a back end of the seat portion by at least one hinge 21, the back legs of both pairs each comprising a rail 16 running to a lower portion of the back legs, wherein the backrest portion and the seat portion are on both sides slidably connected to the rails 16 at the position of the at least one hinge, a back end of the armrests being pivotably connected to the backrest portion, and an underside of the armrests being attached to the respective top end of the pairs of legs, and the seat portion being pivotably connected to the front legs on each side at hinges 35.
As for Claim 11, Benjamin teaches that a distance from, on one side, a connection of the lower end of the backrest portion to the back end of the seat portion to, on the other side, a connection of the seat portion to the front leg is chosen in such a way, that in a folded state of the folding chair the connection of the lower end of the backrest portion to the back end of the seat portion can be arranged at a lower end position of the rail.
Claims 1, 3, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FOWLER (U.S. Patent No. US 2,638,970)
As for Claim 1, FOWLER teaches a folding chair, comprising: a backrest portion 1, a seat portion 2, two armrests 5, and two pairs of a front leg 3 and a back leg 4 each, the front leg and the back leg of each pair being pivotably connected at top ends by a hinge 6, a bottom end of the backrest portion being pivotably connected to a back end of the seat portion by at least one hinge, the back legs of both pairs each comprising a rail 15 running to a lower portion of the back legs, wherein the backrest portion and the seat portion are on both sides slidably connected to the rails 15 at the position of the at least one hinge, a back end of the armrests being pivotably connected to the backrest portion, and an underside of the armrests being attached to the respective top end of the pairs of legs, and the seat portion being pivotably connected to the front legs on each side.
As for Claim 3, FOWLER teaches that a connection of the seat portion to the front legs is being formed on each side by a connection element, one end of the connection element being pivotably connected to the seat portion and another end being pivotably connected to the respective front leg.
As for Claim 11, FOWLER teaches that a distance from, on one side, a connection of the lower end of the backrest portion to the back end of the seat portion to, on the other side, a connection of the seat portion to the front leg is chosen in such a way, that in a folded state of the folding chair the connection of the lower end of the backrest portion to the back end of the seat portion can be arranged at a lower end position of the rail.
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guichon (U.S. Patent No. 4,792,181).
As for Claim 1, Guichon teaches a folding chair, comprising: a backrest portion 7, a seat portion 1, two armrests 9, and two pairs of a front leg 3 and a back leg 4 each, the front leg and the back leg of each pair being pivotably connected at top ends by a hinge 5, a bottom end of the backrest portion being pivotably connected to a back end of the seat portion by at least one hinge 14, the back legs of both pairs each comprising a rail 1a running to a lower portion of the back legs, wherein the backrest portion and the seat portion are on both sides slidably connected to the rails 1a at the position of the at least one hinge, a back end of the armrests being pivotably connected to the backrest portion, and an underside of the armrests being attached to the respective top end of the pairs of legs, and the seat portion being pivotably connected to the front legs on each side at hinges 2.
As for Claim 11, Guichon teaches that a distance from, on one side, a connection of the lower end of the backrest portion to the back end of the seat portion to, on the other side, a connection of the seat portion to the front leg is chosen in such a way, that in a folded state of the folding chair the connection of the lower end of the backrest portion to the back end of the seat portion can be arranged at a lower end position of the rail (see Fig. 5).
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tseng (U.S. Patent No. 5,855,409)
As for Claim 1, Tseng teaches a folding chair 10, comprising: a backrest portion 12, a seat portion 11, two armrests 15, and two pairs of a front leg 13 and a back leg 14 each, the front leg and the back leg of each pair being pivotably connected at top ends by a hinge, a bottom end of the backrest portion being pivotably connected to a back end of the seat portion by at least one hinge 2, the back legs of both pairs each comprising a rail 3 running to a lower portion of the back legs, wherein the backrest portion and the seat portion are on both sides slidably connected to the rails 3 at the position of the at least one hinge, a back end of the armrests being pivotably connected to the backrest portion, and an underside of the armrests being attached to the respective top end of the pairs of legs, and the seat portion being pivotably connected to the front legs on each side.
As for Claim 11, Tseng teaches that a distance from, on one side, a connection of the lower end of the backrest portion to the back end of the seat portion to, on the other side, a connection of the seat portion to the front leg is chosen in such a way, that in a folded state of the folding chair the connection of the lower end of the backrest portion to the back end of the seat portion can be arranged at a lower end position of the rail (see Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng (U.S. Patent No. 5,855,409) in view of Brunn (U.S. Patent No. 4,898,421).
Tseng teaches the structures substantially as claimed including that the rails each comprise at least one notch 311,321 to permit movement of the slide member into the locking section when unfolding the chair frame, and arrests movement of the slide member out of the locking section so as to position the chair frame in the unfolded state. The locking unit is operable to release the slide member from the locking section to permit downward sliding movement of the slide member along the guiding groove when folding the chair frame but does not teach at least two notches. Tseng does not teach that the underside of the armrests comprises a plurality of locking positions at which the underside of the armrests can be detachably locked to the top end of the respective pairs of legs.
Howver, Brunn teaches rails each comprising at least two notches 18, 19, 20, each defining a position at which a connection point to the backrest portion and the seat portion can be detachably locked in the rails. Brun also teaches that the underside of the armrests comprises a plurality of locking positions at which the underside of the armrests can be detachably locked to the top end of the respective pairs of legs. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the rails, as taught by Tseng, to include at least two notches, as taught by Brunn, and to include a plurality of locking positions on the underside of the armrests, as taught by Brunn, since it would allow the seat to be be adjusted to have three different inclinations so that the user can select whatever inclined position he or she desires when sitting in the chair.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng (U.S. Patent No. 5,855,409) in view of Brunn (U.S. Patent No. 4,898,421).
Tseng teaches the structures substantially as claimed the rails each comprise at least one notch 311,321 to permit movement of the slide member into the locking section when unfolding the chair frame, and arrests movement of the slide member out of the locking section so as to position the chair frame in the unfolded state. The locking unit is operable to release the slide member from the locking section to permit downward sliding movement of the slide member along the guiding groove when folding the chair frame but does not teach at least two notches.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng (U.S. Patent No. 5,855,409) in view of Tseng (U.S. Patent No. 6,030,032).
Tseng (U.S. Patent No. 5,855,409) teaches the structure substantially as claimed but does not teach that the armrests comprise detachable covers.
However, Tseng (U.S. Patent No. 6,030,032) teaches a similar chair that incudes armrests comprising detachable covers. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the armrests of Tseng (U.S. Patent No. 5,855,409), to include incudes armrests comprising detachable covers, as taught by Tseng (U.S. Patent No. 6,030,032) since it would allow access to the parts located under the cover
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it teaches structures and concepts similar to those of the present invention.
/Rodney B White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636