DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 08/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-17 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/10/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS page 6) about the rejections of claims 1-8, 14, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the rejections have been overcome by the amendment, except claims 6 and 14.
Applicant’s argument (REMARKS pages 6-8) about amended independent Claims 1, 9, and 17 , Examiner disagrees because Halbert (‘304) does disclose the amended claimed limitations “fuse the plurality of reflection signals received at each receiver of the plurality of receivers by aggregating the plurality of received reflection signals into fused received data” { Fig.7; Fig.20 item 2010 (FFT ); col.18 lines 19-24 (The continuity of persistent interrogation provides the ability to investigate surveillance data with the necessary sensitivity and continuity using the stored, persistent, high-resolution surveillance data and hence provides the capability for multiple combined surveillance functions as illustrated in FIG. 7.); col.40 lines 56-57 (signals are received by the receiver elements of a receiver array 2002), 63-64 (Raw digital radar return data is stored in an appropriate data store 2014); Examiner’s note: Fig.7 and Fig.20 item 2014 for “the plurality of reflection signals received at each receiver of the plurality of receivers”; FFT is an aggregating operation for fusing stored raw data from item 2014 and incoming data from item 2008 (A/D), which is “the plurality of reflection signals”. }; “detect the airborne object based on the fused received data” {Fig.4(b)(target detection); Fig.7; Fig.20 items 2010 (FFT) to 2016 (Target Processing (Detection I Analysis) (Angular Position, Range, Range Rate, Heading, Acceleration, Classification etc.) via item 2012 (beamforming)); Examiner’s note: Fig.7 for “airborne object”}; “determine a position of the airborne object based on the fused received data” { Fig.20 items 2010 (FFT) to 2016 (Target Processing (Detection I Analysis) (Angular Position, Range, Range Rate, Heading, Acceleration, Classification etc.) via item 2012 (beamforming))}; and “track the airborne object based on the fused received data” { Fig.5 (trackT1, trackT2); Fig.20 items 2010 (FFT) to 2016 (Target Processing (Detection I Analysis) (Angular Position, Range, Range Rate, Heading, Acceleration, Classification etc.) via item 2012 (beamforming), 2020 (Further processing/Output)); Col.17 lines 5-8 (The acquired signal information is stored, wholly or in part, in a computer memory, and made available for signal analysis, target detection, tracking), 15 (track a very large number of targets)}. There is no claimed limitation regarding the argument mentioned on page 7 lines 16-20 “specification, "fusing" in the claimed invention refers to actively combining the reflection signals received at multiple, spatially distributed receivers into a single fused dataset that provides a geometrically diverse, multi-perspective view of a target, thereby enabling accurate detection, localization, and tracking of small, low-radar-cross-section airborne objects” as well as the argument mentioned on page 8 lines 1-4 “This fusion-based approach is the inventive heart of the claimed system - it is what enables the claimed multi static radar system to detect and track non-cooperative, low-signature airborne objects without requiring a transponder, distinguishing the invention from conventional radar systems”.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 objected to because of the following informalities: “a position” in line 1. It appears that “a” should be “the”. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities: 1) “each receivers” in line 7. It appears that “receivers” should be “receiver”. 2) “reflections” in line 8. It appears that “reflections” should be “reflection”. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 17 objected to because of the following informalities: “reflections” in line 10. It appears that “reflections” should be “reflection signals”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 14, and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 14 recite the limitations: 1) “the received one or more reflection signals” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because “received one or more reflection signals” is not mentioned. And it is not clear whether “the received one or more reflection signals” in lines 2-3 relates to the “a plurality of reflection signals” mentioned in claim 1 line 14 and claim 9 line 3, respectively. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “the received plurality of reflection signals”. 2) “the one or more airborne objects” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because “one or more airborne objects” is not mentioned. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “the airborne object[[s]]”. Appropriate clarifications are required.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the plurality of received reflections” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because “plurality of received reflections” is not mentioned. And it is not clear whether “the plurality of received reflections” in line 10 relates to the “a plurality of reflection signals” mentioned in line 5. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “the plurality of received reflection[[s]] signals”. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halbert et al. (US 10,620,304, hereafter Halbert) in view of Goodson et al. (US 2013/0106645, hereafter Goodson).
Regarding claim 1, Halbert (‘304) discloses that A system for detecting and tracking an airborne object {Fig.4 (Target Detection); Fig.5 (trackT1, trackT2); Fig.11; col.2 lines 38-39 (a radar system for providing information relating to a three-dimensional field of surveillance (FoS); col.5 lines 7-8 (The at least one processor may be configured for extracting target information relating to a detected target), 28-32 (surveillance function for monitoring pilot compliance with one or more behavioural criterion; an overhead airspace monitoring surveillance function; a surveillance function for the detection, tracking and/or analysis of low, small and/or slow targets)}, the system comprising:
a plurality of transmitters, wherein each transmitter of the plurality of transmitters is operated to transmit a deterministic signal { Fig.11 (TX1, TX2 see below); col.2 lines 40-45 (the radar system comprising: at least one radar transmitter operable to persistently illuminate said FoS, with a sequence of pulses at a pulse repetition frequency (PRF);};
a plurality of receivers, wherein each receiver of the plurality of receivers is configured to receive reflective signals transmitted at least one transmitter of the plurality of transmitters { Fig.11 (RX1, RX2 see below)};
a memory { Abstract line 7 (memory)}; and
one or more processors { Col.2 line 51(at least one processor )}, wherein each processor of the one or more processors is communicatively coupled to each transmitter of the plurality of transmitters, and coupled to each receiver of the plurality of receivers { Col.2 lines 51-53 (at least one processor configured to: process each radar return signal received within a first time period of predetermined length to acquire respective signal information); col.31 lines 3-4 (The radar receiver 1400 comprises a signal processing module 1440); col.33 lines 16-18 (The radar transmitter is provided with a control module 1550 configured for controlling the signals transmitted via the transmitter array 1510); Examiner’s note: “control module” for “each processor of the one or mor e processors is communicatively coupled to each transmitter of the plurality of transmitters”};
wherein the { Col.8 lines 23-27 (computer program products such as computer readable storage media having instructions stored thereon which are operable to program a programmable processor to carry out a method, above)} to:
receive a plurality of reflection signals received at each receiver of the plurality of receivers { Fig.11 (RX1, RX2); Fig.20};
fuse the plurality of reflection signals received at each receiver of the plurality of receivers by aggregating the plurality of received reflection signals into fused received data { Fig.7; Fig.20 item 2010 (FFT ); col.18 lines 19-24 (The continuity of persistent interrogation provides the ability to investigate surveillance data with the necessary sensitivity and continuity using the stored, persistent, high-resolution surveillance data and hence provides the capability for multiple combined surveillance functions as illustrated in FIG. 7.); col.40 lines 56-57 (signals are received by the receiver elements of a receiver array 2002), 63-64 (Raw digital radar return data is stored in an appropriate data store 2014); Examiner’s note: Fig.7 and Fig.20 item 2014 for “the plurality of reflection signals received at each receiver of the plurality of receivers”; FFT is an aggregating operation for fusing stored raw data from item 2014 and incoming data from item 2008 (A/D), which is “the plurality of reflection signals”. };
detect the airborne object based on the fused received data {Fig.4(b)(target detection); Fig.7; Fig.20 items 2010 (FFT) to 2016 (Target Processing (Detection I Analysis) (Angular Position, Range, Range Rate, Heading, Acceleration, Classification etc.) via item 2012 (beamforming)); Examiner’s note: Fig.7 for “airborne object”};
determine a position of the airborne object based on the fused received data { Fig.20 items 2010 (FFT) to 2016 (Target Processing (Detection I Analysis) (Angular Position, Range, Range Rate, Heading, Acceleration, Classification etc.) via item 2012 (beamforming))}; and
track the airborne object based on the fused received data { Fig.5 (trackT1, trackT2); Fig.20 items 2010 (FFT) to 2016 (Target Processing (Detection I Analysis) (Angular Position, Range, Range Rate, Heading, Acceleration, Classification etc.) via item 2012 (beamforming), 2020 (Further processing/Output)); Col.17 lines 5-8 (The acquired signal information is stored, wholly or in part, in a computer memory, and made available for signal analysis, target detection, tracking), 15 (track a very large number of targets)}.
However, Halbert (‘304) does not explicitly disclose (see word with underline) “the memory stores one or more programs that when executed by the one or more processors”. In the same field of endeavor, Goodson (‘645) discloses that
the memory stores one or more programs that when executed by the one or more processors {Fig.2 items 224 (processor module), 226 (memory); [0044] lines 5-6 (a processor module 224, and a memory module 226.); [0066] lines 7-9 The memory module 226 may also store, a computer program that is executed by the processor module 224)};
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Halbert (‘304) with the teachings of Goodson (‘645) {use a memory to store a computer program that is executed by a processor } to use a memory to store a computer program that is executed by a processor. Doing so would provide a combination of computing devices (e.g., a combination of a digital signal processor, a microprocessor, a plurality of microprocessors) so as to implement functionality as hardware, firmware, or software in a suitable manner depends upon each particular application and design constraints imposed on the overall system, as recognized by Goodson (‘645) {[0061] lines 1-4 (A processor may also be implemented as a combination of computing devices, e.g., a combination of a digital signal processor and a microprocessor, a plurality of microprocessors,); [0068] lines 1-6 (functionality is implemented as hardware, firmware, or software depends upon the particular application and design constraints imposed on the overall system. implement such functionality in a Suitable manner for each particular application)}).
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Halbert (‘304) and Goodson (‘645) discloses that in the system, fusing the plurality of reflection signals includes
combining the received plurality of reflections received at multiple receivers of the plurality of receives to determine the position of the airborne object {see Halbert (‘304) Fig.7; col.18 lines 19-24 (The continuity of persistent interrogation provides the ability to investigate surveillance data with the necessary sensitivity and continuity using the stored, persistent, high-resolution surveillance data and hence provides the capability for multiple combined surveillance functions as illustrated in FIG. 7.); Col.22 lines 54 (determine information about the target), 56-57 (positional information suitable for identifying the three dimensional position of the target)}.
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Halbert (‘304) and Goodson (‘645) discloses that in the system,
the plurality of receiver and the plurality of transmitters are part of one or more radar systems { see Halbert (‘304) Fig.10; col.22 lines 29-30 (four radar transmitters TX22-2, TX23-l, TX32-2, and TX33-l), 32-33 (four radar receivers RX21-2, RX22-2, RX31-1 and RX32-2) }.
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Halbert (‘304) and Goodson (‘645) discloses that in the system,
a first transmitter of the plurality of transmitters transmits a first signal, and wherein a second transmitter of the plurality of transmitters transmits a second signal, different from the first signal { see Halbert (‘304) Fig.11 (TX1, TX2); col.2 lines 40-45 (the radar system comprising: at least one radar transmitter operable to persistently illuminate said FoS, with a sequence of pulses at a pulse repetition frequency (PRF);); Examiner’s note: TX1 and Tx2 are two different signals because TX1 and Tx2 are from different TX at different locations}.
Regarding claim 5, which depends on claims 1 and 4, Halbert (‘304) does not explicitly disclose “the first signal is transmitter at first carrier frequency, and wherein the second signal is transmitted at a second carrier frequency, different from the first carrier frequency”. In the same field of endeavor, Goodson (‘645) discloses that in the system,
the first signal is transmitter at first carrier frequency, and wherein the second signal is transmitted at a second carrier frequency, different from the first carrier frequency {[0111] lines 4-6 (at least one second transmitter comprising a different frequency source (radio frequency source) than the at least one transmitter,)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Halbert (‘304) with the teachings of Goodson (‘645) {use a memory to store a computer program that is executed by a processor and use two transmitters operate at different frequencies } to use a memory to store a computer program that is executed by a processor and use two transmitters operate at different frequencies. Doing so would provide a combination of computing devices (e.g., a combination of a digital signal processor, a microprocessor, a plurality of microprocessors) to refine estimated object location so as to implement functionality as hardware, firmware, or software in a suitable manner depends upon each particular application and design constraints imposed on the overall system to avoid collision with the other piloted and unmanned aircraft, as recognized by Goodson (‘645) {[0002] lines 9-10 (avoiding collision with the other piloted and unmanned aircraft.); [0061] lines 1-4 (A processor may also be implemented as a combination of computing devices, e.g., a combination of a digital signal processor and a microprocessor, a plurality of microprocessors,); [0068] lines 1-6 (functionality is implemented as hardware, firmware, or software depends upon the particular application and design constraints imposed on the overall system. implement such functionality in a Suitable manner for each particular application); [0112] lines 1-2( refining the estimated object location)}.
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Halbert (‘304) and Goodson (‘645) discloses that in the system, determining a position of the airborne object based on the received one or more reflection signals comprises
determining a location and elevation of the one or more airborne objects {see Halbert (‘304) col.22 lines 54 (determine information about the target), 56-62 (positional information suitable for identifying the three dimensional position of the target (e.g. range, azimuth and elevation) and movement information identifying how the target is moving within the radar cell 1012 relative to the radar receiver RX (e.g. heading and velocity) using high-precision unambiguous Doppler. )}.
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Halbert (‘304) and Goodson (‘645) discloses that in the system, determining a position of the airborne object comprises
determining a velocity of the airborne object { see Halbert (‘304) col.22 lines 54 (determine information about the target), 56-62 (positional information suitable for identifying the three dimensional position of the target (e.g. range, azimuth and elevation) and movement information identifying how the target is moving within the radar cell 1012 relative to the radar receiver RX (e.g. heading and velocity) using high-precision unambiguous Doppler. )}.
Regarding claim 8, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Halbert (‘304) and Goodson (‘645) discloses that in the system,
each transmitter of the plurality of transmitters and each receiver of the plurality of receivers are synchronized using one or more global positioning system (GPS) signals { see Halbert (‘304) col.49 lines 5-9 (Whilst the described radar cell uses cross-nodal transmissions (that is, transmissions directly from a transmitter to each receiver) to synchronize the network directly and precisely, it will be appreciated that Global Positioning System (GPS) ( or GNSS) timing)}.
Regarding claim 9, as modified above, Halbert (‘304) discloses that A method { Col.1 line 2 (method)} for detecting and tracking an airborne object, the method comprising:
receiving a plurality of reflection signals at each receiver of a plurality of receivers, wherein the plurality of reflection signals are reflected from one or more signals transmitted from a plurality of transmitters, and wherein each transmitter of the plurality of transmitters is operated to transmit a deterministic signal;
fusing the plurality of reflection signals received at each receivers of the plurality of receivers by aggregating the plurality of received reflections signals into fused received data;
detecting the airborne object based on the fused received data;
determining a position of the airborne object based on the fused received data; and
tracking the airborne object based on the fused received data.
{The claim limitations above are the same or substantially the same scope as the corresponding claim limitations in claim 1. Therefore the claim limitations above are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 1. See the rejections of claim 1}.
Regarding claims 10-16, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claims 2-8, respectively. Accordingly, claims 10-16 are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claims 2-8, respectively, shown above.
Regarding claim 17, as modified above, Halbert (‘304) discloses that A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs for detecting and tracking an airborne object, for execution by one or more processors of an electronic device that when executed by the device { Fig.4 (Target Detection); Fig.5 (trackT1, trackT2); Fig.11; col.2 lines 38-39 (a radar system for providing information relating to a three-dimensional field of surveillance (FoS)); col.5 lines 7-8 (The at least one processor may be configured for extracting target information relating to a detected target), 28-32 (surveillance function for monitoring pilot compliance with one or more behavioural criterion; an overhead airspace monitoring surveillance function; a surveillance function for the detection, tracking and/or analysis of low, small and/or slow targets); col.8 lines 23-26 (computer program products such as computer readable storage media having instructions stored thereon which are operable to program a programmable processor to carry out a method) }, cause the device to:
receive a plurality of reflection signals at each receiver of a plurality of receivers, wherein the plurality of reflection signals are reflected from one or more signals transmitted from a plurality of transmitters, and wherein each transmitter of the plurality of transmitters is operated to transmit a deterministic signal;
fuse the plurality of reflection signals received at each receiver of the plurality of receivers by aggregating the plurality of received reflections into fused received data;
detect the airborne object based on the fused received data;
determine a position of the airborne object based on the fused received data; and
track the airborne object based on the fused received data.
{The claim limitations above are the same or substantially the same scope as the corresponding claim limitations in claim 1. Therefore the claim limitations above are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 1. See the rejections of claim 1}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2017/0146652 discloses that “fuse the plurality of reflection signals received at each receiver of the plurality of receivers by aggregating the plurality of received reflection signals into fused received data” {[0024] lines 5-7 (processor component 103 may fuse the plurality of radar signals 126 received by one or more passive radar receivers 102 to create a three dimensional graphical product of an atmospheric object in the path of radar transmitter sources 120.)}, which further support the rejections of claims 1, 9, and 17.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONGHONG LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648