DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "escrow threads" in line 2. It is unclear if it is referring to the limitation in line 1 of claim 2 of it is referring to new limitation. Note: for the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation as it is referring to new limitation and suggest to amend the limitation such as “corresponding screw threads” see Fig. 10.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "escrow threads" in line 1. It is unclear if it is referring to the limitation in line 1 of claim 2 of it is referring to line 2 of claim 1. Note: for the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation as it is referring to new limitation and suggest to amend the limitation such as “corresponding screw threads” see Fig. 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Endo et al. (US 20200215262 A1) (“Endo”).
Re claim 1, Endo discloses a reservoir assembly (Fig. 1-10, ¶0041) comprising: a reservoir (20) that provides a space therein (inside 20, Fig. 6, ¶0041); a plunger (22) that is inserted into the reservoir and moves back and forth (¶0042) in one direction of the reservoir to form a storage space for a medical liquid (¶0041); a rod (71, Fig. 9) fixed to the plunger and extending in the one direction (Fig, 6); a connecting member screw-coupled (70) to the rod and movable in relation to the rod (¶0061, Fig. 6, Fig. 9); and a pressing member (150) disposed to generate a pushing force between the plunger and the connecting member (as spring is between the plunger and connecting member, Fig. 6 and generate a force between a rod/plunger unite and connecting member 70) when the plunger and the connecting member are adjacent to each other (¶0091-¶0092).
Re claim 2, Endo discloses wherein screw thread are formed on an outer peripheral surface of the rod (Fig. 9, out surface of 71), screw threads are formed on an inner peripheral surface of the connecting member (Fig. 9, inner surface of 70), and the rod is screw-coupled to the connecting member while being inserted into the connecting member (Fig, 9).
Re claim 3, Endo discloses wherein screw threads are formed in a predetermined region of the connecting member (Fog. 6).
Re claim 4, Endo discloses wherein the pressing member is provided as a spring (¶0089).
Re claim 6, Endo discloses a medical liquid infusion apparatus (Fig, 1-10) comprising: a reservoir assembly (60, 20, Fig. 5) in which a medical liquid is stored (¶0041); a needle assembly fluidly connected to the reservoir assembly to discharge the medical liquid (¶0045); and a driving unit (75, ¶0061, Fig. 6) connected to the reservoir assembly and configured to move the medical liquid from the reservoir to the needle assembly when driven (¶0061, Fig. 6), wherein the reservoir assembly comprises: a reservoir (20) that provides a space therein (in (¶0061, Fig. 6, inside 20, Fig. 6, ¶0041); a plunger (22) that is inserted into the reservoir and moves back and forth (¶0042) in one direction of the reservoir to form a storage space for a medical liquid (¶0041); a rod (71, Fig. 9) fixed to the plunger and extending in a direction away from space (Fig, 6); a connecting member screw-coupled (70) to the rod and movable in relation to the rod (¶0061, Fig. 6, Fig. 9); and a pressing member (150) disposed to generate a pushing force between the plunger and the connecting member when the plunger and the connecting member are adjacent to each other (¶0091-¶0092)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo in view of Kavazov et al. (US 20080264261 A1) (“Kavazov”)
Re claim 5, Endo fails to disclose wherein the pressing member surrounds a front end of the rod and extends toward the connecting member while a front end of the pressing member is fixed to the plunger.
However, Kavazov discloses a reservoir assembly (Fig, 8-9) and wherein the pressing member (272 Fig. 8, or 372 Fig. 9) surrounds a front end of the rod (230 Fig. 8, or 330 Fig. 9) and extends toward the connecting member while a front end of the pressing member is fixed to the plunger (220, Fig. 8 or 320 Fig. 9, ¶0108).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the location of the pressing member of Endo the pressing member surrounds a front end of the rod and extends toward the connecting member while a front end of the pressing member is fixed to the plunger as taught by Kavazov for the purpose of using a pushing spring that pushes the plunger and promote migration of air from the reservoir (Kavazov, ¶0109).
Conclusion
/HAMZA A DARB/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783