DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-9, 12, 14-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koskinen et al. US 20230058943 A1, hereinafter Koskinen in view of Kang US 20210136557 A1, hereinafter Kang.
Regarding claim 1, Koskinen teaches a method of wireless communication, the method comprising: (Koskinen: Summary, Fig. 2 and para. [0045 & 0152 & 0160] apparatus comprising: at least one processor and at least one memory including a computer program code)
detecting an expiration of a first inactivity timer (expiry of the timer) for a first user equipment (UE); (Koskinen: para. [0134 & 0132-0133] The polling criteria may be expiry of a timer or if a timer has reached a threshold value. Polling criteria may include at least one of the UE's current time in RRC INACTIVE without data transmission, expiry of the timer, configured criteria met (for example time threshold) and the UE's expected data transfer pattern. Para. [0137-0138] criteria may be, e.g., at least one of expiry of the timer, if the timer has reached a threshold value and time threshold in the INACTIVE state without data transmission. When criteria is fulfilled the UE provides the INACTIVE behaviour information to the network)
the first UE supports a radio resource control (RRC) Inactive state;
(Koskinen: para. [0107] The UE RRC INACTIVE state may improve the latency when transitioning to RRC CONNECTED and/or support small data transmissions without the UE transitioning to RRC CONNECTED. Para. [0110 & 0108-0111] UEs within a cell prefer RRC INACTIVE, it would be of benefit to control this)
determining that the first UE has an ongoing packet session meeting selection criteria (criteria met (for example time threshold)) for the RRC Inactive state; and
(Koskinen: para. [0134] The polling criteria may be expiry of a timer or if a timer has reached a threshold value. Polling criteria may include at least one of the UE's current time in RRC INACTIVE without data transmission, expiry of the timer, configured criteria met (for example time threshold) and the UE's expected data transfer pattern. The data transfer pattern may include e.g., data rate, amount of data and/or next transmission occasion. When configuring the UE to transition to RRC INACTIVE, the network may configure the polling criteria at which the UE should reply to the network by providing an indication of information relating to the inactive state)
based on at least the first UE supporting the RRC Inactive state (Koskinen: para. [0107] The UE RRC INACTIVE state may improve the latency when transitioning to RRC CONNECTED and/or support small data transmissions without the UE transitioning to RRC CONNECTED. Para. [0110 & 0108-0111] UEs within a cell prefer RRC INACTIVE, it would be of benefit to control this) and the first UE having the ongoing packet session meeting the selection criteria for the RRC Inactive state (criteria met (for example time threshold)), and further based on at least the expiration of the first inactivity timer (expiry of the timer), instructing the first UE, by a first base station serving the first UE, to enter the RRC Inactive state.
(Koskinen: para. [0134] The polling criteria may be expiry of a timer or if a timer has reached a threshold value. Polling criteria may include at least one of the UE's current time in RRC INACTIVE without data transmission, expiry of the timer, configured criteria met (for example time threshold) and the UE's expected data transfer pattern. The data transfer pattern may include e.g., data rate, amount of data and/or next transmission occasion. When configuring the UE to transition to RRC INACTIVE, the network may configure the polling criteria at which the UE should reply to the network by providing an indication of information relating to the inactive state)
It is noted that Koskinen does not explicitly disclose: determining that the first UE supports a radio resource control (RRC) Inactive state;
based on at least the first UE supporting the RRC Inactive state, to enter the RRC Inactive state.
However, Kang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: determining that the first UE supports a radio resource control (RRC) Inactive state; based on at least the first UE supporting the RRC Inactive state, to enter the RRC Inactive state. (Kang: para. [0041-0045] detecting whether the UE supports the RRC-Inactive state. Para. [0043] UE carries UE capability information in the registration request, and the UE capability information carries the capability indication information configured to indicate whether the UE supports the RRC-Inactive state) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kang in the method Koskinen. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for so as to avoid that triggering the access network to transmit a paging message to a UE in the RRC-Inactive state during a process of initiating data transmission or service transmission from the core network to the UE, which effectively reduces air interface signaling and unnecessary power consumption of the RRC-Inactive UE. (Kang: para. [0047]).
Regarding claim 2, Koskinen and Kang teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the first base station has capacity to support the first UE in the RRC Inactive state, wherein instructing the first UE to enter the RRC Inactive state is further based on at least the first base station having capacity to support the first UE in the RRC Inactive state.
(Koskinen: para. [0108] networks may not be able to support the number of devices potentially available to transition to RRC INACTIVE. Upon reaching the limit to the amount of INACTIVE UEs, the network must release some UEs, or directly transition UEs in RRC CONNECTED into RRC IDLE. It may also be challenging for the network to know how long an individual UE has been in INACTIVE and/or CONNECTED state without any need for the connection, i.e., without any DL/UL user data transmissions. The network includes one or more nodes as shown e.g., in FIGS. 1 and 3 which represent the memory of the network. When a node of the network reaches the limit to the amount of INACTIVE UEs, the node may also release some UEs as described for the network above. Para. [0108-0111])
Regarding claim 5, Koskinen and Kang teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
detecting an expiration of a second inactivity timer (Koskinen: para. [0134 & 0132-0133] The polling criteria may be expiry of a timer or if a timer has reached a threshold value. Polling criteria may include at least one of the UE's current time in RRC INACTIVE without data transmission, expiry of the timer, configured criteria met (for example time threshold) and the UE's expected data transfer pattern. Para. [0137-0138] criteria may be, e.g., at least one of expiry of the timer, if the timer has reached a threshold value and time threshold in the INACTIVE state without data transmission. When criteria is fulfilled the UE provides the INACTIVE behaviour information to the network) for a second UE; (Koskinen: para. [0094] communication devices (e.g., user equipment (UE)) 102, 104, 105 of Fig. 1. Para. [0108] number of devices potentially available to transition to RRC INACTIVE)
the second UE supports the RRC Inactive state; (Koskinen: para. [0107] The UE RRC INACTIVE state may improve the latency when transitioning to RRC CONNECTED and/or support small data transmissions without the UE transitioning to RRC CONNECTED. Para. [0110 & 0108-0111] UEs within a cell prefer RRC INACTIVE, it would be of benefit to control this)
determining that the second UE does not have an ongoing packet session meeting selection criteria (time spent in RRC INACTIVE) for the RRC Inactive state; and
(Koskinen: para. [0112] network to make a controlled decision on which UEs should transition to RRC IDLE from RRC INACTIVE, or potentially from RRC CONNECTED, based on information from the UEs of the time spent in RRC INACTIVE)
based on at least the second UE not having an ongoing packet session meeting the selection criteria for the RRC Inactive state (Koskinen: para. [0112] network to make a controlled decision on which UEs should transition to RRC IDLE from RRC INACTIVE, or potentially from RRC CONNECTED, based on information from the UEs of the time spent in RRC INACTIVE), and further based on at least the expiration of the second inactivity timer, instructing the second UE, by the first base station, to enter an RRC Idle state. (Koskinen: para. [0112] network to make a controlled decision on which UEs should transition to RRC IDLE from RRC INACTIVE)
It is noted that Koskinen does not explicitly disclose: determining that the second UE supports the RRC Inactive state.
However, Kang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: determining that the second UE supports the RRC Inactive state. (Kang: para. [0041-0045] detecting whether the UE supports the RRC-Inactive state. Para. [0043] UE carries UE capability information in the registration request, and the UE capability information carries the capability indication information configured to indicate whether the UE supports the RRC-Inactive state) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kang in the method Koskinen. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for so as to avoid that triggering the access network to transmit a paging message to a UE in the RRC-Inactive state during a process of initiating data transmission or service transmission from the core network to the UE, which effectively reduces air interface signaling and unnecessary power consumption of the RRC-Inactive UE. (Kang: para. [0047]).
Regarding claim 7, Koskinen and Kang teach the method of claim 1, wherein instructing the first UE to enter the RRC Inactive state comprises transmitting an RRC Release message with a suspendConfig instruction.
( - Specification of instant application paragraph [0038] teaches “RRC Release message 604 (with a suspendConfig instruction) to put UE 102 into RRC Inactive state 220” the technical term “suspendCondfig” thus is interpreted as information/instruction within RRC Release message that put UE into RRC Inactive state - Koskinen: para. [0122 & 0141-0142] The inactive state may be a RRC INACTIVE state. The indication to operate in the inactive state may be a RRC release message)
Regarding claims 8-9, 12 and 14, Koskinen teaches a system comprising: a processor; and a computer-readable medium storing instructions that are operative upon execution by the processor to: (Koskinen: Summary, Fig. 2 and para. [0045 & 0152 & 0160] apparatus comprising: at least one processor and at least one memory including a computer program code) and Koskinen and Kang teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-2, 5 and 7, and therefore device claims 8-9, 12 and 14 are rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claims 15-16 and 19, Koskinen teaches One or more computer storage devices having computer-executable instructions stored thereon, which, upon execution by a computer, cause the computer to perform operations (Koskinen: Summary, Fig. 2 and para. [0045 & 0152 & 0160] apparatus comprising: at least one processor and at least one memory including a computer program code) and Koskinen and Kang teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-2, 5 and 7, and therefore device claims 15-16 and 19 are rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 3-4, 6, 10-11, 13, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koskinen and Kang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Deenoo et al. US 20190174571 A1, hereinafter Deenoo.
Regarding claim 3, Koskinen and Kang teach the method of claim 1, Koskinen and Kang does not explicitly teach: wherein the selection criteria for the RRC Inactive state comprises a set of quality of service (QoS) identifiers.
Deenoo from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the selection criteria for the RRC Inactive state comprises a set of quality of service (QoS) identifiers. (Deenoo: para. [0122] QoS information. Para. [0129 & 0333] Configuration aspect(s) may include a configuration for logical QoS association/abstraction (e.g., bearer, flow, QoS profile, slice, etc.). This type of configuration may be useful, for example, to determine a priority level associated with downlink data arrival and/or to a scheduling request received by the WTRU. Para. [0040 & 0357] data may have varying quality of service (QoS) requirements, such as differing throughput requirements, latency requirements, error tolerance requirements, reliability requirements, data throughput requirements, mobility requirements) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Deenoo in the method Koskinen and Kang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for a light connected state (and/or lightly connected state) may correspond to an INACTIVE state. A WTRU may engage in autonomous mobility during light connectivity and/or in an INACTIVE state. A WTRU may move within a logical area (e.g., a RAN paging area) without notifying the network, but may provide notice when it has moved outside a logical area (e.g., update RAN paging area). Mobility in light connected state may be network controlled (e.g., to enable handover when data transfer may be allowed and/or ongoing). A WTRU may be reachable during a light connectivity state. A WTRU may engage in autonomous mobility during light connectivity. A WTRU may perform data transfer without leaving light connected state. A WTRU may autonomously transition to a light connectivity state. A network may signal a WTRU to transition a light connectivity state. A transition from inactive to light connectivity may reduce signaling overhead and/or latency/delays that may otherwise occur before a WTRU may perform a first transmission in active mode. A WTRU may transition to connected mode with low latency and/or low overhead (Deenoo: para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Koskinen and Kang teach the method of claim 3, Koskinen does not explicitly teach: wherein the set of QoS identifiers comprises all QoS identifiers having a packet delay budget at or below a packet delay threshold, and/or all QoS identifiers having a predetermined value.
Deenoo from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the set of QoS identifiers comprises all QoS identifiers having a packet delay budget at or below a packet delay threshold (latency budget may be lower than a predefined threshold), and/or all QoS identifiers having a predetermined value. (Deenoo: para. [0122] QoS information. Para. [0129 & 0333] Configuration aspect(s) may include a configuration for logical QoS association/abstraction (e.g., bearer, flow, QoS profile, slice, etc.). This type of configuration may be useful, for example, to determine a priority level associated with downlink data arrival and/or to a scheduling request received by the WTRU. Para. [0040 & 0357] data may have varying quality of service (QoS) requirements, such as differing throughput requirements, latency requirements, error tolerance requirements, reliability requirements, data throughput requirements, mobility requirements. para. [0347 & 0246] A WTRU may determine how much layer 2 context to maintain, for example, based on Service/Slice/flow (e.g., based on latency, reliability, and/or interruption time requirements of the service, such as different handling of layer 2 contexts associated with URLLC, eMBB and/or mMTC. Para. [0258] data PDU and/or part of data PDU whose latency budget may be lower than a predefined threshold) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Deenoo in the method Koskinen and Kang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for a light connected state (and/or lightly connected state) may correspond to an INACTIVE state. A WTRU may engage in autonomous mobility during light connectivity and/or in an INACTIVE state. A WTRU may move within a logical area (e.g., a RAN paging area) without notifying the network, but may provide notice when it has moved outside a logical area (e.g., update RAN paging area). Mobility in light connected state may be network controlled (e.g., to enable handover when data transfer may be allowed and/or ongoing). A WTRU may be reachable during a light connectivity state. A WTRU may engage in autonomous mobility during light connectivity. A WTRU may perform data transfer without leaving light connected state. A WTRU may autonomously transition to a light connectivity state. A network may signal a WTRU to transition a light connectivity state. A transition from inactive to light connectivity may reduce signaling overhead and/or latency/delays that may otherwise occur before a WTRU may perform a first transmission in active mode. A WTRU may transition to connected mode with low latency and/or low overhead (Deenoo: para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 6, Koskinen and Kang teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: performing a cell reselection of the first UE from the first base station to a second base station; (Koskinen: para. [0107] cell reselection)
Koskinen and Kang do not explicitly teach: and based on at least the first UE having been in the RRC Inactive state with the first base station, instructing the first UE, by the second base station, to enter the RRC Inactive state.
Deenoo from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: and based on at least the first UE having been in the RRC Inactive state with the first base station, instructing the first UE, by the second base station, to enter the RRC Inactive state. (Deenoo: [0 328-0332]WTRU may determine the type of core network associated with the target cell from the system information. If the source cell and target cell are associated with the same core network, the WTRU may transition to INACTIVE state (e.g., if NR is target RAT). Para. [0333] A Layer 2 configuration may include parameters that may be received by a WTRU. Parameters may stay constant for the duration of a light connection unless changed by the network (e.g., based on changes in state and/or link condition). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Deenoo in the method Koskinen and Kang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for a light connected state (and/or lightly connected state) may correspond to an INACTIVE state. A WTRU may engage in autonomous mobility during light connectivity and/or in an INACTIVE state. A WTRU may move within a logical area (e.g., a RAN paging area) without notifying the network, but may provide notice when it has moved outside a logical area (e.g., update RAN paging area). Mobility in light connected state may be network controlled (e.g., to enable handover when data transfer may be allowed and/or ongoing). A WTRU may be reachable during a light connectivity state. A WTRU may engage in autonomous mobility during light connectivity. A WTRU may perform data transfer without leaving light connected state. A WTRU may autonomously transition to a light connectivity state. A network may signal a WTRU to transition a light connectivity state. A transition from inactive to light connectivity may reduce signaling overhead and/or latency/delays that may otherwise occur before a WTRU may perform a first transmission in active mode. A WTRU may transition to connected mode with low latency and/or low overhead (Deenoo: para. [0004]).
Regarding claims 10-11 and 13, Koskinen, Kang and Deenoo teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 3-4 and 6, and therefore system claims 10-11 and 13 are rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claims 17-18 and 20, Koskinen, Kang and Deenoo teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 3-4 and 6, and therefore storage device claims 17-18 and 20 are rejected using the same rationales.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Jia et al. US 20190274182 A1, in para. [0129] teaches If TINACTIVE and/or NINACTIVE is/are configured, a timer may be correspondingly started and a counter may be activated. In a case where there still exist data after the first time of data transmission, if the timer expires, the user equipment may perform the data transmission in the RRC inactive state.
Shrivastava US 20240073765 A1 [0158] In another embodiment, the UE (100) conditionally stops DRX related HARQ timers (e.g. drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL), if (short time switching gap)>=(discard timer for the pertinent radio bearer or service QoS constraint defined packet delay budget value for the specific service packet).
Park et al. US 2018/0270791 A1 in para.[0232] teaches receiving a command from a core network entity that requests an RRC connected state of the wireless device, a timer expiration for an RRC inactive state, a high load of random access procedure attempts, and/or other abnormal events), and/or an event requiring an RRC state transition of the wireless device to an RRC idle state (e.g. receiving a command from a core network entity that requests an RRC idle state of the wireless device, a timer expiration for an RRC inactive state, a high load of random access procedure attempts, and/or other abnormal events).
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418