DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8, 13-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1, 18-19, applicant amended “… estimate a range of a predetermined size, with reference to…” is indefinite because “range” is opposed to “predetermined size.” There is no support in filed specification. Yet, there was “… a range of a particular size with a distance…” in canceled claim 3. It might be a typo in claim amendment. For examination purpose, interpretation of “a range of a particular size” is taken instead.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8, 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo et al. (KR20210044673) in view of Stein et al. (US2007/0154068).
To claim 1, Woo teach a target monitoring system, comprising:
a camera, mounted in a ship (paragraphs 0007, 0026);
a detecting apparatus, mounted in the ship and detecting an actual position of a target present around the ship (paragraphs 0037-0039); and
processing circuity, configured to:
detect a region of the target comprised in an image imaged by the camera (paragraphs 0034-0035);
estimate a range of a particular size, with reference to a distance estimated based on the in-image position of a lower end of the region of the target (paragraphs 0033-0035, 0039, 0046-0050); and
identify the target detected from the image and the target detected by the detecting apparatus based on the range of the distance that is estimated and the actual position that is detected (paragraphs 0038-0043, 0069, 0080, 0086, wherein actual position would be interpreted as position determined based on sensed information from one or more different sensory sources).
But, Woo do not expressly disclose corresponding to an error range in a vertical direction of a sight line toward the lower end of the region of the target from the camera, as a range of a distance from the ship to the target.
However, Woo does teach location of the object being estimated in the image based on the sea level, which can be taking into account for estimation of distance (paragraph 0033).
Stein teach a vehicle estimating distance to an object using a sequence of images recorded by camera, wherein said distance estimation corresponding to an error range in a vertical direction of a sight line toward the lower end of the region of the target from the camera, as a range of a distance from the vehicle to the target (Figs. 5-6; paragraphs 0019, 0031, pitch angle variations, positioning of bottom edge of imaged vehicle), which correspond to Woo’s teaching on sea level. Though Stein’s teaching is from perspective of an automobile, using camera captured images to estimate distance between self from another object ahead has been well-known in the art to be applicable to both automobiles and ships (Official Notice is taken).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Stein into the system of Woo, in order to further implement compensation to reduce pitch error in range estimation.
To claim 18, Woo and Stein teach a target monitoring method (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 19, Woo and Stein teach a non-transient computer-readable recording medium, recording a program, executed by a computer (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 4, Woo and Stein teach claim 1.
Woo teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: discard detection of the target in a case where the range of the distance is above a horizon (Fig. 1, obvious as target being outside of range, which is preferential by design and well-known in the art, hence Official Notice is taken).
To claim 6, Woo and Stein teach claim 4.
Woo teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: set a position of the horizon based on a height and a posture of the camera (paragraphs 0093-0102, obvious because live feed camera would need to coordinate with display setting, which is well-known practice in the art, hence Official Notice is taken).
To claim 8, Woo and Stein teach claim 1.
Woo teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: detect a posture of the ship; and estimate the range of the distance further based on the posture of the ship (Fig. 8, paragraphs 0049-0050, 0077).
To claim 13, Woo and Stein teach claim 1.
Woo teach wherein, in a case where a plurality of targets detected by the detecting apparatus are present within the range of the distance that is estimated, the processing circuitry is further configured to: identify the target detected from the image as one closest to the ship among the targets (obvious in Fig. 8, paragraphs 0062, 0073).
To claim 14, Woo and Stein teach claim 1.
Woo teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: estimate the range of the distance based on a height, a posture, and a camera parameter of the camera (paragraphs 0031, 0045-0051, 0096-0099).
To claim 15, Woo and Stein teach claim 1.
Woo teach wherein the detecting apparatus is a radar, and the processing circuitry is further configured to: display the range of the distance on a radar image based on echo data detected by the radar (paragraphs 0037-0038).
To claim 16, Woo and Stein teach claim 1.Woo teach wherein the detecting apparatus is an automatic identification system (AIS) (paragraph 0042).
To claim 17, Woo and Stein teach claim 1.
Woo teach wherein the detecting apparatus is an electronic charge display and information system (ECDIS) (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ZHIYU . LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2669
/ZHIYU LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665 September 21, 2026