DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to an amendment filed July 21st, 2026. By the amendment claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17 are pending with claims 1, 6, 8 and 17 being amended and claims 2, 9, 16, 18 and 19 being cancelled. The applicant’s amendments have overcome the 35 U.S.C 112 rejections as outlined in the pervious Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith et al. (US 20230101090), hereafter Smith.
With regards to claim 6, Smith discloses A method of configuring a continuous equilibrium system comprising (Abstract): providing a plurality of structural members (202a-d) pivotally coupled together at a plurality of pivot joints (204a-d) and reconfigurable at least in response to gravity; determining a potential energy of the plurality of structural members as a result of gravity (P0103L41-49); calculating spring properties for springs located at one or more of the plurality of pivot joints to offset gravity that is operable to maintain a constant potential energy of the system irrespective of orientation in three-dimensional space (P0103, L62-72); and mounting the springs (206a-c) to the one or more plurality of pivot joints according to the calculated spring properties, wherein the plurality of structural members include a plurality of panels (202a-c) connected by rotational hinges (Fig. 2C).
With regards to claim 7, Smith discloses all the elements of claim 6 as outlined above. Smith further discloses wherein the springs are torsion springs (P0069) connected to adjacent panels about an axis of the respective hinges (Fig. 2C).
With regards to claim 17, Smith discloses all the elements of claim 6 as outlined above. Smith further discloses wherein the system is a panel system of an architectural device (exoskeleton 100).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-5, 8 and 10-15 are allowable.
Claim 1 is allowable for disclosing wherein the system is an excavator arm and the plurality of structural members include a boom, an arm and a bucket. Smith
details the use of springs in the manner recited in claim one for robotic systems. There is no
teaching or suggestion in the prior art of using springs in this manner in an excavator.
Independent claim 8 is allowable for disclosing wherein the system is a “kirigami structure.” Although kirigami structures are known in other arts (See US 20170224856, US 20190232598, and US 11904585), there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art that would render it obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add springs to kirigami structures as recited.
Claims 3-5 and 10-15 are allowable by virtue of their dependencies.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.L.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653