DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/19/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 states “positive negative terminal” in line 4.
Claim 2 states “to the some of the plurality of cells”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinto (JP 2012226969 A-as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Shinto discloses a battery module, comprising:
a cell set, comprising a plurality of cells arranged in a straight line; wherein each cell is arranged with a positive terminal and a negative terminal; the positive terminal of each cell is arranged on a side of the cell, and positive negative terminal of the cell is arranged on another side of the cell opposite to the positive terminal (Figures 1-2 and 24-26; [0043,0090] first and second terminals 211 and 212 having terminals arranged on both sides of the cell); each adjacent two of the plurality of cells are arranged in a reverse direction, such that the positive terminal of one of the adjacent two of the plurality of cells is arranged on a same side as the negative terminal of the other of the adjacent two of the plurality of cells (Figures 24-26, the battery cells terminals can be alternating every one or two cells); and
two collection assemblies; wherein one of the two collection assemblies is electrically connected to the positive terminal and the negative terminal on a first side of the cell set, and the other of the two collection assemblies is electrically connected to the positive terminal and the negative terminal on a second side of the cell set opposite to the first side (Figures 24-26; harness 100 provided on both sides of the battery cells; [0043]); each collection assembly comprises:
a first cable, configured to obtain voltage signals and temperature signals of some of the plurality of cells; wherein the first cable comprises a first inclined edge ([0007] FFC flexible flat cable; [0090] FFC can be connected to detect electrical signals; [0083-0087] temperature and voltage sensors/signals and has an inclined edge as seen in Figure 26); and
a second cable, configured to obtain the voltage signals and the temperature signals of others of the plurality of cells; wherein the second cable comprises a second inclined edge, and the first inclined edge and the second inclined edge are arranged in parallel (Figure 26; second cable FFC 100 [0083-0087] also detects temperature and voltage and has an included edge as seen in Figures 25-26; the second included edge and the first inclined edges are arranged in parallel to each other as Figure 25-26 shows inclined edges throughout the FFCs 100 and are parallel to each other).
Regarding claim 2, Shinto discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Shinto further discloses wherein the first fable forks out a plurality of first branches and a second branch at the first inclined edge, the first branches being electrically connected to the some of the plurality of cells, and the second branch being configured to collect the temperature signals (Figure 24-26; [0032], [0083-0087] the temperature can be measured by the temperature sensor that can be connected to the exposed portion 121; the FFC branching into branches that can connect different regions electrically and/or connect and measure temperature and voltage).
Regarding claim 3, Shinto discloses all the claim limitations of claim 2. Shinto further discloses wherein the second cable further comprises a third inclined edge opposite to the second inclined edge (Figure 26; left and right sides of the FFC 100 have multiple inclined edges; [0083-0087] ), and the second cable forks out a third plurality of third branches and a fourth branch at the third inclined edge; the plurality of third branches are electrically connected to the others of the plurality of cells and the fourth branch is configured to collect the temperature signals (Figure 24-26; [0032], [0083-0087] the temperature can be measured by the temperature sensor that can be connected to the exposed portion 121; the FFC branching into branches that can connect different regions electrically and/or connect and measure temperature and voltage).
Regarding claim 4, Shinto discloses all the claim limitations of claim 3. Shinto further discloses wherein the second inclined edge is parallel to the third inclined edge (Figure 26 below as multiple inclined edges within the FFC 100 is shown and can be parallel to each other).
Regarding claims 5-6, Shinto discloses all the claim limitations of claims 2 and 3. Shinto further discloses wherein the first/third branch is folded once to form an L-shape such that an end of the first/third branch is electrically connected to the corresponding cell (Figures 23-26 having an L-shape and can be folded and connected to the battery cell; [0009,0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinto (JP 20122226969 A-as cited in the IDS) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Bengtsson et al. (US 2013/0224532 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Shinto discloses all the claim limitations of claim 3. Shinto is silent with respect to collection assemblies further comprises a cable board; a first summary end of the first cable is arranged on a side of the cable board, and a second summary end of the second cable is arranged on another side of the cable board opposite to the first summary end of the first cable; the first summary end and the second summary end are simultaneously welded on the cable board with a double-sided high temperature welding process.
Bengtsson discloses a battery assembly comprising a plurality of batteries and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery cells. Bengtsson further discloses wherein cables are spot welded to a circuit board for containing an electronic circuit of the battery and a way to partially store the cables and is a conventional structure in battery packs ([0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to incorporate the teaching of the circuit board that can at least partially contain the cables and wherein the cables are welded as taught by Bengtsson within the harness FFC 100 of Shinto as a way of storing the cables while providing protection to the battery and the electronic components of the battery. The resulting modification would render obvious all the claim limitation of claim 3 as the circuit board can read as the cable board having a first and second summary end that can be welded on one or both sides of the circuit board.
Regarding claim 8, modified Shinto discloses all the claim limitation of claim 7. Shinto further discloses wherein each collection assembly further comprises a film; the fist cable and the second cable are fixed to the film ([0007] flexible insulating coating in which the FFC extends and thus reads on the film and being fixed to the cables).
Regarding claim 9, modified Shinto discloses all the claim limitation of claim 7. Shinto further discloses wherein each collection assembly further comprises a plurality of connectors and a plurality of collection members; each connector is electrically connected to corresponding adjacent two of the plurality of cells or to one of the plurality of cells at an end of the cell set; the plurality of collection members are electrically connected to the plurality of connectors in a one-to-one correspondence; the plurality of first branches are electrically connected to some of the plurality of collection members in a one-to-one correspondence, and the plurality of third branches are electrically connected to a remaining of the plurality of collection members in a one-to-one correspondence (Shinto Figures 23-26 the electrically connection manner in which the harness contains connection members that connect to the cells).
Regarding claim 10, modified Shinto discloses all the claim limitation of claim 7. Shinto further discloses further comprising a housing; wherein the cell set and the two collection assemblies are arranged in the housing (Figures 1-6; [0042] battery modules have a housing for the battery pack); each collection assembly further comprises a plurality of support plates connected to the housing (Figures 23-26; supports; [0058]).
Shinto is silent with respect to wherein support plate is arranged with a riveting post; the film defines a riveting hole, and a corresponding connector defines a positioning hole; the riveting post passes through the riveting hole and the positioning hole in turn and is riveted to the corresponding connector.
Bengtsson discloses a battery assembly comprising a plurality of batteries and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery cells. Bengtsson further discloses of threaded rivets that can be used for connecting and positioning the battery cells within the battery assembly and to fix the components together ([0028,0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to incorporate the teaching of Bengtsson of the rivet the can be connected to a support plate and corresponding connector in which the rivet passes through a riveting hole and connects to the connector to fix the battery component together as taught by Bengtsson. The resulting modification would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 10 as the fixing as claimed is rendered obvious through the modification.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rhein et al. (US 2016/0380319 A1)-discloses a battery module with a temperature monitoring assembly having a similar structure to that of the claimed invention.
Ju et al. (US 2019/0020012 A1)- discloses interconnecting member occupying less space in battery module and battery module comprising the same and further having a plurality of cables that form electrical connections throughout the battery.
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728