DETAILED ACTION
Duty to Disclose Information Material to Patentability
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.56, Applicant is reminded of their duty to disclose all information known to that individual to be material to patentability.
Status of Claims
Applicant’s request under 37 CFR 1.48 to correct the inventorship by adding Li Yang has been entered and acknowledged. Concurrently, an exemption under 35 USC 102(b)(1) has been invoked, thus disqualifying the previously cited Yang et al. NPL as prior art. Accordingly, the Examiner shall reissue a Non-Final Rejection as follows:
Claim Objections
Claims 16 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In each of claims 16 and 18, the phrase “nitrous oxide” should be rewritten as “nitrogen oxide”, pursuant to the Examiner-Initiated Interview that concluded on 8/17/2026. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In each of [0034], [0036], and [00102] the phrase “nitrous oxide” should be rewritten as “nitrogen oxide”, pursuant to the Examiner-Initiated Interview that concluded on 8/17/2026. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (NPL – Intrinsically Breathable and Flexible NO2 Gas Sensors Produced by Laser Direct Writing of Self-Assembled Block Copolymers) in view of Huang et al. (NPL – Facile Fabrication of Multivalent VOX/Graphene Nanocomposite Electrodes for High-Energy-Density Symmetric Supercapacitors) and Kang et al. (US 5656827 A).
Considering claim 1, Yang discloses an apparatus comprising:
- a first sensor comprising:
- a first base layer (substrate; Figure 1; Pages 17819-17820; 2. Experimental Section, PET, paper, fabric).
- a first film coated on the first base layer, wherein the first film comprises a first block copolymer carbon containing material (F127-resols; Figure 1; Pages 17819-17820; Experimental Section, Pluronic F127 copolymer and Phenol-formaldehyde resins)
- at least one laser-induced graphene electrode scribed on the first film (LIG; Figure 1; Pages 17820-17821; 3.1 Characterization of 3D Porous Ag/LIG Composites, CO2 laser scribed electrodes).
The invention by Yang discloses that the first film contains only F127-resols while the LIG electrode is doped with Ag particles, and thus fails to disclose that the first film comprises a VOX precursor compound and that the LIG electrode is doped with VOX particles.
However, Huang teaches the use of a sensor having laser-scribed graphene thin films with nanosized VOX, the thin film containing graphite oxide (GO) and VCl3 precursors, whereby the reduction of GO and the conversion of VCl3 to VOX take place simultaneously to form LSG/VOX electrodes (Page 2; 2.1 Fabrication of LSG/VOX Composite Electrodes).
One of ordinary skill in the art could have simply substituted the known technique of using VOX precursors in a thin film prior to LSG/LIG conversion to form a VOX doped electrode, as taught by Huang, for the unmodified thin film subjected to LIG conversion to form an electrode, as disclosed by Yang, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and repeatable. Both techniques ultimately form a conductive electrode from a coated carbonaceous base material, and thus are considered functionally equivalent. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a first film that comprises a VOX precursor compound and that the LIG electrode is doped with VOX particles.
The invention by Yang, as modified by Huang, fails to disclose a second sensor, of similar composition to a first sensor, whereby the second sensor is encapsulated by a membrane.
However, Kang discloses applying first 11 and second 12 identical sensors (25,31,32) on a first substrate 20/15, whereby the second sensor 12 is encapsulated 13 so as to only detect temperature effects (Figure 4; Column 9, line 58 – Column 10, line 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a second, otherwise identical sensor, that is encapsulated by a membrane, as suggested by Kang, in the invention by Yang, as modified by Huang. The motivation for doing so is to provide temperature compensation, thereby only detecting the concentration of the detected gas, as suggested by Kang (Column 9, line 67 – column 10, line 6).
Considering claim 2, Yang already discloses that the first sensor is configured to collect nitrogen oxide concentration data (Abstract).
Considering claim 3, Yang, as modified by Huang, fails to disclose the second sensor.
However, Kang discloses applying first 11 and second 12 identical sensors (25,31,32) on a first substrate 20/15, whereby the second sensor 12 is encapsulated 13 so as to only detect temperature effects (Figure 4; Column 9, line 58 – Column 10, line 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a second, otherwise identical sensor, that is encapsulated by a membrane, as suggested by Kang, in the invention by Yang, as modified by Huang. The motivation for doing so is to provide temperature compensation, thereby only detecting the concentration of the detected gas, as suggested by Kang (Column 9, line 67 – column 10, line 6).
Considering claim 5, the invention by Yang, as modified by Huang, is a nitrogen oxide gas sensor, but fails to disclose the second sensor having a membrane configured to block a permeation of nitrogen oxide gas molecules.
However, Kang explicitly states that the membrane is configured to block external chemicals, whereby the first sensor detects a chemical concentration and the second sensor is blocked from the chemical (Column 9, line 58 – Column 10, line 6).
In combination, the Kang reference is not replacing the NOX sensing of the invention of Yang, as modified by Huang, but merely duplicating the existing sensor and encapsulating it to provide temperature compensation. Therefore, the combination still detects NOX and the membrane would effectively block NOX.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a membrane that blocks NOX, as suggested by Kang, in the invention by Yang, as modified by Huang. The motivation for doing so isolate the temperature compensating sensor from the effects of the chemical that the gas sensor is trying to detect, thus rejecting common-mode signals, as is understood in the art.
Considering claim 6, the invention by Yang, as modified by Huang, fails to disclose the claimed second sensor.
However, Kang teaches forming a first and second sensor integral with each other such that the first base layer is integral with the second base layer and the second film is integral with the first film (Figure 4; Column 9, line 58 – Column 10, line 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a first and second sensor that are integral with each other, as taught by Kang, in the invention by Yang, as modified by Huang. The motivation for doing so is to provide similar temperature conditions for both sensors, thus increasing the accuracy of the temperature compensation, and it allows for a single run manufacturing process, as taught by Kang.
Considering claim 7, Yang discloses that the first block copolymer carbon containing material and the second block copolymer carbon containing material comprise F-127-resols (Page 17819-17820; 2. Experimental Section).
Considering claim 9, the invention by Yang, as modified by Huang, fails to disclose the second sensor.
However, Kang teaches the use of a second sensor having a detection range from 10-110°C (Column 11, lines 4-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure operation over a range of 10-110ºC, as suggested by Kang, in the invention by Yang, as modified by Huang. The motivation for doing so isolate the temperature compensating sensor, at operating temperatures, from the effects of the chemical that the gas sensor is trying to detect, thus rejecting common-mode signals, as is understood in the art.
Considering claim 16, Yang discloses an apparatus comprising:
- a first sensor device comprising:
- a first base layer (substrate; Figure 1; Pages 17819-17820; 2. Experimental Section, PET, paper, fabric).
- a first film coated on the first base layer, wherein the first film comprises a first block copolymer carbon containing material (F127-resols; Figure 1; Pages 17819-17820; Experimental Section, Pluronic F127 copolymer and Phenol-formaldehyde resins)
- a set of laser-induced graphene electrodes scribed on the first film to detect 2 laser scribed electrodes).
The invention by Yang discloses that the first film contains only F127-resols while the LIG electrode is doped with Ag particles, and thus fails to disclose that the first film comprises a VOX precursor compound.
However, Huang teaches the use of a sensor having laser-scribed graphene thin films with nanosized VOX, the thin film containing graphite oxide (GO) and VCl3 precursors, whereby the reduction of GO and the conversion of VCl3 to VOX take place simultaneously to form LSG/VOX electrodes (Page 2; 2.1 Fabrication of LSG/VOX Composite Electrodes).
One of ordinary skill in the art could have simply substituted the known technique of using VOX precursors in a thin film prior to LSG/LIG conversion to form a VOX doped electrode, as taught by Huang, for the unmodified thin film subjected to LIG conversion to form an electrode, as disclosed by Yang, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and repeatable. Both techniques ultimately form a conductive electrode from a coated carbonaceous base material, and thus are considered functionally equivalent. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a first film that comprises a VOX precursor compound and that the LIG electrode is doped with VOX particles.
The invention by Yang, as modified by Huang, fails to disclose another set of LIG electrodes positioned in the first base layer and/or first film to detect temperature data, whereby the another set of LIG electrodes are encapsulated by a membrane.
However, Kang discloses applying first 11 and second 12 identical sensors (25,31,32) on a first substrate 20/15, whereby the second sensor 12 is encapsulated 13 so as to only detect temperature effects (Figure 4; Column 9, line 58 – Column 10, line 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a second, otherwise identical sensor, that is encapsulated by a membrane, as suggested by Kang, in the invention by Yang, as modified by Huang. The motivation for doing so is to provide temperature compensation, thereby only detecting the concentration of the detected gas, as suggested by Kang (Column 9, line 67 – column 10, line 6).
Considering claim 18, the invention by Yang, as modified by Huang, is a nitrogen oxide gas sensor, but fails to disclose the second sensor having a membrane configured to block a permeation of
However, Kang explicitly states that the membrane is configured to block external chemicals, whereby the first sensor detects a chemical concentration and the second sensor is blocked from the chemical (Column 9, line 58 – Column 10, line 6).
In combination, the Kang reference is not replacing the NOX sensing of the invention of Yang, as modified by Huang, but merely duplicating the existing sensor and encapsulating it to provide temperature compensation. Therefore, the combination still detects NOX and the membrane would effectively block NOX.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a membrane that blocks NOX, as suggested by Kang, in the invention by Yang, as modified by Huang. The motivation for doing so isolate the temperature compensating sensor from the effects of the chemical that the gas sensor is trying to detect, thus rejecting common-mode signals, as is understood in the art.
Considering claim 19, Yang discloses that the first block copolymer carbon containing material comprises F-127-resols (Page 17819-17820; 2. Experimental Section).
Considering claim 20, Yang discloses that the first film contains only F127-resols while the LIG electrode is doped with Ag particles, and thus fails to disclose that the electrode is doped with VOX particles.
However, Huang teaches the use of a sensor having laser-scribed graphene thin films with nanosized VOX, the thin film containing graphite oxide (GO) and VCl3 precursors, whereby the reduction of GO and the conversion of VCl3 to VOX take place simultaneously to form LSG/VOX electrodes (Page 2; 2.1 Fabrication of LSG/VOX Composite Electrodes).
One of ordinary skill in the art could have simply substituted the known technique of using VOX precursors in a thin film prior to LSG/LIG conversion to form a VOX doped electrode, as taught by Huang, for the unmodified thin film subjected to LIG conversion to form an electrode, as disclosed by Yang, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and repeatable. Both techniques ultimately form a conductive electrode from a coated carbonaceous base material, and thus are considered functionally equivalent. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a first film that comprises a VOX precursor compound and that the LIG electrode is doped with VOX particles.
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (NPL – Intrinsically Breathable and Flexible NO2 Gas Sensors Produced by Laser Direct Writing of Self-Assembled Block Copolymers) in view of Huang et al. (NPL – Facile Fabrication of Multivalent VOX/Graphene Nanocomposite Electrodes for High-Energy-Density Symmetric Supercapacitors) and Kang et al. (US 5656827 A), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Yang et al. (NPL – Novel gas sensing platform based on a stretchable laser-induced graphene pattern with self-heating capabilities), hereafter Yang 2020.
Considering claim 4, the invention by Yang, as modified by Huang and Wang, fails to disclose a first self-heating sensor.
However, Yang 2020 teaches utilizing a self-heating LIG gas sensing platform in detection of NO2 gas (Page 6488, “Leveraging the Joule heating or resistive heating (i.e., self-heating of the LIG as in the previous study we describe the approach to fabricate the LIG gas sensing platform with self-heating capabilities to characterize the gas sensing performance of various nanomaterials in this report”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a self-heating gas sensor, as taught by Yang 2020, in the invention by Yang, as modified by Huang and Kang. The motivation for doing so is found in the teachings of Yang 2020, whereby external heaters are no longer needed (Page 6488, “Eliminating the need for IDEs and separate heaters, the novel LIG gas sensing platform demonstrates its utility for characterizing various gas sensitive nanomaterial”).
Considering claim 17, the invention by Yang, as modified by Huang and Wang, fails to disclose a first self-heating sensor.
However, Yang 2020 teaches utilizing a self-heating LIG gas sensing platform in detection of NO2 gas (Page 6488, “Leveraging the Joule heating or resistive heating (i.e., self-heating of the LIG as in the previous study we describe the approach to fabricate the LIG gas sensing platform with self-heating capabilities to characterize the gas sensing performance of various nanomaterials in this report”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a self-heating gas sensor, as taught by Yang 2020, in the invention by Yang, as modified by Huang and Kang. The motivation for doing so is found in the teachings of Yang 2020, whereby external heaters are no longer needed (Page 6488, “Eliminating the need for IDEs and separate heaters, the novel LIG gas sensing platform demonstrates its utility for characterizing various gas sensitive nanomaterial”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (NPL – Intrinsically Breathable and Flexible NO2 Gas Sensors Produced by Laser Direct Writing of Self-Assembled Block Copolymers) in view of Huang et al. (NPL – Facile Fabrication of Multivalent VOX/Graphene Nanocomposite Electrodes for High-Energy-Density Symmetric Supercapacitors) and Kang et al. (US 5656827 A), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Kodu et al. (Graphene functionalised by laser-ablated V2O5 for a highly sensitive NH3 sensor).
Considering claim 8, the invention by Yang discloses that the Ag/LIG sensor detects NO2 in a range of 0.5 to 2.5 ppm, and as low as 30 ppb (Figure 3), which highlights a significant overlapping range, but the invention by Yang, as modified by Huang and Kang, fails to explicitly disclose that the VOX LIG sensor detects NOX in a range of 3 ppb to 5 ppm NO2.
However, Kodu teaches detecting NO2 at 1 ppm with a VOX LIG sensor (Figure 4; Page 574; Table 1; Page 575).
One of ordinary skill in the art could have simply substituted the known VOX/LIG sensor for the Ag/LIG sensor, and the results would have been predictable and repeatable. Yang expressly reports detection results based on an Ag/LIG sensor, while Kodu establishes that functionalizing graphene with VOX preserves and enhances the same NOX responsive behavior. Particularly Kodu teaches that functionalizing the graphene exhibits a clear and reversible response to 1 ppm NOX and that the functionalization increase the response from 2% to 12% (Page 574). The concentration of 1 ppm is within both Yang’s range and the claimed range, and therefore Kodu provides experimental confirmation that the substation of VOX for Ag would retain, and predictably enhance, the NOX sensing functionality.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to detect NOX in a range of 3 ppb to 5 ppm, as suggested by Kodu, in the invention by Yang, as modified by Huang and Kang.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Houweling et al. (US 2021/0140908A1) in view of Yang et al. (NPL – Intrinsically Breathable and Flexible NO2 Gas Sensors Produced by Laser Direct Writing of Self-Assembled Block Copolymers), Huang et al. (NPL – Facile Fabrication of Multivalent VOX/Graphene Nanocomposite Electrodes for High-Energy-Density Symmetric Supercapacitors) and Kang et al. (US 5656827 A).
Considering claim 10, Van Houweling discloses a method of collecting soil data, comprising:
- providing an electronic sensing device comprising:
- a controller unit 140 (Figure 11; [0234-247]),
- a first sensor 110 connected to the controller unit 140 (Figures 13-16; [0166-170]; [0178-220], [0108-109]; [0234-247],
- a non-transitory computer readable medium 144 (Figure 11; [0242]; [0247]) connected to the controller unit 140, a transceiver unit 152-156 (Figure 11; [0245]) connected to the controller unit, and a power source 76 ([0108-109]; [0118]; [0127]);
- collecting nitrogen concentration data via the first sensor ([0213]; [0210-211]) and collecting temperature data via a second sensor 28 ([0272-284]); and
- transmitting the collected nitrogen concentration data and the temperature data to an input/output device or a central computer device for evaluation of the collected nitrogen concentration data and the collected temperature data ([0215]; [0247]).
The invention by Van Houweling is concerned with co-locating (Abstract) a temperature sensor and a LIG-based soil nutrient concentration sensor ([0178-208]) so as to compensate the temperature effects of the sensor ([0215]), but fails to explicitly disclose the claimed block copolymer carbon containing material and a VOX precursor compound being laser scribed.
However, Yang discloses a first sensor comprising:
- a first base layer (substrate; Figure 1; Pages 17819-17820; 2. Experimental Section, PET, paper, fabric).
- a first film coated on the first base layer, wherein the first film comprises a first block copolymer carbon containing material (F127-resols; Figure 1; Pages 17819-17820; Experimental Section, Pluronic F127 copolymer and Phenol-formaldehyde resins)
- at least one laser-induced graphene electrode scribed on the first film (LIG; Figure 1; Pages 17820-17821; 3.1 Characterization of 3D Porous Ag/LIG Composites, CO2 laser scribed electrodes).
One of ordinary skill in the art could have simply substituted the known block copolymer carbon containing material with laser-induced graphene electrodes taught by Yang for the LIG electrodes with ion-selective membrane disclosed by Van Houweling, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and repeatable. Both techniques are shown to be used for detecting chemical concentration, and are thus functionally equivalent. Yang mentions specifically detecting NOX, which may be advantageously used for determining the desirability of environmental and/or soil conditions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the F127-resol LIG electrode technique in the invention by Van Houweling, as taught by Yang.
The invention by Van Houweling, as modified by Yang, discloses that the first film contains only F127-resols while the LIG electrode is doped with Ag particles, and thus fails to disclose that the first film comprises a VOX precursor compound and that the LIG electrode is doped with VOX particles.
However, Huang teaches the use of a sensor having laser-scribed graphene thin films with nanosized VOX, the thin film containing graphite oxide (GO) and VCl3 precursors, whereby the reduction of GO and the conversion of VCl3 to VOX take place simultaneously to form LSG/VOX electrodes (Page 2; 2.1 Fabrication of LSG/VOX Composite Electrodes).
One of ordinary skill in the art could have simply substituted the known technique of using VOX precursors in a thin film prior to LSG/LIG conversion to form a VOX doped electrode, as taught by Huang, for the unmodified thin film subjected to LIG conversion to form an electrode, as disclosed by Van Houweling, as modified by Yang, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and repeatable. Both techniques ultimately form a conductive electrode from a coated carbonaceous base material, and thus are considered functionally equivalent. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a first film that comprises a VOX precursor compound and that the LIG electrode is doped with VOX particles.
The invention by Van Houweling, as modified by Yang and Huang, discloses fails to explicitly disclose a second sensor, of similar composition to a first sensor, whereby the second sensor is encapsulated by a membrane.
However, Kang discloses applying first 11 and second 12 identical sensors (25,31,32) on a first substrate 20/15, whereby the second sensor 12 is encapsulated 13 so as to only detect temperature effects (Figure 4; Column 9, line 58 – Column 10, line 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a second, otherwise identical sensor, that is encapsulated by a membrane, as suggested by Kang, in the invention by Van Houweling, as modified by Yang and Huang. The motivation for doing so is to provide temperature compensation, thereby only detecting the concentration of the detected gas, as suggested by Kang (Column 9, line 67 – column 10, line 6).
Considering claim 11, the invention by Van Houweling, as modified by Yang and Huang, fails to disclose the claimed second sensor.
However, Kang teaches forming a first and second sensor integral with each other such that the first base layer is integral with the second base layer and the second film is integral with the first film (Figure 4; Column 9, line 58 – Column 10, line 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a first and second sensor that are integral with each other, as taught by Kang, in the invention by Van Houweling, as modified by Yang and Huang. The motivation for doing so is to provide similar temperature conditions for both sensors, thus increasing the accuracy of the temperature compensation, and it allows for a single run manufacturing process, as taught by Kang.
Considering claim 12, the invention by Van Houweling, as modified by Yang, already disclose that the step of transmitting the collected nitrogen oxide concentration data and the temperature data to the input/output device or the central computer device comprises: establishing a wireless communication between the electronic device and the input/output device by positioning the input/output device in proximity to the electronic device; and transmitting the collected nitrogen oxide concentration data and the temperature data via the transceiver unit, wherein the transceiver unit a Bluetooth transceiver unit ([0110-115]).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Houweling et al. (US 2021/0140908A1) in view of Yang et al. (NPL – Intrinsically Breathable and Flexible NO2 Gas Sensors Produced by Laser Direct Writing of Self-Assembled Block Copolymers), Huang et al. (NPL – Facile Fabrication of Multivalent VOX/Graphene Nanocomposite Electrodes for High-Energy-Density Symmetric Supercapacitors) and Kang et al. (US 5656827 A), as applied to claims 10 and 12, respectively, above and further in view of Cantrell et al. (US 2018/0074499 A1).
Considering claim 13, the invention by Van Houweling, as modified by Yang, Huang and Kang, fails to explicitly disclose positioning the input/output device in proximity to the electronic device via a drone or vehicle.
However, Cantrell teaches Bluetooth wireless collection data from field-mounted sensors through the use of drones placed in proximity to the sensors ([0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position input/output devices in proximity to the sensors of Van Houweling, as modified by Yang, Huang and Kang, for receiving sensor data therefrom, via a drone or other vehicle, as taught by Cantrell. The motivation for doing so is to automate the task of data collection, as understood in the art.
Considering claim 14, the invention by Van Houweling, as modified by Yang, Huang and Kang discloses the step of transmitting the collected nitrogen oxide concentration data and the temperature data to the input/output device or the central computer device comprises establishing a wireless communication between the electronic device and the input/output device by positioning the input/output device in proximity to the electronic device; and transmitting the collected nitrogen oxide concentration data and the temperature data via the transceiver unit ([0110-115]), but fails to explicitly disclose that the transceiver unit a radio frequency identification transceiver unit.
However, Cantrell teaches RFID wireless collection data from field-mounted sensors through the use of drones placed in proximity to the sensors ([0041]).
The invention by Van Houweling discusses the use of “any protocol such as Random Phase Multiple Access (RPMA), 802.11/Wi-Fi, Wi-Max, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, UltraWideband (UWB), ZigBee, Zwave, GSM/EDGE, UMTS/HSPA+/HSDPA, CDMA, LTE, and/or FM/VHF/UHF networks or any other communication medium and/or protocol” ([0111]), but fails to explicitly utilize RFID. The invention by Cantrell teaches the use of either Bluetooth or RFID for transmission of short range sensor data. One of ordinary skill in the art could have simply substituted the known RFID technology of Cantrell for the Bluetooth technology of Van Houweling and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and repeatable. Cantrell specifically teaches the interchangeability of RFID and Bluetooth for the intended purpose of short range data transmission. Accordingly, the technologies are considered functionally equivalent for the claimed purpose. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position input/output devices in proximity to the sensors of Van Houweling, as modified by Yang, Huang, and Kang, for receiving sensor data therefrom, via RFID, as taught by Cantrell. The motivation for doing so is to automate the task of data collection, as understood in the art.
Considering claim 15, the invention by Van Houweling, as modified by Yang, Huang and Kang, fails to explicitly disclose positioning the input/output device in proximity to the electronic device via a drone or vehicle.
However, Cantrell teaches Bluetooth wireless collection data from field-mounted sensors through the use of drones placed in proximity to the sensors ([0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position input/output devices in proximity to the sensors of Van Houweling, as modified by Yang, Huang and Kang, for receiving sensor data therefrom, via a drone or other vehicle, as taught by Cantrell. The motivation for doing so is to automate the task of data collection, as understood in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10 of the response filed 7/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-12 and 16-20 under 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yang, Huang, Kang, at least.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M DUNLAP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 August 20, 2026