DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 17 recites, inter alia, “de” in line 4. The examiner believes that the recitation of “de” within the claim is the unfortunate result of a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mergener et al. (U.S. 20240042861).
In re claim 1, Mergener teaches a self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device for a vehicle (fig. 1; charging trailer 100; [0019]) comprising:
a single enclosed housing (fig. 1; body 101; [0019]) mounted within the vehicle;
a VDC battery disposed within the enclosed housing (fig. 1; one or more battery packs primary 140; [0020]);
a VDC converter disposed within the enclosed housing (as shown in fig. 2; The generator 185 may include a rectifier to convert alternating current to direct current; [0025]);
a 110 VAC power input (fig. 2; one or more input charging ports 190 configured to receive a charging plug. The charging plug may be connected to grid power or any other power source; [0026]),
a 110 VAC inverter (fig. 2; The generator 185 may include…an inverter to convert the direct current to a “clean” alternating current; [0025]) and
110 VAC battery charger (fig. 2; spare battery charger 160; [0028]; a battery charger may be plugged in the output power port 192 to charge a device…output power port 192 may be, for example, a 110/120 V AC single phase NEMA 5-15 or 5-20 plug (20 amp, Level 1 charging), a 208/240 V AC single phase NEMA 14-50 plug (80 amp, Level 2 charging), or a 208/240 V AC single phase NEMA 6-50 plug (80 amp, Level 2 charging); [0027]),
each disposed within the enclosed housing (as shown in fig. 2);
a VDC power input disposed within the enclosed housing (as shown in fig. 2; note: the plurality of battery packs, which necessarily include an input/output, which is necessarily VDC, as is commonly known in the art, so as to be compatible with the electrochemistry of the battery cells; further note: the liquid electrolytes commonly used in high performance batteries, such as lithium ion, tends to overheat, causing the battery cell to rupture and burst into flames if charged using VAC), and
a controller (fig. 2; controller 200; [0028]) disposed within the enclosed housing and operably coupled (as shown in fig. 2) with
the VDC battery (as shown in fig. 2),
the VDC converter (as shown in fig. 2),
the 110 VAC power input (as shown in fig. 2),
the 110 VAC inverter (as shown in fig. 2), and
the 110 VAC battery charger (as shown in fig. 2);
wherein the controller is adapted to provide
charging and discharging control of the VDC battery (fig. 2-3; The controller 200 may also distribute power to the various components, such as the equipment battery packs, the primary battery packs, 140, the inductive chargers 162, the battery status display 300 (described below with regard to FIG. 3), the spare battery chargers 160, the output power port 192, the motor/generator 170 etc.; [0028]),
switching of the VDC converter depending on the presence or absence of a 110 VAC power supply (when the input charging port 190 is connected to grid power, power may be delivered to the primary battery packs 140, the equipment battery packs 150, the battery status display 300, the inductive chargers 162, and the output power port 192 simultaneously; [0030]; Here, when 110 VAC, from grid power is connected, then power is delivered to the battery pack, chargers, etc. This also implies that when 110 VAC, from grid power is not connected, then power is not delivered and thus is considered to be a form of switching based upon the presence or absence of a 110 VAC power supply) and
switching of the 110 VAC inverter and 110 VAC battery charger depending on a presence or absence of a 110 VAC power supply (as indicated in [0030]; Here, in [0030], it is implied that when 110 VAC is available, then the devices on the 110 V circuits are powered, but that when 110 VAC is not available, then power is supplied via. the battery pack, and thus switching of the 110 VAC inverter and 110 VAC battery charger is based upon the presence or absence of a 110 VAC power supply).
In re claim 3, Mergener teaches the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device of claim 1, further comprising
a wireless communication portal by which a cellular, Bluetooth, or Wi-Fi signal (controller may alternatively or additionally communicate via various local wireless protocols such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi; [0029]) may be used to remotely provide an input command to the controller and obtain real-time status information (controller 200 may also receive information from and send information to a control module embedded in each component of the system 199 that includes a communication module (e.g., an Internet-of-Things or IoT module) configured to communicate wirelessly with other devices. For example, the controller 200 may communicate with a control module of the primary battery packs 140 to receive information about the primary battery packs; [0029]) on one or more of
percent a battery charge (battery charge level; [0029]),
a time to fully charge at current rate,
a charge current,
a voltage,
a time to full discharge at current rate (battery discharge rate; [0029]),
a battery discharge current,
a inverter status, and/or
a solar charger status.
In re claim 4, Mergener teaches the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device of claim 1, wherein
the controller comprises an energy storage system supervisor module (fig. 2; considered to be necessarily present within controller 200 to control power to/from generator 185, PV panels 180, motor/generator 170 battery pack 140, battery pack 150, and input/output ports 190/192) and
the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device further comprises an alternating current supply power input (as shown in fig. 2; one or more input charging ports 190 configured to receive a charging plug. The charging plug may be connected to grid power or any other power source; [0026]; note: it is generally known that grid power uses alternating current), wherein
the controller selectively electrically couples the alternating current supply power input with the energy storage system supervisor module to charge the energy storage system supervisor module if a charge of the energy storage system supervisor module falls below a predetermined level (If no external power is available (The controller 200 may receive power from various sources, such as the input charging port 190, the photovoltaic panels 180, the motor/generator 170, and the primary battery packs 140. The controller 200 may also distribute power to the various components, such as the equipment battery packs, the primary battery packs, 140, the inductive chargers 162, the battery status display 300 (described below with regard to FIG. 3), the spare battery chargers 160, the output power port 192, the motor/generator 170 etc.; [0028]; e.g., from the photovoltaic panels 180 or the input charging port 190), the controller 200 may direct power from the equipment battery packs 150 to the primary battery packs 140. Once the primary battery packs 140 are sufficiently charged, the primary battery packs 140 may supply power to the motor/generator 170 to move the charging trailer 100. Then, during normal operation of the charging trailer 100, the primary battery packs 140 can be used to charge the equipment battery packs 150; [0031]).
In re claim 5, Mergener teaches the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device of claim 4, wherein
the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device further comprises
a direct current to alternating current inverter (may include an inverter to convert the direct current to a “clean” alternating current; [0025]) and
a switch adapted to disconnect an output from the direct current to alternating current inverter upon detection of power at the 110 VAC power input (charging plug may be connected to grid power or any other power source and can be plugged into the input charging port 190 to charge the primary battery packs 140 and/or to directly charge the equipment battery packs 150 when the charging trailer 100 is in the vicinity of the charging plug; [0026]; Here, it is understood that a switch is necessarily present between primary battery packs 140 and charging input port 190, motor generator 170, and/or generator 185, so as to avoid either backfeeding of battery power into grid/generator power or backfeeding of grid/generator power into battery power, which can result in an electrical fire. note: The NEC requires a switch between battery/generator power and grid power for similar reasons on residential structures.).
In re claim 6, Mergener teaches the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device of claim 1, wherein
the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device further comprises
a main alternating current breaker (fig. 4; The controller 200 includes a power rail 410 to which breaker modules 420 may be attached… first breaker module 420 may then be wired to the spare battery charger 160…spare battery charger 160 may be configured to plug into a 120 V alternating current outlet… breaker modules 420 may have a resettable breaker switch that trips when an electrical fault is detected, similar to a home circuit breaker; [0039]; Here, it seems that there is a main breaker connected to alternating current) adapted to limit the current directly from the 110 VAC power input (each primary battery pack 160 may include an inverter such that the primary battery packs 160 output AC power to the controller 200…the power rail 410 may be configured to output AC power, rather than DC power. This may allow for commercially available battery chargers requiring AC power to more easily be plugged into the power rail 410. For example, the power rail 410 may include several standard wall outlets, similar to a power strip, which the battery chargers can be plugged into; [0047]).
In re claim 7, Mergener teaches the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device of claim 6, wherein
the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device further comprises
a plurality of individual branch alternating current circuits (as indicated in fig. 2 and [0039; 0047]) and
an individual branch circuit breaker adapted to limit the current to each of the individual branch alternating current circuits (as indicated in fig. 2 and [0039; 0047]).
In re claim 8, Mergener teaches the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device of claim 1, wherein
the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device further comprises an alternating current outlet (as indicated in fig. 2 and [0039; 0047]).
In re claim 9, Mergener teaches the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device of claim 1, wherein
the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device further comprises
a solar power input (fig. 2; photovoltaic panels 180; [0025]) and
the controller selectively electrically couples the solar power input with an energy storage system supervisor module to charge the energy storage system supervisor module if a charge of the energy storage system supervisor module falls below a predetermined level (as indicated in fig. 2 and [0025; 0028; 0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mergener et al. (U.S. 20240042861) in view of Reddy et al. (U.S. 20220069613).
In re claim 2, Mergener teaches the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device of claim 1, but lacks wherein
the controller is further adapted to provide predictive load control by monitoring and learning a branch load pattern of a plurality of 110VAC branch circuits to reduce incidences of multiple higher-power demand circuits activating at the same time.
Reddy teaches an analogous power system that uses a battery system as a backup power source (abstract), including an AC/DC inverter (fig. 1; AC/DC inverter 110, AC/DC inverter 114, AC/DC inverter 124), DC/DC converter (fig. 1; DC/DC converter 120, DC/DC converter 122), and a DC bus (fig. 1; DC bus 112) and further teaches
the controller is further adapted to provide predictive load control by monitoring and learning a branch load pattern (fig. 1-2; certain operations performed by components 214-220 include determinations and/or predictions relating to power conditioning, power sharing, power management, and configuring the power sources 102-106 of the power system 100; [0035]) of a plurality of 110VAC branch circuits (note: grid power is primarily 110VAC/120VAC in North America, as is commonly known in the art) to reduce incidences of multiple higher-power demand circuits activating at the same time (as indicated in fig. 1-2, and in [0035], stating, inter alia, “…machine-learning algorithms and trained models are used to predict the upcoming power draw (or load) from the target load, the peak power times/usages at the target load and/or within the public electrical grid, upcoming outages or disruptions of the primary power source 102…the control system 202 includes algorithms (e.g., controlling the sequences of operations) for performing operations such as power sharing…and/or involve real-time optimization (e.g., using techniques such as mixed integer linear programming, model predictive control, particle swarm optimization, etc.) based on load…and/or involving learning schemes for load forecasting as well as price projections. In some instances, learning schemes/techniques involve, for example, machine learning for load forecasting.).
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Mergener, to incorporate the controller being further adapted to provide predictive load control by monitoring and learning a branch load pattern of a plurality of 110VAC branch circuits to reduce incidences of multiple higher-power demand circuits activating at the same time, as clearly suggested and taught by Reddy, in order to reduce the number of power electronics and batteries required as compared with conventional systems ([0066]) and in order to provide automatic power transitioning in response to power outages, reductions, and restorations of the primary power source ([0066]) and in order to provide advanced power management tasks performed by the UPS, including power sharing between the primary and backup sources, managing power transitions, and exporting power back to the public grid ([0067]).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mergener et al. (U.S. 20240042861) in view of Kydd (U.S. 10693315).
In re claim 10, Mergener teaches the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device of claim 4, and further teaches wherein
the energy storage system supervisor module comprises a VDC battery (as indicated in fig. 2) and
the controller (the controller 200 can continue to monitor the status of the equipment battery packs; [0029]) is adapted to provide integrated battery management that monitors, controls and reports
battery charge/discharge (inherent, as indicated below),
battery state of charge (battery charge level; [0029]; note: the state of charge is interpreted to mean the amount of energy remaining in the battery, determined as a percentage of the battery’s maximum capacity, and is considered to be included within the battery charge level), and
depth of charge (battery charge level; [0029]; note: the depth of charge is interpreted to mean the amount of energy that has been used or discharged from the battery, determined as 1 minus the state of charge, wherein the state of charge is determined as a percentage of the battery’s maximum capacity, and is considered to be included within the battery charge level).
Mergener lacks teaching wherein
the energy storage system supervisor module comprises a VDC lithium battery.
Kydd teaches an analogous self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device comprising a solar panel (or an array of panels), a storage battery, a battery charger, an inverter, and optionally, a connection to an electric vehicle via. both the regular AC charging connection and a DC connection (abstract) and further teaches
the energy storage system supervisor module comprises a VDC lithium battery (lithium-ion battery; [Col. 3, ln 44]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Mergener by employing a lithium battery (or lithium batteries) as the means for storing electrical energy in the manner as taught by Kydd since both references teach art equivalent means for storing electrical energy.
In re claim 11, Mergener teaches the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device of claim 1, wherein
the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device further comprises
a plurality of direct current branch circuits (as indicated in fig. 2 and explained above).
Mergener lacks wherein
the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device further comprises
a plurality of fused individual direct current branch circuits with a plurality of blown fuse indicators on each branch to provide an indication of branch status.
Kydd teaches an analogous self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device comprising a solar panel (or an array of panels), a storage battery, a battery charger, an inverter, and optionally, a connection to an electric vehicle via. both the regular AC charging connection and a DC connection (abstract) and further teaches
a plurality of fused individual direct current branch circuits (as shown in fig. 3; note: the plurality of fuses shown) with a plurality of blown fuse indicators (note: it is well known in the art to use fuses with light emitting blown fuse indicators, and thus is considered to be included within the general teaching of fuses) on each branch to provide an indication of branch status.
Motivation to combine is given in claim 10 above.
In re claim 12, Mergener as modified by Kydd teaches the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device of claim 11, and Mergener further teaches wiring between the components in the circuit (as indicated in fig. 2) but fails to explicitly state wherein
the fused individual direct current branch circuits are equipped with quick connect wiring to each circuit.
However, the use of quick connect wiring is well known, routine and common within the art. Further, it is understood that wiring of some form is necessarily present in order to electrically connect the various components within the circuits, and thus is considered to be included within the general teaching of wiring.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mergener et al. (U.S. 20240042861) in view of Kydd (U.S. 10693315) and in further view of Yamamoto et al. (U.S. 20150022155).
In re claim 13, Mergener as modified by Kydd teaches the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device of claim 11, and Mergener further teaches
a plurality of individual branch alternating current circuits (as indicated in fig. 2 and [0039; 0047]) and
an individual branch circuit breaker (fig. 2 and fig. 4; breaker modules 420; as indicated in [0039; 0047]) adapted to
limit the current to each of the individual branch alternating current circuits (as indicated in [0039; 0047]) and
the controller provides further real time status information (controller 200 may also receive information from and send information to a control module embedded in each component of the system 199 that includes a communication module (e.g., an Internet-of-Things or IoT module) configured to communicate wirelessly with other devices. For example, the controller 200 may communicate with a control module of the primary battery packs 140 to receive information about the primary battery packs; [0029]).
Mergener lacks wherein
real time status information includes
alternating current circuit branch circuit loads and
blown fuse status of the fused individual direct current branch circuits.
Kydd further teaches wherein
real time status information includes
alternating current circuit branch circuit loads (fig. 3; The vehicle battery can also provide regulation services to the local critical load circuit. It can provide power to the critical loads when the grid is short and take power to recharge when the grid is in excess; [Col. 5, ln 13-16]; Here, as indicated in fig. 3 and Col. 5, ln 13-16, it is understood that critical loads are on an AC circuit branch, and to provide regulation to the critical loads indicates that there is some amount of monitoring of real time status of the critical loads.)
Motivation to combine is given in claim 10 above.
Yamamoto teaches a battery cell voltage equalization circuit the equalizes the voltages of battery cells and further teaches wherein
real time status information includes
blown fuse status of the fused individual direct current branch circuits (as indicated in [0070-0076]).
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Mergener, to incorporate real time status information includes blown fuse status of the fused individual direct current branch circuits, as clearly suggested and taught by Yamamoto, in order to protect a battery cell and a battery cell voltage equalization circuit from an overcurrent in the battery cell voltage equalization circuit that equalizes the voltages of a plurality of the battery cells that are connected in series ([0020]) and to make it easy to detect which fuse has blown when a plurality of fuses are included in a battery cell voltage equalization circuit ([0021]).
Claims 14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mergener et al. (U.S. 20240042861) in view of Brinkman et al. (U.S. 11858484) and in further view of Albright et al. (U.S. 10040437).
In re claim 14, Mergener teaches the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device of claim 1, but lacks wherein the vehicle comprises a towed vehicle having an electrically actuated braking system, and wherein:
the controller is adapted to actuate automatic braking control of the electrically actuated braking system of the towed vehicle in electrical communication with a braking system of a towing vehicle;
the controller ensures that the VDC battery has sufficient energy to actuate the electrically actuated braking system of the towed vehicle before allowing the towed vehicle to be towed;
the controller is in signal communication with
a breakaway switch,
the electrically actuated braking system of the towed vehicle, and
the VDC battery
via an internal bus and bus protocol;
the controller is in selective electrical communication with the electrically actuated braking system of the towed vehicle; and
the controller directs electrical energy from the VDC battery to the electrically actuated braking system of the towed vehicle in the event of the towed vehicle breaking free from the towing vehicle while in transit.
Brinkman teaches an analogous trailer and trailer braking system (abstract) and Brinkman further teaches wherein:
the controller is adapted to actuate automatic braking control of the electrically actuated braking system of the towed vehicle in electrical communication with a braking system of a towing vehicle (the trailer brake control module 140 and the brakes 150 and 155 comprise an electromechanical braking system, such as an automatic brake system (ABS). The trailer brake control module 140 controls the current applied to brakes 150, which control tire 160, and to brakes 155, which control tire 165; [Col. 3, ln 18-24]);
the controller ensures that the VDC battery has sufficient energy to actuate the electrically actuated braking system of the towed vehicle before allowing the towed vehicle to be towed (fig. 3; the battery health module 125 monitors the trailer battery 130 state of health. In 320, the battery health module 125 determines the current available for trailer braking, including the calibrated values for the vehicle fuse limitations and the trailer fuse limitations. In 330, the battery health module 125 sends the Available Current signal to the trailer brake control module 140. In 340, the trailer brake control module 140 receives the Available Current signal from the battery health module 125. In 350, the trailer brake control module 140 controls the braking pressure build rate and the maximum current limits according to the current management algorithm 145; [Col. 4, ln 20-33]);
the controller is in signal communication with
the electrically actuated braking system of the towed vehicle (as shown in fig. 1 and indicated in [Col. 3, ln 18-24]), and
the VDC battery (as shown in fig. 1 and indicated in [Col. 3, ln 8-17])
via an internal bus and bus protocol (as suggested via. fig. 1);
the controller is in selective electrical communication with the electrically actuated braking system of the towed vehicle (as indicated in [Col. 3, ln 18-24]).
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Mergener, to incorporate the trailer braking system and method, as clearly suggested and taught by Brinkman, in order to provide a trailer adapted for towing by a towing vehicle ([Col. 2, ln 7-18]) and in order to control an amount of current applied to a trailer brake associated with the towed trailer ([Col. 2, ln 7-18]).
Albright teaches an analogous trailer braking system and method and further teaches
the controller is in signal communication with
a breakaway switch (fig. 6; breakaway switch; [Col. 15, ln 18-21])
the controller directs electrical energy from the VDC battery to the electrically actuated braking system of the towed vehicle in the event of the towed vehicle breaking free from the towing vehicle while in transit (fig. 6, fig. 9; Most towed vehicles have a breakaway system to apply voltage to the magnets in case the towed vehicle becomes disconnected from the towing vehicle. Si is the switch that connects BAT2 to the magnets. BAT2 is sized to provide braking for about 15 minutes. This stops the towed vehicle and keeps it from rolling until chocks or such can be placed in front of the tires; [Col. 15, ln 5-11]).
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Mergener, to incorporate the trailer braking system and method, as clearly suggested and taught by Albright, in order to prevent wheels of the towed vehicle from locking ([Col. 2, ln 50-58]) and to protect against failures in the brake control unit, the towed vehicle, or the towing vehicle ([Col. 2, ln 8-9]) and to stop the towed vehicle and keeps it from rolling until chocks or such can be placed in front of the tires ([Col. 15, ln 5-11]).
In re claim 19, see claims 14 and 17.
In re claim 20, see claims 1 and 19 above.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brinkman et al. (U.S. 11858484) in view of Albright et al. (U.S. 10040437).
In re claim 17, Brinkman teaches a self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device (as shown in fig. 1) adapted to actuate automatic braking control of, and mounted on, a towed vehicle (fig. 1; trailer 120; [Col. 3, ln 8-17]) equipped with an electrically actuated braking system (fig. 1; brakes 150, 155; [Col. 3, ln 18-24]) in electrical communication with a braking system of a towing vehicle (fig. 1; towing vehicle 100; [Col. 3, ln 8-17]; and as indicated in [Col. 3, ln 18-24]), the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device comprising:
an energy storage system supervisor module (fig. 1; battery health module 125; [Col. 3, ln 8-17]) mounted on the towed vehicle and operably coupled with the controller (fig. 1; trailer brake control module; [Col. 3, ln 8-17]), wherein
the energy storage system supervisor module is in selective electrical communication with the electrically actuated braking system of the towed vehicle (as indicated in [Col. 3, ln 18-24]);
a controller mounted on the towed vehicle (as shown in fig. 1; trailer brake control module 140 is mounted on the trailer)
wherein the controller (fig. 1; trailer brake control module 140, which executes a current management algorithm 145 stored in a memory associated with the trailer brake control module 140; [Col. 3, ln 8-17]) ensures that the energy storage system supervisor module has sufficient energy to actuate the electrically actuated braking system of the towed vehicle before allowing the towed vehicle to be towed (fig. 3; the battery health module 125 monitors the trailer battery 130 state of health. In 320, the battery health module 125 determines the current available for trailer braking, including the calibrated values for the vehicle fuse limitations and the trailer fuse limitations. In 330, the battery health module 125 sends the Available Current signal to the trailer brake control module 140. In 340, the trailer brake control module 140 receives the Available Current signal from the battery health module 125. In 350, the trailer brake control module 140 controls the braking pressure build rate and the maximum current limits according to the current management algorithm 145; [Col. 4, ln 20-33]).
Brinkman lacks
an electrical connection with a breakaway switch mounted on the towed vehicle and operably coupled with the towing vehicle;
a controller mounted on the towed vehicle and operably coupled with the breakaway switch; and
wherein the controller directs electrical energy from the energy storage system supervisor module to the electrically actuated braking system of the towed vehicle in the event of the towed vehicle breaking free from the towing vehicle while in transit.
Albright teaches an analogous trailer braking system and method and further teaches
an electrical connection with a breakaway switch (fig. 6; breakaway switch; [Col. 15, ln 18-21]) mounted on the towed vehicle and operably coupled with the towing vehicle (as indicated in fig. 3, fig. 6 and fig. 9);
a controller
wherein the controller directs electrical energy from the energy storage system supervisor module to the electrically actuated braking system of the towed vehicle in the event of the towed vehicle breaking free from the towing vehicle while in transit (fig. 6, fig. 9; Most towed vehicles have a breakaway system to apply voltage to the magnets in case the towed vehicle becomes disconnected from the towing vehicle. Si is the switch that connects BAT2 to the magnets. BAT2 is sized to provide braking for about 15 minutes. This stops the towed vehicle and keeps it from rolling until chocks or such can be placed in front of the tires; [Col. 15, ln 5-11]).
The invention of Brinkman as modified by the teachings of Albright would necessarily result in a controller mounted on the towed vehicle and operably coupled with the breakaway switch.
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Brinkman, to incorporate the trailer braking system and method, as clearly suggested and taught by Albright, in order to prevent wheels of the towed vehicle from locking ([Col. 2, ln 50-58]) and to protect against failures in the brake control unit, the towed vehicle, or the towing vehicle ([Col. 2, ln 8-9]) and to stop the towed vehicle and keeps it from rolling until chocks or such can be placed in front of the tires ([Col. 15, ln 5-11]).
In re claim 18, Brinkman as modified by Albright teaches the self-contained energy storage, distribution, and monitoring device of claim 17, and Brinkman further teaches wherein
the controller continually monitors the energy storage system supervisor module to insure
sufficient energy to stop the towed vehicle exists (fig. 3; the battery health module 125 monitors the trailer battery 130 state of health. In 320, the battery health module 125 determines the current available for trailer braking, including the calibrated values for the vehicle fuse limitations and the trailer fuse limitations. In 330, the battery health module 125 sends the Available Current signal to the trailer brake control module 140. In 340, the trailer brake control module 140 receives the Available Current signal from the battery health module 125. In 350, the trailer brake control module 140 controls the braking pressure build rate and the maximum current limits according to the current management algorithm 145; [Col. 4, ln 20-33]),
charging the energy storage system supervisor module, and/or
providing electrical energy to the towed vehicle (as indicated in fig. 1, via. trailer battery 130; [Col. 4, ln 20-33]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
The prior art of record fails to show or reasonably teach in combination a trailer braking system having the recited elements, as required by claim 15, including
wherein
the controller disconnects all 110VAC branch circuits except for a refrigerator circuit when an input from the VDC power input from the towing vehicle is detected to discouraging occupants in the towed vehicle while in motion;
or a trailer braking system having the recited elements, as required by claim 16, including
an electrical circuit that actuates the electric braking system of the towed vehicle for a fixed period after which all of a plurality of VDC branch circuits and a plurality of a plurality of 110 VAC branch circuits are disconnected to ensure the VDC battery is not discharged by an active appliance on the towed vehicle.
Conclusion
/JOHN D BAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747