Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kennedy et al.
Regarding claim 17, Kennedy et al. disclose a child chair comprising: a seat body 61; a first leg 21, coupled to the seat body, defining a first slot 28; a second leg 21, coupled to the seat body, defining a second slot 28; and a footrest 21 configured to be removably coupled to the first and second legs, the footrest comprising: a first stadium projection 29 configured to removably mate with the slot of the first leg; and a second stadium projection 29 configured to removably mate with the slot of the second leg, wherein each of the first and second stadium projections is configured to be received in a respective one of the first and second slots in a first orientation and in a second orientation, the footrest being flipped in the second orientation relative to the first orientation (the footrest can be flipped upside down and the projection will still fit the slot).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilger et al. (5,927,805) in view of Mendelovich.
Regarding claim 13, Hilger et al. disclose a child chair comprising: a seat body comprising: a seat portion 52;a first lateral side 36 extending upward in a first, non-parallel direction from the seat portion; and a second lateral side 36 extending upward in the first direction from the seat portion, the first and second lateral sides defining lateral sides of a space in which a child sits in the child; and a retainer band 44 removably coupled (in 48) the seat body, the retainer band configured to retain a child in the seat body when the retainer band is coupled with the seat body, the retainer band comprising:; a first lateral portion 46 configured to be removably coupled with the first lateral side; and a second lateral portion 46 configured to be removably coupled with the second lateral side.
However, Hilger et al. fail to disclose a central portion configured to be removably coupled with the seat portion.
Instead, Mendelovich discloses a central portion 26 configured to be removably coupled with the seat portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Mendelovich and use removable central portion in the invention of Hilger et al. in order to make it compact and reduce packaging cost.
Regarding claim 14, Mendelovich discloses a leg assembly coupled to the seat body, the leg assembly comprising: a plurality of legs, each leg comprising: a lower portion 44 and an upper portion 34, wherein the upper portion is removably coupled with the seat body, wherein the lower portion is selectively removably coupled with the upper leg portion and with the seat body; and a foot 62, wherein the foot is selectively removably coupled with the upper leg portion and with the lower leg portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Mendelovich and a foot with the invention of Hilger et al in order to prevent any injuries or accidents.
Regarding claim 15, Hilger et al. as modified with Mendelovich discloses each foot 62 is further selectively removable coupled with the seat body.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilger et al. (5,927,805) in view of Mendelovich, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Kennedy et al.
Regarding claim 16, Kennedy discloses a footrest 21 configured to be removably coupled to first and second legs of the plurality of legs, the footrest comprising: a first projection 29 configured to removably mate with a slot 28 of the first leg; and a second projection 29 configured to removably mate with a slot 28 of the second leg.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kennedy and use the footrest in the invention of Hilger et al. in order to provide additional comfort with low cost.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: There are many similarities and dissimilarities between applicant’s invention and the invention of Hilger et al. However, Hilger et al. fail to disclose the central portion, the first lateral portion, and the second lateral portion are a single component; a runner removably coupled with the retainer band; and a tray, coupled to the runner and configured to slide along the runner to adjust a depth of the tray from the seat body.
No other prior art references in the record whether taken alone or in combination can solve these dissimilarities.
Claims 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 18, Kennedy et al. fail to disclose the first stadium projection and the second stadium projection are configured to mate with the first and second slots in the first orientation in which the footrest is a first height and the second orientation in which the footrest is a second height.
Regarding claim 20, Kennedy et al. fail to disclose the first and second slots are vertical slots with an open upper portion to permit the stadium projections to be removed and inserted and a closed lower portion to retain the inserted stadium projections.
No other prior art references in the record whether taken alone or in combination can solve these dissimilarities.
Conclusion
/SYED A ISLAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636