DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 says, "wherein R1 is,". The comma after "is" should not be present.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 2-16 are dependent on claim 1 and do not resolve the indefiniteness of claim 1 and are therefore similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
The term “low” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The molecular weight of the polyamic acid used is rendered indefinite by “low”.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, “low” molecular weight shall be interpreted as less than the end product polyimide.
Regarding Claim 12, the phrase "known techniques" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements/techniques not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "known"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Examiner notes that excluding the phrase “using known techniques” would likely render this rejection moot and will examine the claim as such for the purpose of compact prosecution.
Claim Interpretation
For the purpose of examination, in claims 1 and 5, the phrase “a low molecular weight polyamic acid in a polar organic solvent on a solid support in the form of a film, where said polyamic acid was obtained by …” and the outlining of ratios of reaction for the polyamic acid are product-by-process limitations in a process claim. The specified reaction in of dianhydride in excess of diamine seems to make it clear the resulting polymer chain of the polyamic acid is amine terminated (see application specifications, [0006, 0024], pgs. 4, 8).
Therefore a prior art teaching an amine-terminated polyamic acid used in the process outlined in claim 1 should anticipate or make obvious the claimed invention.
When a product recited in product-by-process format reasonably appears to be the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the burden is on applicant to show that the prior art product is in fact different from the claimed product, even though the products may be made by different processes. See MPEP § 2113. This principle applies even in the context of a process claim that recites a step of using a product that is defined by the method by which it is produced. The nesting of a product-by-process limitation within a method claim does not change the proper construction of the product-by-process limitation itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0416465 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hwang.
Regarding Claim 1, Hwang anticipates the claim and teaches a polyimide produced by reacting 3, 3’, 4, 4’-biphenyltetracarboxylic dianhydride (BPDA) with p-phenylene diamine (PPD) in a polar organic solvent consisting of 99 wt.% N-methyl-pyrrolidone (NMP) : 1 wt.% methanol (MeOH) solvent (pg. 6, [0062]). Hwang teaches that some of the dianhydride used is ring-opened by the organic solvent, resulting in a carboxylic acid with at least 2 carboxylic acid groups present before curing (pg. 2, [0017-0019]). BPDA’s ring-opened derivatives (from reacting with the free water in NMP, NMP, and/or the MeOH, which would result in either methyl or H in the position of R2 in claim 1) are considered to be derivatives of 3, 3’, 4, 4’-biphenyltetracarboxylic acid, an aromatic tetracarboxylic acid and therefore Hwang reads on the addition of the tetracarboxylic acid and/or derivatives. Additionally, considering that the molar percent of BPDA is reduced through reacting with the solvent, the 1:1 stoichiometry of the BPDA:PPD reaction is no longer present and the PPD is in excess in this example (pg. 6, [0062]). Hwang additionally teaches that the carboxylic acid present will lower the viscosity of the polyamic acid composition, leading to enhanced processability and that after curing, the carboxylic acid may polymerize with the main chain to increase the length of the chain, resulting in excellent heat resistance, dimensional stability, and mechanical properties (pg. 2, [0018-0019]). Hwang goes on to teach that the polyamic acid can be coated on a support including inorganic substrates such as glass (pg. 6, [0055, 0059]) and removes solvent by drying at 20 to 120 °C for 5 to 60 minutes to prepare a gel film under a nitrogen atmosphere (pgs. 6-7, [0056, 0065]). Furthermore, Hwang teaches that the gel film is heated to 450 °C to cure into a polyimide film.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to add an aromatic tetracarboxylic acid like 3, 3’, 4, 4’-biphenyltetracarboxylic acid to a polyimide precursor solution to yield the increased processibility of the solution and better thermal, mechanical, and dimensional characteristics taught by Hwang (pg. 2, [0017-0019]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, Hwang teaches a polyimide, as discussed above, where the tetracarboxylic acid derivatives are BPDA’s ring-opened derivatives from reacting with the solvent and considered to be derivatives of 3,3’,4,4’-biphenyltetracarboxylic acid (pg. 2, [0017-0019]).
Regarding Claim 4, Hwang teaches a polyimide, as discussed above, where BPDA’s ring-opened derivatives are considered to be derivatives of 3, 3’, 4, 4’-biphenyltetracarboxylic acid, an aromatic tetracarboxylic acid. Additionally, the derivatives are carboxylic acids that have at least two carboxylic acid groups, meaning that at least two of the four R2 groups are H groups (pg. 2, [0017-0019]).
Regarding Claim 5, Hwang discloses a polyimide film production that follows the previously discussed method, where the BPDA is reacted with excess PPD. Given the claimed BPDA and PPD are used in the process of making the polyamic acid product, they fall under the previously mentioned product-by-process framework, where the polyamic acid should be amine terminated, as is the result from a reaction done in the presence of excess PPD.
When a product recited in product-by-process format reasonably appears to be the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the burden is on applicant to show that the prior art product is in fact different from the claimed product, even though the products may be made by different processes. See MPEP § 2113. This principle applies even in the context of a process claim that recites a step of using a product that is defined by the method by which it is produced. The nesting of a product-by-process limitation within a method claim does not change the proper construction of the product-by-process limitation itself.
Hwang goes on to teach that the BPDA-PPD reaction is done in excess of PPD where the molar ratios between each are “substantially equal” (pg. 5, [0049, 0051]). This polyamic acid formed from reacting dianhydride in excess of diamine will be necessarily amine-terminated and so Hwang’s excess BPDA-excess-PPD reaction reads on the structure of the product implied by the claimed product-by-process limitation.
Regarding Claim 7, Hwang teaches a polyimide film production that follows the previously discussed method, where the polyamic acid is prepared after the addition of BPDA and its ring-opened derivatives (pg. 6, [0062]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, Hwang teaches the polyimide film production previously discussed method, where the polar organic solvent is comprised of N-methylpyrrolidone.
Regard Claims 10 and 11, Hwang teaches a polyimide film production that follows the previously discussed method in (16), where the ratio of BPDA plus derivatives to PPD is 100:100 (pg. 6, Table 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Hwang teaches a polyimide film production that follows the previously discussed, where it further discloses the solution may have a solid content of 15 – 25 wt.% and a viscosity of 20,000 cPs or less or 10,000 cPs or less and more than 1,000 cPs at 23 °C (pg. 3, [0031]). This is sufficient to anticipate the claimed range of 2,000 – 10,000 cPs at 25 °C. Other claimed characteristics, similar or otherwise not disclosed by Hwang are considered to be inherent to the disclosed invention given the composition is considered the same and inherent properties and features need not be recognized at the relevant time. For more information, see MPEP § 2112 and MPEP § 2112.01 (II).
Regarding Claim 14, Hwang teaches a polyimide film production that follows the previously discussed method, where the polyimide film has a 10 – 20 μm thickness (pg. 6, [0058]).
Regarding Claims 15 and 16, Hwang teaches Hwang teaches a polyimide film, as discussed in (16), with a 20 – 60% elongation, an elastic modulus of 6.0 GPa – 11 GPa, and a tensile strength of 300 MPa – 600 MPa (pgs. 4-5, [0039-0040]). Other characteristics not specifically disclosed by Hwang are considered to be inherent to the disclosed invention given the composition is considered the same and inherent properties and features need not be recognized at the relevant time. For more information, see MPEP § 2112 and MPEP § 2112.01 (II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang.
Regarding Claim 6, Hwang teaches a polyimide film production that follows the previously discussed method, where the polyamic acid is prepared after the addition of BPDA and its ring-opened derivatives (pg. 6, [0062]). Hwang also teaches that the ring-opened dianhydride will not participate in the polymerization of the polyamic acid, but may act as a dilution monomer to “adjust the viscosity of the entire polyamic acid composition to be relatively low” and enhance processibility (pg. 2, [0017-0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare a polyamic acid and subsequently add BPDA’s ring-opened derivatives including 3,3’,4,4’-biphenyltetracarboxylic acid to adjust the viscosity of the polyamic acid solution for improved processibility.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hsieh et al. (Hsieh, H.-H., et al. Jnl Soc Info Display, 2013, vol. 21, p. 326-332.), hereinafter referred to as Hsieh.
Regarding Claim 12, Hwang teaches the polyimide film production previously discussed method, as well as dipping the polyimide film attached to the glass substrate in distilled water to strip the film from the support (pg. 7, [0066]). Hwang does not disclose the construction of an optical display directly on the film while on the support.
Hsieh teaches the fabrication process of active matrix organic light-emitting displays (AMOLEDs), where the polyimide film, still attached to a glass support has thin film transistors and then organic light-emitting display (OLED) devices fabricated onto the film directly, later capped with a top barrier film before being debonded with the glass. After debonding, the transistors stay attached to the polyimide-based display (pg. 327, Fig. 1 & Sec. 2, Par. 2-3) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hwang to incorporate the fabrication process taught by Miura to construct an optical display with a polyimide while still on the support since the film itself is too flexible, resulting in a display with a high glass temperature substrate film and, as well as improve post-curing mechanical, dimensional, and thermal properties, as taught by Hsieh (pg. 327, Sec. 2, Par. 2-3).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 - 3, 5 - 16 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1 - 7, 9 - 12 of Application No. 18/609,254. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claims 1-3 and 5-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5-8, and 12-16 of copending Application No. 18/609,254 (hereafter ‘254). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patently distinct from each other because the limitations in the application are clearly taught by '254.
Claim 1 of ‘254 differs from claim 1 of this application in that the reference claim recites evaporation of most of the solvent via stream of hot air of nitrogen or by heating under reduced pressure rather than requiring a generic evaporation step. Nevertheless, the application’s claim falls within the scope of claim 1 of ‘254 and therefore the claims are not patently distinct.
The features of claims 2-3 and 5-16 are taught by claims 3, 3, 4, 6, 6, 7, 7, 5, 5, 2, 9, 10, 11, and 12, respectively, of ‘254.
These are a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamaguchi (JP 2008266416 A) discloses an oligomeric polymerization strategy to develop polyimide films using a tetracarboxylic dianhydride, a diamine, and an alkoxysilane compound.
Lee and Li (US 4973661 A) discloses coupling end-capped polyamic acid intermediates with carboxylic acid and carboxylic ester.
Hwang and Park (WO 2023038322 A1) discloses a polyimide prepared from a tetracarboxylic dianhydride and derivatives and PPD.
Zhu et al. (CN 115626987 A) discloses a polyimide developed from BPDA and PPD with pyromellitic dianhydride and 4, 4'-diamino diphenyl ether added afterwards.
Choi et al. (WO 2022145891 A1) discloses the integration of an optical polyimide film into a display device.
Oka et al. (WO 2019131896 A1) teaches a polyimide composition made with tetracarboxylic acid and excess diamine, where tetracarboxylic acid or a derivative is added after to make diamine : tetracarboxylic acid and derivative approximately equivalent.
Hull and Zoombelt (US 20240059839 A1) teaches an optically transparent polyimide, derived from BPDA and diamine, for use in displays.
/ARMAN M. FARAZDAGHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762