DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The claims contain multiple limitations which are unclear with respect to the drawings due to the reference signs being omitted for some components in some figures. For instance, Figure 6 is the only figure in which reference sign “20” is used and Figure 5 is the only figure in which reference sign “19” is used. Thus, the limitation in Claim 2 reciting “a gear mounting disc (20) is arranged on a side of the end, combined with the clutch gear (6), of the line cup shaft (19)” is not clearly illustrated.
Additionally, it is unclear which component represents line cup shaft “19” because the leader for reference sign “19” appears to pointing to a component which is not supported by bearings “14” as claimed in Claim 2 (“line cup shaft bearings (14) that support the line cup shaft (19) are arranged at both ends of the line cup shaft (19)”).
Examiner requests that all components having claimed relation to each other be labeled in the same figure in order to clearly illustrate all claimed limitations.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “groove B 51”.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Pg. 4, Ln. 9-11, Figures 5 and 7 are both labeled as “a schematic structural diagram of a clutch gear.” This appears to be correct for Figure 7, but incorrect for Figure 5 as it shows a section view for the entire reel.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, Ln. 2, “the line release switch” lack sufficient antecedent basis. Examiner suggests “the line release switch” should read --a line release switch--
Claim 4, Ln. 1, “a clutch” appears to refer to “a clutch” (Claim 1, Ln. 6). Examiner suggests “a clutch” should read --the clutch--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1 and 6, the term “matches” is vague and indefinite. This term is used multiple times throughout claims 1 and 6 to relate various components to other components and it is unclear how “matches” is defined in the scope of the claims. Does matching indicate that the components have mating structures or similar shapes? Does matching indicating abutment of components? For the purpose of examination, Examiner has interpreted “matches” as indicative of two components touching each other at some point during device operation.
Claims 2-5 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekimoto (JP 2005261325 A) in view of Miyazaki (US 5,791,576) and Niitsuma (US 2015/0181853).
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 2 from Sekimoto
Regarding Claim 1, Sekimoto, Figures 1-8 and annotated Figure 1 above, teaches an electric fishing line reel 1, comprising a bracket 3, end covers 5a, 5b arranged at both ends of the bracket 3, and a line cup shaft 6 that is configured to mount a line cup 7 and drives the line cup 7 to move (See Sekimoto, Para. 0012, Ln. 3-6), wherein a clutch mechanism 60 that enables the line cup 7 to be switched between a combined state and a clutch state is arranged on one side of the line cup shaft 6 (See Sekimoto, Para. 0024, Ln. 1-3); and
the clutch mechanism 60 comprises a clutch gear 33 that is separated from/combined with the line cup shaft 6, a clutch 66 that matches the clutch gear 33 and drives the clutch gear to move in an axial direction (See Sekimoto, Para. 0025, Ln. 2-4), and a clutch cam 62 that drives the clutch 66 to move in the axial direction (See Sekimoto, Para. 0024, Ln. 4-10).
Sekimoto teaches all the elements of the electric fishing line reel except for a rectangular flat column, a rectangular groove A, and clutch gear bearings that are arranged at both ends of the clutch gear.
Figure 2. Annotated Figure 14 from Miyazaki
However, Miyazaki, Figures 1-2, 13-15, and annotated Figure 2 above, teaches a rectangular flat column 9 with inclined planes 17 on diagonal sides is at an end, combined with the clutch gear 7, of the line cup shaft 2;
a rectangular groove A 8a is at an end, combined with the line cup shaft 2, of the clutch gear 7; and
the rectangular flat column 9 matches the rectangular groove A 8a (See Miyazaki, Col. 3, Ln. 14-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Sekimoto with a rectangular flat column with inclined planes and a rectangular groove, as taught by Miyazaki, for the purpose of smoothly engaging the clutch mechanism (i.e., chamfered surfaces guide the engagement portions of the line cup shaft shaft and clutch gear to mate smoothly despite misalignments in concentricity) (See Miyazaki, Col. 2, Ln. 19-32).
Furthermore, Niitsuma, Figures 1-10, teaches wherein clutch gear bearings 38a, 38b that support the clutch gear 32 are arranged at both ends of the clutch gear 32 (See Niitsuma, Fig. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sekimoto, Miyazaki, and Niitsuma to provide clutch gear bearings that are arranged at both ends of the clutch gear, as taught by Niitsuma, for the purpose of preventing line cup deceleration during the free spooling state (i.e., clutch gear is not supported by the line cup shaft and does not make contact with the line cup shaft when clutch is disengaged) (See Niitsuma, Para. 0053, Ln. 1-5).
Regarding Claim 2, Sekimoto in view of Miyazaki and Niitsuma are advanced above.
Sekimoto further teaches wherein line cup shaft bearings 8 that support the line cup shaft 6 are arranged at both ends of the line cup shaft 6 (See Sekimoto, Fig. 2);
a gear mounting disc 24 is arranged on a side of the end, combined with the clutch gear 33, of the line cup shaft 6 (See Sekimoto, Fig. 3-4); and
three line cup driving gears 23 are uniformly distributed on the gear mounting disc 24 (See Sekimoto, Fig. 7, Para. 0016, Ln. 3-8).
Regarding Claim 4, Sekimoto in view of Miyazaki and Niitsuma are advanced above.
Sekimoto further teaches wherein the clutch 66 is arranged on an upper surface of the clutch cam 62 (See Sekimoto, Fig. 4 and 6); and
clutch sleeves 65 are arranged at both ends of the clutch 66 (See Sekimoto, Fig. 5- 6).
Figure 3. Annotated Figure 4 from Niitsuma
Niitsuma, annotated Figure 3 above, teaches a clutch pressure spring 35 is assembled above the clutch sleeve 19a (See Figure 3 above);
both ends of the clutch pressure spring 35 are respectively in contact with the clutch sleeve 19a and the end cover 6b (See Figure 3 above); and
the clutch pressure spring 35 has a compression amount (See Niitsuma, Para. 0063, Ln. 17-19).
Although Sekimoto does not explicitly teach the positioning of clutch pressure spring on the clutch sleeves and in contact with the end cover, Sekimoto discloses the use of a spring to bias the clutch cam in the clutch engaged/on position (See Sekimoto, Para. 0024, Ln. 11-14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sekimoto, Miyazaki, and Niitsuma to provide a clutch pressure spring on the clutch sleeve, with the clutch pressure spring being in contact with the clutch sleeve and the end cover, as taught by Niitsuma, for the purpose of setting the clutch on position as the default state of the clutch mechanism (See Niitsuma, Para. 0063, Ln. 17-19).
Regarding Claim 5, Sekimoto in view of Miyazaki and Niitsuma are advanced above.
Figure 4. Annotated Figure 5 from Sekimoto
Sekimoto, annotated Figure 4 above, teaches wherein a groove B 66a is formed in a center of the clutch 66 (See Figure 4 above); and
the clutch gear 33 is clamped in the groove B 66a (See Sekimoto, Para. 0025, Ln. 1-2).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekimoto (JP 2005261325 A) in view of Miyazaki (US 5,791,576) and Niitsuma (US 2015/0181853), as applied to claims 1-2 and 4-5 above, and further in view of Sato (US 5,333,812).
Regarding Claim 3, Sekimoto in view of Miyazaki and Niitsuma are advanced above.
Sekimoto further teaches wherein the clutch cam 62 is connected to the line release switch 61 through a connecting rod 61a (See Figure 4 above); and
the clutch cam 62 is mounted on the bracket 3 (See Figure 1 above).
Sekimoto in view of Miyazaki and Niitsuma teach all the elements of the electric fishing line reel except for anti-friction plates being arranged between the line release switch and the bracket.
Although Sato does not explicitly teach anti-friction plates with smooth surfaces are arranged between the line release switch and the bracket, Sato discloses an anti-friction plate 36 with smooth surfaces is arranged between the clutch cam 16 and the bracket 2P (See Sato, Col. 2, Ln. 14-21, Col. 4, Ln. 6-19). Because Sato highlights the importance of frictional coefficient and wear resistance for components in sliding contact which are slid against each other repeatedly (See Sato, Col. 1, Ln. 37-48), it is implied that anti-friction plates (smoothing supports), as taught by Sato, can be applied to other areas of the reel to improve wear resistance and maintain smooth operation of the clutch mechanism. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sekimoto, Miyazaki, Niitsuma and Sato to provide anti-friction plates with smooth surfaces arranged between the line release switch and the bracket for the purpose of reducing wear despite repeated operation of the clutch mechanism (See Sato, Col. 2, Ln. 4-11).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekimoto (JP 2005261325 A) in view of Miyazaki (US 5,791,576) and Niitsuma (US 2015/0181853), as applied to claims 1-2 and 4-5 above, and further in view of Matsuno (US 12,453,339).
Regarding Claim 6, Sekimoto in view of Miyazaki and Niitsuma are advanced above.
Sekimoto further teaches a clutch claw 37 is also mounted on the bracket 3 (See Sekimoto, Para. 0022, Ln. 1-3);
Sekimoto in view of Miyazaki and Niitsuma teach all the elements of the electric fishing line reel except for a pressing plate, hanging hook A and hanging hook B with a tension spring connecting hanging hook A and hanging hook B, a trajectory surface, reset surfaces, pushing surfaces, and a clutch claw column.
Figure 5. Annotated Figure 3B from Matsuno
Figure 6. Annotated Figure 4 from Matsuno
However, Matsuno, Figures 1-4 and annotated Figures 5-6 above, teaches wherein the clutch cam 23 is pressed by using a pressing plate 50 (See Matsuno, Col. 11, Ln. 41-43);
the pressing plate 50 is fixed to the bracket 2 (See Matsuno, Col. 11, Ln. 41-43);
a hanging hook A 32c’ is arranged on the clutch claw 32;
a hanging hook B 54 is arranged on the pressing plate 50;
two ends of a tension spring 34 are respectively connected to the hanging hook A 32c’ and the hanging hook B 54;
the clutch claw 32 has a trajectory surface 32b, a reset surface B 32f, and a pushing surface A 32c;
the reset surface 32f of the clutch claw 32 matches a reset surface A 23m of the clutch cam 23;
the pushing surface A 32c of the clutch claw 32 matches a pushing surface B 31a of a check wheel 31 (See Matsuno, Col. 7, Ln. 25-26); and
the trajectory surface 32b of the clutch claw 32 matches a clutch claw column 33 (See Matsuno, Col. 7, Ln. 23-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sekimoto, Miyazaki, Niitsuma, and Matsuno to provide a pressing plate, hanging hook B, a tension spring connecting hanging hook A and hanging hook B, a trajectory surface, reset surfaces, pushing surfaces, a check wheel and a clutch claw column, as taught by Matsuno, for the purpose of preventing an increase in size of the reel body (i.e., a smaller reel body can be utilized because clutch cam rotates in place rather than sliding linearly) (See Matsuno, Col. 2, Ln. 32-37).
Conclusion
/T.D.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619