DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is the response to amendment filed 04/13/2026 for application 18/667043.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claims 1, 4-9, 12, and 15-18 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QUIGNARD (WO2012140335A1) in view of the machine translation of QUIGNARD.
QUIGNARD teaches a biomass hydroconversion method comprising a step of hydroconversion of the feedstock in at least one reactor containing a bubbling-bed supported catalyst and another reactor with a dispersed catalyst.
Regarding claim 1, QUIGNARD teaches on page 8 the feedstock is sent to a slurry reactor to hydroconvert with a slurry catalyst in the presence of hydrogen with an upward flow of liquid, gas, and catalyst. The feedstock is taught on pages 2 and 5 to include fats and vegetable and animal oils. The catalyst is taught on page 3 to be dispersed and evacuated along with the slurry effluent. The slurry effluent is then separated into gases, a residual fraction containing at least a portion of the solid particles of the dispersed catalyst and a liquid fraction or fractions. (a slurry reactor that is a bubble column reactor configured to convert, under slurry hydroconversion conditions, a slurry reactor content flowing upwards and comprising a feedstock comprising one or more of fats, oils and greases, a slurry hydroconversion catalyst and a hydrogen stream to a slurry hydroconversion effluent comprising a slurry phase effluent comprising catalyst particles and liquid product and a vapor phase effluent comprising a hydroconversion product)
The reactor is taught in page 8 to comprise an internal recirculation pump. An internal recirculation pump is recognized by the specification as a separation unit that at least partially separates one or more chemical constituents in a mixture form one another. Furthermore, QUIGNARD teach in page 9 another embodiment with an internal separation zone and a separate liquid recycling pump improving dispersion of the catalyst and its circulation in the reactor. (a separation unit internal to the slurry reactor, the separation unit being configured to separate at least a portion of the vapor phase effluent from the slurry hydroconversion effluent to produce a mixture of vapor and the slurry hydroconversion effluent having a reduced vapor phase content;
wherein the separation unit is configured to use a pump to recirculate the mixture of vapor and the slurry hydroconversion effluent having a reduced vapor phase content flowing downwards in the slurry reactor to be combined with the slurry reactor content)
The internal separator is taught on page 9 to improve dispersion of the slurry catalyst and its circulation under conditions that fall within the scope taught in QUIGNARD. The management of the different thermal levels in the slurry reactor is also taught on page 9 to be ensured. The catalyst is further taught on page 8 to be as uniformly distributed as possible. (wherein the slurry reactor is further configured to provide backmixing to fluidize the slurry hydroconversion catalyst to maintain a substantially homogeneous slurry reactor content, and a substantially isothermal temperature profile in the slurry reactor)
The conversion of the feed into the slurry reactor is taught on page 8 to be between 50 to 100%. (wherein at least about 60% of the feedstock is converted into the vapor phase effluent)
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 12, QUIGNARD teaches on page 8 the feedstock is sent to a slurry reactor to hydroconvert with a slurry catalyst in the presence of hydrogen with an upward flow of liquid, gas, and catalyst. The feedstock is taught on pages 2 and 5 to include fats and vegetable and animal oils. The catalyst is taught on page 3 to be dispersed and evacuated along with the slurry effluent. The slurry effluent is then separated into gases, a residual fraction containing at least a portion of the solid particles of the dispersed catalyst and a liquid fraction or fractions. (converting, under slurry hydroconversion conditions, a slurry reactor content flowing upwards and comprising a feedstock comprising one or more of fats, oils and greases, a slurry hydroconversion catalyst and a hydrogen stream to a slurry hydroconversion effluent comprising a slurry phase effluent comprising catalyst particles and liquid product and a vapor phase effluent comprising a hydroconversion product)
The reactor is taught in page 8 to comprise an internal recirculation pump. An internal recirculation pump is recognized by the specification as a separation unit that at least partially separates one or more chemical constituents in a mixture form one another. Furthermore, QUIGNARD teach in page 9 another embodiment with an internal separation zone and a separate liquid recycling pump improving dispersion of the catalyst and its circulation in the reactor. (separating, in a separation unit internal to the slurry reactor, at least a portion of the vapor phase effluent from the slurry hydroconversion effluent to produce a mixture of vapor and the slurry hydroconversion effluent having a reduced vapor phase content;
Recirculating, utilizing a pump operatively connected to the slurry reactor, the mixture of vapor and the slurry hydroconversion effluent having a reduced vapor phase content flowing downwards in the slurry reactor to be combined with the slurry reactor content)
The internal separator is taught on page 9 to improve dispersion of the slurry catalyst and its circulation under conditions that fall within the scope taught in QUIGNARD. The management of the different thermal levels in the slurry reactor is also taught on page 9 to be ensured. The catalyst is further taught on page 8 to be as uniformly distributed as possible. (wherein the slurry reactor is further configured to provide backmixing to fluidize the slurry hydroconversion catalyst to maintain a substantially homogeneous slurry reactor content, and a substantially isothermal temperature profile in the slurry reactor)
The conversion of the feed into the slurry reactor is taught on page 8 to be between 50 to 100%. (wherein at least about 60% of the feedstock is converted into the vapor phase effluent)
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 2-3 and 13-14, the conversion of the feed into the slurry reactor is taught on page 8 to be between 50 to 100%. (wherein at least about 80% and 90% of the feedstock is converted into the vapor phase effluent)
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 15, QUIGNARD teaches on page 8 the feedstock is sent to a slurry reactor to hydroconvert with a slurry catalyst in the presence of hydrogen with an upward flow of liquid, gas, and catalyst.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, QUIGNARD teaches on page 8 the feedstock is sent to a slurry reactor to hydroconvert with a slurry catalyst in the presence of hydrogen with an upward flow of gas. A recirculating internal pump is taught on page 8 and would be expected to recirculate at least a portion of the upward flow of gas.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, QUIGNARD teach on page 9 that the effluent leaving the slurry reactor may be subjected to another step of separation using known technology. The separation is detailed on page 10 that thoroughly separates the effluent in to gases, a residual fraction containing at least a portion of the solid particles of the dispersed catalyst and one or more liquid fractions.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, QUIGNARD teach on page 8 that the feedstock flows from the bottom to the top and the effluent exits from the top of slurry reactor.
Regarding claim 10 and 19, the feedstock is taught on pages 2 and 5 to include fats and vegetable and animal oils.
Regarding claim 11 and 20, the slurry catalyst is taught on page 8 and include sulfurized catalyst containing at least one member selected from a group consisting of Mo, Fe, Ni, W, Co, V and Ru. The catalysts are further to be sulfided ex-situ or in-situ.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QUIGNARD (WO2012140335A1) in view of the machine translation of QUIGNARD as applied to claims 1-3 and 7-20 above, and further in view of KENDRICK et al. (USPGPUB 2002/0173598).
The above discussion of QUIGNARD is incorporated herein by reference.
QUIGNARD teaches on pages 8 and 9 embodiments with an internal recirculation pump and an internal separator with a recycling pump. The recycling pump is taught in the figures to be external to the reactor. QUIGNARD teaches on page 9 that the slurry hydroconversion reactor can have in the same way an internal separation zone and a separate recycling pump.
KENDRICK et al. teach in paragraph 64 a slurry loop reactor with a circulator. The circulator comprises a pump and a motor with the motor increasing the pressure in the circulating slurry in the loop reactor.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add motors with the pumps in the slurry reactors in QUIGNARD.
The motors would help with drive the pressure in the circulating slurry.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QUIGNARD (WO2012140335A1) in view of the machine translation of QUIGNARD as applied to claims 1-3 and 7-20 above, and further in view of CHAKRABARTY (US 5935418).
The above discussion of QUIGNARD is incorporated herein by reference.
QUIGNARD teach on page 8 the conditions in the slurry reactor includes the presence of hydrogen and teaches on page 9 that hydrogen is supplied to the reactors through lines.
CHAKRABARTY teaches slurry hydroprocessing with a slurry reactor.
CHAKRABARTY teaches in lines 45-51 of column 2 a gas sparger located at the bottom of the reactor for introducing primary or supplemental hydrogen. Supplemental hydrogen may also be introduced through a line.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace or add a gas sparger to introduce supplemental hydrogen into the reactor that is taught in QUIGNARD as a gas sparger is recognized in the art as an equivalent for to a line for introducing hydrogen into a slurry reactor.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to require a “bubble column reactor” has necessitated a new grounds of rejection.
However, Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in overcoming the same prior art that has been applied.
Applicant argues that the prior art, specifically QUIGNARD, do not teach a bubble column reactor. Applicant further argues that QUIGNARD therefore do not teach performing the steps in a bubble column reactor.
A “bubble column reactor” is defined in paragraphs 72-73 of the current specification. A bubble column reactor is “an upflow reactor in which a feedstock and a slurry hydroconversion catalyst (also referred to as feed stream) are introduced into slurry reactor 104 via line 101 and the hydrogen stream is introduced into slurry reactor 104 via line 102 at or near the bottom of slurry reactor 104”.
QUIGNARD teaches on page 8 the feedstock is sent to a slurry reactor to hydroconvert with a slurry catalyst in the presence of hydrogen with an upward flow of liquid, gas, and catalyst.
The slurry reactor that QUIGNARD meets the definition of a bubble column reactor as defined by the current specification.
The feedstock is taught on pages 2 and 5 to include fats and vegetable and animal oils. The catalyst is taught on page 3 to be dispersed and evacuated along with the slurry effluent. The conversion of the feed into the slurry reactor is taught on page 8 to be between 50 to 100%.
QUIGNARD teaches the steps, including the conversion rate in the slurry reactor that overlaps with that which is claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SONG et al. (USPGPUB 2012/0315202) teaches an apparatus and method for hydroconversion using a slurry reactor with a sparger.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MING CHEUNG PO/Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/ELLEN M MCAVOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771