DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2024-0013087, filed on 01/29/2024.
Drawings
The drawings received on 05/17/2024 are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “141a”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The specification filed on 05/17/2024 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9-15, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN 114899556 A; hereinafter “Wu”; hereinafter US 2024/0304907 A1 will be referenced as English language equivalent), in view of Yamashita et al. (WO 2023167010 A1; hereinafter “Yamashita”; hereinafter US 2025/0183429 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a cylindrical secondary battery [0037] comprising: an electrode assembly [battery cell; 0037]; a case [0009] that accommodates the electrode assembly [Wu: Figure 2, wherein the battery cell (5) is within housing (2)], wherein a lower end of the case is opened ([t]he first rolling groove is welded with the negative electrode current collector disk, the sealing element is accommodated in the second rolling groove to seal an opening of the housing; [0050]; directed to figure 5), and wherein the case is configured to be electrically connected to the second electrode plate ([t]he negative electrode current collector disk is attached on a lower end surface of the battery cell and electrically connected with a negative tab of the battery cell, and the negative electrode current collector disk is further welded with the housing; [0037]); a first current collector plate (positive electrode current collector disk; [0037]) disposed between a top surface of the electrode assembly and the case ([t]he positive electrode current collector disk is disposed on an upper end surface of the battery cell; [0037]), wherein the first current collector plate is electrically connected to the first electrode plate (electrically connected with a positive tab of the battery cell; [0037]); a terminal which passes through a top surface part of the case (the terminal pole column passes through the first through-hole defined in the top cover of the housing and the upper plastic member; [0042]), wherein a lower end of the terminal is electrically and mechanically coupled to a top surface of the first current collector plate (realizing that the terminal pole column is electrically connected with the positive electrode current collector disk; [0038]); and a cap plate configured to seal the lower end of the case ([t]he sealing end of the housing is grooved, and the sealing element 3 is accommodated in the second groove , thereby not only fixing the sealing element stably, but also greatly improving a sealing effect of the sealing end of the housing ; [0050]), wherein the terminal comprises: a main body having a flat top surface (an upper top surface of the terminal pole column and an upper top surface of the upper plastic member are flush with each other, so that not only a top of the battery is more flat and aesthetic; [0042), and a welding groove recessed downward from a top surface of the terminal outside the main body (the terminal pole column bends outward to form the flange; [0042], see figure 5).
Wu fails to explicitly disclose that the electrode assembly comprises: a first electrode plate, a separator, and a second electrode plate.
Yamashita teaches that the electrode assembly includes a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and separators, and has a structure in which the positive electrode and the negative electrode are wound in a spiral via the separators; [0016].
Wu and Yamashita are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely cylindrical batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art for the electrode assembly to comprise a first electrode plate, a separator, and a second electrode plate, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would one facilitate a side surface connection in which a positive side is connected at a positive electrode of the battery on a top surface of a cap and a negative side is connected at a staking portion (staking shoulder portion) of the battery [0002],as suggested by Yamashita.
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu fails to disclose that the welding groove has an arc, line, or circular ring shape on a plane.
Yamashita teaches that a flange of the cap of a cylindrical battery is in a flat annular shape with a uniform plate thickness; [0028].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include the welding groove with an arc, line, or circular ring shape on a plane in the disclosed invention of Wu, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would result in the center portion being detached from the annular portion and the terminal plate rupturing, therefore disconnecting the current path when abnormal conditions occur within the battery [0026], as suggested by Yamashita.
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu discloses that the terminal further comprises a coupling part disposed outside the main body to fix the terminal to the case (the pole column part, the pole plate part, and the sealing flange are integrally formed to simplify production processes of the terminal pole column; [0044]; the terminal pole column bends outward to form a flange and abuts against the upper plastic member, so that the upper plastic member and the top cover of the housing are firmly sleeved by the terminal pole column to realize a sealing effect; [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu discloses that the coupling part (sealing flange and pole part) comprises: an upper coupling part disposed above the top surface part of the case (the sealing flange 62 is disposed surrounding an outer periphery of the pole plate part 63, and the sealing flange 62 bents outward relative to the pole column part 61 [0044]); and a lower coupling part disposed below the top surface part of the case ([t]he pole plate part is connected with the pole column part, and the pole plate part is located below the second sealing ring and the lower plastic member; [0044]; see figure 4).
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu discloses that the lower coupling part comprises a head, and an end of the head extends further outward than an end of the upper coupling part on a plane (as shown in 1.1. Modified figure 3 of Wu, the pole plate part extends longer than the head of the sealing flange on a plane).
<1.1. Modified figure 2 of Wu et al.>
Regarding claim 9, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu discloses that the upper coupling part and the head are combined to provide a U-shape (see 1.2. Modified figure 4 of Wu).
<1.2. Modified figure 4 of Wu et al.>
Regarding claim 10, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu discloses that a top surface of the main body is disposed above a top surface of the coupling part such that the main body protrudes upward further than the top surface of the coupling part (in the battery of related technology, in order to increase the insulating medium in the vertical direction between the terminal pole column and the top cover of the housing, the terminal pole column is generally far higher than a height of the upper plastic member; [0041]).
Regarding claim 11, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu discloses that a planar size of the main body is greater than a planar size of the coupling part (see 1.3. modified figure 2 of Wu; wherein the planar top surface of the main body is greater than the top surface of the sealing flange).
<1.3. Modified figure 2 of Wu et al.>
Regarding claim 12, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 4, further comprising a first gasket disposed between the terminal and the case (the second sealing ring is sandwiched between the terminal pole column, an inner peripheral wall of the first through-hole defined on the top cover of the housing; [0039]) to electrically separate the terminal and the case from each other (a second sealing ring so as to ensure an insulation characteristic between the terminal pole column and the housing; [0039]).
Regarding claims 13 and 15, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu discloses that an upper end of the first gasket extends further than an end of the upper coupling part by a first length ([t]he upper plastic member is disposed on the top cover of the upper end surface of the housing; [0039]; see 1.4. Modified figure 4 of Wu below), and that the upper end of the first gasket is bent upward to extend upward (see 1.4. Modified figure 4 of Wu below).
<1.4. Modified figure 4 of Wu et al.>
Regarding claim 14, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu discloses the first length is about 2 mm or less (see 1.2. Modified figure 4 of Wu above). Thus, as shown in figure 4, the sealing flange (upper coupling part) is in direct contact with the upper plastic (first gasket), therefore, the length between them (first length) is 0 mm.
Regarding claim 19, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu discloses that wherein the case comprises a beading part recessed from an upper portion of the cap plate toward the inside of the case, and a crimping part disposed below the beading part and the cap plate; and wherein a lower end of the case is bent inward to fix the cap plate (The sealing element is accommodated between the third rolling groove edge and the fourth rolling groove edge, so that the sealing element is capable of covering a lower side of the third rolling groove edge to seal the first rolling groove; [0053]; Wu: Figure 5).
Regarding claim 21, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 19, further comprising a second current collector plate disposed between a bottom surface of the electrode assembly and a cap assembly (the negative electrode current collector disk 1 is attached on a lower end surface of the battery cell 5 and electrically connected with a negative tab of the battery cell 5, [0037]) to electrically connect the second electrode plate to the beading part (the negative electrode current collector disk is electrically connected with the housing by welding; [0048]).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN 114899556 A; hereinafter “Wu”; hereinafter US 2024/0304907 A1 will be referenced as English language equivalent), in view of Yamashita et al. (WO 2023167010 A1; hereinafter “Yamashita”; hereinafter US 20250183429 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent), as applied to claim 4 above, and in further view of Jo et al. (CN 116014307 A; hereinafter “Jo”; hereinafter US 2025/0038316 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent).
Regarding claim 5, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu discloses that an end of the upper coupling part is disposed outside the lower coupling part on a plane (The sealing flange is connected with the pole plate part and disposed opposite to the pole plate part, the sealing flange bents outward relative to the pole column part and the pole plate part and abuts against the bottom wall of the accommodating groove; [0044]).
Wu fails to disclose that the lower coupling part is pressed by riveting.
Jo teaches that the riveting structure of the electrode terminal may be formed using a caulking jig that moves up and down [0209], wherein a preform (electrode terminal before being riveted) is inserted into the perforated hole formed in the closed portion of the battery housing with the insulating gasket interposed therebetween [0209]. Next, the caulking jig is inserted into the inner space of the battery housing, wherein the caulking jig has a groove and a protrusion corresponding to the final shape of the electrode terminal on the surface facing the preform in order to form the electrode terminal by riveting the preform [0210].
Wu and Jo are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely cylindrical secondary batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include the lower coupling part being pressed by riveting into the invention disclosed by Wu with the reasonable expectation that doing so would facilitate the transformation of the preform into a riveted electrode terminal [0211], as suggested by Jo.
Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu discloses that the lower coupling part has a thickness greater than the thickness of other areas of the coupling part (see 1.5. Modified figure 2 of Wu below, wherein the thickness of upper coupling portion is less than the thickness of the lower coupling portion).
<1.5. Modified figure 2 of Wu et al.>
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu fails to disclose that the upper coupling part is bent by being pressed outward.
Jo teaches that the caulking jig is moved downward to press-form the upper portion of the preform (electrode terminal before being riveted [0209]) so that the preform is transformed into a riveted electrode terminal [0211], wherein the electrode terminal may include an outer flange portion extending along the outer surface from a circumference of one side of the body portion exposed through the outer surface of the closed portion of the battery housing.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include the upper coupling part being bent by being pressed outward into the invention disclosed by Wu with the reasonable expectation that doing so would facilitate the transformation of the preform into a riveted electrode terminal [0211], as suggested by Jo.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN 114899556 A; hereinafter “Wu”; hereinafter US 2024/0304907 A1 will be referenced as English language equivalent), in view of Yamashita et al. (WO 2023167010 A1; hereinafter “Yamashita”; hereinafter US 20250183429 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Jeong et al. (US 20230020769 A1; hereinafter “Jeong”).
Regarding claim 16, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu fails to disclose that the first current collector plate is welded outside the terminal through the welding groove such that the top surface of the first current collector plate is in contact with a bottom surface of the terminal and such that a welding bead is disposed in the welding groove.
Jeong teaches that the collector plate is in contact with the lower portion of the first terminal. Further, welding may be performed through welding beams, and because the lower surface 241a of the first terminal 240 is formed relatively deep inside the first terminal 240 due to the coupling groove 241b formed in the center of the first terminal 240, welding may be performed as long as the welding beams W may suitably transmit only through the corresponding thickness to reach the lower surface 241a of the first terminal [0059].
Wu and Jeong are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery cells.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include a width at an upper portion of the welding groove being greater than a width at a lower portion of the welding groove in the invention disclosed by Wu, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would improve welding quality of an electrode terminal, may reduce foreign materials due to welding, may reduce costs, and may improve an assembling process. [0005], as suggested by Jeong.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN 114899556 A; hereinafter “Wu”; hereinafter US 2024/0304907 A1 will be referenced as English language equivalent), in view of Yamashita et al. (WO 2023167010 A1; hereinafter “Yamashita”; hereinafter US 20250183429 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Su et al. (US 20230048125 A1; hereinafter “Su”).
Regarding claim 17, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu fails to disclose that in the welding groove, a width at an upper portion of the welding groove is greater than a width at a lower portion of the welding groove.
Su teaches, directed to a battery cell, that the dimension of the reinforcing part 234 in the extending direction X of the welding groove 232 (the width of the reinforcing part 234) gradually decreases from the first end 2341 to the second end 2342, so that at least one side of the reinforcing part 234 in the extending direction X of the welding groove 232 is provided with a sloping surface 2343, the sloping surface 2343 is connected to the bottom surface 2321 of the welding groove 232, and the first part 261 is formed on the sloping surface 2343.
Wu and Su are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery cells.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include a width at an upper portion of the welding groove being greater than a width at a lower portion of the welding groove in the invention disclosed by Wu, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would save materials while ensuring that the reinforcing part has better reinforcing ability [0117], as suggested by Su.
Claim(s) 18 and 20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN 114899556 A; hereinafter “Wu”; hereinafter US 2024/0304907 A1 will be referenced as English language equivalent), in view of Yamashita et al. (WO 2023167010 A1; hereinafter “Yamashita”; hereinafter US 20250183429 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent), as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and in further view of Kim et al. (CN 218769655 U; hereinafter “Kim”; hereinafter US 2024/0234974 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent).
Regarding claim 18, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu discloses that a thickness of a lower portion of an area of the terminal in which the welding groove is provided is less than that of other areas of the terminal measured from a bottom surface of the terminal (see 1.6. Modified figure 8 of Kim below, wherein the thickness if upper coupling portion is less than the thickness of the lower coupling portion).
<1.6. Modified figure 8 of Kim et al.>
Wu and Kim are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely cylindrical secondary batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include a thickness of a lower portion of an area of the terminal in which the welding groove is provided being less than that of other areas of the terminal measured from a bottom surface of the terminal in the invention disclosed by Wu, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would increase in energy density, an increase in safety against thermal runaway, and an improvement in cooling efficiency [0235], as suggested by Kim.
Regarding claim 20, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 19, further comprising a second gasket disposed between the cap plate and the beading part and between the cap plate and the crimping part (the first sealing ring is provided with a protective tongue extending towards a central direction of the housing, where the protective tongue is located between the sealing element and the welding step, and the protective tongue and the welding mark formed after welding the negative electrode current collector disk are spaced from each other, so that the protective tongue is capable of protecting a side of the welding mask during a process of sealing the opening of the battery, a stress applied to the welding position of the first sealing ring may be reduced, thereby protecting the welding position from cracking, and ensuring stability and reliability of the welding [0056]).
Wu fails to disclose that the cap plate is non-polar.
Kim teaches that the sealing body may include a non-polar cap plate and a sealing gasket interposed between the edge of the cap plate and the open portion of the battery can, [0181].
Wu and Kim are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely cylindrical secondary batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include a non-polar cap plate in the invention disclosed by Wu, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would electrically insulate the cap from the battery can and the electrode terminal [0182], as suggested by Kim.
Regarding claim 22, Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Wu fails to discloses that the top surface of the main body has a diameter of about 11 mm or more.
Kim teaches, directed to a cylindrical battery, that the flat portion of the electrode terminal may have a diameter of 3 mm to 14 mm; [0040]).
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one
having ordinary skill in the art that flat portion of the electrode terminal disclosed by Wu must have a diameter, and would thus reasonably understand that such an diameter must necessarily be at some length of about 11mm or more, in order to secure a laser welding portion in the weldable area [0309], and would thus find it obvious to routinely select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges (3 mm to 14 mm overlaps about 11 mm or more) because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Jung et al. (US 2023/0231236 A1) discloses a secondary battery which can be compressed with an insulating member due to a protrusion provided in a terminal hole in a case, thereby improving sealing force between the case and a terminal.
/J.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 08/25/2026