This is the final Office Action for the serial number 18/667,111, LIGHTWEIGHT MOBILE DEVICE SUPPORT, filed on 5/17/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent # 11,494,008 to He et al.
He et al. teaches support (2) comprising two longitudinal cutting slits, formed on both side of the support and extending along both side of the support respectively. The support includes a first transverse flexible part (344) and a second transverse flexible part (342) with both ends coupled to ends of the two longitudinal cutting slits respectively and comprising at least one flexible subpart (343) disposed between the first transverse flexible part and the second transverse flexible part and at least one pair of peripheral transverse flexible parts (341) disposed in an area between the two longitudinal cutting slits and both sides of the support. Wherein a ratio between a height of the support and a length of any of the two longitudinal cutting slits needs to satisfy a critical ratio. The support comprises only flexible subpart (343), a first part (33) disposed between the first transverse flexible part and the flexible subpart, a second part (32) disposed between the flexible subpart and the second transverse flexible part and a third part (31) disposed between the second transverse flexible part and a side of the support. The support only comprises a pair of peripheral transverse flexible parts (341). Wherein the first part and the second part attached and abut each other by bending the first transverse flexible part, second transverse flexible part and the flexible subpart to define a bending state. The second part attaches and abuts the third part by bending the first transverse flexible part, the second transverse flexible part and the flexible subpart to define a bending state. The pair of peripheral transverse flexible parts are parallel to the first transverse flexible part and the flexible subpart respectively and the pair of peripheral transverse flexible parts are adjacent to the flexible subpart. Wherein the first part and the second part abut each other, the first part or the second part and the third part intersect each other. The support is coupled to mobile device and situated in the bending state, only a side of the flexible subpart or the third part abuts a plane to erect the mobile device at an angle from the plane.
He et al. teaches the ratio but fails to teach the specific ratio range between 1.16-2 and 1.21-175. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specified the ratio range between 1.16-2 and 1.21-1.75 to provide convenience for adjusting the support at a specific position.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication # 2013/0193011 to Scanlan et al.
He et al. teaches support but fails to teach the support and second part or third part comprising a plurality of depression areas with ferromagnetic. Scanlan et al. teaches the plurality of depression areas (apertures, section 0030) with ferromagnetic (section 0030). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified He et al.’s support, second part or third part with depression and magnets installed in the depression as taught by Scanlan et al. to provide “a locking relationship” (section 0030 in Scanlan et al.’s invention).
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. in view of US Patent # 6,197,396 to Haas et al.
He et al. teaches the support but fails to teach the support comprises an adhesive area. Haas et al. teaches the adhesive area (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified He et al.’s support with adhesive area as taught by Haas et al. to “joined to each other” (see abstract in Haas et al.’s invention).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues the prior art, US Patent # 11,494,008 to He fails to teach the limitation with the ratio range between 1.21 and 1.75”. The examiner disagrees with the applicant since He teaches all of the limitation but fails to teach the ratio range between 1.21 and 1.75”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specified the ratio range between 1.21-1.75 to provide convenience for adjusting the support at a specific position.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALFRED J. WUJCIAK
Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ALFRED J WUJCIAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636 4/20/26