DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the requirement “wherein a width of the second flow path decreases toward a central axis that extends parallel to the first direction” of claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-12, 17 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scholl (WO 2018/219666 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Scholl teaches a noise reduction device (Figures 1-6, #34) for use in a cleaner (10) comprising: a first flow path (defined by flow path along axis #76) having a first end (bottom end of #34) that communicates with an air outlet (32) of the cleaner (10), and a second end (top end of #34 having cap #110) that is open (note grid/openings in cap #110), the first flow path extending in a first direction (vertical direction); and a second flow path (defined by flow path within resonators #42 or #116, perpendicular to first flow path along axis #76, denoted by unlabeled arrows within resonators #42/116 in Figures 5 and 6) having a first end (opening end of resonators #42/116 connected to pipe #114, denoted as #96 in Figure 4) connected to the first flow path (defined by flow path along axis #76) between the first end (bottom end of #34) and the second end (top end of #34 having cap #110) of the first flow path, and a second end that is closed (defined closed outer end wall of resonators #42/116 opposite to end connected to pipe #114 denoted as #94 in Figure 4), the second flow path extending in a second direction (horizontal direction) intersecting the first direction (vertical direction), wherein the first flow path is disposed around the second flow path in a plan view. Note that Merriam-Webster defines “around” as “on all or various sides : in every or any direction” (see https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/around).
With respect to claim 2, Scholl teaches wherein the first flow path (defined by flow path along axis #76) has a ring shape (inherent to cylindrical pipe #114 delimiting first flow path) around a central axis (76) that extends parallel to the first direction.
With respect to claim 3, Scholl teaches wherein the second flow path (defined by flow path within resonator #42, perpendicular to first flow path along axis #76, denoted by unlabeled arrows within resonator #42 in Figure 5) has a ring shape around a central axis (48) that extends parallel to the first direction (clearly seen).
With respect to claim 5, Scholl teaches wherein the second flow path (defined by flow path within resonator #116, perpendicular to first flow path along axis #76, denoted by unlabeled arrows within resonator #116 in Figure 6) has a uniform width.
With respect to claim 6, Scholl teaches wherein a width of the first end (opening end of resonator #42 connected to pipe #114, denoted as #96 in Figure 4) of the second flow path is greater (note flared open side #96 in Figure 4) than a width of the second end (defined closed outer end wall of resonator #42 opposite to end connected to pipe #114 denoted as #94 in Figure 4) of the second flow path.
With respect to claim 7, Scholl teaches wherein the second flow path (defined by flow path within resonator #116, perpendicular to first flow path along axis #76, denoted by unlabeled arrows within resonator #116 in Figure 6) has a uniform thickness.
With respect to claim 8, Scholl teaches wherein a thickness of the first end (opening end of resonator #42 connected to pipe #114, denoted as #96 in Figure 4) of the second flow path is greater than a thickness of the second end (defined closed outer end wall of resonator #42 opposite to end connected to pipe #114 denoted as #94 in Figure 4) of the second flow path.
With respect to claim 11, Scholl teaches wherein the second flow path (defined by flow path within resonator #42, perpendicular to first flow path along axis #76, denoted by unlabeled arrows within resonator #42 in Figure 5) has a ring shape (note ring shape of resonator #42), and a length of the second flow path (length defined by open end #96 and closed end #94 in Figure 4) is less than a radius (radius extending from central axis #48 to closed end #94 of second flow path/ring shape) of the ring shape defined by the second flow path.
With respect to claim 12, Scholl teaches wherein a width of the first flow path (defined by flow path along axis #76) is greater than a thickness of the second flow path (defined by flow path within resonators #42 or #116, perpendicular to first flow path along axis #76, denoted by unlabeled arrows within resonators #42/116 in Figures 5 and 6).
With respect to claim 17, Scholl teaches further comprising a lower housing (see annotated view of Figure 4, provided below) that is configured to be coupled to the cleaner (10) and that defines a portion of the first flow path (defined by flow path along axis #76) and the second flow path (defined by flow path within resonator #42, perpendicular to first flow path along axis #48/76, denoted by unlabeled arrows within resonator #42 in Figure 5).
With respect to claim 21, Scholl teaches further comprising an upper housing (see annotated view of Figure 4, provided above – note upper housing includes) that is coupled to the lower housing and that defines another portion of the first flow path (defined by flow path within resonator #42, perpendicular to first flow path along axis #48/76, denoted by unlabeled arrows within resonator #42 in Figure 5).
With respect to claim 22, Scholl teaches wherein the upper housing comprises: an upper lateral wall (defined by lateral outer wall of pipe #46) defining sides of an upper space (defined by space within pipe #46); an upper top wall (110) that is connected to one end of the upper lateral wall and that is positioned over the upper space; and a plurality of upper holes (note grid/openings in cap #110) that are provided in the upper top wall (110) and communicate with the first flow path (defined by flow path within resonator #42, perpendicular to first flow path along axis #48/76, denoted by unlabeled arrows within resonator #42 in Figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholl (WO 2018/219666 A1).
With respect to claims 9-10 and 13, Scholl teaches the noise reduction device of claim 1.
Scholl fails to explicitly teach wherein a width of the second flow path decreases toward a central axis that extends parallel to the first direction; wherein a length of the first flow path is less than a length of the second flow path; or wherein a length of the first flow path is less than a length of the second flow path and is greater than a thickness of the second flow path.
It would have been an obvious design choice to provide wherein a width of the second flow path decreases toward a central axis that extends parallel to the first direction; wherein a length of the first flow path is less than a length of the second flow path; or wherein a length of the first flow path is less than a length of the second flow path and is greater than a thickness of the second flow path, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In this case, altering relative dimensions of components is well-known and obvious so as to acoustically tune the device, as each of the size alternations includes altering dimensions of the resonator #42/116, which would serve to tune the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 18-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pertinent arts of record relating to Applicant’s disclosure are disclosed in the PTO-892.
/JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837