DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 12, 16, 17, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0362056 to Lucas et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0351241 to Bowers et al.
Lucas et al. ‘056 disclose:
As concerns claim 1, a computer-implemented method comprising:
using a computer system comprising a plurality of edge devices (0037-edge compute nodes) in a local computing environment (0069-performed in local area network; 0073-Local area network), programming a first edge device of the plurality of edge devices to operate as an edge computing node (0037-edge compute nodes), wherein the plurality of edge devices is configured to execute operations without requiring telecommunications to a remote server via an internet (0069-performed in local area network; 0072-process data at edge, rather than in centralized location);
by the first edge device of the computer system, identifying one or more second edge devices (0113-scaling, adding edge devices; 0114-request, utilizing other edge nodes, running applications on nodes; 0162-listen for other edge nodes, networks to connect to; 0279) of the plurality of edge devices being activated in the local computing environment (0069-performed in local area network);
by the first edge device of the computer system, adding (0113-network may scale, adding edge device; 0115-combined as a group; 0163) the first edge device and the one or more second edge devices in an edge network;
by the first edge device of the computer system, retrieving, from the one or more second edge devices via the edge network, sensor data (0037-collect observation data; share observation data; 0082-sensor data; 0154-data passed from node to node; 0069-sensor data; 0070-mobile edge computing paradigm) collected by the one or more second edge devices (0072-access,store, manipulate data, at edge of network);
by the first edge device of the computer system, generating one or more data summaries from the sensor data based on one or more models;
by the first edge device of the computer system, storing the one or more data summaries in a storage associated with the first edge device; and
by the first edge device of the computer system, presenting the one or more data summaries via an application executing on the first edge device.
Lucas et al. ‘056 do not disclose:
by the first edge device of the computer system, generating one or more data summaries from the sensor data based on one or more models;
by the first edge device of the computer system, storing the one or more data summaries in a storage associated with the first edge device; and
by the first edge device of the computer system, presenting the one or more data summaries via an application executing on the first edge device.
Bowers et al. ‘241 teach:
by the first edge device of the computer system, generating one or more data summaries (0117-0118-summary for each sensor from raw sensor data; 0120-summary of sensor data values) from the sensor data based on one or more models (0119-stochastic model; 0125);
by the first edge device of the computer system, storing the one or more data summaries in a storage (0163-memory; running at edge) associated with the first edge device (0163-running at edge); and
by the first edge device of the computer system, presenting (0120-reports summary; 0139) the one or more data summaries via an application (0139-dashboard, user-interface) executing on the first edge device.
Bowers et al. ‘241 further teach:
As concerns claim 6, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising, by the first edge device of the computer system, transmitting the one or more data summaries or an update to a cloud computing system (0004-cloud based network).
As concerns claim 12, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the storage is based on one or more of an in-app memory, an on-device memory (0163-memory; running at edge), or a network-attached storage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide the system of Lucas et al. ‘056 with summaries, as taught by Bowers et al. ‘241, in order to provide analysis and action on collected data.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Claim 21 is rejected for the same rational as claim 1 above. (Lucas et al. ‘056 disclose: a cloud storage and analysis computer (0144); an edge network (Fig. 1A) that is communicatively coupled via an internetwork to the cloud storage and analysis computer, the edge network comprising an edge computing node (0005), a plurality of edge devices (0005-edge nodes, end devices), and an edge storage and analysis device (0150; 0072-access,store, manipulate data, at edge of network; repository); wherein each edge device among the plurality of edge devices comprises one or more central processing units (Fig. 1B), one or more network interfaces (Fig. 1C, 124) that are configured to communicatively couple the one or more central processing units to a data communication network (Fig. 1A), and electronic digital random access memory (Fig. 1B) storing one or more sequences of instructions which, when executed using the one or more central processing units; without requiring telecommunications to a remote server via an internetwork (0069-performed in local area network; 0072-process data at edge, rather than in centralized location)).
Lucas et al. ‘056 further disclose:
As concerns claims 2, 17 and 22, the invention of claims 1, 16 and 21, wherein identifying the one or more second edge devices is based on one or more of a network protocol, a proximity protocol, or a device discovery protocol (0190; 0240; 0260).
As concerns claim 4, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the edge network comprising a local mesh network (0054).
Claims 5, 19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0362056 to Lucas et al. and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0351241 to Bowers et al. as applied above in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0091483 to Fascenda.
Lucas et al. ‘056 as modified do not disclose:
As concerns claim 5, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein adding each of the first edge device and the one or more second edge devices in the edge network comprises one or more of:
supplying a session key for encrypted local communication;
providing one or more LAN access credentials;
providing one or more Wi-Fi router access credentials; or adding the one or more second edge devices to a list of devices in the edge network that is digitally stored at the edge computing node.
As concerns claim 19, the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 16, further comprising sequences of instructions which, when executed using the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to execute adding each of the first edge device and the one or more second edge devices in the edge network using one or more of:
supplying a session key for encrypted local communication; providing one or more LAN access credentials; providing one or more Wi-Fi router access credentials; or adding the one or more second edge devices to a list of devices in the edge network that is digitally stored at the edge computing node.
As concerns claim 24, the computer system of claim 21, further comprising sequences of instructions which, when executed using the one or more central processing units, cause the one or more central processing units to execute adding each of the first edge device and the one or more second edge devices in the edge network using one or more of: supplying a session key for encrypted local communication; providing one or more LAN access credentials; providing one or more Wi-Fi router access credentials; or adding the one or more second edge devices to a list of devices in the edge network that is digitally stored at the edge computing node.
Fascenda ‘483 teach:
As concerns claim 5, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein adding each of the first edge device and the one or more second edge devices in the edge network comprises one or more of:
supplying a session key for encrypted (0096-encrypted using session key) local communication;
providing one or more LAN access credentials;
providing one or more Wi-Fi router access credentials; or adding the one or more second edge devices to a list of devices in the edge network that is digitally stored at the edge computing node.
As concerns claim 19, the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 16, further comprising sequences of instructions which, when executed using the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to execute adding each of the first edge device and the one or more second edge devices in the edge network using one or more of:
supplying a session key for encrypted (0096-encrypted using session key) local communication; providing one or more LAN access credentials; providing one or more Wi-Fi router access credentials; or adding the one or more second edge devices to a list of devices in the edge network that is digitally stored at the edge computing node.
As concerns claim 24, the computer system of claim 21, further comprising sequences of instructions which, when executed using the one or more central processing units, cause the one or more central processing units to execute adding each of the first edge device and the one or more second edge devices in the edge network using one or more of: supplying a session key for encrypted (0096-encrypted using session key) local communication; providing one or more LAN access credentials; providing one or more Wi-Fi router access credentials; or adding the one or more second edge devices to a list of devices in the edge network that is digitally stored at the edge computing node.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Lucas et al. ‘056 as modified, with a session key, as taught by Fascenda ‘483, in order to provide secure communications.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0362056 to Lucas et al. and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0351241 to Bowers et al. as applied above in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0036302 to Cella et al.
Lucas et al. ‘056 as modified do not disclose:
As concerns claim 7, the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein transmitting the one or more data summaries or the update to the cloud computing system is based on a message bus or an event bus.
Cella et al. ‘302 teach:
As concerns claim 7, the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein transmitting the one or more data summaries or the update to the cloud computing system is based on a message bus or an event bus (0375-event bus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide the system of Lucas et al. ‘056 as modified with a bus, as taught by Cella et al. ‘302, in order to provide a dedicated communication system.
Claims 10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0362056 to Lucas et al. and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0351241 to Bowers et al. as applied above in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0120046 to Shelton, IV et al.
Lucas et al. ‘056 as modified do not disclose:
As concerns claim 10, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising, by the first edge device of the computer system, de-identifying the one or more data summaries.
As concerns claim 13, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more data summaries comprise one or more mental health indicators comprising one or more of a sleeping pattern, a social activity, a mobility, or a daily routine.
As concerns claim 14, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising, by the computer system, generating, based on the one or more data summaries, a personalized treatment via algorithmic interventions.
As concerns claim 15, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising, by the computer system, generating, based on the one or more data summaries, an appraisal of mental health states and trends.
Shelton, IV et al. ‘046 teach:
As concerns claim 10, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising, by the first edge device of the computer system, de-identifying (0286) the one or more data summaries.
As concerns claim 13, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more data summaries comprise one or more mental health indicators (0179-health care data, mental health) comprising one or more of a sleeping pattern (0049-sleep), a social activity, a mobility, or a daily routine.
As concerns claim 14, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising, by the computer system, generating, based on the one or more data summaries, a personalized treatment via algorithmic interventions (181-0182-data is directed to a particular patient, thus personalized recommendation/treatment is selected; note: limitations from specification are not read into the claims, claims do not set forth any particular algorithmic interventions).
As concerns claim 15, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising, by the computer system, generating, based on the one or more data summaries, an appraisal of mental health states and trends (0181-based on health data make recommendation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide the system of Lucas et al. ‘056 as modified with de-identifying, as taught by Shelton, IV et al. ‘046, in order to provide particular user data and protect particular data.
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0362056 to Lucas et al. and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0351241 to Bowers et al. as applied above in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0076927 to Barthur et al.
Lucas et al. ‘056 as modified do not disclose:
As concerns claim 11, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising, by the first edge device of the computer system, encrypting the one or more data summaries.
Barthur et al. ‘927 teach:
As concerns claim 11, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising, by the first edge device of the computer system, encrypting (0044-encryption; sensor data) the one or more data summaries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide the system of Lucas et al. ‘056 as modified with encryption, as taught by Barthur et al. ‘927 in order to protect data.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8, 9, 18, 20, 23 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892. USPGPub 2015/0332165 disclose edge devices and a machine learning model.
/JOHN B WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451