DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "sanding pressure regulating unit to regulate sanding pressure" in claim 1 and 6. These claims meet the 3 prongs of 112(f) – it uses the nonce term “unit”, which has the function to “regulate sanding pressure” without any structure as to how.
However, the specification points out that the “sanding pressure regulating unit” may include a sub-driving source including an air cylinder installed on the housing and a shaft joint assembly installed on the spindle shaft and connected to the air cylinder in the axial direction of the spindle shaft. It regulates the pressure by compensating, “in real time, for a change in pressing force of the sanding tool assembly 60 caused by a movement displacement of the robot 5 during the process in which the sanding tool assembly 60 sands the coating film 3”. Therefore 112(f) is not to be used for further 112(a) or 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated Francis (US 2009/0170404)
Regrading claim 1, Francis discloses a sanding device comprising:
a housing (Figure 3, Detail X) mountable on an arm of a robot (The examiner indicates that the arm of the robot has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention (i.e. sanding device) and would be capable of being attached to a robot. Housing would be clearly be able to be mounted to a robot arm
a sanding tool assembly (polishing head 6) rotatably installed on the housing by a spindle shaft (Detail D, Figure 5, in which shaft is attached to the housing at the top and attaches to an “axially driven rotatable polishing head (6) that extends downwards…”, paragraph [0028]) and;
a sanding pressure regulating unit (Detail C, which is represented by the thin wall around polishing member 5 and see also paragraph [0039]) coaxially connected to the spindle shaft (Figure 5, annotated below showing portions (element 5 and 17) of the sanding pressure regulating unit operably coaxially (X-X axis) connected to the spindle shaft (Detail D)) and configured to regulate sanding pressure of the sanding tool assembly applied to a coating film (apparatus has a polishing head that that comes into “contact with the surface of the media disc at a controlled pressure” to “optimize the reduction or elimination of the scratches from the surface of the media disc” paragraph [0010]) while reciprocating the spindle shaft in an axial direction (shaft motion is described as a “controlled vertical up and down motion much like that observed in the operation of a drill press” paragraph [0030] capable of regulating sanding pressure as recited).
Francis (Figure 3)
Francis (Figure 5)
Claims 6-7, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated Wallendorf (US 2019/0126432).
Regarding claim 6 Wallendorf discloses a sanding device comprising:
a housing (cylinder housing 52, Fig 2, paragraph 0047]) mountable on an arm of a robot (the device of Wallendorf would be capable of being attached to a robot arm)
a main driving source comprising a motor disposed on the housing (motor 72, Figure 1, paragraph [0049] disposed on the housing in the upper left of the device).
a power transmission assembly comprising a rotational power input part (defined by gearwheel 71, Figure 1, which is operated rotatably paragraph [0049]) connected to the motor (motor 72) and a rotational power output part (defined by helical toothing 70 at the top along element 56, Fig 1) connected to the rotational power input part (helical toothing 70 engages with gearwheel 71, paragraph [0049]).
a spindle (defined by element 20, Figure 4 which shows a close up of the axially rotatable part of Figure 1) rotatably coupled to a spindle housing (defined by lower housing part 57, coupled by intermediate means) fixed to the housing (cylinder housing 52), the spindle being connected to the rotational power output part (defined by helical toothing 70, Fig 1)
a spindle shaft (defined by the three guide rods 22 arranged in a triangular orientation, Figure 4) coupled to the spindle so as to be movable in an axial direction (see spindle shaft represented by the guide rods 22, in Figure 2, showing axial movement as represented by arrow Z towards).
a sanding tool assembly (defined by tool holding section 16, Figure 6) disposed on the spindle shaft (disposed below guide rods 22 through intermediate means paragraph [0051]);
a sanding pressure regulating unit (defined by combination of central screw connection 63 in Figure 4, housing lower part 57 and bearings 33/34 in Figure 2) coaxially connected to the spindle shaft (all elements of sanding pressure regulating unit are coaxially connected to guide rods 22 through intermediate means) and configured to regulate sanding pressure of the sanding tool assembly applied to a coating film while reciprocating the spindle shaft in an axial direction (see tool holding section connected to piston-cylinder arrangement through guide rods 22 in Figure 2, describing the tool being able to “operate with fine sensitivity even with very low polishing pressures” paragraph [0023]) by an operation of a sub-driving source (piston-cylinder arrangement 52).
Regarding claim 7 Wallendorf discloses the sanding device of claim 6 as described above, and further discloses wherein the sanding pressure regulating unit comprises:
a shaft joint assembly (defined by combination of central screw connection 63 in Figure 4, housing lower part 57 and bearings 33/34 in Figure 2) disposed on the spindle shaft (guide rod 22) and connected to the sub-driving source (piston-cylinder arrangement 52).
Wallendorf (Figure 1)
Regarding claim 13, Wallendorf discloses a sanding device comprising:
a housing (cylinder housing 52, Fig 2, paragraph 0047]) mountable on an arm of a robot (the device of Wallendorf would be capable of being attached to a robot arm)
a main driving source comprising a motor disposed on the housing (motor 72, Figure 1, paragraph [0049] disposed on the housing in the upper left of the device).
power transmission assembly comprising a rotational power input part (defined by gearwheel 71, Figure 1, which is operated rotatably paragraph [0049]) connected to the motor (motor 72) and a rotational power output part (defined by helical toothing 70 at the top along element 56, Fig 1) connected to the rotational power input part (helical toothing 70 engages with gearwheel 71, paragraph [0049]).
a spindle (defined by element 20, Figure 4 which shows a close up of the axially rotatable part of Figure 1) rotatably coupled to a spindle housing (defined by lower housing part 57, coupled by intermediate means) fixed to the housing (cylinder housing 52), the spindle being connected to the rotational power output part (defined by helical toothing 70, Fig 1)
a spindle shaft (defined by the three guide rods 22 arranged in a triangular orientation, Figure 4) coupled to the spindle so as to be movable in an axial direction (see spindle shaft represented by the guide rods 22, in Figure 2, showing axial movement as represented by arrow Z towards).
a sanding tool assembly (defined by tool holding section 16, Figure 6) disposed on the spindle shaft (disposed below guide rods 22 through intermediate means paragraph [0051]);
a sanding pressure regulating unit (defined by combination of central screw connection 63 in Figure 4, housing lower part 57 and bearings 33/34 in Figure 2) coaxially connected to the spindle shaft (all elements of sanding pressure regulating unit are coaxially connected to guide rods 22 through intermediate means) and configured to regulate sanding pressure of the sanding tool assembly applied to a coating film while reciprocating the spindle shaft in an axial direction (see tool holding section connected to piston-cylinder arrangement through guide rods 22 in Figure 2, describing the tool being able to “operate with fine sensitivity even with very low polishing pressures” paragraph [0023]) by an operation of a sub-driving source (piston-cylinder arrangement 52),
the sanding pressure regulating unit comprises a shaft joint assembly (defined by combination of central screw connection 63 in Figure 4, housing lower part 57 and bearings 33/34 in Figure 2) disposed on the spindle shaft (guide rod 22) and connected to the sub-driving source, the sub-driving source comprising an air cylinder (defined by the guide sleeve 59, Fig 2, which encompasses piston-cylinder arrangement 52) disposed on the housing (cylinder housing 56) and coaxially connected to the shaft joint assembly (see element 59 being coaxial guide rods 22 with respect to Axis A, Figure 2) by an operating rod (thin rod 61, Figure 4 paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 14, Wallendorf discloses the sanding device of claim 13 as described above, and further discloses wherein:
a push pin (defined by central screw connections 62 and 63, Figure 4) coupled to the operating rod (thin rod 61) of the air cylinder (coupled to air cylinder represented by structure 59 through intermediate means, Figure 2);
a bearing adapter (defined by housing lower part 57 in Figure 2) coupled to the spindle shaft (defined by guide rod 22, in which element 57 is coupled to the spindle shaft through intermediate means);
and a bearing member (defined by fixed bearing 33) fixed to the bearing adapter (housing lower part 57 in figure 2, paragraph [0048]) and connected to the push pin (central screw connections through 62 and 63 intermediate means).
Wallendorf (Figure 2)
Wallendorf (Figure 4 with an addition view on Figure 5)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Francis (US 2019/0126432) in view of Naderer (US 2019/0232502)
Regarding claim 2, Francis discloses the sanding device of claim 1, as described above, and that further comprises:
a main driving source (axial drive 7 Figure 1, paragraph [0030]) disposed on the housing (Detail A, Figure 3);
the spindle shaft (See figure 5, Detail D, which is connected to the sanding tool) is coupled to the shaft connecting assembly (Detail A and Detail B, showing spindle and spindle housing) being movable (along axis A) in the axial direction (describes polishing head attached to spindle shaft coming downward paragraph [0028]).Furthermore, Francis discloses the main driving source (element 7) as an “axial drive means that can be any mechanism or apparatus known in the art known in the art” (paragraph [0030]).
However, Francis does not specifically disclose that the main driving source is comprising a motor,
a power transmission assembly disposed in the housing and configured to transmit rotational power of the motor to the spindle shaft along a preset power transmission route;
shaft connecting assembly connected to a rotational power output part of the power transmission assembly
Naderer is also concerned with a sanding assembly to rotationally drive a sanding element and additionally teaches a sanding device comprising a housing (support plates 51/52 that act as a housing, Figure 2), a sanding tool assembly (grinding disc 32), and a main driving source (in which comprises of both a housing and motor, paragraph [0007]). Naderer further teaches wherein the main driving source comprises a motor (motor 31, Figure 2, paragraph [0024], a power transmission assembly (first pulley 55 is connected to motor 31 via telescope shaft 54, which transmits rotational power output to second pulley 56) disposed in the housing (supporting plates 51 and 52 in Figure 2) and configured to transmit rotational power of the motor to the spindle shaft (output shaft 58) along a preset power transmission route (transmission from the motor to the output shaft is described paragraph [0025]), and a shaft connecting assembly (where “shaft segment… may be firmly be connected to motor shaft 31 by means of a shaft coupling 53, paragraph [0026]) connected to a rotational power output part (second pulley 56 which is connected to output shaft 58) of the power transmission assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Francis to incorporate the drive structure of Naderer to provide wherein the main driving source comprises a motor, a power transmission assembly disposed in the housing and configured to transmit rotational power of the motor to the spindle shaft along a preset power transmission route, and a shaft connecting assembly connected to a rotational power output part of the power transmission assembly and configured such that the spindle shaft is coupled to the shaft connecting assembly so as to be movable in the axial direction. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a motor, drive pulleys and drive shafts would be needed in a power transmission assembly, which would provide rotational power output to the spindle shaft as well as be as a shaft connecting assembly for shaft to be movable in the axial direction, so that the device of Francis can function as intended.
Naderer (Figure 2)
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Francis (US 2019/0126432) in view of Naderer (2019/0232502), further in view of Panyard (U.S Patent 6264534)
Regrading claim 3, Francis modified in view of Naderer discloses the sanding device of claim 2, and further discloses a sanding pressure regulating unit comprises:
a sub-driving source (pressure regulator element 14, Figure 5, paragraph [0039]) disposed on the housing (see Figure 1, Detail A). Furthermore, Francis modified describes sub-driving sources as a “pressure regulator to regulate the pressure at which the polishing head with the polishing pad comes into contact with the disc media” (paragraph [0039])
However, Francis’s modified in view of Naderer does not disclose whether the sub-driving source comprises an air cylinder
Panyard is also concerned with a sanding assembly to rotationally drive a sanding element and teaches that it is known in the art that a pressure regulator (elements 68/67/69) may include an air cylinder (element 67) to “achieving the desired pressure contact between sanding disk and vehicle surface” (col 4, ll 34-37).
Francis’s modified also teaches and a shaft joint assembly (see Figure 5, Detail E, where the nut helps aid in holding the shaft and sub driving source) disposed on the spindle shaft (Detail D) and connected to the air cylinder (Detail C, in which air cylinder 67 from Panyard now resides) in the axial direction (along Axis A) of the spindle shaft (Detail D)
It would be obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have configured Francis modified to include Panyard’s air cylinder for a sub-driving source. One of ordinary skilled in the art would recognize that the pressure regulator mentioned in Francis can be easily be substituted for an air cylinder for a predictable result in which pressure between sanding tool and surface can be controlled so that Francis can function as intended.
Regarding claim 4, Francis modified in view Naderer and Panyard discloses the sanding device of claim 3 as described above, and further discloses wherein:
the spindle shaft (Detail D, Figure 5) and the air cylinder 67 (of Panyard’s art, which now represented by Detail C) are connected by the shaft joint assembly (Detail E, Figure 5) in a coaxial direction.
However, Francis modified does not disclose that the connection by the shaft joint assembly is perpendicular to the power transmission route
Naderer further teaches that the shaft joint assembly (support plate 52 connects linear actuator 2 to the output shaft 52 along Axis A, Figure 2) has a power transmission route (in which power transmission from first pulley 55 to the second pulley 56) is perpendicular (along the direction of the belt 57) to spindle shaft (output shaft 58)
It would be obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have configured the device of Francis as modified to further incorporate have a power transmission route perpendicular to the shaft assembly as taught by Naderer. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a power transmission route perpendicular to shaft assembly allows for the motor to provide rotational power to an output shaft that is not coaxial with motor so that Francis can function as intended.
Regarding claim 5, Francis’s modified in view of Naderer and Panyard a discloses the sanding device of claim 3 as described above, and further discloses Wherein:
the spindle shaft (see figure 5, Detail D) is configured to be reciprocated in the axial direction (along Axis A) by the air cylinder (residing in Detail C) while being rotated by an operation of the motor (axial drive 7 was substituted with a motor in view of Naderer’s teachings).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wallendorf (US 2019/0126432) in view of Naderer (US 2019/0232502)
Regarding claim 8, Wallendorf discloses the sanding device of claim 6 as described above, and further discloses wherein includes:
the rotational power input part (helical toothing 70 engages with gearwheel 71, paragraph [0049]) and the rotational power output part (defined by gearwheel 71, Figure 1, which is operated rotatably paragraph [0049])
However, Wallendorf does not teach if:
the rotational power input part comprises a driving pulley, the driving pulley being rotatably disposed in the housing;
the rotational power output part comprises a driven pulley, the driven pulley being connected to the spindle.
However, Naderer is also concerned with a sanding assembly in which it uses pulleys to transfer rotational motion from motor to sanding tool, showing a rotational power input comprising of a driving pulley (First pulley 55, connected rotated by motor 31 via telescope shaft 54, Figure 2, paragraph [0025]) disposed on the housing (support plate 52, Figure 2), as well as a rotational output part comprising a driven pulley (second pulley 56) being connected to the spindle (output shaft 58, Figure 2, paragraph [0025]).
It would be obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure Wallendorf by substituting the drive system of Naderer for of the gearwheel system by incorporating a pulley system within the housing to transfer rotational input from the motor to the spindle for the predictable result of providing rotational motion. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a pulley works similarly to a gearwheel system, and can be substituted to provide rotational motion to the sanding tool by motor so that the device of Wallendorf can function as intended.
Regarding claim 9, Wallendorf’s modified in view of Naderer discloses the sanding device of claim 8 as described above, however it does not teach:
the power transmission assembly further comprises a timing belt configured to connect the driving pulley and the driven pulley in a form of an endless track.
Naderer further teaches the power transmission assembly (as stated in the previous claim, in which it has a rotational power input and output comprising of driving and driven pulleys 55 and 56 respectively) comprises a timing belt (belt 57, Figure 2) configured to connect the driving pulley and the driven pulley in a form of an endless track (where “pulleys 55 and 56 are connected via a belt (e.g. a V-belt or a toothed belt), enabling the output shaft 58”, paragraph [0025])
It would be obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Wallendorf invention to incorporate the belt of Naderer to connect the pulleys in an endless track to effectively transmit power from first pulley to the second pulley so Wallendorf would function as can. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a drive belt used to connect two pulleys for rotational motion is known in the art.
Claims 10-11, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wallendorf (US 2019/0126432) in view of Togawa (US Patent 6241578)
Regarding claim 10, Wallendorf discloses the sanding device of claim 6 as described above, however, it does not teach where in the spindle comprises:
a spindle hole disposed in the axial direction;
and a plurality of spline grooves disposed in an inner peripheral surface of the spindle hole in the axial direction.
However, Togawa is also concerned with a sanding assembly to rotationally drive a sanding element and also be moveable in the axial direction. Togawa shows a polishing machine to have a rotational spindle shaft that moves in the axial direction (, where it describes “shaft 30 are rotated together by means of the endless belt 25 driven by the motor 20 while they are axially movable relative to each other” col 3, ll 48-50).
Togawa further teaches a structure in which a spindle hole (See Figure 1 of Togawa, Detail A, Figure 1) in which spindle hole is the outer encasing around spindle shaft 30) disposed in the axial direction (along axis A);
And a plurality of spindle grooves (spline bushing 31) disposed in an inner peripheral surface of spindle hole (Detail B, in which element 31 is disposed inside surface of spindle hole, Detail A) in the axial direction (along axis A).
It would be obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configured Wallendorf to incorporate Togawa’s grooves/protrusions in regards in the inner peripheral of the spindle hole. One of ordinary skill would recognize that grooves and protrusions create inside the spindle hole would allow key and lock mechanism with another part of the sanding machine, which may include in the axial direction in regards to the spindle hole so Wallendorf can function as intended.
Regarding claim 11, Wallendorf in view of Togawa discloses the sanding device in claim 10, however it does not teach:
the spindle shaft comprises a plurality of spline protrusions disposed on an outer peripheral surface thereof in the axial direction and coupled to the plurality of spline grooves
However, Togawa further teaches wherein the spindle shaft (Detail C, spindle shaft 30 Figure 1) comprises a plurality of spline protrusions (spline groove 34) disposed on an outer peripheral surface (Detail D, along spindle shaft) thereof in the axial direction (along axis A) and coupled to the plurality of spline grooves in which “spline bushing 31 is engaged with a spline groove 34 on the outer surface of the shaft 30”, col 3, ll 44-46).
It would be obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configured Wallendorf modified further include Togawa’s spline protrusions on the outer surface of spindle shaft in the axial direction. One of ordinary skill would recognize that spline protrusions are required to be couple to the spline grooves in the inner peripheral of spindle hole as in the previous claim above. These spline grooves and protrusions interlock so spindle shaft can move in the axial direction while also rotating so Wallendorf can function as intended.
Regarding claim 16, Wallendorf discloses that the sanding device of claim 14 as described above, and further discloses wherein:
rotational power output part (defined by helical toothing 70 at the top along element 56, Figure 1) which engages with gearwheel 70, paragraph [0049]), as well as bearing adapter (defined by housing lower part 57 in Figure 2).
However, Wallendorf does not disclose whether the rotational power output comprises a driven pulley; and whether bearing adapter comprises a bushing and is coupled to the spindle shaft through a pulley hole disposed in the driven pulley.
However, Togawa is also concerned with a sanding assembly to rotationally drive a sanding element through a pulley system further teaches that the rotational power output comprises of a driven pulley (defined by pulley 23, in which is driven by motor 20 and drives shaft 30, Figure 1)
and the bearing adapter comprises of a bushing (defined by sleeve 33) and coupled to the spindle shaft (drive shaft 30) through pulley hole (space between sleeve 33 and drive shaft 30, Figure 1) disposed in the driven pulley (the other end of pulley 23, where it is attached to sleeve 33, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured Wallendorf to incorporate the teachings of Togawa to have a driven pulley to transfer rotational power from motor, as well as a bushing so spindle shaft can rotate along with pulley. One of ordinary skill would recognize much like the gearwheel mechanism in Wallendorf, a drive pulley provides similar function in the rotation of shafts. Bearings and bushings are included to help with rotational axial motion of parts. Pulley hole is required to be disposed on the driven pulley so shaft can be attached and therefore be rotated so Wallendorf can function as intended.
Regarding claim 17, Wallendorf discloses the sanding device in claim 13 as described above, however it does not teach:
a spindle hole disposed in the axial direction;
plurality of spline grooves disposed in an inner peripheral surface of the spindle hole in the axial direction.
However, Togawa teaches a structure in which a spindle hole (See Figure 1 of Togawa, Detail A, Figure 1) in which spindle hole is the outer encasing around spindle shaft, element 30) disposed in the axial direction (along axis A);
And a plurality of spindle grooves (spline bushing 31) disposed in an inner peripheral surface of spindle hole (Detail B, in which element 31 is disposed inside surface of spindle hole, Detail A) in the axial direction (along axis A).
It would be obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have configured Wallendorf to include Togawa’s grooves/protrusions in regards in the inner peripheral of the spindle hole. One of ordinary skill would recognize that grooves and protrusions create inside the spindle hole would allow key and lock mechanism with another part of the sanding machine, which may include the axial direction in regards to the spindle hole so Wallendorf can function as intended.
Regarding claim 18, Wallendorf in view of Togawa discloses the sanding device in claim 13 as described above, however it does not teach:
the spindle shaft comprises a plurality of spline protrusions disposed on an outer peripheral surface thereof in the axial direction and coupled to the plurality of spline grooves
However, Togawa further teaches that it is known in the prior art wherein the spindle shaft (Detail C, spindle shaft 30 Figure 1) comprises a plurality of spline protrusions (spline groove 34) disposed on an outer peripheral surface (Detail D, along spindle shaft) thereof in the axial direction (along axis A) and coupled to the plurality of spline grooves in which “spline bushing 31 is engaged with a spline groove 34 on the outer surface of the shaft 30”, (col 3, ll 45-46).
It would be obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Wallendorf’s invention to incorporate the teachings of Togawa to include spline protrusions on the outer surface of spindle shaft in the axial direction. One of ordinary skill would recognize that spline protrusions are required to be couple to the spline grooves in the inner peripheral of spindle hole. These spline grooves and protrusions interlock so spindle shaft can rotate as well move in the axial direction so Wallendorf can function as intended.
Togawa (Figure 1)
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wallendorf (US 2019/0126432) in view of Francis (US 2019/0126432)
Regarding claim 12, Wallendorf discloses the sanding device in claim 6 as described above, and further discloses wherein the sanding tool assembly comprises:
a tool mounting part (tool holding section 16) coupled to the spindle shaft (guide rods 22, Figure 1 paragraph [0052]) where the two parts are coupled to each other through intermediate means.
However, Wallendorf is does not teach a sandpaper mounted on the tool mounting part.
Francis is also concerned with a sanding assembly consisting of sanding paper as one of the preferred materials and further teaches a sandpaper (“preferred materials for the polishing pad (12)… are selected from a group comprising 1,000 to 10,00 grit sand paper” paragraph [0034]) to be mounted on the tool mounting part (attached to polishing head 6).
It would be obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have configured Wallendorf to attach a Francis’s sandpaper to the tool mounting part. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Wallendorf modified still performs the same axial rotational motion as claimed invention, and attaching a sand paper to the tool mounting part would be another type of abrading so that Wallendorf can function as intended.
Regarding claim 20, Wallendorf discloses the sanding device in claim 13 as described above, and further discloses wherein the sanding tool assembly comprises:
a tool mounting part (tool holding section 16) coupled to the spindle shaft (guide rods 22, Figure 1 paragraph [0052]) where the two parts are coupled to each other through intermediate means.
However, Wallendorf is does not teach a sandpaper mounted on the tool mounting part.
Francis is also concerned with a sanding assembly consisting of sanding paper as one of the preferred materials and further teaches a sandpaper (“preferred materials for the polishing pad (12)… are selected from a group comprising 1,000 to 10,00 grit sand paper” paragraph [0034]) to be mounted on the tool mounting part (attached to polishing head 6).
It would be obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have configured Wallendorf to attach a Francis’s sandpaper to the tool mounting part. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Wallendorf modified still performs the same axial rotational motion as claimed invention, and attaching a sand paper to the tool mounting part would be another type of abrading so that Wallendorf can function as intended.
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wallendorf (US 2019/0126432) in view of Oh (US 2010/0136884)
Regarding claim 15, Wallendorf discloses the sanding device of claim 14 wherein:
Bearing member (fixed bearing 33) is coupled to the bearing adapter (housing lower part 57) by an outer race and coupled to the push pin (central screw connections 63) by an inner race.
However, Wallendorf does not teach bearing member coupled to bearing adapter and push pin by an inner and outer race respectively.
Oh is also concerned of having bearings with inner and outer races to secure a rotating shaft. Oh shows a bearing members (bearings 323a and 323b) coupled to the bearing adapter (defined by housing 321, Figure 9) by outer race (paragraph [0102]) and coupled to the push pin (defined by rotation shaft 322, Figure 9) by an inner race (paragraph [102]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Wallendorf to incorporate Oh’s outer and inner race to the bearing so it could be coupled to the bearing adapter and push pin. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that bearings, in particular, roller bearings commonly use inner and outer races to allow for smooth rotation of objects such as a spindle about the axis so Wallendorf can function as intended.
Oh (Figure 9)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wallendorf (US 2019/0126432) in view of Togawa (US Patent 6241578), further in view of Francis (US 2019/0126432)
Regarding claim 19, Wallendorf in view of Togawa discloses the sanding device in claim 18 as described above, and further discloses wherein the sanding tool assembly comprises:
a tool mounting part (tool holding section 16) coupled to the spindle shaft (guide rods 22, Figure 1 paragraph [0052]) where the two parts are coupled to each other through intermediate means.
However, Wallendorf is does not teach a sandpaper mounted on the tool mounting part.
Francis is also concerned with a sanding assembly consisting of sanding paper as one of the preferred materials and further teaches a sandpaper (“preferred materials for the polishing pad (12)… are selected from a group comprising 1,000 to 10,00 grit sand paper” paragraph [0034]) to be mounted on the tool mounting part (attached to polishing head 6).
It would be obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have configured Wallendorf to attach a Francis’s sandpaper to the tool mounting part. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Wallendorf modified still performs the same axial rotational motion as claimed invention, and attaching a sand paper to the tool mounting part would be another type of abrading so that Wallendorf can function as intended.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Diego Ng/
Examiner
Art Unit 4141
6/4/2014
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723