DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 5/17/2024 are as follows:
Claims 1-19 are pending and are being examined.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Currently, no claim limitations invoke 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (CN116118429, as cited in the IDS, machine translation utilized).
Re Claim 1. Liu teaches a vehicle thermal management system (Figure 1), comprising:
a refrigerant system including a compressor (21), a water-cooled condenser (15), a chiller-side expansion valve (262), and a chiller (23) (Figure 1; Page 6 paragraph 9 to page 7 paragraph 3); and
a coolant system including a cabin heater (16), a battery (12), a power electronics (PE) component (13 is an electric motor, which is considered a power electronics component, see Page 6 2nd paragraph which states “the motor is electrically connected with the battery, the electric energy of the battery is converted into mechanical energy to drive the electric vehicle”), and a control valve unit (11) (Figure 1; Page 5 last two paragraphs to Page 6 paragraph 8),
wherein the water-cooled condenser (15) includes a refrigerant passage (lower passage in 15) through which a refrigerant passes, and a coolant passage (upper passage in 15) through which a coolant passes (Figure 1; Page 4, Page 6 paragraph 6 and 12; The condenser has passages for coolant and refrigerant as seen in Figure 1), and
wherein the control valve unit is configured to allow the coolant passage of the water-cooled condenser and the cabin heater to be fluidly connected to or disconnected from each other (Figure 1; Page 4, Page 6 paragraph 6 and 12; The water-cooled condenser and the cabin heater are connected to each other as seen in Figure 1, thereby satisfying the alternative limitation).
Re Claim 2. Liu teaches the control valve unit is configured to allow the coolant passage of the water-cooled condenser and the battery to be fluidly connected to or disconnected from each other (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths).
Re Claim 3. Liu teaches the control valve unit includes a first cabin port (6 or 7) and a second cabin port (other 6 or 7) configured to fluidly communicate with the cabin heater (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN116118429, as cited in the IDS, machine translation utilized) in view of Enomoto (US2015/0217622A1).
Re Claim 4. Liu teaches the control valve unit the water-cooled condenser is in series with the cabin heater (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths), thus Liu fails to teach the control valve unit includes a first condenser port and a second condenser port configured to fluidly communicate with the coolant passage of the water-cooled condenser.
However, Enomoto teaches a control valve unit (21) comprises includes a first condenser port (21e) and a second condenser port (21b) configured to fluidly communicate with the coolant passage of the water-cooled condenser (32) (Figure 9, Paragraph 123). Thus, Enomoto teaches it is known to form the condenser as a separate fluid circuit connected to the valve unit.
Therefore, in view of Enomoto's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form first and second condenser ports for the condenser in order to allow for selective connection to the condenser, thereby providing greater modes of operation by using the condenser for other components of the thermal management system.
Re Claim 5. Liu as modified by Enomoto teach the control valve unit is configured to allow the first cabin port and the first condenser port to be fluidly connected to or disconnected from each other, and wherein the control valve unit is configured to allow the second cabin port and the second condenser port to be fluidly connected to or disconnected from each other (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths).
Re Claim 6. Liu teaches the coolant system includes a cabin pump (19) configured to fluidly connect to the first cabin port (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths).
Re Claim 7. Liu teaches the control valve unit includes a battery port (5) configured to fluidly communicate with the battery, and a component port (9) configured to fluidly communicate with the PE component (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths).
Re Claim 8. Liu as modified by Enomoto teach the coolant system includes a battery pump (24 of Enomoto) configured to fluidly connect to the battery port (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths; Enomoto Figure 9).
Re Claim 9. Liu teaches the coolant system further includes a radiator (14) configured to fluidly connect to the control valve unit, and wherein the control valve unit includes a radiator port (2 or 3) configured to fluidly communicate with the radiator (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths).
Re Claim 10. Liu as modified by Enomoto teach the coolant system includes a radiator pump (23 of Enomoto) configured to fluidly connect to the radiator port (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths; Enomoto Figure 9).
Re Claim 11. Liu teaches the control valve unit is configured to allow the coolant passage of the water-cooled condenser and the radiator to be fluidly connected to or disconnected from each other (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths).
Re Claim 12. Liu teaches the control valve unit is configured to allow the radiator to be fluidly connected to at least one of the PE component or the battery (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths).
Re Claim 13. Liu teaches the chiller includes a refrigerant passage (bottom portion of 23) through which the refrigerant passes, and a coolant passage (top portion of 23) through which the coolant passes (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths).
Re Claim 14. Liu teaches the control valve unit includes a first chiller port and a second chiller port configured to fluidly communicate with the coolant passage of the chiller (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths).
Re Claim 15. Liu teaches the control valve unit is configured to allow the battery port to be fluidly connected to at least one of the first chiller port, the radiator port, or the first condenser port (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths).
Re Claim 16. Liu teaches the control valve unit is configured to allow the component port to be fluidly connected to at least one of the radiator port or the first chiller port (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths).
Re Claim 17. Liu teaches the control valve unit is configured to allow the radiator port to be fluidly connected to at least one of the component port, the first condenser port, or the battery port (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths).
Re Claim 18. Liu teaches the coolant system further includes an auxiliary pump (18) configured to be fluidly connect to the control valve unit, and wherein the control valve unit further includes an auxiliary port configured to fluidly communicate with the auxiliary pump (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths).
Re Claim 19. Liu teaches the control valve unit is configured to allow the auxiliary port and the second chiller port to be fluidly connected to or disconnected from each other (Liu Figure 1, Pages 9-11 describe various operating modes for controlling the valve and flow paths).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for other relevant prior art.
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763