DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Smith et al. (US 20220153443 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Smith discloses:
A drive system in combination with a stand for positioning an aircraft workpiece (550) in position for maintenance and comprising:
a slider (543) configured to circumscribe and translatably move on a support bar (510) [0070 & 0119], the slider having a slider inner surface contacting the support bar (Fig. 5D), a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween (Fig. 5D);
a fixture (545 & 548) removably disposed on the slider (Fig. 5C) [0074 & 0075 & 0076 & 0078 & 0079 & 0080 & 0081 & 0082]; and
a drive system for driving the slider along the support bar [0070], the drive system comprising a chain drive, motorized cart, or other powered system [0070];
a second slider (764) configured to circumscribe and translatably move on a second support bar (648) (Fig. 16C & Fig. 17A & Fig. 17B & Fig. 17C) [0141 & 0167], the second slider having a slider inner surface contacting the second support bar (Fig. 16C & Fig. 17A & Fig. 17B & Fig. 17C), a second slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween (Fig. 16C & Fig. 17A & Fig. 17B & Fig. 17C);
an axial drive system for the second slider (764) comprising:
an axially rotatable drive member [0175 & 0176 & 0181] and a complementary non-rotatable driven member (796) [0175 & 0176 & 0181], whereby relative movement between the rotatable drive member and the driven member causes responsive movement of the slider along the support bar, the drive system locking the slider in a predetermined position upon discontinuing power thereto [0175 & 0176 & 0181].
Regarding Claim 2, Smith discloses:
the powered drive system comprises an electric motor [0070] operated by a microcontroller (560 & 620) [0010 & 0048 & 0099 & 0104].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 20220153443 A1) in view of Vachris et al. (US 5072410 A).
Regarding Claim 3, Smith does not teach:
the motor is a stepper motor and the microcontroller is programmed to count pulses of the stepper motor to move the slider from a first known position on the support bar to a second known position on the support bar.
Vachris teaches:
A drive system in combination with a stand for positioning a tool (22) in position for operation and comprising:
a slider (18) configured to circumscribe (Fig. 16) and translatably move on a support bar (14), the slider having a slider inner surface (84 & 101 & 102) (Fig. 6 & Fig. 7C) contacting the support bar (Fig. 6 & Fig. 7C) [Column 5 Lines 27-55 & Column 4 Lines 49-68 & Column 5 Lines 1-55], a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween (Fig. 6) [Column 5 Lines 27-55 & Column 4 Lines 49-68 & Column 5 Lines 1-55];
a fixture (20) removably disposed on the slider (Fig. 6) [Column 6 Lines 8-51];
an axially rotatable drive member (72 & 231 & 233) and complementary non-rotatable driven member (71), whereby relative movement between the rotatable drive member and the driven member causes responsive movement of the slider along the support bar [Column 5 Lines 27-55 & Column 6 Lines 8-28 & Column 7 Lines 34-60], the drive system locking the slider in a predetermined position upon discontinuing power thereto [Column 5 Lines 27-55 & Column 6 Lines 8-28 & Column 7 Lines 34-60]; and
the motor is a stepper motor and the microcontroller is programmed to count pulses of the stepper motor to move the slider from a first known position on the support bar to a second known position on the support bar [Column 2 Lines 51-68 & Column 3 Lines 1-26 & Column 4 Lines 37-48 & Column 7 Lines 45-68 & Column 8 Lines 1-68 & Column 9 Lines 1-68 & Column 10 Lines 1-68].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machining center comprising: a part holder for holding a part during machining; a plurality of tools; a spindle for holding an in-use tool of the plurality of tools; a tool magazine containing at least a partial remainder of the plurality of tools; and a tool changer for transferring tools between the tool magazine and the spindle, wherein: at least one of the plurality of tools is a grasper comprising: a plurality of claws shiftable between a first condition and a second condition, the second condition open relative to the first condition; and multiple other of the plurality of tools are held by respective tool holders, where the powered drive system comprises an electric motor operated by a microcontroller taught by Smith with the drive system in combination with a stand for positioning a tool in position for operation and comprising: a slider configured to circumscribe and translatably move on a support bar, the slider having a slider inner surface contacting the support bar, a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween, a fixture removably disposed on the slider, an axially rotatable drive member and complementary non-rotatable driven member, whereby relative movement between the rotatable drive member and the driven member causes responsive movement of the slider along the support bar, the drive system locking the slider in a predetermined position upon discontinuing power thereto, where the motor is a stepper motor and the microcontroller is programmed to count pulses of the stepper motor to move the slider from a first known position on the support bar to a second known position on the support bar taught by Vachris in order to provide a positioning means for workpieces having an increased position accuracy to ensure proper processing of the workpieces.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 20220153443 A1) in view of Vachris et al. (US 5072410 A) and Kalm et al. (US 20200231419 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Smith teaches:
regarding the slider:
the drive member comprises a chain drive or other powered system [0070].
regarding the second slider:
the axially rotatable drive member comprises a pinon gear [0175 & 0176] and the non-rotatable driven member comprises a rack (796) [0175 & 0176 & 0181] fixedly joined to the support bar (648) (Fig. 16C & Fig. 17A & Fig. 17B & Fig. 17C) [0141 & 0167] and gearingly engaged with a pinion gear [0175 & 0176 & 0181];
the pinion gear rotating along the rack responsive to electrical input from a motor and carrying the slider therewith [0175 & 0176 & 0181].
Smith does not explicitly teach:
regarding the slider:
the axially rotatable drive member comprises a pinon gear and the non-rotatable driven member comprises a rack fixedly joined to the support bar and gearingly engaged with a pinion gear;
the pinion gear rotating along the rack responsive to electrical input from a motor and carrying the slider therewith.
Kalm teaches:
A drive system in combination with a stand for positioning a workpiece in position for maintenance and comprising:
a slider (122 & 132 & 138 & 142) configured to circumscribe and translatably move on a support bar (114 & 116 & 144) [0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032], the slider having a slider inner surface contacting the support bar (Fig. 5 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 7), a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween (Fig. 5 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 7);
a fixture (112 & 113) removably disposed on the slider [0017 & 0039 & 0040 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0056];
an axially rotatable drive member (54) and complementary non-rotatable driven member (152), whereby relative movement between the rotatable drive member and the driven member causes responsive movement of the slider along the support bar, the drive system locking the slider in a predetermined position upon discontinuing power thereto [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0038]; and
the axially rotatable drive member comprises a pinon gear and the non-rotatable driven member comprises a rack fixedly joined to the support bar and gearingly engaged with a pinion gear; the pinion gear rotating along the rack responsive to electrical input from a motor and carrying the slider therewith [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0038].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machining center comprising: a part holder for holding a part during machining; a plurality of tools; a spindle for holding an in-use tool of the plurality of tools; a tool magazine containing at least a partial remainder of the plurality of tools; and a tool changer for transferring tools between the tool magazine and the spindle, wherein: at least one of the plurality of tools is a grasper comprising: a plurality of claws shiftable between a first condition and a second condition, the second condition open relative to the first condition; and multiple other of the plurality of tools are held by respective tool holders, the powered drive system comprises an electric motor operated by a microcontroller, where the drive member comprises a chain drive or other powered system taught by Smith with the drive system in combination with a stand for positioning a workpiece in position for maintenance and comprising: a slider configured to circumscribe and translatably move on a support bar, the slider having a slider inner surface contacting the support bar, a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween, a fixture removably disposed on the slider, an axially rotatable drive member and complementary non-rotatable driven member, whereby relative movement between the rotatable drive member and the driven member causes responsive movement of the slider along the support bar, the drive system locking the slider in a predetermined position upon discontinuing power thereto, where the axially rotatable drive member comprises a pinon gear and the non-rotatable driven member comprises a rack fixedly joined to the support bar and gearingly engaged with a pinion gear; the pinion gear rotating along the rack responsive to electrical input from a motor and carrying the slider therewith taught by Vachris in order to provide a positioning means for workpieces having an increased position accuracy using a system with reduced backlash and reduced elasticity in the drive system to ensure proper processing of the workpieces.
Regarding Claim 5, Smith teaches:
the fixture depends from the slider and the aircraft workpiece depends from the fixture (Fig. 5D).
Regarding Claim 6, Smith teaches:
the drive member comprises a chain drive or other powered system [0070], the chain drive moving responsive to electrical input from a motor to cause movement of the chain and slider therewith along the support bar [0070 & 0071].
Smith does not teach:
the axially rotatable drive member comprises a jack screw parallel to the support bar and the non-rotatable driven member comprises a nut threadably engaged with the jack screw, the jack screw rotating responsive to electrical input from a motor to cause movement of the nut and slider therewith along the support bar.
Kalm teaches:
the axially rotatable drive member comprises a jack screw in place of a chain drive [0027 & 0033 & 0038] the jack screw parallel to the support bar and the non-rotatable driven member comprises a nut threadably engaged with the jack screw, the jack screw rotating responsive to electrical input from a motor to cause movement of the nut and slider therewith along the support bar [jack screws implicitly require an arrangement where a nut is threadably engaged to a jack screw which rotates to cause movement of the nut therewith].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machining center comprising: a part holder for holding a part during machining; a plurality of tools; a spindle for holding an in-use tool of the plurality of tools; a tool magazine containing at least a partial remainder of the plurality of tools; and a tool changer for transferring tools between the tool magazine and the spindle, wherein: at least one of the plurality of tools is a grasper comprising: a plurality of claws shiftable between a first condition and a second condition, the second condition open relative to the first condition; and multiple other of the plurality of tools are held by respective tool holders, the powered drive system comprises an electric motor operated by a microcontroller, where the drive member comprises a chain drive or other powered system, the chain drive moving responsive to electrical input from a motor to cause movement of the chain and slider therewith along the support bar taught by Smith with the drive system in combination with a stand for positioning a workpiece in position for maintenance and comprising: a slider configured to circumscribe and translatably move on a support bar, the slider having a slider inner surface contacting the support bar, a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween, a fixture removably disposed on the slider, an axially rotatable drive member and complementary non-rotatable driven member, whereby relative movement between the rotatable drive member and the driven member causes responsive movement of the slider along the support bar, the drive system locking the slider in a predetermined position upon discontinuing power thereto, where the axially rotatable drive member comprises a jack screw in place of a chain drive the jack screw parallel to the support bar and the non-rotatable driven member comprises a nut threadably engaged with the jack screw, the jack screw rotating responsive to electrical input from a motor to cause movement of the nut and slider therewith along the support bar taught by Vachris in order to provide a positioning means for workpieces having an increased position accuracy using a system with reduced backlash and reduced elasticity in the drive system to ensure proper processing of the workpieces.
Regarding Claim 7, Smith discloses:
the drive member comprises a chain drive or other powered system [0070], the chain drive moving responsive to electrical input from a motor to cause movement of the chain and slider therewith along the support bar [0070 & 0071].
Smith does not teach:
the motor has an axis colinear with the jack screw.
Kalm teaches:
the motor has an axis colinear with the jack screw [0027 & 0033 & 0038] [jack screws implicitly require an arrangement where the motor has an axis colinear with the jack screw].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machining center comprising: a part holder for holding a part during machining; a plurality of tools; a spindle for holding an in-use tool of the plurality of tools; a tool magazine containing at least a partial remainder of the plurality of tools; and a tool changer for transferring tools between the tool magazine and the spindle, wherein: at least one of the plurality of tools is a grasper comprising: a plurality of claws shiftable between a first condition and a second condition, the second condition open relative to the first condition; and multiple other of the plurality of tools are held by respective tool holders, the powered drive system comprises an electric motor operated by a microcontroller, where the drive member comprises a chain drive or other powered system, the chain drive moving responsive to electrical input from a motor to cause movement of the chain and slider therewith along the support bar taught by Smith with the drive system in combination with a stand for positioning a workpiece in position for maintenance and comprising: a slider configured to circumscribe and translatably move on a support bar, the slider having a slider inner surface contacting the support bar, a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween, a fixture removably disposed on the slider, an axially rotatable drive member and complementary non-rotatable driven member, whereby relative movement between the rotatable drive member and the driven member causes responsive movement of the slider along the support bar, the drive system locking the slider in a predetermined position upon discontinuing power thereto, the axially rotatable drive member comprises a jack screw in place of a chain drive the jack screw parallel to the support bar and the non-rotatable driven member comprises a nut threadably engaged with the jack screw, the jack screw rotating responsive to electrical input from a motor to cause movement of the nut and slider therewith along the support bar, where the motor has an axis colinear with the jack screw taught by Vachris in order to provide a positioning means for workpieces having an increased position accuracy using a system with reduced backlash and reduced elasticity in the drive system to ensure proper processing of the workpieces.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 10, 11, 15, 16, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 20220153443 A1) in view of Kalm et al. (US 20200231419 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Smith teaches:
A drive system in combination with a stand for positioning an aircraft workpiece (550) in position for maintenance and comprising:
a slider (543) configured to circumscribe and translatably move on a support bar (510) [0070 & 0119], the slider having a slider inner surface contacting the support bar (Fig. 5D), a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween (Fig. 5D);
a fixture (545 & 548) removably disposed on the slider (Fig. 5C) [0074 & 0075 & 0076 & 0078 & 0079 & 0080 & 0081 & 0082]; and
a powered drive system for driving the slider along the support bar [0070], the drive system comprising a chain drive, motorized cart, or other powered system [0070];
a second slider (764) configured to circumscribe and translatably move on a second support bar (648) (Fig. 16C & Fig. 17A & Fig. 17B & Fig. 17C) [0141 & 0167], the second slider having a slider inner surface contacting the second support bar (Fig. 16C & Fig. 17A & Fig. 17B & Fig. 17C), a second slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween (Fig. 16C & Fig. 17A & Fig. 17B & Fig. 17C);
an axial drive system for the second slider (764) comprising:
a second powered drive system for positioning the slider on the second support bar [0175 & 0176 & 0181], and comprising a rack (796) [0175 & 0176 & 0181] fixedly joined to the second support bar and gearingly engaged with an axially rotatable pinion gear [0175 & 0176 & 0181], the axis of the pinon gear being perpendicular to the support bar [0175 & 0176 & 0181], whereby the pinion gear rotates along the rack responsive to electrical input from a motor to carry the slider therewith [0175 & 0176 & 0181].
Smith does not explicitly teach:
the powered drive system comprising a rack fixedly joined to the support bar and gearingly engaged with an axially rotatable pinion gear, the axis of the pinon gear being perpendicular to the support bar, whereby the pinion gear rotates along the rack responsive to electrical input from a motor to carry the slider therewith.
Kalm teaches:
A drive system in combination with a stand for positioning a tool (22) in position for operation and comprising:
a slider (122 & 132 & 138 & 142) configured to circumscribe and translatably move on a support bar (114 & 116 & 144) [0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032], the slider having a slider inner surface contacting the support bar (Fig. 5 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 7), a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween (Fig. 5 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 7);
a fixture (112 & 113) removably disposed on the slider [0017 & 0039 & 0040 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0056]; and
a powered drive system (150 & 152 & 154 & 156) for positioning the slider on the support bar [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0038], and comprising a rack fixedly joined to the support bar (152) (Fig. 5) and gearingly engaged with an axially rotatable pinion gear (154) (Fig. 5) [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0038], the axis of the pinon gear being perpendicular to the support bar (Fig. 5), whereby the pinion gear rotates along the rack responsive to electrical input from a motor (156) to carry the slider therewith (Fig. 5) [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0038].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machining center comprising: a part holder for holding a part during machining; a plurality of tools; a spindle for holding an in-use tool of the plurality of tools; a tool magazine containing at least a partial remainder of the plurality of tools; and a tool changer for transferring tools between the tool magazine and the spindle, wherein: at least one of the plurality of tools is a grasper comprising: a plurality of claws shiftable between a first condition and a second condition, the second condition open relative to the first condition; and multiple other of the plurality of tools are held by respective tool holders, the powered drive system comprises an electric motor operated by a microcontroller, where the drive member comprises a chain drive or other powered system, the chain drive moving responsive to electrical input from a motor to cause movement of the chain and slider therewith along the support bar taught by Smith with the drive system in combination with a stand for positioning a workpiece in position for maintenance and comprising: a slider configured to circumscribe and translatably move on a support bar, the slider having a slider inner surface contacting the support bar, a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween, a fixture removably disposed on the slider, an axially rotatable drive member and complementary non-rotatable driven member, whereby relative movement between the rotatable drive member and the driven member causes responsive movement of the slider along the support bar, the drive system locking the slider in a predetermined position upon discontinuing power thereto, the powered drive system comprising a rack fixedly joined to the support bar and gearingly engaged with an axially rotatable pinion gear, the axis of the pinon gear being perpendicular to the support bar, whereby the pinion gear rotates along the rack responsive to electrical input from a motor to carry the slider therewith taught by Vachris in order to provide a positioning means for workpieces having an increased position accuracy using a system with reduced backlash and reduced elasticity in the drive system to ensure proper processing of the workpieces.
Regarding Claim 9, Smith teaches:
a microcontroller (560 & 620) to power the motor [0070] and thereby move the slider while the motor is under power [0010 & 0048 & 0099 & 0104].
Regarding Claim 10, Smith teaches:
spaced apart indicia (622) disposed on the support bar and the microcontroller is programmed to move the fixture to a position registered with an indicium [0006 & 0045 & 0047 & 0071 & 0094 & 0096 & 0098 & 0103].
Regarding Claim 11, Smith teaches:
a brake to lock the slider in position upon removal of power from the motor [0098].
Regarding Claim 15, Smith teaches:
a drive system in combination with a stand for positioning an aircraft workpiece (550) in position for maintenance and comprising:
a slider (543) configured to circumscribe and translatably move on a support bar (510) [0070 & 0119], the slider having a slider inner surface contacting the support bar (Fig. 5D), a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween (Fig. 5D);
a fixture (545 & 548) removably disposed on the slider (Fig. 5C) [0074 & 0075 & 0076 & 0078 & 0079 & 0080 & 0081 & 0082]; and
a powered drive system for driving the slider along the support bar [0070], the drive system comprising a chain drive, motorized cart, or other powered system [0070];
a second slider (764) configured to circumscribe and translatably move on a second support bar (648) (Fig. 16C & Fig. 17A & Fig. 17B & Fig. 17C) [0141 & 0167], the second slider having a slider inner surface contacting the second support bar (Fig. 16C & Fig. 17A & Fig. 17B & Fig. 17C), a second slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween (Fig. 16C & Fig. 17A & Fig. 17B & Fig. 17C);
an axial drive system for the second slider (764) comprising:
a second powered drive system for positioning the slider on the second support bar [0175 & 0176 & 0181], and comprising a rack (796) [0175 & 0176 & 0181] fixedly joined to the second support bar and gearingly engaged with an axially rotatable pinion gear [0175 & 0176 & 0181], the axis of the pinon gear being perpendicular to the support bar [0175 & 0176 & 0181], whereby the pinion gear rotates along the rack responsive to electrical input from a motor to carry the slider therewith [0175 & 0176 & 0181].
Smith does not teach:
a powered drive system for positioning the slider on the support bar, and comprising an axially rotatable jack screw connected to the support bar and threadably engaged with a nut associated with the slider, whereby the jack screw rotates along responsive to electrical input from a motor, to thereby move the nut along the support bar and carry the slider therewith.
Kalm teaches:
A drive system in combination with a stand for positioning an aircraft workpiece in position for maintenance and comprising:
a slider (122 & 132 & 138 & 142) configured to circumscribe and translatably move on a support bar (114 & 116 & 144) [0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032], the slider having a slider inner surface contacting the support bar (Fig. 5 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 7), a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween (Fig. 5 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 7);
a fixture (112 & 113) removably disposed on the slider [0017 & 0039 & 0040 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0056];
a powered drive system (118 & 150) for positioning the slider on the support bar (114 & 116 & 144), and comprising an axially rotatable jack screw in place of a chain drive [0027 & 0033 & 0038] connected to the support bar and threadably engaged with a nut associated with the slider, whereby the jack screw rotates along responsive to electrical input from a motor, to thereby move the nut along the support bar and carry the slider therewith [jack screws implicitly require an arrangement where a nut is threadably engaged to a jack screw which rotates to cause movement of the nut therewith].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machining center comprising: a part holder for holding a part during machining; a plurality of tools; a spindle for holding an in-use tool of the plurality of tools; a tool magazine containing at least a partial remainder of the plurality of tools; and a tool changer for transferring tools between the tool magazine and the spindle, wherein: at least one of the plurality of tools is a grasper comprising: a plurality of claws shiftable between a first condition and a second condition, the second condition open relative to the first condition; and multiple other of the plurality of tools are held by respective tool holders, the powered drive system comprises an electric motor operated by a microcontroller, where the drive member comprises a chain drive or other powered system, the chain drive moving responsive to electrical input from a motor to cause movement of the chain and slider therewith along the support bar taught by Smith with the drive system in combination with a stand for positioning a workpiece in position for maintenance and comprising: a slider configured to circumscribe and translatably move on a support bar, the slider having a slider inner surface contacting the support bar, a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween, a fixture removably disposed on the slider, an axially rotatable drive member and complementary non-rotatable driven member, whereby relative movement between the rotatable drive member and the driven member causes responsive movement of the slider along the support bar, the drive system locking the slider in a predetermined position upon discontinuing power thereto, a powered drive system for positioning the slider on the support bar, and comprising an axially rotatable jack screw connected to the support bar and threadably engaged with a nut associated with the slider, whereby the jack screw rotates along responsive to electrical input from a motor, to thereby move the nut along the support bar and carry the slider therewith taught by Vachris in order to provide a positioning means for workpieces having an increased position accuracy using a system with reduced backlash and reduced elasticity in the drive system to ensure proper processing of the workpieces.
Regarding Claim 16, Smith teaches:
the drive member comprises a chain drive or other powered system [0070], the chain drive moving responsive to electrical input from a motor to cause movement of the chain and slider therewith along the support bar [0070 & 0071].
Smith does not teach:
the jack screw is parallel to the support bar and spaced apart therefrom.
Kalm teaches:
the jack screw is parallel to the support bar and spaced apart therefrom [jack screws implicitly require an arrangement where the jack screw is parallel to the support bar and spaced apart therefrom].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machining center comprising: a part holder for holding a part during machining; a plurality of tools; a spindle for holding an in-use tool of the plurality of tools; a tool magazine containing at least a partial remainder of the plurality of tools; and a tool changer for transferring tools between the tool magazine and the spindle, wherein: at least one of the plurality of tools is a grasper comprising: a plurality of claws shiftable between a first condition and a second condition, the second condition open relative to the first condition; and multiple other of the plurality of tools are held by respective tool holders, the powered drive system comprises an electric motor operated by a microcontroller, where the drive member comprises a chain drive or other powered system, the chain drive moving responsive to electrical input from a motor to cause movement of the chain and slider therewith along the support bar taught by Smith with the drive system in combination with a stand for positioning a workpiece in position for maintenance and comprising: a slider configured to circumscribe and translatably move on a support bar, the slider having a slider inner surface contacting the support bar, a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween, a fixture removably disposed on the slider, an axially rotatable drive member and complementary non-rotatable driven member, whereby relative movement between the rotatable drive member and the driven member causes responsive movement of the slider along the support bar, the drive system locking the slider in a predetermined position upon discontinuing power thereto, a powered drive system for positioning the slider on the support bar, and comprising an axially rotatable jack screw connected to the support bar and threadably engaged with a nut associated with the slider, whereby the jack screw rotates along responsive to electrical input from a motor, to thereby move the nut along the support bar and carry the slider therewith, where the jack screw is parallel to the support bar and spaced apart therefrom taught by Vachris in order to provide a positioning means for workpieces having an increased position accuracy using a system with reduced backlash and reduced elasticity in the drive system to ensure proper processing of the workpieces.
Regarding Claim 17, Smith teaches:
a microcontroller (560 & 620) operably controlling the motor [0070] whereby the microcontroller can move the slider from a first desired position to a second desired position upon command [0010 & 0048 & 0099 & 0104].
Regarding Claim 18, Smith teaches:
a preprogrammed microcontroller adapted to move the slider to a position where the fixture is registered with a predetermined maintenance position [0006 & 0010 & 0045 & 0047 & 0048 & 0071 & 0094 & 0096 & 0098 & 0099 & 0103 & 0104].
Claim(s) 12, 13, 14, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 20220153443 A1) and Kalm et al. (US 20200231419 A1) as applied to Claim 11 and 18 above, further in view of Lamb et al. (US 20060236890 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Smith teaches:
a means for locking the slider in place at a predetermined position [0098].
Smith in view of Kalm does not teach:
the brake comprises a brake pad internal to the slider inner surface and at least partially congruent with the support bar, the brake pad being engageable and disengageable from the support bar by respective insertion and retraction of an outwardly biased key pin extending outwardly from the wall of the slider, the key pin and the brake pad being connected by a driver pin, whereby insertion of the key pin towards the support bar urges the driver pin towards the support bar and the brake pad into locking contact with the support bar.
Lamb teaches:
A drive system in combination with a cart (14) comprising:
a slider (28 & 30) configured to be supported by (Fig. 5) and translatably move on a support bar (12 & 16 & 18 & 20 & 22 & 24 & 26 & 56 & 58), the slider having a slider inner surface engaging the support bar (Fig. 5), a slider outer surface (28) opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween (Fig. 5);
a fixture (32 & 36) removably disposed on the slider (Fig. 5); and
a powered drive system (38 & 40 & 42 & 44 & 48 & 142) for positioning the slider on the support bar whereby the drive engages with a drive track (18 & 118) to induce motion in the slider responsive to electrical input from a motor (40 & 140) to carry the slider therewith (0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0048 & 0049 & 0052 & 0053 & 0054 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061 & 0062 & 0064 & 0065).
a microcontroller (45 & 212) to power the motor and thereby move the slider while the motor is under power [0049];
a brake (202 & 204 & 206 & 208 & 220) to lock the slider in position upon removal of power from the motor;
the brake comprises a brake pad (220) internal to the slider inner surface and at least partially congruent with the support bar (Fig. 12 & Fig. 13), the brake pad being engageable and disengageable from the support bar by respective insertion and retraction of an outwardly biased key pin (206) extending outwardly from the wall of the slider [0070], the key pin and the brake pad being connected by a driver pin (208), whereby insertion of the key pin towards the support bar urges the driver pin towards the support bar and the brake pad into locking contact with the support bar (Fig. 12 & Fig. 13) [0070].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machining center comprising: a part holder for holding a part during machining; a plurality of tools; a spindle for holding an in-use tool of the plurality of tools; a tool magazine containing at least a partial remainder of the plurality of tools; and a tool changer for transferring tools between the tool magazine and the spindle, wherein: at least one of the plurality of tools is a grasper comprising: a plurality of claws shiftable between a first condition and a second condition, the second condition open relative to the first condition, and multiple other of the plurality of tools are held by respective tool holders, the powered drive system comprises an electric motor operated by a microcontroller, where the drive member comprises a chain drive or other powered system, the chain drive moving responsive to electrical input from a motor to cause movement of the chain and slider therewith along the support bar, and a means for locking the slider in place at a predetermined position taught by Smith in view of Kalm with the drive system in combination with a cart comprising: a slider configured to be supported by and translatably move on a support bar, the slider having a slider inner surface engaging the support bar, a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween, a fixture removably disposed on the slider, and a powered drive system for positioning the slider on the support bar whereby the drive engages with a drive track to induce motion in the slider responsive to electrical input from a motor to carry the slider therewith, a microcontroller to power the motor and thereby move the slider while the motor is under power, a brake to lock the slider in position upon removal of power from the motor, the brake comprises a brake pad internal to the slider inner surface and at least partially congruent with the support bar, the brake pad being engageable and disengageable from the support bar by respective insertion and retraction of an outwardly biased key pin extending outwardly from the wall of the slider, the key pin and the brake pad being connected by a driver pin, whereby insertion of the key pin towards the support bar urges the driver pin towards the support bar and the brake pad into locking contact with the support bar taught by Lamb in order to provide a positioning means for workpieces having an increased position accuracy using a system with reduced backlash and reduced movement of the support in processing positions in order to ensure proper processing of the workpieces.
Regarding Claim 13, Smith teaches:
a means for locking the slider in place at a predetermined position [0098].
Smith in view of Kalm does not teach:
the driver pin has a first end in mating contact with the brake pad and a second end opposed thereto and in contact with the key pin, and the key pin further comprises at least one notch therein and configured to receive the second end of the driver pin therein to thereby enable retraction of the driver pin and disengagement of the brake pad from the support bar.
Lamb teaches:
the driver pin has a first end in mating contact with the brake pad and a second end opposed thereto and in contact with the key pin, and the key pin further comprises at least one notch therein and configured to receive the second end of the driver pin therein to thereby enable retraction of the driver pin and disengagement of the brake pad from the support bar (Fig. 12 & Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machining center comprising: a part holder for holding a part during machining; a plurality of tools; a spindle for holding an in-use tool of the plurality of tools; a tool magazine containing at least a partial remainder of the plurality of tools; and a tool changer for transferring tools between the tool magazine and the spindle, wherein: at least one of the plurality of tools is a grasper comprising: a plurality of claws shiftable between a first condition and a second condition, the second condition open relative to the first condition, and multiple other of the plurality of tools are held by respective tool holders, the powered drive system comprises an electric motor operated by a microcontroller, where the drive member comprises a chain drive or other powered system, the chain drive moving responsive to electrical input from a motor to cause movement of the chain and slider therewith along the support bar, and a means for locking the slider in place at a predetermined position taught by Smith in view of Kalm with the drive system in combination with a cart comprising: a slider configured to be supported by and translatably move on a support bar, the slider having a slider inner surface engaging the support bar, a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween, a fixture removably disposed on the slider, and a powered drive system for positioning the slider on the support bar whereby the drive engages with a drive track to induce motion in the slider responsive to electrical input from a motor to carry the slider therewith, a microcontroller to power the motor and thereby move the slider while the motor is under power, a brake to lock the slider in position upon removal of power from the motor, the brake comprises a brake pad internal to the slider inner surface and at least partially congruent with the support bar, the brake pad being engageable and disengageable from the support bar by respective insertion and retraction of an outwardly biased key pin extending outwardly from the wall of the slider, the key pin and the brake pad being connected by a driver pin, whereby insertion of the key pin towards the support bar urges the driver pin towards the support bar and the brake pad into locking contact with the support bar, where the driver pin has a first end in mating contact with the brake pad and a second end opposed thereto and in contact with the key pin, and the key pin further comprises at least one notch therein and configured to receive the second end of the driver pin therein to thereby enable retraction of the driver pin and disengagement of the brake pad from the support bar taught by Lamb in order to provide a positioning means for workpieces having an increased position accuracy using a system with reduced backlash and reduced movement of the support in processing positions in order to ensure proper processing of the workpieces.
Regarding Claim 14, Smith teaches:
a brake (542 & 549 & 622 & 624) to lock the slider in position upon removal of power from the motor [0094 & 0098];
the brake comprises at least one pin internal to the slider inner surface (Fig. 5B), the at least one pin being engageable and disengageable from the support bar by an operator (622), the brake comprising a first hole (210-1) through the workpiece and a second hole (210-2) through the workpiece registered therewith (Fig. 5B) and a first lock pin (549) disposed through the first hole (Fig. 5B) a lock pin (624) disposed through the second hole (Fig. 5B) to lock the slider in place (Fig. 5B) [0072 & 0077 & 0094 & 0095 & 0103].
Smith in view of Kalm does not teach:
the brake comprises a brake pad, the brake pad being engageable and disengageable from the support bar by an operator, the brake comprising a first hole through the support bar and a second hole through the wall of the slider registered therewith.
Lamb teaches:
A drive system in combination with a cart (14) comprising:
a slider (28 & 30) configured to be supported by (Fig. 5) and translatably move on a support bar (12 & 16 & 18 & 20 & 22 & 24 & 26 & 56 & 58 & 118), the slider having a slider inner surface engaging the support bar (Fig. 5), a slider outer surface (28) opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween (Fig. 5);
a fixture (32 & 36) removably disposed on the slider (Fig. 5); and
a powered drive system (38 & 40 & 42 & 44 & 48 & 142) for positioning the slider on the support bar whereby the drive engages with a drive track (18 & 118) to induce motion in the slider responsive to electrical input from a motor (40 & 140) to carry the slider therewith (0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0048 & 0049 & 0052 & 0053 & 0054 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061 & 0062 & 0064 & 0065).
a microcontroller (45 & 212) to power the motor and thereby move the slider while the motor is under power [0049].
a brake (202 & 204 & 206 & 208 & 220) to lock the slider in position upon removal of power from the motor.
the brake comprises a brake pad (220) internal to the slider inner surface and at least partially congruent with the support bar (Fig. 12 & Fig. 13), the brake pad being engageable and disengageable from the support bar by respective insertion and retraction of an outwardly biased key pin (206) extending outwardly from the wall of the slider [0070], the key pin and the brake pad being connected by a driver pin (208), whereby insertion of the key pin towards the support bar urges the driver pin towards the support bar and the brake pad into locking contact with the support bar (Fig. 12 & Fig. 13) [0070].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machining center comprising: a part holder for holding a part during machining; a plurality of tools; a spindle for holding an in-use tool of the plurality of tools; a tool magazine containing at least a partial remainder of the plurality of tools; and a tool changer for transferring tools between the tool magazine and the spindle, wherein: at least one of the plurality of tools is a grasper comprising: a plurality of claws shiftable between a first condition and a second condition, the second condition open relative to the first condition, and multiple other of the plurality of tools are held by respective tool holders, the powered drive system comprises an electric motor operated by a microcontroller, where the drive member comprises a chain drive or other powered system, the chain drive moving responsive to electrical input from a motor to cause movement of the chain and slider therewith along the support bar, a brake to lock the slider in position upon removal of power from the motor, where the brake comprises at least one pin internal to the slider inner surface, the at least one pin being engageable and disengageable from the support bar by an operator, the brake comprising a first hole through the workpiece and a second hole through the workpiece registered therewith and a first lock pin disposed through the first hole a lock pin disposed through the second hole to lock the slider in place taught by Smith in view of Kalm with the drive system in combination with a cart comprising: a slider configured to be supported by and translatably move on a support bar, the slider having a slider inner surface engaging the support bar, a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween, a fixture removably disposed on the slider, and a powered drive system for positioning the slider on the support bar whereby the drive engages with a drive track to induce motion in the slider responsive to electrical input from a motor to carry the slider therewith, a microcontroller to power the motor and thereby move the slider while the motor is under power, a brake to lock the slider in position upon removal of power from the motor, the brake comprises a brake pad internal to the slider inner surface and at least partially congruent with the support bar, the brake pad being engageable and disengageable from the support bar by respective insertion and retraction of an outwardly biased key pin extending outwardly from the wall of the slider, the key pin and the brake pad being connected by a driver pin, whereby insertion of the key pin towards the support bar urges the driver pin towards the support bar and the brake pad into locking contact with the support bar taught by Lamb in order to provide a positioning means for workpieces having a system with reduced backlash and reduced movement of the support in processing positions in order to ensure proper processing of the workpieces.
Regarding Claim 19, Smith teaches:
a brake (542 & 549 & 622 & 624) to lock the slider in place on the support bar [0094 & 0098].
the brake comprises at least one pin internal to the slider inner surface (Fig. 5B), the at least one pin being engageable and disengageable from the support bar by an operator (622), the brake comprising a first hole (210-1) through the workpiece and a second hole (210-2) through the workpiece registered therewith (Fig. 5B) and a first lock pin (549) disposed through the first hole (Fig. 5B) a lock pin (624) disposed through the second hole (Fig. 5B) to lock the slider in place (Fig. 5B) [0072 & 0077 & 0094 & 0095 & 0103];
the slider can move a limited amount on the support bar with the lock pins inserted in the first hold and the second hole [0072 & 0077 & 0094 & 0095 & 0103] [the slider would necessarily be able to move a limited amount on the support bar because the relationship between the lock pins and the holes would not allow for an interference fit in order to allow engagement and disengagement of the pins with the holes].
Smith in view of Kalm does not teach:
a first brake intermediate the slider and support bar and configured to lock the slider in place on the support bar, the brake comprising a first hole through the support bar and a second hole through the wall of the slider registered therewith and a lock pin disposed through the first hole and the second hole to lock the slider in place, the first brake having a clearance between the first hole, the second hole and the lock pin whereby the slider can move a limited amount on the support bar with the lock pin inserted in the first hole and the second hole, but not move when the brake pad engaged.
Lamb teaches:
A drive system in combination with a cart (14) comprising:
a slider (28 & 30) configured to be supported by (Fig. 5) and translatably move on a support bar (12 & 16 & 18 & 20 & 22 & 24 & 26 & 56 & 58), the slider having a slider inner surface engaging the support bar (Fig. 5), a slider outer surface (28) opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween (Fig. 5);
a fixture (32 & 36) disposed on the slider (Fig. 5);
a powered drive system (38 & 40 & 42 & 44 & 48 & 142) for positioning the slider on the support bar whereby the drive engages with a drive track (18 & 118) to induce motion in the slider responsive to electrical input from a motor (40 & 140) to carry the slider therewith (0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0048 & 0049 & 0052 & 0053 & 0054 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061 & 0062 & 0064 & 0065).
a microcontroller (45 & 212) to power the motor whereby the microcontroller can move the slider from a first desired position to a second desired position upon command [0049];
a preprogrammed microcontroller adapted to move the slider to a position where the fixture is registered with a predetermined maintenance position.
a brake (202 & 204 & 206 & 208 & 220) to lock the slider in position upon removal of power from the motor; and
a first brake (208) comprises a brake pad (220) the first brake intermediate the slider and support bar (Fig. 12 & Fig. 13) and configured to lock the slider in place on the support bar (Fig. 13) [0070], the slider can move when the brake pad is not engaged and cannot move when the brake pad engaged (Fig. 12 & Fig. 13) [0070].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machining center comprising: a part holder for holding a part during machining; a plurality of tools; a spindle for holding an in-use tool of the plurality of tools; a tool magazine containing at least a partial remainder of the plurality of tools; and a tool changer for transferring tools between the tool magazine and the spindle, wherein: at least one of the plurality of tools is a grasper comprising: a plurality of claws shiftable between a first condition and a second condition, the second condition open relative to the first condition; and multiple other of the plurality of tools are held by respective tool holders, the powered drive system comprises an electric motor operated by a microcontroller, where the drive member comprises a chain drive or other powered system, the chain drive moving responsive to electrical input from a motor to cause movement of the chain and slider therewith along the support bar, a microcontroller operably controlling the motor whereby the microcontroller can move the slider from a first desired position to a second desired position upon command, a preprogrammed microcontroller adapted to move the slider to a position where the fixture is registered with a predetermined maintenance position a brake to lock the slider in place on the support bar, the brake comprises at least one pin internal to the slider inner surface, the at least one pin being engageable and disengageable from the support bar by an operator, the brake comprising a first hole through the workpiece and a second hole through the workpiece registered therewith and a first lock pin disposed through the first hole a lock pin disposed through the second hole to lock the slider in place, where the slider can move a limited amount on the support bar with the lock pins inserted in the first hold and the second hole taught by Smith in view of Kalm with the drive system in combination with a cart comprising: a slider configured to be supported by and translatably move on a support bar, the slider having a slider inner surface engaging the support bar, a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween, a fixture disposed on the slider, a powered drive system for positioning the slider on the support bar whereby the drive engages with a drive track to induce motion in the slider responsive to electrical input from a motor to carry the slider therewith a microcontroller to power the motor whereby the microcontroller can move the slider from a first desired position to a second desired position upon command, a preprogrammed microcontroller adapted to move the slider to a position where the fixture is registered with a predetermined maintenance position, a brake to lock the slider in position upon removal of power from the motor, a first brake comprises a brake pad the first brake intermediate the slider and support bar and configured to lock the slider in place on the support bar, where the slider can move when the brake pad is not engaged and cannot move when the brake pad engaged taught by Lamb in order to provide a positioning means for workpieces having a system with reduced movement of the support in processing positions in order to ensure proper processing of the workpieces.
Regarding Claim 20, Smith teaches:
a brake (542 & 549 & 622 & 624) to lock the slider in place on the support bar [0094 & 0098].
the brake comprises at least one pin internal to the slider inner surface (Fig. 5B), the at least one pin being engageable and disengageable from the support bar by an operator (622), the brake comprising a first hole (210-1) through the workpiece and a second hole (210-2) through the workpiece registered therewith (Fig. 5B) and a first lock pin (549) disposed through the first hole (Fig. 5B) a lock pin (624) disposed through the second hole (Fig. 5B) to lock the slider in place (Fig. 5B) [0072 & 0077 & 0094 & 0095 & 0103];
the slider can move a limited amount on the support bar with the lock pins inserted in the first hole and the second hole [0072 & 0077 & 0094 & 0095 & 0103] [the slider would necessarily be able to move a limited amount on the support bar because the relationship between the lock pins and the holes would not allow for an interference fit in order to allow engagement and disengagement of the pins with the holes].
Smith in view of Kalm does not teach:
a second brake, the second brake comprising a brake pad engageable and disengageable from the support bar by respective insertion and retraction of a key pin extending outwardly from the wall of the slider, the key pin and the brake pad being connected by a driver pin, whereby insertion of the key pin towards the support bar urges the driver pin towards the support bar and the brake pad into locking contact with the support bar, wherein the brake pad has two mutually perpendicular legs joined at a vertex juxtaposed with the first end of the driver pin.
Lamb teaches:
a second brake (208), the second brake comprising a brake pad (220) engageable and disengageable from the support bar by respective insertion and retraction of a key pin (206) extending outwardly from the wall of the slider (Fig. 12 & Fig. 13) [0070], the key pin and the brake pad being connected by a driver pin (208), whereby insertion of the key pin towards the support bar urges the driver pin towards the support bar and the brake pad into locking contact with the support bar (Fig. 12 & Fig, 13) [0070], wherein the brake pad has two mutually perpendicular legs joined at a vertex juxtaposed with the first end of the driver pin (Fig. 12 & Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machining center comprising: a part holder for holding a part during machining; a plurality of tools; a spindle for holding an in-use tool of the plurality of tools; a tool magazine containing at least a partial remainder of the plurality of tools; and a tool changer for transferring tools between the tool magazine and the spindle, wherein: at least one of the plurality of tools is a grasper comprising: a plurality of claws shiftable between a first condition and a second condition, the second condition open relative to the first condition; and multiple other of the plurality of tools are held by respective tool holders, the powered drive system comprises an electric motor operated by a microcontroller, where the drive member comprises a chain drive or other powered system, the chain drive moving responsive to electrical input from a motor to cause movement of the chain and slider therewith along the support bar, a microcontroller operably controlling the motor whereby the microcontroller can move the slider from a first desired position to a second desired position upon command, a preprogrammed microcontroller adapted to move the slider to a position where the fixture is registered with a predetermined maintenance position a brake to lock the slider in place on the support bar, the brake comprises at least one pin internal to the slider inner surface, the at least one pin being engageable and disengageable from the support bar by an operator, the brake comprising a first hole through the workpiece and a second hole through the workpiece registered therewith and a first lock pin disposed through the first hole a lock pin disposed through the second hole to lock the slider in place, where the slider can move a limited amount on the support bar with the lock pins inserted in the first hold and the second hole taught by Smith in view of Kalm with the drive system in combination with a cart comprising: a slider configured to be supported by and translatably move on a support bar, the slider having a slider inner surface engaging the support bar, a slider outer surface opposed thereto and defining a wall therebetween, a fixture disposed on the slider, a powered drive system for positioning the slider on the support bar whereby the drive engages with a drive track to induce motion in the slider responsive to electrical input from a motor to carry the slider therewith a microcontroller to power the motor whereby the microcontroller can move the slider from a first desired position to a second desired position upon command, a preprogrammed microcontroller adapted to move the slider to a position where the fixture is registered with a predetermined maintenance position, a brake to lock the slider in position upon removal of power from the motor, a first brake comprises a brake pad the first brake intermediate the slider and support bar and configured to lock the slider in place on the support bar, the slider can move when the brake pad is not engaged and cannot move when the brake pad engaged, and a second brake, the second brake comprising a brake pad engageable and disengageable from the support bar by respective insertion and retraction of a key pin extending outwardly from the wall of the slider, the key pin and the brake pad being connected by a driver pin, whereby insertion of the key pin towards the support bar urges the driver pin towards the support bar and the brake pad into locking contact with the support bar, wherein the brake pad has two mutually perpendicular legs joined at a vertex juxtaposed with the first end of the driver pin taught by Lamb in order to provide a positioning means for workpieces having a system with reduced movement of the support in processing positions in order to ensure proper processing of the workpieces.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 20200187510 A1, US 20200108460 A1, US 20030205163 A1, US 20210163153 A1, US 20030015115 A1, and US 5018928 A have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: work transfer systems having sliders traveling on support bars.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652