DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The current 35 USC 101 analysis is based on the current guidance (Federal Register vol. 79, No. 241. pp. 74618-74633). The analysis follows several steps. Step 1 determines whether the claim belongs to a valid statutory class. Step 2A prong 1 identifies whether an abstract idea is claimed. Step 2A prong 2 determines whether any abstract idea is integrated into a practical application. If the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application the claim is patent eligible under 35 USC 101. Last, step 2B determines whether the claims contain something significantly more than the abstract idea. In most cases the existence of a practical application predicates the existence of an additional element that is significantly more.
The 35 USC 101 analysis between each element of claims and its combination is presented in the table below
Claim number and elements
Judicial exception (Step 2A Prong one)
Practical application (Step 2A Prong two)/ Significantly more (Step 2B)
Claim 1
Step 1: Yes, statutory class
Step 2A Prong two: No / Step 2B: No
A system for dynamic noise compliance comprising a computer device comprising
Step2A Prong one: Yes
at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device, wherein the at least one processor is programmed to:
store a plurality of information about a plurality of parameters for one or more noise studies;
store one or more models of noise emissions;
“a computer device”, “processor” and “memory device” are a high level of generality.
“store a plurality of information … store one or more models” is an insignificant extra-solution activity to perform a generic computer function of a generic computer component.
receive updated information about a first noise study;
execute the one or more models of noise emissions with the updated information as inputs to generate an updated model of noise emissions for the first noise study;
generate a first map overlay for the first noise study based upon the updated model of noise emissions for the first noise study; and
abstract idea
math process
“receive updated information ~” is an insignificant extra-solution activity to collect routine data (i.e., Intrinsic Mode Function (IMF) components).
“execute the one or more models of noise emissions ~” is an insignificant extra-solution activity to perform
“generate an updated model of noise emissions ~ ” is a math process related to data processing itself and/or execute a software program related to a model of noise emissions.
“generate a first map overlay ~” is an insignificant extra-solution activity to generate a map which is performed by a generic computer function of a generic computer.
transmit instructions to a user computer device to cause a map with the first map overlay to be displayed on a display device of the user computer device.
abstract idea
mental process or mathematical concept
“transmit instructions to a user computer device to cause a map with the first map overlay to be displayed on a display device …” is an insignificant extra-solution activity to perform a generic computer function of a generic computer.
“a display device” is a high level of generality.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-20 are directed to an abstract idea. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as addressed below and presented in the above table.
Step 2A: Prong One
Regarding Claim 1, the limitations recited in Claim 1, as drafted, are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mathematical calculations and/or the mind, as presented in the above table. Nothing in the claim elements precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind and/or the mathematical calculations. For example, “execute the one or more models of noise emissions with the updated information as inputs to generate an updated model of noise emissions for the first noise study” in the context of this claim may encompass mathematical calculations and/or inferring the updated model of noise emissions based on the collected routine data (i.e., the updated information about a first noise study), which is indicative of data processing itself by executing a software program related to a model of noise emissions such as arithmetic algorithm.
Step 2A: Prong Two
This judicial exception is abstract ideal itself and not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the specification details use of a processor to perform a math and/or mental process of “execute the one or more models of noise emissions with the updated information as inputs to generate an updated model of noise emissions for the first noise study”. The computer device, the processor and the memory device, the display device are high level of generalities to perform a generic computer function related to data processing itself of a generic computer component, and they do not present their specific structures/features to perform the claimed features for generating the updated model of noise emissions, generating the first map overlay, and displaying the first map overlay on the display device.
The limitations of “store a plurality of information about a plurality of parameters for one or more noise studies; store one or more models of noise emissions” and “execute the one or more models of noise emissions with the updated information as inputs” are insignificant extra-solution activities to merely perform a generic computer function, such as storing data and executing a software program, of a generic computer component. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The limitation of “receive updated information about a first noise study” an insignificant extra-solution activity to merely collect routine data (i.e., the updated information about a first noise study) to perform abstract idea of generating the updated model. The limitation of “transmit instructions to a user computer device to cause a map with the first map overlay to be displayed on a display device of the user computer device” is an insignificant extra-solution activity necessary to merely perform a generic computer function of a generic computer component for transmitting data/instructions and displaying calculated/inferred data. See MPEP 2106.05(g). There is no showing of integration into a practical application such as an improvement to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field, or use of a particular machine.
Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The limitations of “store a plurality of information about a plurality of parameters for one or more noise studies; store one or more models of noise emissions” and “execute the one or more models of noise emissions with the updated information as inputs” are insignificant extra-solution activities to merely perform a generic computer function, such as storing data and executing a software program, of a generic computer component. The limitation of “receive updated information about a first noise study” is an insignificant extra-solution activity to merely collect routine data (i.e., the updated information about a first noise study) to perform abstract idea of generating the updated model. The limitation of “transmit instructions to a user computer device to cause a map with the first map overlay to be displayed on a display device of the user computer device” is an insignificant extra-solution activity necessary to merely perform a generic computer function of a generic computer component for transmitting data/instructions and displaying calculated/inferred data. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
As discussed above, with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, using the data processor of the computer to perform store a plurality of information about a plurality of parameters for one or more noise studies; store one or more models of noise emissions”, “receive updated information about a first noise study”, “execute the one or more models of noise emissions with the updated information as inputs to generate an updated model of noise emissions for the first noise study”, “generate a first map overlay for the first noise study based upon the updated model of noise emissions for the first noise study” and “transmit instructions to a user computer device to cause a map with the first map overlay to be displayed on a display device of the user computer device” amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept cannot provide statutory eligibility. Claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claims 2-9, the limitations are further directed to an abstract idea, as described in claim 1. The limitations of “programmed to generate the first map overlay to include a first area indicating noise contours of mitigated compliance” in claim 2, “programmed to generate the first map overlay to include a second area indicating noise contours of unmitigated compliance” in claim 3 are insignificant extra-solution activities necessary to merely perform a generic computer function of a generic computer component for generating the map overlay based on the calculated/inferred data. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The limitations of “generate the current updated model of noise emissions for the first noise study” in claim 6 and “the plurality of parameters includes a plurality of compliance regulations for noise emissions and wherein the updated model of the first noise study determines whether or not one or more sites associated with the first noise study are in compliance with the plurality of compliance regulations” in claim 9 may encompass mathematical calculations and/or inferring the updated model of noise emissions based on the collected routine data (i.e., the updated information about a first noise study), which is indicative of data processing itself by executing a software program related to a model of noise emissions such as arithmetic algorithm, where the plurality of parameters are indicative of mathematical concept/value/characteristic to be used for performing abstract idea.
The limitations of “to transmit a notification about a current stage of the first noise study to a user computer device” in claim 4, “programmed to be in communication with one or more monitor stations, and wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to receive current noise emissions from the one or more monitor stations” in claim 5, “programmed to execute the updated model of the first noise study with the current noise emissions as inputs to generate the current updated model of noise emissions for the first noise study” in claim 6, “programmed to update the first map overlay for the first noise study based upon the current model of noise emissions for the first noise study” in claim 7, “programmed to: store the plurality of information about the plurality of parameters for a plurality of noise studies including the first noise study; and display information about one or more of the plurality of noise studies” in claim 8 are insignificant extra-solution activities to merely perform a generic computer function of a generic computer component and collect routine data. For the reasons described above with respect to claim 2-9, the judicial exceptions are not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Regarding Claim 10, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claim 1 above. Regarding Claims 11-18, they are dependent on claim 10 having similar limitations as of claims 2-9 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claims 2-9 above.
Regarding Claim 19, it is a non-transitory computer-readable storage media having similar limitations as of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claim 1 above. Regarding Claim 20, it are dependent on claim 19 having similar limitations as of claims 2-3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claims 2-3 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-10, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20200327435 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Wang”).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches a system for dynamic noise compliance comprising a computer device (at least paragraph 0131 teaches “more robust models in response to measurement noise”) comprising
at least one processor (Fig. 13, a processor 1310) in communication with at least one memory device (Para 0006, “The system includes a computing device including at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device”), wherein the at least one processor is programmed to:
store a plurality of information about a plurality of parameters for one or more noise studies (At least paragraphs 0006-0007, in particular paragraph 0045 teach storing information related to a plurality of parameters related to events, “The model parameter tuning engine 250 may store information into and/or retrieve information from various data stores”); store one or more models of noise emissions (At least paragraphs 0006-0007 teach storing plurality of parameters related to events, “The at least one processor is programmed to store a model of a device. The model includes a plurality of parameters. The at least one processor is also programmed to receive a plurality of events associated with the device. … determine a set of calibrated parameters for the model. Moreover, the at least one processor is programmed to update the model to include the set of calibrated parameters”; At least paragraph 0131 teaches the model of noise emissions, “more robust models in response to measurement noise”);
receive updated information about a first noise study (At least paragraphs 0006-0007 teach “The at least one processor is also programmed to receive a plurality of events associated with the device”);
execute the one or more models of noise emissions with the updated information as inputs to generate an updated model of noise emissions for the first noise study (At least paragraphs 0006-0007 teach “The at least one processor is also programmed to receive a plurality of events associated with the device. … determine a set of calibrated parameters for the model. Moreover, the at least one processor is programmed to update the model to include the set of calibrated parameters”);
generate a first map overlay for the first noise study based upon the updated model of noise emissions for the first noise study (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “a first map overlay” is indicative of data or values related to the first noise. Therefore, at least paragraph 0077 teaches Once the subset of parameters is identified, values in the active power system model for the parameters may be updated, and the system may generate a report and/or display of the estimated parameter values(s), confidence metrics, and the model error response as compared to measured data); and
transmit instructions to a user computer device to cause a map with the first map overlay to be displayed on a display device of the user computer device (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “a first map overlay” is indicative of data or values related to the first noise. Therefore, at least paragraph 0077 teaches “Once the subset of parameters is identified, values in the active power system model for the parameters may be updated, and the system may generate a report and/or display of the estimated parameter values(s), confidence metrics, and the model error response as compared to measured data”; At least paragraph 0008 teaches instructions to cause the processor to analyze the plurality of unique events to determine a set of calibrated parameters for the model … to update the model to include the set of calibrated parameters).
Regarding Claim 4, Canada teaches wherein the at least one processor if further programmed to transmit a notification about a current stage of the first noise study to a user computer device (at least paragraph 0077 teaches a generating a report, “the subset of parameters is identified, values in the active power system model for the parameters may be updated, and the system may generate a report and/or display of the estimated parameter values(s), confidence metrics, and the model error response as compared to measured data).
Regarding Claim 5, Canada teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to be in communication with one or more monitor stations, and wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to receive current noise emissions from the one or more monitor stations (at least abstract and paragraph 0132 teach “a computing device in communication with at least one sensor monitoring a power system.” and “receive, from the at least one sensor, event data associated with an event of the power system”).
Regarding Claim 6, Canada teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to execute the updated model of the first noise study with the current noise emissions as inputs to generate the current updated model of noise emissions for the first noise study (At least paragraphs 0006-0007 teach “The at least one processor is also programmed to receive a plurality of events associated with the device. … determine a set of calibrated parameters for the model. Moreover, the at least one processor is programmed to update the model to include the set of calibrated parameters”).
Regarding Claim 7, Canada teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to update the first map overlay for the first noise study based upon the current model of noise emissions for the first noise study (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “a first map overlay” is indicative of data or values related to the first noise. Therefore, at least paragraph 0077 teaches Once the subset of parameters is identified, values in the active power system model for the parameters may be updated, and the system may generate a report and/or display of the estimated parameter values(s), confidence metrics, and the model error response as compared to measured data).
Regarding Claim 8, Canada teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to: store the plurality of information about the plurality of parameters for a plurality of noise studies including the first noise study; and display information about one or more of the plurality of noise studies (At least paragraphs 0006-0007, in particular paragraph 0045 teach storing information related to a plurality of parameters related to events, “The model parameter tuning engine 250 may store information into and/or retrieve information from various data stores”; at least paragraph 0077 teaches “Once the subset of parameters is identified, values in the active power system model for the parameters may be updated, and the system may generate a report and/or display of the estimated parameter values(s), confidence metrics, and the model error response as compared to measured data”).
Regarding Claim 9, Canada teaches wherein the plurality of parameters includes a plurality of compliance regulations for noise emissions and wherein the updated model of the first noise study determines whether or not one or more sites associated with the first noise study are in compliance with the plurality of compliance regulations (Para 0030, “numerous implementation-specific decisions must be made to achieve the developers' specific goals, such as compliance with system-related and business-related constraints”; Para 0034, “the model utilizes multiple disturbance events to validate and calibrate power system models for compliance with NERC mandated grid reliability requirements.”).
Regarding Claim 10, it is a method type claim and has similar limitations as of a part of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claim 1 above.
Regarding Claims 13-18, they are dependent on claim 10 and each has similar limitations as of claims 4-9 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claim 4-9 above.
Regarding Claim 19, it is a non-transitory computer-readable storage media type claim and has similar limitations as of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 11-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of SCHLIEP MICHAEL et al. (DE 10064754 A1, hereinafter referred to as “SCHLIEP”).
Regarding Claim 2, Wang fails to explicitly disclose, but SCHLIEP teaches a first area indicating noise contours of mitigated compliance in the limitation of “wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to generate the first map overlay to include a first area indicating noise contours of mitigated compliance” (“determining a noise signal of a noise source at which the noise signal is detected and based on signal properties is analyzed, the noise signal with Noise patterns compared and based on the comparison a Ge noise source type is assigned …” in page 2 of English machine translation).
Wang and SCHLIEP are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of a system model parameter estimation and identifying noise sources. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “noise contours of mitigated compliance” is indicative of noise patterns. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of SCHLIEP by providing a first area indicating noise contours of mitigated compliance (i.e., noise patterns), taught by SCHLIEP at least in page 2 of English machine translation.
Regarding Claim 3, Wang fails to explicitly disclose, but SCHLIEP teaches a second area indicating noise contours of mitigated compliance in the limitation of wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to generate the first map overlay to include a second area indicating noise contours of unmitigated compliance (“determining a noise signal of a noise source at which the noise signal is detected and based on signal properties is analyzed, the noise signal with Noise patterns compared and based on the comparison a Ge noise source type is assigned …” in page 2 of English machine translation).
Wang and SCHLIEP are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of a system model parameter estimation and identifying noise sources. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “noise contours of mitigated compliance” is indicative of noise patterns. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of SCHLIEP by providing a second area indicating noise contours of mitigated compliance (i.e., noise patterns), taught by SCHLIEP at least in page 2 of English machine translation.
Regarding Claims 11-12, they are dependent on claim 10 and each has similar limitations as of claims 2-3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claims 2-3 above.
Regarding Claim 20, they are dependent on claim 19 and has similar limitations as of claims 2 and 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claims 2 and 3 above.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Brusniak (US 9253565 B2) teaches method for detecting the presence of a noise signal within a noise measurement field, where the noise measurement field includes a noise signal emanating from a noise source, and where the noise signal is mixed with extraneous noise existing within the noise measurement field. The method involves using a plurality of acoustic transducers arranged in a plurality of arrays to monitor the noise measurement field at a plurality of spatially separated locations. Outputs of the transducers are sampled to generate time series data. The time series data is processed to identify whether the noise signal is present.
ZHENG et al. (WO 2023279316 A1) teaches a medical image processing, and more specifically, to a PET reconstruction method based on a denoising scoring matching network, in a manner of: constructing a noise condition scoring network and performing unsupervised training; the network uses denoising score matching to estimate the gradient of the data distribution to learn a priori information from high-dose PET images (S1); and, on the basis of a trained generating model, using a Langevin simulated annealing algorithm to generate reconstructed PET images from low-dose PET image data (S2), where the PET reconstruction method uses a denoising score matching network as a priori to solve the problem of image reconstruction, increasing the quality of the reconstructed images whilst maintaining more texture detail.
Conclusion
/BYUNG RO LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858