DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (claims 1-21) in the reply filed on 2/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowe et al, USP 11,656,388 in view of Barbera-Guillem, USP 6,576,155.
Regarding claim 1, Rowe teaches a fiber based textile product (column 11 lines 34-40 and claim 1) with a pigment having a reflectivity in the visible spectrum of electromagnetic radiation that is less than or equal to 10.0%, and a reflectivity in the near-IR and LiDAR spectrum of electromagnetic radiation that is greater than or equal to 12% (see Figure 1B and claim 1).
Rowe does not teach that the pigment is added to a matric made from pulp to make a paper product but instead focuses on the treatment of fibers that are then applied to a textile product.
In the same field of endeavor of utilizing copper oxide nanocrystals (see column 4) as pigment to in a product, Barbera-Guillem teaches that the same type of pigment as shown in Rowe is utilized as an ink to be printed on a paper that is a conventional papers (computer paper, currency paper, bond paper, copying paper, image paper), glass, rubber, vinyl, plastics, fabrics, films, inorganic substrates (e.g., metals and woods), and the like. In a preferred embodiment, the substrate comprises a porous or absorbent substrate, such as paper (column 12 lines 59-67), which reads on the limitations of a matrix made of pulp.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the pigment of Rowe and apply it to the conventional track of printing the ink or the ink coated fibers in one of the conventional applications as taught by Barbera-Guillem for the benefit of leaving identifiable patterns to provide identification on security markings (see abstract and column 13) The act of applying a pigment to a paper is an obvious and conventional application of pigments in the papermaking industry.
Regarding claim 2, Barbera-Guillem further teaches the dying process for the pulp matrix layer (column 1 in discussing dyes and 12 to address the application processes of the ink)
Regarding claims 3, 8, and 14, Rowe teaches that the product would have a reflectivity in the visible spectrum of electromagnetic radiation that is less than or equal to 10.0%, and a reflectivity in the near-IR and LiDAR spectrum of electromagnetic radiation that is greater than or equal to 12% (claim 1 and figure 1B). It stands to reason that the paper would have the same properties as the ink being utilized in the design.
Regarding claims 4, 7, and 12, Rowe further teaches that the doped amount of the product has less than 5% (column 4 line 26).
Regarding claims 5, 9, and 15, Rowe further teaches that the My of the pigment is between 125-155 (see abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Barbera-Guillem further teaches that the pigment can be in the form of an ink (see column 2).
Regarding claims 10 and 13, Rowe further teaches the pigment can be incorporated as a fiber (see column 3).
Regarding claim 11, Rowe further teaches that the pigmented composite is 5 microns (see claim 16).
Regarding claims 16-17 and 21, Barbera-Guillem further teaches that the pigment is used to make a security document such as a bank note that will have an identifying action (see column 13 methods of identifying).
Regarding claims 18-20, Rowe teaches that the pigment is a copper oxide nanocrystal of 5-15 nm (see column 9) and that the crystallites have the claimed ratio (column 8 lines 40-48).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,391,836, 11,656,388, 12,169,294, US Application numbers 18/105,550, and 17/835,338,
. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference between the instant application and the above patents is the material the pigment is printed upon. The act of using the same pigment that is generically utilized in marking a substrate or textile or other material would have been obvious to also be used on a paper matrix as paper is a common substrate utilized with ink or pigments for identification.
Conclusion
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748