DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ELECTRIC WORK VEHICLE HAVING AN INVERTER HOUSING.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “travel device” of Claims 1 and 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tottori et al. (US 2022/0234434; IDS) in view of Morimoto et al. (US 2018/0343737) and further in view of Zhou et al. (CN 203504423; IDS).
In view 1, Torttori teaches (Fig. 1-8) an electric work vehicle (A) comprising: a battery (4); an electric motor (M) to receive electric power from the battery (4); an inverter (14) on a power supply path from the battery (4) to the electric motor (M); and a travel device (11) to be driven by the electric motor (M); the inverter (14) including an exterior case housing (21, 51, 52, 53); the exterior case (21, 51, 52, 53) including: a substantially rectangular box-shaped case body provided with an opening (opening above 21) above a space surrounded by a bottom plate portion (21) and a peripheral wall portion (51, 52) of the case body (21, 51, 52, 53); and the case body (21, 51, 52, 53) being provided with at least one reinforcing rib (52; Fig. 3) on an outer surface of the peripheral wall portion (51, 52),
Tottori does not teach a substrate provided with an inverter circuit; and a case lid operable to open and close the opening; the bottom plate portion being provided on an upper surface thereof, with a substrate stopping portion to fix the substrate, and the case lid being provided with at least one reinforcing rib on an inner surface thereof.
However, Morimoto teaches (Fig. 1-14) a substrate (400) provided with an inverter circuit (106); and a case lid (500) operable to open and close the opening; the bottom plate portion (300) being provided on an upper surface thereof, with a substrate stopping portion (330 with 360) to fix the substrate (400).
Therefore in view of Morimoto, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to create a structure which can account for heat generation and warpage from a substrate (Morimoto; [0032]).
Tottori as modified still does not teach the case lid being provided with at least one reinforcing rib on an inner surface thereof.
However, Zhou teaches (Fig. 1-3) a case lid (1) being provided with at least one reinforcing rib (11) on an inner surface thereof.
Therefore further in view of Zhou, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to prevent the lid from becoming deformed (Zhou; [0029]).
In claim 8, Tottori as modified teaches the vehicle of claim 1, with the exception of wherein a cushioning material is between an upper end surface of the peripheral wall portion of the case body and an inner surface of a peripheral portion of the case lid.
However, Zhou further teaches wherein a cushioning material (silicone strip) is between an upper end surface of the peripheral wall portion of the case body (2) and an inner surface of a peripheral portion of the case lid (1; [0031]).
Therefore further in view of Zhou, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to prevent liquid from entering the case (Zhou; [0031]).
In claim 9, Tottori as modified teaches the vehicle of claim 1, with the exception of wherein the substrate stopping portion fixedly supports, on an upper surface of the bottom plate portion, a peripheral portion and a vicinity of a central portion of the substrate provided with the inverter circuit.
However, Morimoto further teaches wherein the substrate stopping portion (330) fixedly supports, on an upper surface of the bottom plate portion (lower surface of 300), a peripheral portion and a vicinity of a central portion of the substrate (400) provided with the inverter circuit (106).
Therefore further in view of Morimoto, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to create a structure which can account for heat generation and warpage from a substrate (Morimoto; [0032]).
In claim 10, Tottori as modified teaches the vehicle of claim 1, with the exception of wherein the substrate stopping portion includes a plurality of protruding pedestals to receive and fasten the substrate; and the protruding pedestals positioned adjacent to each other are connected by a coupling rib.
However, Morimoto further teaches wherein the substrate stopping portion (330) includes a plurality of protruding pedestals (613) to receive and fasten the substrate (400); and the protruding pedestals (613) positioned adjacent to each other are connected by a coupling rib (portion of 330 connecting 613 respectively).
Therefore further in view of Morimoto, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to create a structure which can account for heat generation and warpage from a substrate (Morimoto; [0032]).
Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tottori et al. (US 2022/0234434; IDS) in view of Zhou et al. (CN 203504423; IDS).
In claim 11, Tottori teaches (Fig. 1-8) an electric work vehicle (A) comprising: a battery (4); an electric motor (M) to receive electric power from the battery (4); an inverter (14) on a power supply path from the battery (4) to the electric motor (M); and a travel device (11) to be driven by the electric motor (M); the inverter (14) including an exterior case (21, 51, 52, 53); the exterior case (21, 51, 52, 53) including: a rectangular or substantially rectangular box-shaped case body (51, 52) open at an upper end thereof.
Tottori does not teach the exterior case housing a substrate provided with an inverter circuit; a case lid operable to open and close the open upper end; the case body and the case lid being coupled together; and the case lid being provided, on a lower peripheral portion thereof, with a lip portion located on an outer side of an upper end portion of the case body and lower than the upper end portion.
However, Zhou teaches (Fig. 1-3) a case lid (1) operable to open and close the open upper end (of 2); the case body (2) and the case lid (1) being coupled together; and the case lid (1) being provided, on a lower peripheral portion thereof, with a lip portion (vertical wall portion of 1) located on an outer side of an upper end portion of the case body (2) and lower than the upper end portion (upper portion of 1).
Therefore in view of Zhou, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to prevent the lid from becoming deformed (Zhou; [0029]).
In claim 12, Totorri teaches the vehicle of claim 11, with the exception of wherein the upper end of the case body and the case lid contact each other at a point higher than the lower peripheral portion of the case lid; and the contact point includes a gasket therein.
However, Zhou further teaches wherein the upper end of the case body (2) and the case lid (1) contact each other at a point higher than the lower peripheral portion of the case lid (1); and the contact point includes a gasket (silicon strip; [0031]) therein.
Therefore further in view of Zhou, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to prevent the lid from becoming deformed (Zhou; [0029]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The cited prior art taken singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitation of the (in)dependent claim(s), in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper. The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the features as presented in the (in)dependent claim(s) with the allowable feature being:
Claim 2: “wherein the at least one reinforcing rib on the peripheral wall portion is at least one vertical rib extending in an up-down direction, and the at least one reinforcing rib on the inner surface of the case lid is at least one diagonal grid-shaped rib extending in a diagonal direction of the case lid.”
Claim 7: “wherein the bottom plate portion is provided, on a lower surface thereof, with a grid-shaped rib extending in the front-back direction and the left-right direction parallel or substantially parallel to extension directions of the peripheral wall portion in plan view.”
Claim 13: “wherein the case lid is provided, on a portion of an outer peripheral portion thereof, with a striking protrusion protruding outward.”
The examiner found no prior art satisfies all above conditions by itself or as combined during the prosecution period.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wright et al. (US 2025/0140983) teaches an electric work vehicle including a battery housing and a plurality of ducts.
Bodepudi et al. (US 2025/0135956) teaches an electric work vehicle including a battery housing including a first battery housing portion and a second battery housing portion and an air chamber.
RASHAD H. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/RASHAD H JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834