DETAILED ACTION
________________________________________
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 05/17/2024 has been considered by the examiner to the extent permitted by 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 17 and 18
Analysis
Claim 17 recites in claim 16 a program causing a computer to perform the listed operations, but then recites the one or more computers as the subject that starts the power supply. The plural term lacks antecedent basis, and it is unclear whether claim 17 requires the computer of claim 16 or a different unidentified one-or-more-computer system. Claim 18 depends from claim 17 and incorporates the same indefinite limitation.
Suggested Correction
Claim 17 may be amended to replace the term one or more computers with the computer, thereby referring back to the computer recited in claim 16. Claim 18 would then depend from a claim having a definite antecedent.
Claim 19
Analysis
Claim 19 recites wherein the program causing the computer to determine... and transmit.... The clause lacks a finite verb after the program and does not clearly state whether the additional determining and transmitting operations are mandatory instructions of the program. The scope of the added limitation is therefore unclear.
Suggested Correction
Claim 19 may be amended to recite that the program further causes the computer to determine the power supply apparatus used by the user and to transmit the inquiry information at the recited timing.
________________________________________
REFERENCES USED
Reference 1 (primary) - US 2023/0264583 A1.
Reference 2 - US 2012/0309455 A1.
Reference 3 - US 2021/0295610 A1.
Reference 4 - US 2014/0063249 A1.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 102
________________________________________
Claim 1 - Reference 1
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim 1
1. A power supply control apparatus comprising: at least one memory configured to store one or more instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions to: acquire, by using an information acquisition apparatus, user determination information that determines a user; determine information about an inquiry destination terminal of the user, based on the user determination information; transmit inquiry information about use of a power supply apparatus to the inquiry destination terminal; and control a power supply from the power supply apparatus in response to a response to the inquiry information.
Analysis
Limitation: "A power supply control apparatus comprising: at least one memory configured to store one or more instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions"
Reference 1 teaches processing system 1200 with one or more processors 1002 and memory 1010. Memory 1010 stores vehicle-detection component 1021, charge-management component 1022, user-interface component 1023, and charge-authorization component 1024 for execution by processors 1002. See Reference 1, FIG. 12; numerals 1002, 1010, 1021-1024, and 1200.
Limitation: "acquire, by using an information acquisition apparatus, user determination information that determines a user"
Reference 1 teaches cameras 104A-104D acquiring image data 110 from an EV charging scene, including license-plate characters and other vehicle characteristics. Vehicle-detection and identification element 120 produces vehicle-characteristic data 130, and account-matching element 142 compares that data with vehicle profiles in registered user database 148 to determine the associated user account. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1-3 and 7; numerals 104A-104D, 110, 120, 130, 131A, 142, and 148; flow steps 702, 704, 722, and 724.
Limitation: "determine information about an inquiry destination terminal of the user, based on the user determination information"
Reference 1 first uses the camera-derived vehicle characteristics to find the matching vehicle and associated user in registered user database 148. Session-management element 146 then addresses the confirmation query to charging-management application 162 on that matched user's device 160. The destination device is therefore resolved from the user account determined from the camera-acquired vehicle information. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1-2 and 7; numerals 130, 142, 146, 148, 160, and 162; flow steps 722, 724, 726, and 728.
Limitation: "transmit inquiry information about use of a power supply apparatus to the inquiry destination terminal"
Reference 1 teaches session-management element 146 sending a push notification or other query to user device 160 asking whether to initiate or confirm a charging session at EVSE 106. The query may also ask for the requested charge amount and expected parking time. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1-2 and 7; numerals 106, 146, 150, 160, and 162; flow steps 726 and 728.
Limitation: "control a power supply from the power supply apparatus in response to a response to the inquiry information"
Reference 1 teaches receiving the user's confirmation from device 160, determining the charging-authorization decision from that confirmation, and initiating charging. Charge-management element 140 sends charge-management data 170 to charge-authorization element 109 of EVSE 106, causing EVSE 106 to begin or continue supplying charging power. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1-2 and 7; numerals 106, 109, 140, 146, 160, 162, and 170; flow steps 728 and 730.
________________________________________
Claim 4 - Reference 1
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim 4
4. The power supply control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to determine the power supply apparatus used by the user, based on the user determination information, and transmit the inquiry information to the inquiry destination terminal at a predetermined timing after information about the inquiry destination terminal of the user is determined and the power supply apparatus used by the user is determined.
Analysis
Limitation: "determine the power supply apparatus used by the user, based on the user determination information"
Reference 1 localizes the camera-detected vehicle in a charging location associated with EVSE 106 and associates the candidate vehicle with the electric vehicle connected to that EVSE. The EVSE location, camera-derived vehicle location, connection time, and vehicle characteristics identify the power-supply apparatus used by the matched user. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1, 4A-4C, and 7; numerals 102, 104A-104D, 106, 130, 140, and 403; flow steps 710, 712, 714, and 722.
Limitation: "transmit the inquiry information to the inquiry destination terminal at a predetermined timing after information about the inquiry destination terminal of the user is determined and the power supply apparatus used by the user is determined"
Reference 1 creates a session for the connected EVSE 106, identifies the vehicle at the associated charging location, determines the matching user account and user device 160, and then sends the confirmation query. Thus, the query is transmitted at flow step 728 only after the EVSE/session and the matched user's terminal have been resolved. See Reference 1, FIGS. 2 and 7; numerals 106, 142, 146, 148, 160, and 162; flow steps 710, 712, 722, 724, 726, and 728.
________________________________________
Claim 5 - Reference 1
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim 5
5. The power supply control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the inquiry destination terminal is a portable terminal possessed by the user.
Analysis
Limitation: "the inquiry destination terminal is a portable terminal possessed by the user"
Reference 1 teaches user device 160 as the user's mobile device, including a smartphone, smart wearable device, or tablet computer, running charging-management application 162. See Reference 1, FIG. 2; numerals 160 and 162.
________________________________________
Claim 6 - Reference 1
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim 6
6. The power supply control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the user determination information is identification information about a moving body of the user or identification information about the user, and the information acquisition apparatus is a camera installed in an area where the power supply apparatus is installed.
Analysis
Limitation: "the user determination information is identification information about a moving body of the user or identification information about the user"
Reference 1 teaches vehicle-characteristic data 130 including license-plate characters 131A, vehicle make, model, color, style, location, and identification graphics. Account-matching element 142 uses that moving-body identification information to determine the associated user account in registered user database 148. See Reference 1, FIGS. 2-3 and 7; numerals 126, 130, 131A, 142, and 148; flow steps 704, 722, and 724.
Limitation: "the information acquisition apparatus is a camera installed in an area where the power supply apparatus is installed"
Reference 1 teaches cameras 104A-104D arranged in the EV charging area around EVSE 106. Camera 104A may be on, near, or integral with EVSE 106, and the cameras image vehicles in charging locations 403 associated with EVSEs 106. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1, 2, and 4A-4C; numerals 104A-104D, 106, and 403.
________________________________________
Claim 11 - Reference 1
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim 11
11. A power supply control method comprising, by one or more computers: acquiring, by using an information acquisition apparatus, user determination information that determines a user; determining information about an inquiry destination terminal of the user, based on the user determination information; transmitting inquiry information about use of a power supply apparatus to the inquiry destination terminal; and controlling a power supply from the power supply apparatus in response to a response to the inquiry information.
Analysis
Limitation: "A power supply control method comprising, by one or more computers"
Reference 1 teaches computer-executed vehicle-recognition and charge-management flows performed by processing system 1200, processors 1002, vehicle-detection element 120, and charge-management element 140. See Reference 1, FIGS. 2, 7, 8, and 12; numerals 120, 140, 1002, and 1200.
Limitation: "acquire, by using an information acquisition apparatus, user determination information that determines a user"
Reference 1 teaches cameras 104A-104D acquiring image data 110 from an EV charging scene, including license-plate characters and other vehicle characteristics. Vehicle-detection and identification element 120 produces vehicle-characteristic data 130, and account-matching element 142 compares that data with vehicle profiles in registered user database 148 to determine the associated user account. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1-3 and 7; numerals 104A-104D, 110, 120, 130, 131A, 142, and 148; flow steps 702, 704, 722, and 724.
Limitation: "determine information about an inquiry destination terminal of the user, based on the user determination information"
Reference 1 first uses the camera-derived vehicle characteristics to find the matching vehicle and associated user in registered user database 148. Session-management element 146 then addresses the confirmation query to charging-management application 162 on that matched user's device 160. The destination device is therefore resolved from the user account determined from the camera-acquired vehicle information. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1-2 and 7; numerals 130, 142, 146, 148, 160, and 162; flow steps 722, 724, 726, and 728.
Limitation: "transmit inquiry information about use of a power supply apparatus to the inquiry destination terminal"
Reference 1 teaches session-management element 146 sending a push notification or other query to user device 160 asking whether to initiate or confirm a charging session at EVSE 106. The query may also ask for the requested charge amount and expected parking time. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1-2 and 7; numerals 106, 146, 150, 160, and 162; flow steps 726 and 728.
Limitation: "control a power supply from the power supply apparatus in response to a response to the inquiry information"
Reference 1 teaches receiving the user's confirmation from device 160, determining the charging-authorization decision from that confirmation, and initiating charging. Charge-management element 140 sends charge-management data 170 to charge-authorization element 109 of EVSE 106, causing EVSE 106 to begin or continue supplying charging power. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1-2 and 7; numerals 106, 109, 140, 146, 160, 162, and 170; flow steps 728 and 730.
________________________________________
Claim 14 - Reference 1
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim 14
14. The power supply control method according to claim 11, wherein the one or more computers determine the power supply apparatus used by the user, based on the user determination information, and transmit the inquiry information to the inquiry destination terminal at a predetermined timing after information about the inquiry destination terminal of the user is determined and the power supply apparatus used by the user is determined.
Analysis
Limitation: "determine the power supply apparatus used by the user, based on the user determination information"
Reference 1 localizes the camera-detected vehicle in a charging location associated with EVSE 106 and associates the candidate vehicle with the electric vehicle connected to that EVSE. The EVSE location, camera-derived vehicle location, connection time, and vehicle characteristics identify the power-supply apparatus used by the matched user. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1, 4A-4C, and 7; numerals 102, 104A-104D, 106, 130, 140, and 403; flow steps 710, 712, 714, and 722.
Limitation: "transmit the inquiry information to the inquiry destination terminal at a predetermined timing after information about the inquiry destination terminal of the user is determined and the power supply apparatus used by the user is determined"
Reference 1 creates a session for the connected EVSE 106, identifies the vehicle at the associated charging location, determines the matching user account and user device 160, and then sends the confirmation query. Thus, the query is transmitted at flow step 728 only after the EVSE/session and the matched user's terminal have been resolved. See Reference 1, FIGS. 2 and 7; numerals 106, 142, 146, 148, 160, and 162; flow steps 710, 712, 722, 724, 726, and 728.
________________________________________
Claim 15 - Reference 1
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim 15
15. The power supply control method according to claim 11, wherein the inquiry destination terminal is a portable terminal possessed by the user.
Analysis
Limitation: "the inquiry destination terminal is a portable terminal possessed by the user"
Reference 1 teaches user device 160 as the user's mobile device, including a smartphone, smart wearable device, or tablet computer, running charging-management application 162. See Reference 1, FIG. 2; numerals 160 and 162.
________________________________________
Claim 16 - Reference 1
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim 16
16. A non-transitory storage medium storing a program causing a computer to: acquire, by using an information acquisition apparatus, user determination information that determines a user; determine information about an inquiry destination terminal of the user, based on the user determination information; transmit inquiry information about use of a power supply apparatus to the inquiry destination terminal; and control a power supply from the power supply apparatus in response to a response to the inquiry information.
Analysis
Limitation: "A non-transitory storage medium storing a program causing a computer to perform the recited operations"
Reference 1 teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that cause processors 1002 of processing system 1200 to perform the disclosed vehicle-recognition and charge-management methods. Memory 1010 stores components 1021-1024 for those operations. See Reference 1, FIG. 12; numerals 1002, 1010, 1021-1024, and 1200.
Limitation: "acquire, by using an information acquisition apparatus, user determination information that determines a user"
Reference 1 teaches cameras 104A-104D acquiring image data 110 from an EV charging scene, including license-plate characters and other vehicle characteristics. Vehicle-detection and identification element 120 produces vehicle-characteristic data 130, and account-matching element 142 compares that data with vehicle profiles in registered user database 148 to determine the associated user account. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1-3 and 7; numerals 104A-104D, 110, 120, 130, 131A, 142, and 148; flow steps 702, 704, 722, and 724.
Limitation: "determine information about an inquiry destination terminal of the user, based on the user determination information"
Reference 1 first uses the camera-derived vehicle characteristics to find the matching vehicle and associated user in registered user database 148. Session-management element 146 then addresses the confirmation query to charging-management application 162 on that matched user's device 160. The destination device is therefore resolved from the user account determined from the camera-acquired vehicle information. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1-2 and 7; numerals 130, 142, 146, 148, 160, and 162; flow steps 722, 724, 726, and 728.
Limitation: "transmit inquiry information about use of a power supply apparatus to the inquiry destination terminal"
Reference 1 teaches session-management element 146 sending a push notification or other query to user device 160 asking whether to initiate or confirm a charging session at EVSE 106. The query may also ask for the requested charge amount and expected parking time. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1-2 and 7; numerals 106, 146, 150, 160, and 162; flow steps 726 and 728.
Limitation: "control a power supply from the power supply apparatus in response to a response to the inquiry information"
Reference 1 teaches receiving the user's confirmation from device 160, determining the charging-authorization decision from that confirmation, and initiating charging. Charge-management element 140 sends charge-management data 170 to charge-authorization element 109 of EVSE 106, causing EVSE 106 to begin or continue supplying charging power. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1-2 and 7; numerals 106, 109, 140, 146, 160, 162, and 170; flow steps 728 and 730.
________________________________________
Claim 19 - Reference 1
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim 19
19. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 16, wherein the program causing the computer to determine the power supply apparatus used by the user, based on the user determination information, and transmit the inquiry information to the inquiry destination terminal at a predetermined timing after information about the inquiry destination terminal of the user is determined and the power supply apparatus used by the user is determined.
Analysis
Limitation: "Claim construction under the 112(b) rejection"
Claim 19 is analyzed under the intended reading that the program further causes the computer to perform the recited determining and transmitting operations. The 112(b) rejection is maintained because the claim does not presently state that relationship with definite grammar.
Limitation: "determine the power supply apparatus used by the user, based on the user determination information"
Reference 1 localizes the camera-detected vehicle in a charging location associated with EVSE 106 and associates the candidate vehicle with the electric vehicle connected to that EVSE. The EVSE location, camera-derived vehicle location, connection time, and vehicle characteristics identify the power-supply apparatus used by the matched user. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1, 4A-4C, and 7; numerals 102, 104A-104D, 106, 130, 140, and 403; flow steps 710, 712, 714, and 722.
Limitation: "transmit the inquiry information to the inquiry destination terminal at a predetermined timing after information about the inquiry destination terminal of the user is determined and the power supply apparatus used by the user is determined"
Reference 1 creates a session for the connected EVSE 106, identifies the vehicle at the associated charging location, determines the matching user account and user device 160, and then sends the confirmation query. Thus, the query is transmitted at flow step 728 only after the EVSE/session and the matched user's terminal have been resolved. See Reference 1, FIGS. 2 and 7; numerals 106, 142, 146, 148, 160, and 162; flow steps 710, 712, 722, 724, 726, and 728.
________________________________________
Claim 20 - Reference 1
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim 20
20. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 16, wherein the inquiry destination terminal is a portable terminal possessed by the user.
Analysis
Limitation: "the inquiry destination terminal is a portable terminal possessed by the user"
Reference 1 teaches user device 160 as the user's mobile device, including a smartphone, smart wearable device, or tablet computer, running charging-management application 162. See Reference 1, FIG. 2; numerals 160 and 162.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
________________________________________
Claim 2 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 2
2. The power supply control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the inquiry information includes a user interface (UI) screen including a UI part that accepts an instruction to start a power supply, and the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to start a power supply from the power supply apparatus in response to an operation on the UI part.
Analysis
Limitation: "the limitations inherited from claim 1"
Claim 2 includes every limitation of claim 1. Reference 1 anticipates those limitations for the reasons stated above for claim 1. Reference 2 is applied only to the additional mobile-interface limitations of claim 2.
Limitation: "the inquiry information includes a user interface (UI) screen including a UI part that accepts an instruction to start a power supply"
Reference 1 sends the charging-session confirmation query to charging-management application 162 on user device 160 and does not initiate the configured session until the user confirms. Reference 2 teaches remote device 210, including a smartphone, with display 220, input device 212, option-display module 514, and option-selection module 516. The remote device presents charging-control options on one or more GUI screens using selectable buttons and other UI fields. See Reference 1, FIGS. 2 and 7; numerals 146, 160, and 162; flow steps 726 and 728. See Reference 2, FIGS. 7-9; numerals 210, 212, 214, 218, 220, and 512-516; flow steps 380 and 390.
Limitation: "start a power supply from the power supply apparatus in response to an operation on the UI part"
Reference 2 teaches that option-selection module 516 converts the user's GUI selection into an EVSE instruction, instruction-transmit module 522 sends the charging command, and EVSE 30 executes the command. Applied to Reference 1's confirmation query, the user's operation on the start/confirm UI causes charge-management element 140 to authorize EVSE 106 and initiate charging. See Reference 1, FIGS. 2 and 7; numerals 106, 109, 140, 160, and 170; flow steps 728 and 730. See Reference 2, FIGS. 8-9; numerals 30, 210, 516, 522, and 524; flow steps 390-430.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to implement Reference 1's mobile confirmation query with Reference 2's remote EVSE-control GUI and selectable charging controls. Both references communicate charging instructions between a user terminal and an EVSE, and Reference 2's established screen, selection, and command modules would have provided Reference 1's requested confirmation through an explicit user-operated control that predictably starts the identified charging session.
________________________________________
Claim 3 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 3
3. The power supply control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the inquiry information further includes a UI part that specifies a power amount for a power supply and a time for a power supply.
Analysis
Limitation: "the limitations inherited from claim 2"
Claim 3 includes the complete Reference 1 and Reference 2 combination applied to claims 1 and 2.
Limitation: "the inquiry information further includes a UI part that specifies a power amount for a power supply and a time for a power supply"
Reference 1 expressly teaches that the confirmation query may request the amount of charge, including a percentage or number of kWh, and the amount of time the user expects to be parked. Reference 2 teaches GUI selectable fields through which the user selects charging to a certain level and charging for a certain amount of time or between selected start and stop times. The combined UI therefore accepts both the requested power amount and power-supply time. See Reference 1, FIG. 7; numerals 160 and 162; flow step 728. See Reference 2, FIGS. 7-9; numerals 210, 212, 220, and 512-516.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to present Reference 1's requested charge amount and parking-time questions through Reference 2's existing charge-level and charge-time GUI fields. The fields collect the same energy and timing constraints that Reference 1 uses for charge management, so their combination would have allowed the controller to authorize and execute the confirmed session according to the user's requested amount and available time.
________________________________________
Claim 7 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 3
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 3.
Claim 7
7. The power supply control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of the information acquisition apparatuses are installed in an area where the power supply apparatus is installed, one of the information acquisition apparatuses is installed at an entrance of the area, and another one of the information acquisition apparatuses is installed in a vicinity of the power supply apparatus.
Analysis
Limitation: "the limitations inherited from claim 1"
Claim 7 includes every limitation of claim 1, anticipated by Reference 1 as stated above. Reference 3 is added for the claimed entrance and charger-vicinity camera arrangement.
Limitation: "a plurality of the information acquisition apparatuses are installed in an area where the power supply apparatus is installed"
Reference 3 teaches multiple camera-based LPR devices in parking lot 150 and charging zone 155, including entranceway LPR 152 and parking-surface LPRs 157 near chargers 156. See Reference 3, FIGS. 1, 3, and 4; numerals 150, 152, 155, 156, and 157.
Limitation: "one information acquisition apparatus is installed at an entrance of the area and another is installed in a vicinity of the power supply apparatus"
Reference 3 places entranceway LPR 152 at the parking-lot entrance and places parking-surface LPR 157 in charging zone 155 with charger 156. See Reference 3, FIGS. 1, 3, and 4; numerals 152, 155, 156, and 157.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 3's entrance and charger-vicinity LPR arrangement as the camera layout for Reference 1's vehicle-recognition charging system. The entrance camera identifies the arriving vehicle before it reaches the charging surface, while the charger-vicinity camera confirms the vehicle at the EVSE; using both locations would have reduced vehicle-to-charger mismatches and preserved the identity used for Reference 1's confirmation request.
________________________________________
Claim 8 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 3
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 3.
Claim 8
8. The power supply control apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the power supply apparatus and the information acquisition apparatus installed in a vicinity of the power supply apparatus are associated with each other in advance, and the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to control a power supply from the power supply apparatus associated with the information acquisition apparatus that acquires the user determination information, in response to a response to the inquiry information.
Analysis
Limitation: "the limitations inherited from claim 7"
Claim 8 includes the complete Reference 1 and Reference 3 combination applied to claims 1 and 7.
Limitation: "the power supply apparatus and the information acquisition apparatus installed in a vicinity of the power supply apparatus are associated with each other in advance"
Reference 1 expressly teaches storing in a database an association between a unique identifier for a camera and unique identifiers for charging locations and EVSEs visible in that camera's field of view. It also teaches a one-camera/one-charging-location implementation and camera 104A on, near, or integral with EVSE 106. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1, 2, 4A-4C, and 7; numerals 104A-104D, 106, 140, and 403; flow step 702.
Limitation: "control a power supply from the power supply apparatus associated with the information acquisition apparatus that acquires the user determination information, in response to a response to the inquiry information"
Reference 1 uses the stored camera/EVSE association to link the imaged vehicle with the connected EVSE and then sends the matched user a confirmation query. When confirmation is received, charge-management element 140 sends authorization data 170 to the associated EVSE 106, which begins or continues charging. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1-2 and 7; numerals 104A-104D, 106, 109, 140, 146, 160, and 170; flow steps 702, 710-714, 728, and 730.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 3's entrance and charger-vicinity cameras with Reference 1's express database association between each camera and the EVSEs in its field of view. The combination would have carried the vehicle identity from site entry to the specific charging position and allowed the confirmed response to energize the EVSE associated with the camera that acquired the final vehicle information.
________________________________________
Claim 9 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 3
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 3.
Claim 9
9. The power supply control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to determine information about the inquiry destination terminal of the user, based on information in which the user determination information and information about the inquiry destination terminal of the user are preregistered in association with each other.
Analysis
Limitation: "the limitations inherited from claim 1"
Claim 9 includes every limitation of claim 1, anticipated by Reference 1 as stated above. Reference 3 is added for its express preregistered vehicle-to-terminal association.
Limitation: "determine information about the inquiry destination terminal based on preregistered association information linking the user determination information and the terminal information"
Reference 3 teaches preregistering user device 145 with vehicle 140 and its vehicle number and, after recognizing incoming vehicle 340, addressing associated user device 345. The vehicle number is therefore stored in association with terminal information before the inquiry is routed. Reference 1 likewise uses registered user database 148 and charging-management application 162 to route its confirmation query. See Reference 3, FIGS. 1 and 3; numerals 140/340 and 145/345. See Reference 1, FIGS. 2 and 7; numerals 142, 148, 160, and 162.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 3's preregistered vehicle-number and user-device association to route Reference 1's confirmation query. Reference 1 already matches a camera-recognized vehicle to a registered user and queries that user's device, and Reference 3's stored vehicle-to-device record would have supplied a direct destination lookup that avoids asking the arriving user to reenter terminal information.
________________________________________
Claim 10 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 4
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 4.
Claim 10
10. The power supply control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the user determination information is identification information about a moving body of the user and identification information about the user, and the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to determine identification information about a moving body of the user, and then determine identification information about the user by biometric authentication, and narrow down information referred in the biometric authentication, based on the determined identification information about the moving body of the user.
Analysis
Limitation: "the limitations inherited from claim 1"
Claim 10 includes every limitation of claim 1, anticipated by Reference 1 as stated above. Reference 4 is added for vehicle-attribute-based narrowing of biometric reference information.
Limitation: "the user determination information is identification information about a moving body of the user and identification information about the user"
Reference 1 determines vehicle identification information through cameras 104A-104D and also teaches user authentication element 144 receiving user biometric data. Reference 4 likewise obtains a vehicle attribute, including a license-plate number or VIN, and a facial image of individual 103. See Reference 1, FIGS. 1-3; numerals 104A-104D, 130, 142, and 144. See Reference 4, FIGS. 1-3; numerals 101, 103, 105, 108, and 109.
Limitation: "determine moving-body identification information, then determine user identification information by biometric authentication, and narrow the biometric reference information based on the moving-body identification information"
Reference 4 teaches camera 105 acquiring vehicle 108 and identity-analysis circuitry 109 determining a vehicle attribute such as a license plate or VIN. That attribute is supplied to DMV database 107, which returns only a vehicle-related subset of facial images or image vectors. Circuitry 109 then performs facial recognition of individual 103 against the narrowed subset rather than database 307 as a whole. See Reference 4, FIGS. 1-8; numerals 101, 103, 105, 107-109, 301, 303, 305, 307, and 310.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to apply Reference 4's vehicle-attribute-based facial-reference narrowing to Reference 1's vehicle-recognition and user-authentication system. Reference 1 already obtains the vehicle characteristics before authenticating the user, and Reference 4 uses the same type of vehicle identifier to select a smaller facial-reference set; the combination would have reduced biometric comparisons and false-match exposure while confirming the user associated with the identified charging vehicle.
________________________________________
Claim 12 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 12
12. The power supply control method according to claim 11, wherein the inquiry information includes a user interface (UI) screen including a UI part that accepts an instruction to start a power supply, and the one or more computers start a power supply from the power supply apparatus in response to an operation on the UI part.
Analysis
Limitation: "the limitations inherited from claim 11"
Claim 12 includes every limitation of claim 11, anticipated by Reference 1 as stated above. Reference 2 is applied to the additional mobile-interface limitations for the same reasons stated for claim 2.
Limitation: "the inquiry information includes a UI screen with a UI part accepting a power-supply start instruction, and the computers start power in response to operation of the UI part"
Reference 2 teaches remote device 210 displaying charging-control options through GUI screens and selectable buttons, receiving the user's option selection through input device 212, transmitting the corresponding command through module 522, and EVSE 30 executing that command. Applied to Reference 1's flow, the operation supplies the requested confirmation and causes EVSE 106 to initiate charging. See Reference 1, FIG. 7; flow steps 728 and 730. See Reference 2, FIGS. 7-9; numerals 30, 210, 212, 220, 514, 516, and 522; flow steps 380-430.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to implement Reference 1's computer-performed confirmation query with Reference 2's remote GUI selection and EVSE command sequence. The two systems use compatible user-device and charger communications, and the selectable start control would have converted Reference 1's requested confirmation into a clear command that the identified EVSE can execute.
________________________________________
Claim 13 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 13
13. The power supply control method according to claim 12, wherein the inquiry information further includes a UI part that specifies a power amount for a power supply and a time for a power supply.
Analysis
Limitation: "the limitations inherited from claim 12"
Claim 13 includes the complete Reference 1 and Reference 2 combination applied to claims 11 and 12.
Limitation: "the inquiry information further includes a UI part specifying a power amount and a power-supply time"
Reference 1's confirmation query may request a charge percentage or kWh amount and the expected parking time. Reference 2's remote GUI accepts charging to a selected level and charging for a selected amount of time or between selected start and stop times. See Reference 1, FIG. 7; flow step 728. See Reference 2, FIGS. 7-9; numerals 210, 212, 220, and 512-516.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to collect Reference 1's requested energy amount and available charging time through Reference 2's GUI fields for charge level and charging duration. The combined method would have given the charge-management computer the user constraints needed to set the session while using the same terminal interaction that confirms and starts charging.
________________________________________
Claim 17 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 17
17. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 16, wherein the inquiry information includes a user interface (UI) screen including a UI part that accepts an instruction to start a power supply, and the one or more computers start a power supply from the power supply apparatus in response to an operation on the UI part.
Analysis
Limitation: "the limitations inherited from claim 16"
Claim 17 includes every limitation of claim 16, anticipated by Reference 1 as stated above. The claim is analyzed under the intended reading identified in the 112(b) rejection. Reference 2 is applied to the additional stored mobile-interface instructions.
Limitation: "the inquiry information includes a UI screen with a UI part accepting a power-supply start instruction, and operation of the UI part starts power"
Reference 2 stores in memory 214 the option-display, option-selection, and instruction-transmit modules executed by processor 218. Those instructions display charging-control options on remote device 210, receive the user's GUI selection, send the command, and cause EVSE 30 to execute it. Applied to Reference 1's stored confirmation flow, the operation causes EVSE 106 to initiate charging. See Reference 1, FIGS. 7 and 12; flow steps 728 and 730. See Reference 2, FIGS. 7-9; numerals 30, 210, 214, 218, 220, 514, 516, and 522.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to store instructions implementing Reference 2's GUI option-display, option-selection, and EVSE-command modules as part of Reference 1's stored confirmation workflow. Both references implement their operations through processor-executed software, and the added modules would have predictably turned the confirmation query into a user-operated start command for the associated EVSE.
________________________________________
Claim 18 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 18
18. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 17, wherein the inquiry information further includes a UI part that specifies a power amount for a power supply and a time for a power supply.
Analysis
Limitation: "the limitations inherited from claim 17"
Claim 18 includes the complete Reference 1 and Reference 2 combination applied to claims 16 and 17 and is analyzed under claim 17's intended reading while the 112(b) rejection is maintained.
Limitation: "the inquiry information further includes a UI part specifying a power amount and a power-supply time"
Reference 1's confirmation query requests a charge percentage or kWh amount and the expected parking time. Reference 2's stored GUI instructions accept charging to a selected level and charging for a selected amount of time or between start and stop times. See Reference 1, FIG. 7; flow step 728. See Reference 2, FIGS. 7-9; numerals 210, 214, 218, 220, and 512-516.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to store instructions that present Reference 1's requested charge amount and parking time through Reference 2's charge-level and charge-time GUI controls. Those known fields provide the energy and timing inputs used by the stored charging program while retaining the same confirmation-and-start interaction applied to claim 17.
________________________________________
Claim Disposition
Rejected Claims Under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Claims 17-19 are rejected.
Rejected Claims Under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)
Claims 1, 4-6, 11, 14-16, 19, and 20 are rejected.
Rejected Claims Under 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 2, 3, 7-10, 12, 13, 17, and 18 are rejected.
Objected To Claims
None.
Allowed Claims
None.
________________________________________
Conclusion
This action is non-final. Applicant is required to respond to each rejection and distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the rejections, including the specific distinctions believed to render the claims patentable over the applied references.
US 2023/0294546 A1 was not used because its demand-response approval path is less direct than Reference 1's express vehicle-recognition, confirmation-request, and EVSE-initiation sequence.
US 2013/0179061 A1 was not used because Reference 2 more directly supplies a remote charging-control GUI with charge-level and charge-time selections in the same reference.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615